List Mgmt. 2013 Draft Discussion

Dalrymple has done pretty well in the rookie draft too, with Dahlhaus a gun, Campbell looking solid and Jong showing signs outside of time spent on the sidelines. Dickson (and perhaps Campbell) may have been given a go because of the Bombers affiliation but perhaps he deserves some credit for these as well.

You're also forgetting about JJ who he picked up in the rookie draft who looks like a gun, and I'd say Campbell looks more than solid, he's our next #1 ruckman.

GWS would change Plowman for Grundy in a heartbeat. Melbourne would swap Toumpas for Wines/Mayes I reckon.

Not sure about that one, Im huge on Mayes and was hoping we would take him (although very happy with our two). Everyone knew Wines was going to make an immediate impact and Toumpas was going to take time, nothing has really changed there for me. Wines reminds me a bit of Rich in that the team that took him knew he would have an immediate impact, like Sheed this year.

Dalrymple has done pretty well in the rookie draft too, with Dahlhaus a gun, Campbell looking solid and Jong showing signs outside of time spent on the sidelines. Dickson (and perhaps Campbell) may have been given a go because of the Bombers affiliation but perhaps he deserves some credit for these as well.

Jury is certainly out but he isn't a dud recruiter. He's picked some solid players with some not-so-great picks and appears to have done well with the early ones outside of 2009. I think he's worth persisting with.

I agree he has done very well with later picks/rookie draft. I was talking purely first rounders, seems he goes against the general consensus almost every year and now the talk about Bontempelli which again is against the general train of thought. Hopefully it works out for us though and if we take him i wish the kid the best of luck. Just feels like too much of a gamble for me but then again Im not paid to sit there and watch hundreds of hours of footage on each kid throughout the year, if we didn't share our opinion though the forum would be a pretty boring place.

Not sure about that one, Im huge on Mayes and was hoping we would take him (although very happy with our two). Everyone knew Wines was going to make an immediate impact and Toumpas was going to take time, nothing has really changed there for me. Wines reminds me a bit of Rich in that the team that took him knew he would have an immediate impact, like Sheed this year.

Mayes shits all over the Toump IMO.

Also why is there so much love for Simon Dalrymple? Lets look at our first rounders from the last 4 years...

2009: Christian Howard, well im not even going to go there but Menzel (looked to be an amazing prospect before injuries)/Fyfe/Carlisle were all available and went around here..Howard is lucky to be on our list. Very, very bad pick.

2010: Everyone knew and everyone would of taken Wallis and Libba with our first and second rounder including my 85 year old Grandma, so whether this worked out or failed it can't really be attributed to Dalrymple. Good picks which were going to happen regardless if Dalrymple or my Grandma were in charge. If Wallis/Libba didn't work out i can't see anyone wanting Dalrymples head.

2011: Clay Smith, I love Smith and i think everyone does so it clouds peoples judgements and people generally over rate there own but his just a best 22 player, never going to become a star. Decent/Average pick nothing special.

2012: Macrae and Stringer! now these guys look good right? and im very happy we got them on our list but lets look at the top 10 of 2012:
1. Whitfield
2. O'Rourke
3. Plowman
4. Toumpas
5. Stringer
6. Macrae
7. Wines
8. Mayes
9. Vlastuin
10. Daniher
All of them look pretty good besides maybe Plowman (although i have NFI how his going), while Macrae and Stringer look the goods its way to early to tell who will become the best from those guys, FWIW i had picks 5+6 in the 2012 Phantom Draft on our board and took Grundy and Mayes which just adds to my argument there looks like there is ALOT of players who will become very good from this draft. Seem like good picks by Dalrymple but too early to make a fair judgement on.

Would say based on first rounders his a below average recruiter at best. He does have a nice record with other picks though. I personally think his OK but some of you guys act like his the second coming of Jesus.

I think you should be our recruiting man. Howard was selected by previous regime. Since Macca has arrived it has been selected by a panel on a needs, plus other criteria that has to be met, it is on a points basis. You cannot look at a draft a year later and make such opinions, it takes 5 years. Even your great selections may end up ordinary.

Once again, to those highlighting Dalrymple's success in the later rounds, name me one certified A-Grader we've selected in the later rounds/rookie draft. I see a lot of C-B Graders like Campbell, Dahlhaus, Dickson etc, who are nice gets, but they're not stars, and ultimately, you need stars to win flags.

This is why consistency in choosing first rounders is clearly more important than the later rounds. Drafting 1-2 A-Graders a year with inconsistency in the later rounds is far more beneficial than say, 3-4 C to B Graders a year. Scott Pendlebury alone has probably had a bigger impact on all of Collingwood's success than Brent MaCaffer, Jarryd Blair & Alan Toovey combined, who are all handy B-Graders taken in the later rounds.

I'm not going to say he's a bad recruiter, but heaps of posters here praise him like he's god's gift. It's too early to judge him right now, but if he chooses Bontempelli, only for him to flop, that makes 2 drafts where he's botched our first rounder, and I'll be calling for his head.

hey crew, got my hands on some more vision of bontempelli that isn't in the afl websites highlight video. whipped up my first video so the editing is absolutely disgraceful. Enjoy

Thanks for posting.
I especially like the picture at the end of the clip. ;)

I'm not going to say he's a bad recruiter, but heaps of posters here praise him like he's god's gift. It's too early to judge him right now, but if he chooses Bontempelli, only for him to flop, that makes 2 drafts where he's botched our first rounder, and I'll be calling for his head.

Pretty much this, sums up my exact feelings on the issue. But hey, apparently you can't say anything negative about Dalrymple here!

Dalrymple bashing is getting tiresome. Considering we were deep in finals not long ago our list is in pretty good shape.

I'd like to see a list....but Clayton picks and trades got us to finals...not Dal. Johnno being the recent exception.
Let's not forget the Clayton misfires were plentiful, so Dal deserves benefit of doubt.....for now. The problem with Dal is he chose Howard in his very first draft trying to be a hero and completely stuffed it up so it has clouded our judgement.

Once again, to those highlighting Dalrymple's success in the later rounds, name me one certified A-Grader we've selected in the later rounds/rookie draft. I see a lot of C-B Graders like Campbell, Dahlhaus, Dickson etc, who are nice gets, but they're not stars, and ultimately, you need stars to win flags.

This is why consistency in choosing first rounders is clearly more important than the later rounds. Drafting 1-2 A-Graders a year with inconsistency in the later rounds is far more beneficial than say, 3-4 C to B Graders a year. Scott Pendlebury alone has probably had a bigger impact on all of Collingwood's success than Brent MaCaffer, Jarryd Blair & Alan Toovey combined, who are all handy B-Graders taken in the later rounds.

No reason Dahlhaus, JJ and Campbell can't become A-graders, Dickson was a mature aged player who was drafted just to play a role and he is doing exactly that.

Pretty much this, sums up my exact feelings on the issue. But hey, apparently you can't say anything negative about Dalrymple here!

My reasoning for backing him in is simply that there isn't any reason not to. He knows a shitload more than any of us, and barring 09, he has what appears to be (so far) a good track record. Obviously in football, you have to wait several years to see if some choices were right. In some cases, you can tell straight away. Until he gives me reason to think otherwise, I'll be happy enough in trusting him.

This is close to the dumbest thing you've ever posted. FFS Minson wasn't seen as an A grade ruckman until he was 27. Griffen wasn't a legit A grader until his mid 20s. Ablett was a flaky HFF at 24. How the **** would you know if any of these guys will be A graders when most are in their 2nd or 3rd year of football?
Judd's and O'Meara's are the exception not the ******* rule.
If you weren't so thick-headed, you might've realized that I'm not saying Dalrymple is a bad recruiter, I'm saying it's too early to judge him, in contrast to a lot of the posters here brown nosing him like he's an all-knowing genius.

Ease up on the personal attacks mate.
I haven't seen anyone brown nosing Dalrymple, just stating that they have faith in our recruiting structure to get things right. Is that really unreasonable?

I'm sorry if I got your post wrong as it sounded like you were projecting, but really thick-headed? Not necessary man.

I think people have unrealistic expectations of what a good draft even is. If you can get one quality player and one serviceable player you've done well, if a team has ten drafts at that level its a premiership standard team. If you get two quality players out of a draft then it's a great result, as no team ever has had 20 quality players.

Ease up on the personal attacks mate.
I'm sorry if I got your post wrong as it sounded like you were projecting, but really thick-headed? Not necessary man.
You were charming yourself.
I haven't seen anyone brown nosing Dalrymple, just stating that they have faith in our recruiting structure to get things right. Is that really unreasonable?
Different perspectives make for different perceptions.

When times does Emma Quayle release her final phantom draft usualy??

hey crew, got my hands on some more vision of bontempelli that isn't in the afl websites highlight video. whipped up my first video so the editing is absolutely disgraceful. Enjoy

Loving the late eighties electronica.