List Mgmt. 2013 Draft Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Igloo

this.

we (as a BF community) need to realise the difference between 'outside' (robert murphy) and 'soft / won't go when it's is turn' (er, jordy mcmahon?). it's getting tiresome

Agree.
another example; a Gilbee or Harbrow were an outside players for that ran and delivered to setup play and weren't expected to get too many contested possessions unless it was "time to go".
Soft outsiders would be a Gibbs/Higgins/McMahon/Ray type.

If all AFL players were inside/contested footy types, it would resemble an a scrum on top of the ball akin to Under 10s match..

Mark Ross, a former Adelaide recruiter compared Aish to Gibbs. Except he said that at the same age, Aish is a better user of the ball, makes better decisions and has more time and space. Also, from what I've seen, never seen Aish wimp out before. He also plays against big mature guys in the SANFL.

I think it's safe to say that barring anything catastrophic, Aish will at worst, still be better than Gibbs. I don't even think Gibbs is that bad, better than the vast majority of players, but would hope our first pick would be better.

Still think Gibbs is getting a slightly raw deal. He's not a competitive beast, but "squib" just isn't right IMO.
He shirks a lot more than he ought to but I agree that squib is far from the truth.

what is a squib exactly?..... Pics GTFO.:D
A non-magical person born to magical parents.

Here's your pic:
250px-Mainfulcd.jpg

Yep, macrae selection became clear about 4 days before the draft and was posted on here.

Dalrymple very much likes aish. I'd be surprised if he passed on him if he's there. Only way I can possibly see it happening is if billings is somehow also there and even then I think it would be a 50/50 that we'd still take aish.

Dalrymple selected Howard, I have little faith in him, thank god since Macca has arrived we now have a panel, I have no problem with Aish, I think a lot of posters on here talking about him, are just talking rubbish. Aish Is a really good young footballer. I personally think we will take Scharenberg . The point Iam making it will be a panel decision which includes Dalrymple, he provides the details, strength and weakness of each draftee.

We will do this boys...

Pick 4 -Aish-Captain Material (outside class)

Pick 26 - Crameri -What a steal 40-60 goal hard at it forward help develop our young forwards

Pick 42 -Scilly - All Class wingman half forward at 186 and growing could be anything amazing hands never fumbles

Pick 60 - Wilson- What a steal if there lightning fast amazing foot skills just think what Hill did for Hawthorn very similar better kick

Pick 78 - Darley -was a standout as a 16 year old adds run and carry to our side long term (Steal)

This would be a dream Draft for us with added pace outside run to back up Libba,Walliss,Smith and Hrovatt Stringer McCrae Hunter

Agree Dalrymple needed help around him and now he has that, hence we got Mcrae and Stringer and not another Howard.
I'm still shaking my head at that pick....:mad:

Still think Gibbs is getting a slightly raw deal. He's not a competitive beast, but "squib" just isn't right IMO.

No Fronk I would'nt call him a squib either, but for all his un- doubted ability I would prefer to draft a Smith type every day over a type like him.
No appetite to tackle --- I reckon even his girlfriend would safe from him at the drive-in :p

Agree Dalrymple needed help around him and now he has that, hence we got Mcrae and Stringer and not another Howard.
I'm still shaking my head at that pick....:mad:

Its not just my head I am shaking , I just get the shakes -- full stop !
I would love to have a chat with him about that one day , maybe he was on some sort of medication at the time ?

Pick 42 -Scilly - All Class wingman half forward at 186 and growing could be anything amazing hands never fumbles

Pick 60 - Wilson- What a steal if there lightning fast amazing foot skills just think what Hill did for Hawthorn very similar better kic
I think we would be lucky to get one of these guys at 42 let alone both.
I'm surprised Sicily isn't more highly rated - he seems a natural.

I don't remember anyone thinking Gibbs was soft when he was a junior.
But unless you have a crystal ball to offer, his form as a junior is all we can go off of - and he's not soft at all. I could name a lot more players who weren't perceived as soft in junior football and aren't regarded as soft at AFL level than I can players who weren't perceived as soft in juniors and are now regarded as soft.

KK/Aish or Kelly, any of those would be excellent for our side
Then fingers crossed we might get one of McCartin/Hugh Goddard/Clem Smith next year

But unless you have a crystal ball to offer, his form as a junior is all we can go off of - and he's not soft at all. I could name a lot more players who weren't perceived as soft in junior football and aren't regarded as soft at AFL level than I can players who weren't perceived as soft in juniors and are now regarded as soft.

If players are hard in junior football, I would be encouraging parents to get their kids away.

What's up with this Patrick McCartin hype? I've seen him play a couple of times and aside from a few nice marks, he didn't do that much. Is this all because he had one good game against WA?

It's his marking and strength that people are obsessed with. Also has very well established leading patterns and, despite his strength, still has very impressive mobility. I think he'll be a top ten pick but I'd be surprised if he's in the top two or three key forwards come draft time.

A young gun KPP or a young gun rebounding defender; give me either next year
I don't care :)
Hugh Goddard would probably be my preferred option because he has an impact where-ever he goes
Heard good things about Jake Lever as well

There's been lots of talk about 'go home' factors from interstate players so far...Surely a Tassie team will be established in the AFL within the next 5 years. Surely the Kolo brothers would want to go home for that...?

Plus I'm not sold on them either...prefer Billings, Burger, Kelly, Aish, Bontemp, Taylor, KKolo in that order.

KK/Aish or Kelly, any of those would be excellent for our side
Then fingers crossed we might get one of McCartin/Hugh Goddard/Clem Smith next year
It was 'fingers crossed we can get Aish' this time last year, now that we're a good chance to get him everyone is making excuses not to pick him.