List Mgmt. 2013 Draft Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Igloo

Having said that....to be fair, it's not just the HS pumping up the tyres of every single draft prospect in a shallow draft..
And Kelly has been a recruiters favourite all year.

True. About the only journo out there worth listening to in regards to the draft is Emma Quayle. Even Brett Anderson i find to be a fair bit off what is actually happening. Cal Twomey is getting better but still dont rate his opinion. I actually really enjoy Knightmare's insights on BF. Seems to be the most realistic in terms of players' ability. He has said from the outset that Bontempelli will bolt up the draft pecking order towards the end of the year. A lot of people didnt even have him top 20-30 until after the combine

According to the HS Josh Kelly is the second coming of Simon Black/Luke Hodge/Ablett. I'm sure he's a great player but Geez the media pump up the tyres of some of these draft kids. That's why I like reading some BF opinions, it's a very good leveller...:D

I read that Bontempelli has been billed as the next Scott Pendlebury (thought Macrae was? :p), while on here he is someone going to work all over the ground taking marks

Both the Herald Sun and the AFL site need to stop trying to make player comparisons because they have no idea.
I guess this year 90% of kids are "the next Pendlebury"

A couple of years back most kids "played like Stephen Hill"

It's as pointless as recruiting someone to "replace" a particular player on a list.

According to the HS Josh Kelly is the second coming of Simon Black/Luke Hodge/Ablett. I'm sure he's a great player but Geez the media pump up the tyres of some of these draft kids. That's why I like reading some BF opinions, it's a very good leveller...:D

Kelly definitely going to be a Brownlow medal winning in-and-under midfielder o_O You can watch 3 minute highlights of him and see that he's NOTHING like those players!

I guess this year 90% of kids are "the next Pendlebury"

A couple of years back most kids "played like Stephen Hill"

It's as pointless as recruiting someone to "replace" a particular player on a list.
Yeah, agreed. My major issue with player comparisons - even good ones - is that they come with the positive or negative stigma that surrounds the AFL player. For example, if I were to say that player X "plays like Pendlebury" and player Y "plays like Sylvia" people interpret that as player X > player Y, which isn't necessarily true (in fact, a complete spud could still have the same style as Pendlebury). On the other hand, if I say "player Z plays like Cordy," everyone wants to stay well away despite me just meaning that their style of play is similar. Plus, there's never an exact match and these comparisons often get interpreted as a complete match.

It's even more infuriating when players are pointlessly compared to AFL legends just to pump them up despite being completely different. :P

I bloody hate young Draft kids being "compared" to a current day player in the print media. Totally unfair on them, their families and the punter. The worst is when they ask the kid in a media interview who they "play like"...

please pick Aish, please pick Aish. Will spew if we pass up on him.

Couldn't have put it better, mate.

One of the standout moments of the 2012 SANFL grand final was when Aish got the ball on the outer wing, took three bounces and calmly slotted a goal from 45 metres, a fraction of a second before two West Adelaide defenders got to him. This would have been impressive for anyone let alone a skinny 16 year old.

He's proven himself against men in a tough competition while most of the other top draft prospects have been playing against kids their own age, including Tom Boyd. Scharenberg might be bigger and stronger, and has played some senior footy at Glenelg, but is yet to prove that he's in the same class as Aish.

Get it done, Dogs!

Watching all the videos of Mitch Thorpe. I'm not overly impressed I thought he was star based on recent reports coming out of Tassie. Seems he was a just a good player against some very average opposition defenders. Yes I understand that he might go late in the draft but he Will possibly only be a top up player (at best) for a strong AFL club.

I think Freo will get him at 37. Can back up Pavlich/Mayne

So are we going to be using pick 60 or not? I was under the impression we were, but then that article in the HS suggests it will be the Goodes pick.

Looks like we're going with a rookie selection instead of pick 60.

Dang. There are a couple of guys who will be picked late who I don't mind, and think there is a lot to work with. Might be gone by the rookie draft though. Hopefully not.

I don't think there's much there, personally. It's the 90-100 standard in your normal draft, and that's after the point where I'd cut my losses and head to the rookie draft.

I think we don't use it. But we'll have a rookie pick. I was always a bit confused when people said we would use pick 60 and upgrade Goodes.

OUT (5)
Cross
Addison
Vez
Marko
Lower

IN (5)
Crameri
Darley
Goodes
pick 4
pick 42

Is that right?

I think we don't use it. But we'll have a rookie pick. I was always a bit confused when people said we would use pick 60 and upgrade Goodes.

OUT (5)
Cross
Addison
Vez
Marko
Lower

IN (5)
Crameri
Darley
Goodes
pick 4
pick 42

Is that right?
You can't count Goodes in the ins. He's already on the list. As it stands it's five out, two in. We can take three in the ND, two in the ND + 1 in the PD or two in the ND + 1 in the RD.

I don't think there's much there, personally. It's the 90-100 standard in your normal draft, and that's after the point where I'd cut my losses and head to the rookie draft.

Spencer, Holman, maybe McCartney are all players I wouldn't mind picking up.
Holman especially I have a feeling can develop into a really good player. Already has outstanding work ethic on the field, just needs to build up more of a tank to get to the right spots. His 2nd and 3rd efforts are up there with the best in the draft, imo.

You can't count Goodes in the ins. He's already on the list. As it stands it's five out, two in. We can take three in the ND, two in the ND + 1 in the PD or two in the ND + 1 in the RD.

Sorry if this sounds stupid cause this stuff confuses me every year but how can it be 3 in the ND or 2 in the ND + 1 in the RD. Like where is the extra rookie spot coming from if Goodes is already on the list/ wouldn't the first spot leave a rookie spot open?

EDIT: is this because if you have 5 rookies in pre-season you have to upgrade one of them before the year? or you can just go straight in with 4?

Spencer, Holman, maybe McCartney are all players I wouldn't mind picking up.
Holman especially I have a feeling can develop into a really good player. Already has outstanding work ethic on the field, just needs to build up more of a tank to get to the right spots. His 2nd and 3rd efforts are up there with the best in the draft, imo.
Spencer will go earlier than 60 imo; a club would be prepared to take him earlier given how awful the KPP stocks are. I would expect him to go around the 50 mark. If he's there though I'd probably have a look.

Ugh, no, not Holman. :P Not a fan. Awful decision maker and a poor kick from what I've seen.

McCartney will be a stay at home small forward at AFL level imo, and he's not particularly elite in the regards you need to be to make it there. He's like a rabid attack dog and applies some excellent tackling pressure, but he's horribly inconsistent. Does have some attributes that I like and that separate him from those "similar" players, but I wouldn't touch him with anything more than a rookie pick, personally. I'm just not sure I see where the improvement comes from if he doesn't move into the midfield.

Sorry if this sounds stupid cause this stuff confuses me every year but how can it be 3 in the ND or 2 in the ND + 1 in the RD. Like where is the extra rookie spot coming from if Goodes is already on the list/ wouldn't the first spot leave a rookie spot open?

EDIT: is this because if you have 5 rookies in pre-season you have to upgrade one of them before the year? or you can just go straight in with 4?
The rules changed a couple of years ago IIRC - you have to have 44 on the list, but that can be a combination of:
  • 40 on the main list, 4 on the rookie list.
  • 39 on the main list, 5 on the rookie list.
  • 38 on the main list, 6 on the rookie list.
We currently have 36 on the main list and 5 on the rookie list. Upgrade Goodes and it gives us 37 main list, 4 rookie list - but it doesn't actually change the number of players on the list overall because rookies are counted in the 44. Thus we can add three to the main list, or two to the main list and one to the rookie list.