List Mgmt. 2013 DRAFT

• Thread starter Thread starter HARKER

Carlton has been linked to former GWS player Anthony Miles in the rookie draft.

21 years old, inside midfielder, 10 games
Even though I think we're settled for inside mids now, I like Miles and he'll bust his gut for a 2nd chance - wasn't being given a look in at GWS.

Rule a line through Thorp. We won't be taking him tomorrow.
Not that Thorp is 100% the answer but you think we will go into 2014 with the same forward line. Waite is our only guaranteed starter, but his body as we all know is prone. How can the club not draft a forward. Thorp had a stellar year, unless Watson down back Hendo forward?

By not taking Thorpe, Rogers and Malthouse are basically saying they rate Levi and Rowe higher and Thorpe would be 5th in line. I also think/hope MM is thinking that the 2nd tall fwd needs to be able to pinch hit in the ruck, something I don't think Thorpe is capable of.

I want them all to succeed, but I don't believe Levi and Rowe are of any real quality. Unless we're gonna play Kruze as a resting forward.

Looking forward to the rookie draft. Wonder whether Carlton will select a forward/ruck or continue with the big bodied midfielder theme?

I'm no recruiting expert but I've put together a list of draftees who I like the look of. The majority are multi-positional midfielders with good skills, endurance and goal kicking ability. I've also included a ruckman who can play as a resting forward.

Have to say, I feel for Lewis Fitzgerald who had a horror run with injuries. Could be that diamond in the rough that clubs are looking for? Unable to find video footage but I did come across a couple of articles which provide an insight into the type of player he is. Perhaps some of the better informed B&F posters could shed some light?

Small Mids:

Jacob Sharp
Position: Small midfielder/defender
Height: 179cm
Weight: 81kg
Midfielder/wingman who has been converted into a half-back flanker at the Geelong Falcons. Similar player to Josh Saunders at St Kilda. Ball-winner with great pace and endurance and is a magnificent long right-foot kick coming off half-back.
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-10-20/jacob-sharp

Liam Jacka
Position: Midfielder
Height: 180cm
Weight: 73kg
The hard-running midfielder enjoyed a hugely successful season with North Adelaide's under-18 side, taking out the Roosters' best and fairest as well as the competition's MVP award. Wasn't selected in South Australia's Under-18 side, but tested well at the State Combine in the standing vertical jump, 20m sprint and 30m repeat sprints. Outside player with pace and skill.
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-10-20/liam-jacka

Tall Mids:

Liam Nash
Height: 187cm
Weight: 79kg
Midfielder with the ability to play inside and out. Great speed and a good size at 187cm. Nash is good overhead and has good skills on both sides of his body. Had a good season for the Gippsland Power and is the nephew of Australian Opal Belinda Snell.
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-10-20/liam-nash

Nick Bourke
Height: 188cm
Weight: 80kg
Medium midfielder with fantastic athleticism and overhead marking ability. Can play at both ends of the ground as well as through the midfield. Is a thumping left-foot kick and loves to run and carry the footy on the outside. Has clean hands and likes to bring his teammates into the game.
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-10-20/nick-bourke

Lewis Fitzgerald
Position: Tall defender
Height: 190cm
Weight: 84kg
A powerful tall defender with an excellent penetrating kick, Fitzgerald uses the ball well on both sides of his body and provides good counter attack. Possesses elite endurance and has also shown the ability to play through the wings where he can be a difficult player to contain due to his athletic prowess.
http://boundforglorynews.com/lewis-fitzgerald-the-forgotten-man/
http://boundforglorynews.com/2013-draft-profile-lewis-fitzgerald/

Ruck:

Josh Miller
Position: Ruckman
Height: 204cm
Weight: 94kg
Ruckman who is very athletic and uses the ball well by hand and foot. Has progressed from the under 18s to reserves level with Glenelg during 2013. Possesses good speed and lateral movement for a player of his size.
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-10-20/josh-miller

I think Kruezer is better just rucking around the whole ground cause he has good endurance.seen a couple games of him playing forward and wasn't blown away.

That's just it. He needs more time than just 2 games. I think on average we play better when Robbie rucks.

Yeah i reckon warnock is a good tap ruckman but would like to see him more agressive in games. honestly id even like to see Kruezer try and play a chb role. I think he woul be good at filling gaps and get alot of intercept marks.

Thorp is ready to go. I just don't want us to draft another Luke Mitchell.

Even if Thorp was a Choir Boy and never put a foot wrong off the field, you have to look at the competition he was playing in down in Tasmania. This league is inferior to other state leagues around the country such as the VFL, SANFL and WAFL.

Take a kid who really wants it.

Ahh k yeah well look warnocks a beast and he can do well against bigger ruckman when he wants to I reckon. On the whole though kreuzer is definetly the choice it's pretty much like having another midfielder when he plays. Very athletic

Even if Thorp was a Choir Boy and never put a foot wrong off the field, you have to look at the competition he was playing in down in Tasmania. This league is inferior to other state leagues around the country such as the VFL, SANFL and WAFL.

Take a kid who really wants it.
So you're saying Thorp doesn't really want to play AFL? He was playing in a league where several players were drafted from. Do you know why he went back to Tasmania?. So, essentially majority of Tassie players are crap, according to you.

And sure let's take another kid who's not going to make it.

he must still have the skills that led to him being a high draft pick. At a ripe age to. Most of all too you if he gets a chance somewhere he is going to be trying his hardest to show his potential.

What do you think happens to high draft picks who don't make it, and there are plenty of them, that they give away footy? Most play on, for money, at a lower level, where they star because they have the skills that led to them being a high draft pick.

How many do you know of that then get drafted again?

I can't think of any either. Anyone? I am genuinely interested.