List Mgmt. 2013 DRAFT

• Thread starter Thread starter HARKER

Don't believe everything you read on the internet, especially on TC.
There will never be a perfect footballer, and if you keep looking at just the cons then you will never recruit anyone.
Fact is he's 195cm and about 94kg - just about the perfect height and weight for a third tall.
This poster isn't a bullshitter with his posting history.

It doesn't matter how big someone is if they're NQR.

Fevola is a flog, but he still achieved more than Thorp who was also injury prone.

Freo sure did take a massive gamble on Gumbleton with pick 50 something :p? and the Pies just need White to not be a complete spud since they already have Cloke.
You're missing the point. If Thorp wasn't good enough to play for these clubs, then he isn't good enough for Carlton. Their list managers would have considered Thorp v White and Thorp v Gumbleton to fill the second KPF role. Yet they traded instead of waiting and drafting Thorp with 44, 49 or 55 to fill the same role. Thorp doesn't appear to be a cure all like some of our supporters believe.
I think the reward outweighs the risks with Thorp. At worst we waste a very late pick in a shallow draft or we finally get a half-decent forward which would likely the same result as drafting a young KPP with the same pick ( same risk as taking anybody else with later picks).
Blues ready for 2013 National Draft
"When it comes to drafting players to Carlton, we must remember to differentiate between the best players available in the draft, and the best players available for the Club – they're two different types of players,”

"If a player doesn't fit with the culture at a Club, it will affect his long-term performance.

like the post on TC by a Tasmanian who said Thorp would text coaches and journos with his post-match stats. FIGJAM that ties in we ith other things he's done.
Ha I actually really like that, sounds like someone who's absolutely desperate to play AFL footy.

& before I get attacked I'd just like to clarify that I'm not a wannabe recruiter & have no opinion on who Carlton should draft. Wouldn't know Thorp if I passed him in the street.

Ha I actually really like that, sounds like someone who's absolutely desperate to play AFL footy.

& before I get attacked I'd just like to clarify that I'm not a wannabe recruiter & have no opinion on who Carlton should draft. Wouldn't know Thorp if I passed him in the street.

I reckon you would - he'd be the guy telling random passers-by how good he is.

How do we really know how good Thorp will be in the AFL this time round until he actually plays a game? All this speculation is getting boring. I'll be happy when he gets drafted to a team (whoever that is) and plays a game just so we can know if he's going to be any good.

Nine days to the draft: Meet Lewis Taylor
9_Lewis-Taylor_Draft-Countdown-Article-Image.jpg
Nine days to the draft: Meet Lewis Taylor

Interview and highlights

Captain, eh?

How do we really know how good Thorp will be in the AFL this time round until he actually plays a game? All this speculation is getting boring. I'll be happy when he gets drafted to a team (whoever that is) and plays a game just so we can know if he's going to be any good.

It was boring a long time ago, now it's just drivel similar to what Starchamber used to go on with as people continually stick their head in the sand and ignore what they're told about the kind of person he is.

"When it comes to drafting players to Carlton, we must remember to differentiate between the best players available in the draft, and the best players available for the Club – they're two different types of players,”​
"If a player doesn't fit with the culture at a Club, it will affect his long-term performance.​

Thorp really is getting a lot of oxygen here.

Putting the pieces together, it would be a major shock should Carlton have interest in Thorp.

Having said that and if somehow we chose to draft him, then I'd support him as much as any other player.

EDIT: Beat me to it Matty. :)

What gives you this impression?

You're missing the point. If Thorp wasn't good enough to play for these clubs, then he isn't good enough for Carlton. Their list managers would have considered Thorp v White and Thorp v Gumbleton to fill the second KPF role. Yet they traded instead of waiting and drafting Thorp with 44, 49 or 55 to fill the same role. Thorp doesn't appear to be a cure all like some of our supporters believe.

That logic is flawed, maybe they didnt want to risk missing out on thorpe to the 17 other clubs in the draft, and thought their kpp troubles were too dire to risk missing out, so they guaranteed they fixed that problem by executing a trade.

I think Rogers can be pretty deceiving also though.

Anybody else remember around this time last year when he informed us that "speed is king" regarding the 2012 draft ..... only for us to pick up 3 players who aren't all that quick?

It's a game of cards and Rogers keeps his cards close to his chest.

I can't quite understand the angst associated with taking a bloke like Thorp with a low pick...Players at that stage of the draft will always have numerous marks against their name, whether for footballing reasons or attitude ones...We're not talking about first or secound round draft picks here.

At the end of the day, I trust our recruiters to assess who is left and pick the right bloke...but if boils down to adding another trier with limited skills (of which we have many), or a bloke with (alleged) attitude problems but with talent who fills a clear need, then I'm fine with the latter. This is Thorps last chance it, one would hope that keeps him on message and we've now got far more of a disciplinarian as coach...and if it doesn't work out, I really don't think we will have missed out on much.

Sin City can you give us a very quick run down of what sort of player Acres is? You've hinted before that he doesn't have the best defensive run but the rest has been pretty vague about him.
I don't mind him, I just think he's more of an outside player than what many are suggesting. More of a loose HB and less of a mid than what some would like to think. Needs a good deal of space to do his best work. Hard to rank similar to Taylor Garner last year. Really good size for a running player.

Ideally we'd get a tough hard running (defensively) player that can mostly play outside but also win contested ball. Even better if they can dispose of it well.

At the moment I see the following sort of fitting that criteria: Salem.

Will cry when he gets selected before us.

That logic is flawed, maybe they didnt want to risk missing out on thorpe to the 17 other clubs in the draft, and thought their kpp troubles were too dire to risk missing out, so they guaranteed they fixed that problem by executing a trade.
Along with Carlton, they didn't chase White and Gumbleton in trade week...

Do you actually believe that other clubs will go for Thorp and pass on kids ahead of the picks I mentioned?

Unlikely.

And it's Thorp.

I can't quite understand the angst associated with taking a bloke like Thorp with a low pick...Players at that stage of the draft will always have numerous marks against their name, whether for footballing reasons or attitude ones...We're not talking about first or secound round draft picks here.

At the end of the day, I trust our recruiters to assess who is left and pick the right bloke...but if boils down to adding another trier with limited skills (of which we have many), or a bloke with (alleged) attitude problems but with talent who fills a clear need, then I'm fine with the latter. This is Thorps last chance it, one would hope that keeps him on message and we've now got far more of a disciplinarian as coach...and if it doesn't work out, I really don't think we will have missed out on much.
That's why you go for a Barlow, Carrazzo, Cachia or Curnow ahead of someone like Thorp or D.Garlett. Someone you know who won't be as good, but won't die wondering and leave you looking foolish for taking a flog.

People keep chasing that diamond in the rough when you're digging for potatoes.

I see where your coming from but our list has different needs. Collingwood and Freo both have a great KPF and just need someone to help out their premier KPF's. We don't need more filler, we need someone who can make a immediate impact.