Eli Templeton
Micheal Gibbons
Albert Proud
Chris Cain
Cam Conlon
James Tsitas
Mitch Thorp
Kane Lambert

all available in the rookie draft/pre season.

You sneaky bastard, you.

thought the same, interesting having a team with cameron, boyd, patton & mccarthy.

It's almost as if GWS are recruiting with the expectation that a number of their new recruits will want out in two years time, so they're trying to cover for those losses in advance & then they can trade those leaving for high draft picks or mature players from other clubs. eg, out of those 4 maybe boyd & cameron will stay, but when trading patton & mccarthy out they'll be able to get good picks / good players in return

You have to think that their list is so balanced now they have no "needs" as such and took best available, who happened to be McCarty. (Freo would not have seen that coming, ho ho ho) Don't forget he was rated top 10 talent by a lot of the "experts" before draft day. Also if you crunched numbers on how many highly rated talls actually turn into stars you would likely find a fairly low rate, so they are making sure they get a few from many. And if they get more than a few, well we all know how much currency a decent KPP plays. GWS have played it very nicely, admittedly within rules written for them that make it hard to go wrong.

As for our drafting, very happy with Cripps in particular. He really looks the goods.

Big Footy last night was a bugger, would not let me in, was like being at the door of a club which you knew was going off inside but a bit bouncer wouldn't let you in. I knew I should not have worn jeans.

You have to think that their list is so balanced now they have no "needs" as such and took best available, who happened to be McCarty. (Freo would not have seen that coming, ho ho ho) Don't forget he was rated top 10 talent by a lot of the "experts" before draft day. Also if you crunched numbers on how many highly rated talls actually turn into stars you would likely find a fairly low rate, so they are making sure they get a few from many. And if they get more than a few, well we all know how much currency a decent KPP plays. GWS have played it very nicely, admittedly within rules written for them that make it hard to go wrong.

As for our drafting, very happy with Cripps in particular. He really looks the goods.

Big Footy last night was a bugger, would not let me in, was like being at the door of a club which you knew was going off inside but a bit bouncer wouldn't let you in. I knew I should not have worn jeans.
GWS were also expected to take Lobb at that pick (14)....and they managed to get him at their pick in the 20's anyway. So they practically got McCarthy for a steal.

Operation: Get Patton begins now. This is surely a given for next year's trade period that one of their KPFs will go... they simply cannot keep them all happy as there's no room to play even half of them (they can't all be shifted into defence).

If we don't go hard for Patton or Jaksch next year, man...

Oh, the smartest move in the draft? Hawthorn leaking to a gullible media that Garlett had missed an interview and was off the radar. Sucked in Essendon and probably some others too.
Pick 38 for a flog with elite talent sounds about right. Even Norf overlooked Garlett for another big mid. They don't have a lot of outside run.

Not sure about Essendon and Hawthorn bringing in two more smalls. Hawthorn already had Rioli, Puopolo, Anderson and Hill. One replaces Savage. Feel they need a few young clearance players to win the ball. Smith, Lewis, Shiels and Hallahan aren't Hodge, Sewell, Mitchell and Burgoyne.

Sydney are still bringing in more mids when they have Jack, Hanneberry, Kennedy, Mitchell and Parker.

(1) Stock up on blue chip KPFs
(2) Hold onto them with COLA, gradually sell them off for overs to desperate teams for the next five years
(3) ????
(4) Profit
They wont be able to play them all in the one side, if Patton & Jacksch play less than 10 games this year they will all of a sudden lose plenty of value at the trade table, and we might be able to snag a bargain..

Oh, the smartest move in the draft? Hawthorn leaking to a gullible media that Garlett had missed an interview and was off the radar. Sucked in Essendon and probably some others too.

I actually thought they went a bit early for him. Seemed nobody else wanted him, I'm sure they could have held off until #56.

Literally the "Land Of The Giants" - at least one of the raft of big men will want out or will be pushed out in the next 1-3 years.
Agree who ever isn't getting game time, will know that he is a better chance elsewhere.

Could I dream that with Judd retiring in say 2 years that perhaps we could off Jeremy Cameron a role with VISY.

Operation: Get Patton begins now. This is surely a given for next year's trade period that one of their KPFs will go... they simply cannot keep them all happy as there's no room to play even half of them (they can't all be shifted into defence).

Exactly and KPF's historically demand the most $, so once GWS come back to parity in terms of salary cap concession they simply wont be able to fit them all in, Patton seems the most gettable, how long does he have to run on his contract??

Feel a bit quiet without discussion regarding who to draft at #13
Lets bring up the Thorp talk again :eek:
In any case hope we rookie more talls

Yeah good on the Hawks.
Hope they get something out of their 2 year investment in Garlett.
They've done well to add both he and Hartung.

What was the biggest shock was GWS taking McCarthy after us.
Going to have a massive forward line next year. As long as Patton comes back ok from his knee injury, i'd be making very big enquires about him. He'll cost a fair bit, but we might just have the players to get the deal over the line.

I suspect GWS would be really worried about having a max exodus on a go home factor. There little inclusive set up in there living quarters in Parramatta might work for a bunch of 18-21 yo but once the boys turn 25, get long term girls and start having kids it wont seem so appealing.

Almost everybody was in the same boat which only a smattering of posts making it through after long delays and many attempts. It wasn't going off inside.

If we were to go after a KPP in next year's trade period and there are some from GWS that wants out, if a reasonable deal can be done for Patton, that's fine. But I'd be focusing more on Tomlinson or Jacksch, would cost less because neither of them have the No.1 draft pick tag on them and less fuss.

What was the biggest shock was GWS taking McCarthy after us.
Going to have a massive forward line next year. As long as Patton comes back ok from his knee injury, i'd be making very big enquires about him. He'll cost a fair bit, but we might just have the players to get the deal over the line.
McCarthy has spent some time down back. May be developed into a swingman.
Doesn't make sense otherwise...

Almost everybody was in the same boat which only a smattering of posts making it through after long delays and many attempts. It wasn't going off inside.

No ODN, it was going off inside. I agree with BigSim, it was just like my nightclub days. The final slap in the face would arrive when the young lady you wanted to pursue in the nightclub then walks past you whilst still waiting in line with another bloke!! :(

Honestly mate. There was hardly any dancing going on. Sure, there was a higher % of females in there compared to males but that just lead to awkward moments as we hurried back and forth trying to keep a couple on a string until ultimately forced to make a decision. Then, just quietly sitting on little corner lounges with little to do but make out ... wondering when the atmosphere was going to liven up. Small consolation in that the drink service was lightning quick but does that make up for the other stuff? I think not.

You would have hated it.