List Mgmt. 2013 DRAFT

• Thread starter Thread starter HARKER

Skinny tall who hasn't been playing AFL for long.

Jeremy Cameron????????? Listed 2013 AFL Prospectus as 194cm/89kg....skinny kid....not played long..........PASS .....huh

The likelihood is that we will take the best available mid and not too many would complain.
We have been lamenting the absence of a key forward for years. (Note: Hendo and Waitey compare with any combo in the league if can be played there). A bit concerned at the reported size of McCarthy, latest AFL Phantom has him as 193, earlier reports had 195cm.

The kid is athletic, has work ethic, can take a grab and can kick a clutch goal.

Those who think we are going to grab a gun KPF through Free Agency are kidding themselves. Freo, St Kilda, Brisbane etc etc all need a gun forward. Plenty have more cap space than us, and we are going to get squeezed next year holding on to Gibbs and co. Barring a miracle, the draft is the only way. If this kid gets to our pick, he is worth the "gamble".

Midfield run is a priority, but we just acquired 3 excellent running players in the trade period, and despite reports to the contrary, we have a bloody good bunch of established and developing mids.

As for reports of "injury history," he broke a leg and was back performing at the draft combine, albeit in a limited capacity.

He is not a gorilla type, very athletic, and the changing game means in likelihood would be AFL ready in his second season, if not before. Read Cameron and Gunston here. He is not the "old fashioned" forward like Luke Mitchell, and won't be compelled to bulk up as much as Pat McCarthy to body up on opposition forwards.

Taking McCarthy would mean sweating on a midfield "slider" with 39, but just remember Nick Graham 12 months ago.

I keep reading that McCarthy is injury prone.

How many injuries has CM had too date?

We didn't baulk at drafting Menzel with his injury history.

The Dogs picked Stringer who had a terrible break two years ago.

Have no doubt we'll pick the best talent.

We don't want another undersized McCarthy who doesn't measure up to the mids we overlooked. :rainbow:

I though I read somewhere that McCarthy is now 195 cms?! - no idea how much weight he's put on though.

Anybody know how he fared in the Combine?!

Jeremy Cameron????????? Listed 2013 AFL Prospectus as 194cm/89kg....skinny kid....not played long..........PASS .....huh

The likelihood is that we will take the best available mid and not too many would complain.
We have been lamenting the absence of a key forward for years. (Note: Hendo and Waitey compare with any combo in the league if can be played there). A bit concerned at the reported size of McCarthy, latest AFL Phantom has him as 193, earlier reports had 195cm.

The kid is athletic, has work ethic, can take a grab and can kick a clutch goal.

Those who think we are going to grab a gun KPF through Free Agency are kidding themselves. Freo, St Kilda, Brisbane etc etc all need a gun forward. Plenty have more cap space than us, and we are going to get squeezed next year holding on to Gibbs and co. Barring a miracle, the draft is the only way. If this kid gets to our pick, he is worth the "gamble".

Midfield run is a priority, but we just acquired 3 excellent running players in the trade period, and despite reports to the contrary, we have a bloody good bunch of established and developing mids.

As for reports of "injury history," he broke a leg and was back performing at the draft combine, albeit in a limited capacity.

He is not a gorilla type, very athletic, and the changing game means in likelihood would be AFL ready in his second season, if not before. Read Cameron and Gunston here. He is not the "old fashioned" forward like Luke Mitchell, and won't be compelled to bulk up as much as Pat McCarthy to body up on opposition forwards.

Taking McCarthy would mean sweating on a midfield "slider" with 39, but just remember Nick Graham 12 months ago.
You would just hope we have a bit more patience if we pick another McCarthy. At the end of 2012 Patty was developing nicely and showed a bit in his first game. 12 months later he is out the door.

I'll be utterly surprised and seriously disappointed (read: P155ed off) if they take McCarthy at 13.

There will be very good mids left at 13 as 1 and 8 are taken with KPP already.

Would expect they will take a slider if they appear but I would be very happy with Freeman, Crouch or Dunstan at 13.

At 39 I'd take Ben Brown from Werribee. Take a look at his 2012 to 2013 development. The kid has seriously progressed. This kid is a mix of side-show Bob and Buddy Franklin. Has the body and tools to be that player we hoped Levi and Rowey would be. Has a bigger tank and doesn't turn like a Kenworth. Very good kick on goal. Would rather pick him at 13 over McCarthy myself.

At 51, I'd go X-factor indigenous. That is our brand now and I'm really confident with it. Garlett if he falls is a monty and I reckon he may just do that. Clubs won't forgive him just yet and will look elsewhere and hope they get him super cheap. If not, and no biggie really, but I really like Impey. Have a look at his highlight reel.

Upgrade Curnow and Bell.

Rookie - Patty McCarthy, Matt Thomas, Ayden Kennedy and Jesse Creighton.

I like Snoop's thinking ...

Pick #13 - McCarthy (195 cms, 90 kgs)

Pick #39 - Conlon (198 cms, 95 kgs)

KP issues sorted ... feels like 2010 all over again :)

What's different here to Mitchell and Patty McCarthy. SFA. I'd rather rookie Squidda and Paddy. Waste of a very solid draft position. The only two KPP you'd be looking at in this draft are gone. You gotta go mid or best available (Gardner?) with first pick.

Who are the two KPP that would already be gone?!

You can't shoot down an argument of picking up McCarthy at #13 only to then pick Gardner.

Mate we still have to find a onballer to replace Judd. Mccarthy/project type who you could flip a coin on whether they will work out or not should be avoided since our development of talls is shizen.

At 51, if we had the choice for either Dayle Garlett or Mitch Thorpe who should we take?? Both with huge risk and huge upside..

Personally I would rather Garlett as a rookie so that if it goes pear shaped we only have him on a 1 year contract. Thorpe given his new found maturity I would be confident he wouldn't fck up badly and given his Tasmanian form at worst would end up a handy key forward for Northern Blues at best could end up an being the missing link of the puzzle we need.

I wonder if the McCay has spoken to Jeff and asked him if he thinks his cousin can pull his head in.

How many genuine backmen at TAC level turn into gun backmen at AFL level. I remember reading something a while back that said almost all the key backs at AFL level played as forwards at u/18 level.

I keep reading that McCarthy is injury prone.

How many injuries has CM had too date?

We didn't baulk at drafting Menzel with his injury history.

The Dogs picked Stringer who had a terrible break two years ago.

Have no doubt we'll pick the best talent.

We don't want another undersized McCarthy who doesn't measure up to the mids we overlooked. :rainbow:

McCarthy broke his leg in the final U18 game and has been recovering since. Not sure what other injuries he's had though

Just can't see us going for the McCarthy from what has been put forward about him.
We'd be better off targeting an established and ready to go key tall next year.
I know, easier said than done but may be worth the risk considering McCarthy may take a few years to get going anyway.

What, exactly, "has been put forward about him" ? He broke a leg? So what - plenty of players have had injuries in their draft year - even the great Tom Boyd. He's a recent convert from another sport? So what - he's a great talent at an early point in his career. He'll take 3 years to develop? So what - he'll have a 10 year career. We shouldn't let negativity surrounding the recruitment and development of Mitchell and Paddy Mac under a previous regime cloud our judgement about selecting a key position player in the future.

All I see on this forum is a negative agenda from certain posters that we need a ready-made midfielder to step up, ala Camporeale, and play a starring role in his first season as a member of our 2014 premiership 22. :rolleyes:

Is recruiting quality midfielders a great need to replace ageing stars? Absolutely. But I trust our recruiters to boldly pick McCarthy if they truly believe he's part of a long term solution to our forward structure. Enough of the implicit character assassinations...

How bad was the break?? Plenty of AFL players careers have been ruined by broken legs.. Nathan Brown was never the same.

WESTERN Australia's leaping forward Cameron McCarthy has suffered a suspected broken leg, souring his impressive form at the NAB AFL Under-18 Championships.

McCarthy landed awkwardly in a marking contest in the last quarter of his side's 10-point loss to South Australia, and was helped from the field.

There were initial fears he had hurt his ankle but the West Australian camp believe McCarthy has broken his fibula and will miss the rest of the season.

State talent manager Raff Guadagnino said he hoped McCarthy's long-term injury would not hinder his draft prospects.

"He's very Nat Fyfe-like, I've got to say. He's raw, he hasn't played a lot of footy, he comes from a cricket background," Guadagnino said.

"But just the way he's able to read the ball in flight, it's probably the best I've ever seen."

From the AFL Website

Who are the two KPP that would already be gone?!

You can't shoot down an argument of picking up McCarthy at #13 only to then pick Gardner.

1. Boyd at 1, McDonald at 8.

2. ...or best available. Gardner is a better KPP/3rd big, but is a back not a KPF like your man. Gardner is a versatile type, McCarthy, Boyd and McDonald are all one trick ponies.

1. Boyd at 1, McDonald at 8.

2. ...or best available. Gardner is a better KPP/3rd big, but is a back not a KPF like your man. Gardner is a versatile type, McCarthy, Boyd and McDonald are all one trick ponies.

McDonald isn't a KPP.

I can see what your saying, but I think I'd rather take the gamble on McCarthy as a 195 cm KPF if it came down to a choice between the two.

I agree with everybody else though and thik we should take the best available mid.

Our first pick MUST be best available. Preferably an inside mid, and one that is ready to go. Unfortunately we don't have the luxury of recruiting "project" players or players that need 3 - 4 years in the system before they're ready to go.

McCarthy looks great, but we need a no-risk kid at #13. Leave the speculation to later round picks.

Crouch really looks like what we need. Hard inside mid and a ball magnet. Seems ready to go too.

What, exactly, "has been put forward about him" ? He broke a leg? So what - plenty of players have had injuries in their draft year - even the great Tom Boyd. He's a recent convert from another sport? So what - he's a great talent at an early point in his career. He'll take 3 years to develop? So what - he'll have a 10 year career. We shouldn't let negativity surrounding the recruitment and development of Mitchell and Paddy Mac under a previous regime cloud our judgement about selecting a key position player in the future.

All I see on this forum is a negative agenda from certain posters that we need a ready-made midfielder to step up, ala Camporeale, and play a starring role in his first season as a member of our 2014 premiership 22. :rolleyes:

Is recruiting quality midfielders a great need to replace ageing stars? Absolutely. But I trust our recruiters to boldly pick McCarthy if they truly believe he's part of a long term solution to our forward structure. Enough of the implicit character assassinations...

Our recruiters need to decide if McCarthy is going to be the forward we need for the future, not just that he's the best available (read: 2nd best) in this draft.

We definitely don't want another (Patty) McCarthy or Mitchell, and there are apparently plenty of talls in next year's draft.

We must, must take the best available at #13 (perhaps less so at #39, but probably still so). If that is McCarthy, so be it.

Who are the KPP's spruiked for next years draft?? if they are soo good, we should start looking at ways we can trade into the draft early.

I am looking at Collingwood and becoming really jealous with their 2 picks in the top 10.

Crouch really looks like what we need. Hard inside mid and a ball magnet. Seems ready to go too.

Don't know about this. I aint no draft watcher but the knock on Crouch appears to be 'one-paced'. Reckong Graham has the developing one-paced inside mid spot sewn up.

I'm warming to McCarthy on the brief bit I've seen. Keeps his feet, has some urgency in his play...and can kick 55 despite being plysically underdone.

Our first pick MUST be best available. Preferably an inside mid, and one that is ready to go. Unfortunately we don't have the luxury of recruiting "project" players or players that need 3 - 4 years in the system before they're ready to go.

McCarthy looks great, but we need a no-risk kid at #13. Leave the speculation to later round picks.

All draftees come with a risk, no such thing as a no risk kid.

Don't know about this. I aint no draft watcher but the knock on Crouch appears to be 'one-paced'. Reckong Graham has the developing one-paced inside mid spot sewn up.

I'm warming to McCarthy on the brief bit I've seen. Keeps his feet, has some urgency in his play...and can kick 55 despite being plysically underdone.

Crouch has been likened to Sam Mitchell which reminds me that Hawthorn does not have the quickest midfield. At least two of their top midfielders are pretty one paced.
If they can play the game, pick them I'd say