List Mgmt. 2013 Draft Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Igloo

People are acting very childish about this, they're too emotionally involved because of two years of Aish love. Imagine if Collingwood didn't go with Pendles who was drafted under very similar circumstances.

...collingwood would have much egg on their faces, but i'm not sure that that's the case with aish

...i'm not sure folks have not just fallen for the new flash gizmo, the shiney new bling? i perhaps feel that after '2 years of Aish love' folks have bred contempt from familiarity...? two years of being picked apart has resulted in his (relative) low numbers of contested possessions now meaning he is a pure outside receiver that can't win his own ball; that an 18 year old kid who mentions he like his mates and loves his family is now a flight risk. everyone wants to be the guy that picks the bolter and salt their own tomato in 3 years to their mates down the pub "iiii tollld choo, maaate. told choo he was gunna beeya shtar!". no kudos in predicting jaeger o'meara is a stud...have to pick another bloke, right?

i like MB...really do. love the potential superstar, so don't get me wrong. but (from write ups only), aish gives us so much of what we're lacking - polish, poise and class. our contested ball numbers are great as they are, but it's widely noted we couldn't hit the broad side of uluru with foot skills going forward. if i were to pick 2 players this year, it'd be a bob murphy to play on the wing, and another bob murphy to play in defence. i love my bobby, but he ain't no contested ball guru...

"libba, jars a ball loose at the contest, spills to griffen, stands up in a tackle and gets the ball to wallis who finds _______ on the spread..." _______ has been easton wood, "who blasts it long to an out-numbered liam jones", or boyd "who sprays it 15m to behind a leading stringer, where enright takes the mark", or clay smith "who mongrels one along the ground", or jack mccrae "who kick a loopy spongey pass to gia, and rhyce shaw spoils". this is where we need our P4. our outside delivery, decision making and smarts.

Flashbacks.

The pain, the horrible HORRIBLE pain.
Make it stop!

:p

...collingwood would have much egg on their faces, but i'm not sure that that's the case with aish

...i'm not sure folks have not just fallen for the new flash gizmo, the shiney new bling? i perhaps feel that after '2 years of Aish love' folks have bred contempt from familiarity...? two years of being picked apart has resulted in his (relative) low numbers of contested possessions now meaning he is a pure outside receiver that can't win his own ball; that an 18 year old kid who mentions he like his mates and loves his family is now a flight risk. everyone wants to be the guy that picks the bolter and salt their own tomato in 3 years to their mates down the pub "iiii tollld choo, maaate. told choo he was gunna beeya shtar!". no kudos in predicting jaeger o'meara is a stud...have to pick another bloke, right?

i like MB...really do. love the potential superstar, so don't get me wrong. but (from write ups only), aish gives us so much of what we're lacking - polish, poise and class. our contested ball numbers are great as they are, but it's widely noted we couldn't hit the broad side of uluru with foot skills going forward. if i were to pick 2 players this year, it'd be a bob murphy to play on the wing, and another bob murphy to play in defence. i love my bobby, but he ain't no contested ball guru...

After the last few days I am a bit undecided. I can see the benefits in both players.

Whilst Aish seems the logical choice, at no stage have we been reported as really into him. Firstly we liked Billings, and now that the Saints look likely to take him we are after Bontempelli.

I don't really think it's the interview thing about him going home, or even his reduced output. I think it's to do with the type of player he is - consider, did the great 2007-2011 Geelong team really have a player like him? Did they rely on that player??

Think of their mids - GAJ, Bartel, Corey, Kelly, etc. From memory the only player that was pure outside was Varcoe, and he wasn't really critical.

Now Bontempelli on the other hand, whilst we would be no doubt impressed by his height and physical attributes - I reckon Macca would be most impressed by the fact that he is superb by hand (well at least that is what I read). Dannnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn said he is a great decision maker and executer from clearances and under pressure - that is Geelong footy.

Anyway, just more for us to chew on while waiting for Thursday!!!

'How nervous are you about Thursday night? How are your mothers feeling about what might happen to you?

Commenter
Sue
November 18, 2013, 5:45PM

James: I have fluctuated between nerves and excitement. I feel as if I am ready to get to a club and I am looking forward to the challenge. I'm the youngest of four - my brothers have already moved out of home and my sister has travelled so we are all pretty independent which will probably make it a bit easier on both Mum and Dad if I am to move. '

From the James Aish/Tom Boyd/Jack Billings Q & A, doesn't seem like from this and a few of his other questions like he is worried about where he will end up.

Courtesy of scpaige.com.au

The WESTERN BULLDOGS have spent majority of the last week putting a lot of time and effort into Marcus Bontempelli and the recent reports are that they have in fact committed to the rangy 192cm midfielder/utility with that pick. The Bulldogs are of the view that Bontempelli will develop into a player who can play a variety of positions – especially his presence in the midfielder – which has given him the edge over dual Norwood premiership player, James Aish.

The Bulldogs believe that Bontempelli may be more damaging down the line, and give his awkward height – they predict he’ll be a headache for the opposition in years to come, giving the Dogs a bit of x-factor. They are however, renown for making some late calls at the draft table, and could still backflip and take Aish for security at selection four, than opt for “boom or bust” Bontempelli.

Igloo dweller
With the greatest respect, if what you want is a bob murphy who can deliver the ball than why are you not considering Kolodjashnji? His left foot must be the best in this draft over either short or long distances, he is quicker than Aish, fitter than Aish, taller, more evasive, jumps higher, as classy and with a name which offers greater entertainment value. He is from Tassie so there is absolutely no go home factor as everyone is pleased to leave Tassie. He would slot perfectly on a half back flank next year; is almost the height of Bontempelli, can also play mid field, is Ukrainian ethnically ( so if you have read any Russian novels, you know he is genetically ready to bleed for us)

Did I mention his leap in the combine testing, apparently the testers had seen nothing like it

And time stops when he kicks with that left foot - millimeter perfect every time.

Hey,
Just a thought, what if all us tragic BF posters each did our top 10 talents for this draft and than we can revisit them this time next year and finally prove who is the greatest judge of talent in the whole wide world?

It could add some badly needed filler during this period.

Hey,
Just a thought, what if all us tragic BF posters each did our top 10 talents for this draft and than we can revisit them this time next year and finally prove who is the greatest judge of talent in the whole wide world?

It could add some badly needed filler during this period.
Maybe, but could then just name the players most ready to play AFL and not necessarily which players end up the best from this upcoming draft

You right it won't be definitive for a couple of seasons but it could still be fun as some may/will bomb early
In THAT case
Luke McDonald, Dom Sheed, Matt Crouch, Luke Dunstan, Trent Dumont, Nathan Freeman, Christian Salem, Tom Boyd, Matt Scharenberg, Jack Billings for next season to have the most impact but not necessarily have a decorated career (ie. Brownlows, B & Fs, All Australians)

thanks yebiga.
i don't have a clue about the pros and cons of each draftee, so if that guy is KK and not aish, so be it.

i have a better idea of WBFC's needs. i'd rank a midfielder 'to get on the end of' our clearance dominance as priority number one. i think this person is a natural midfielder, with skill poise and class. from write ups, i like aish, but i'm just another mug punter. the MB experiment does excite me though.

our second biggest need is a half back with vision, sound skills by foot and most importantly, excellent decision making. there's been a few names mentioned here, i like the write ups on isiah miller, but my favourite write up is of a mature age guy called george hampson from WA. if our P60-something is being used...he's my HBFer

If enough are keen, I am happy to start a new thread titled: WB greatest judge of talent in the world competition 2013
Everyone picks their top 10 in order from this draft pool
Any takers?
Want to also play the Kevin Sheehan shot game? Every time Kevin describes a player as a prolific ball winner you take a shot of whatever spirit you choose. Guaranteed to be best friends with the toilet by the end of the night ;) I am down for this new thread though.

Could the blanks not be filled by a Hrovat, Hunter, JJ, or Dahlhaus though?

Also am I the only one who thinks Clay Smith's decision making makes up for his poor kicking technique? He's much smarter than people give him credit for.

Want to also play the Kevin Sheehan shot game? Every time Kevin describes a player as a prolific ball winner you take a shot of whatever spirit you choose. Guaranteed to be best friends with the toilet by the end of the night ;) I am down for this new thread though.
Its up

Guys as someone who has never seen the prospects play, I am enjoying the discussion. Just thought I would say one thing - I don't get, like or appreciate people saying, we should have faith in Dalrymple.

If and/or when Dalrymple builds a record like Hine or Geelong's recruiter, then I'll have faith and blindly follow. But at the moment, Dalrymple's record is an abject failure in recruiting Howard and Tutt, then being gifted two father sons, and then having Stringer and Macrae who are unproven, is at best ordinary.

So please carry on the discussion, I am enjoying it, but if I hear people suggesting Dalrymple is infallible or even remotely beyond ordinary and thus should be followed blindly, well - I'll spew up!

He also recruited Dalhaus as a rookie, Smith who is the biggest little tough man, and Prudden, Campbell, and Dickson.

None of those guys are A-Graders. I'm not necessarily saying they all should be, but the fact remains, he's yet to select a genuine A-Grade Star (2009 is the only year you can really judge at the moment though).

Also, jokes aside, Prudden has done nothing. He's not a good pick until he plays.

Sam Landsberger on twitter replied to me saying he thinks it will be Bontempelli. He nailed it last year saying Macrae / Stringer the night before the draft. Very interesting choice, happy to back the maccas in on a boom/bust type pick. Would love a Pendlebury to add to our already promising midfield. Best key forward available in the big man stacked draft next year and this list is building nicely.

Courtesy of scpaige.com.au

The WESTERN BULLDOGS have spent majority of the last week putting a lot of time and effort into Marcus Bontempelli and the recent reports are that they have in fact committed to the rangy 192cm midfielder/utility with that pick. The Bulldogs are of the view that Bontempelli will develop into a player who can play a variety of positions – especially his presence in the midfielder – which has given him the edge over dual Norwood premiership player, James Aish.

The Bulldogs believe that Bontempelli may be more damaging down the line, and give his awkward height – they predict he’ll be a headache for the opposition in years to come, giving the Dogs a bit of x-factor. They are however, renown for making some late calls at the draft table, and could still backflip and take Aish for security at selection four, than opt for “boom or bust” Bontempelli.
X factor. , awkward height , massive height !
Pick the safer option pleeeeease!!

Sam Landsberger on twitter replied to me saying he thinks it will be Bontempelli. He nailed it last year saying Macrae / Stringer the night before the draft. Very interesting choice, happy to back the maccas in on a boom/bust type pick. Would love a Pendlebury to add to our already promising midfield. Best key forward available in the big man stacked draft next year and this list is building nicely.
Boom Bust risk is just madness.
Yes, I know most young draftees are boom bust, but some more than others.
This looks like it's more of a chance in the bust equation, than some others.