List Mgmt. 2013 Draft Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Igloo

Completely off track but just asking out of curiosity.

One of my major projects during my uni break this year is to put together somewhat of a 'list management' website. I'm planning on having draftee write-ups each year, as well as mock drafts, draft previews/reviews, trade period previews/reviews, list management perspectives on the sides as well as a few other odds and ends. Given what you've seen of my write ups etc on here, would it be something that anybody on here would be interested in reading through/following?

It's unlikely I'll have it up in time for this year's draft but I'm likely to do write-ups for all of this year's players anyway. Planning on my first article being an "off-season review" for all clubs, but at this point I'm just gauging interest.

Big time interested.

I'd argue that there's just as much uncertainty around Harvey as there is Conlon. Harvey's played almost exclusively school footy and as a big, tall body it would be very easy for him to look good. Not a natural at all. I like both but the uncertainty argument for Conlon is applicable to both of them.

Being a natural forward is Harvey's biggest strength.

Plus Harvey has performed well at SANFL U18s, SANFL Reserves and at the U18 Championships. Not just school football. The question is not his performances, but whether he can bridge the gap between the footballer he is and the athlete he needs to be.

Being a natural forward is Harvey's biggest strength.

Plus Harvey has performed well at SANFL U18s, SANFL Reserves and at the U18 Championships. Not just school football. The question is not his performances, but whether he can bridge the gap between the footballer he is and the athlete he needs to be.
Interesting, as I'd been pretty impressed with him from what I'd seen but wasn't completely sold on his running and leading patterns. You'd absolutely have seen more of him than I have but watching him off the ball I didn't feel as though he looked all that natural. Came across as quite raw to me.

And yeah, the 'predominantly school football' wasn't supposed to be a slight on him. He played a lot less "higher level" football and for some this is a genuine concern as they're judging from a small sample size, similar to McCarthy I suppose.

I'm a fan of Harvey and wouldn't be against taking him as I think there's definitely something to work with there - I just think there's also an element of uncertainty surrounding Harvey in a similar - albeit lesser - way to Conlon.

Dannnnnnnnnn is it just me or does Conlon seem alot like Cordy?
Nah, very different. He's that same sort of height + athleticism, ruck + forward combo as Cordy but he's very strong through the body and actually puts his arms above his head and marks strongly, unlike Cordy.

I would be very happy with one of Harvey or Conlon at 40, would prefer Conlon though. FWIW the dogs haven't spoken to Conlon lately but seeing as he was our AIS kid you'd think we would have a little bit of interest.

At pick 4 I still hope we go with Aish if he is available but thinking about it if we believe KK or Bontempelli will be the better players I'd be happy with that, so much upside with those two and if they come on how we'd expect we will have a very good, versatile player in the position we need. Agree that heights a bit overrated but it would be nice to have another tall mid coming through, and those two are very tall.

I would be very happy with one of Harvey or Conlon at 40, would prefer Conlon though. FWIW the dogs haven't spoken to Conlon lately but seeing as he was our AIS kid you'd think we would have a little bit of interest.

At pick 4 I still hope we go with Aish if he is available but thinking about it if we believe KK or Bontempelli will be the better players I'd be happy with that, so much upside with those two and if they come on how we'd expect we will have a very good, versatile player in the position we need. Agree that heights a bit overrated but it would be nice to have another tall mid coming through, and those two are very tall.

I would also be pretty darn happy with Sicily at pick 42

:D

Think 60 will be the most interesting choice though, not sure who will even still be there

I would also be pretty darn happy with Sicily at pick 42

:D

Think 60 will be the most interesting choice though, not sure who will even still be there

Yeah Sicily would be good, not sure if he really fits our needs though. At 42 if we can't get Harvey or Conlon I'd be looking at some DEF/MID types, we have plenty of players that are capable of rotating through the forward line and the midfield (Dahl, Hunter, Stringer, Higgins, Crameri, even Hrovat, Macrae and Stevens, just to name a few) but we really don't have too many players who can rotate from defence to the midfield (theres probably more but all I can really think of at the moment is JJ and he hasn't even played midfield yet, I just think he has the ability to do it soon enough) and we know how much Macca loves versatile players so thats what I would be looking for.

At pick 4 I reckon Aish (early part of his career anyway), KK, Bontempelli and Scharenberg all could fill that hole too.

What do you guys think of Wasley-Black, like the sound of him a lot.

Also can't say I've seen him play but this guy sounds like a worthy option for our annual "who?" pick at 60.

#28 – LIAM JACKA
Height: 180cm, Weight: 73kg, DOB: 5/6/1995
Recruited from: North Adelaide

Jacka is a guy who I think deserves to be drafted despite playing no representative footy this year in what was a pretty strong South Australian team in the end. He started a little slowly but his end to the season was very, very strong which would’ve seen him in the side for sure and been a strong performer, I have no doubt.

He had a brilliant year in the SANFL U/18’s, playing 22 games, averaging 25 disposals, 5 marks, kicking 12 goals, winning his club’s best and fairest and taking out the competition’s MVP award.
Jacka is a classy outside midfielder who possesses a nice left boot and very good leg speed. He always finds a way to be in the game because he runs really hard to link up but he will get much more attention at other levels.

I like Jacka because I think he is versatile. He is a freak athlete (which I’ll explain below), and I think he wouldn’t be out of place playing up forward or down back if he’s having a bad day on the wing. He doesn’t exactly have much of an inside game at this stage but he’s not soft and he’s just very good at his current role so there’s no reason to change it. His athleticism will allow him to become a dangerous forward because of his abilities in the air.

I got his height and weight from the AFL website because he wasn’t at the Combine, and I was a bit surprised because from the eye he looks a little bit taller and a bit heavier but I could very well be wrong. It could be because of his athleticism. As I said, he is a very strong mark overhead and plays pretty tall.

Jacka’s massive attribute is his athleticism. He dominated the State Screenings and he would’ve generated a lot of noise had he have been at the Combine. He ran 2.92 seconds in the 20m (top 7% at the Combine), 24.34 seconds in the repeat sprints (top 6%), would’ve been top 15% in the running and standing jumps and top 20% in the agility test. His beep test was down but the State Screenings are completed in one day and the results across the board are always lower. The way he runs out on the field indicates that he doesn’t have too much trouble with endurance.

I would’ve loved to have seen Jacka play some higher level footy at some stage, and for this he might get marked down. Still, you can’t ignore his athletic prowess, and he’s good footballer to go with it, so I definitely think he’s worth a shot and one of my personal favourites in this draft.

Who's the best running half-back that might be available at 42??

If Templeton's available we should grab him. Can play half back or midfield, good skills, and his run is his main feature.

My best guess would be that we will go with Sharenberg and if he is gone it will be a toss up between kolo and Aish

I think 8/10 recruiters in GWSs possirtion would go with Sharenberg at pick 2 because it is what they most need but SOS could go any which way, Kelly, billings, Aish or kolo

For all of aish's credentials he seems to be out of favour at the very top end. Whether this is the fear of the go home factor or something else is hard to tell.

Aside from Boyd, it seems there are about 6 other quality a grade types, so whatever we end up with is going to be a strong addition.

Pick 42 and 60 are going to be a complete chook lotto

I can't see anyway Templeton makes it to 42.

Yep, I'd be pretty shocked. But ecstatic. I love him. If we passed on him and he was available I'd be shattered.

People were saying Aish is a lock at 2, now he could slip to 6.

But I agree, there's like a 0.001% chance of him making it to 42. Hoping he slides though.

No interest here for Ben Brown?

someone reported that if he is still on the board with one of our later picks we wouold get him.

No interest here for Ben Brown?

We've apparently told him that if he lasts it to our pick then we'll take him.

I personally think he's no chance to be there at 42. If he was there I'd definitely take him, unless there's a massive slider.

like they did with Membrey

I don't think we "missed out" on Membrey. We have said heaps of times that we ended up getting every guy that we had our eye on. So I doubt he was even on our radar at all and wouldn't have picked him.

Brown is an interesting player. Will be a matter of if he can carry his VFL form over in to the AFL.