2013 Fixture Discussion

Get off your bloody high horse & mind your own bloody business. I AND I alone will decide IF I will purchase a membership in 2013. I don't give a stuff about your opinion when it has to do with the way I spend my money & how I support my football team.

Lack of passion & loyalty...yere ok. How long have YOU been contributing to Fitzroy & the Brisbane Lions ??? Since 1973 by any chance ???
Take a chill pill LL. Not that we have to state our qualifications on this site to express a view but seeing as how you have asked - my father's uncle played in the 1944 premiership team so I have been a Lion since I was born (1956); I still have my junior membership tickets from 1971 and save for a few years of impecuniosity have been a paid up member ever since; I was part of the tin rattling brigade known as the Lion Savers throughout the 80's and 90's and went to more rallies and fundraisers than I care to remember; I am a foundation member of the Brisbane lions. I have never threatened to withdraw my financial support and never will. If that places me on a high horse, so be it.

Of course the Melbourne-based supporters are aware of the existence of comercial deals that require games to be played in other markets. We don't need this pointed out to us, and we certainly don't need it explained to us by the organisation we count on to lobby on our behalf. We are the club's customers and amongst its most important stakeholders. Not its children who need to be educated.

So you think it is unreasonable for the club to detail this as part of its explanation as to why they didn't receive what they requested?

well from my view from a club perspective ie playing it is a very good turn out

from a melbourne supporters view it is a bit poor ( not the clubs fault )

from a tassie boys view its great to see the boys v the hawks. how about our melbourne brothers hop on a plane and come down to see us and watch the lads v hawks ! only take an hour

no good getting too upset guys its out of our hands , dont take it out on the team , if you have a gripe take it to the AFL

Thousands will attend a date suitable to the club. And you "cant see that happening". Well thank goodness for your comments. If the club really is fair dinkum and want's to grow and engage its Victorian city and country followers it needs to show show commitment. I bet Johnno Brown would be the first to put up his hand.

Relax - I didn't say there wont be a family day in Melbourne, I was referring to a family day not happening the day before our first game in Melbourne given we play the doggies on a Saturday arvo. Thank goodness for your comments

I think people need to calm the heck down. All the club is trying to do is point out the reasons why we don't have those games. Not everyone is that up to date and there would be plenty if people who just think the Melb game in Darwin is just because the AFL wants it there, no because of Melb selling the game. Seriously, we are a club in Rugby league heart land, half of our members probably don't know this kind of thing. Whilst it might sound a bit patronising to people like us, stop and consider the bigger picture.

The club has done well to put out a fairly detail statement about what it likes and dislikes about our draw and detailing what we asked for and did and didn't get as well as the probably reasons behind it. I know Fitzroy fans are passionate, get the chip off you shoulder and engage your brain. I'm sick of my club being under siege by disgruntled 'fans' putting the boot in about every little thing. If you have a problem with the draw, take it to the AFL. There is plenty the club can do better for our Melb based fans, but don't take things overboard.

Take a chill pill LL. Not that we have to state our qualifications on this site to express a view but seeing as how you have asked - my father's uncle played in the 1944 premiership team so I have been a Lion since I was born (1956); I still have my junior membership tickets from 1971 and save for a few years of impecuniosity have been a paid up member ever since; I was part of the tin rattling brigade known as the Lion Savers throughout the 80's and 90's and went to more rallies and fundraisers than I care to remember; I am a foundation member of the Brisbane lions. I have never threatened to withdraw my financial support and never will. If that places me on a high horse, so be it.

Good on you. I'm very happy for you. I appreciate that you are a passionate Lion member like me. But you have no right to come on here & accuse anyone of being disloyal or lacking passion. Especially when I've been through thick & thin with this club for nearly 40 years. It's not the done thing. Sure you can have an opinion, but don't enforce that on others!

It's a two street anyways. What Bowers & the previous administration did or tried to do; diluting Fitzroy's heritage, certainly wasn't a sign of loyalty or trust. They didn't care about the Victorian supporters/members then.

If you don't fight for these things or make noises about them; ie watering down of the merger agreement, you'll get walked over & quickly forgotten.

I apologise for my previous post, but you did hurt a raw nerve.

So what horse are you riding next Tuesday ?

I think people need to calm the heck down. All the club is trying to do is point out the reasons why we don't have those games. Not everyone is that up to date and there would be plenty if people who just think the Melb game in Darwin is just because the AFL wants it there, no because of Melb selling the game. Seriously, we are a club in Rugby league heart land, half of our members probably don't know this kind of thing. Whilst it might sound a bit patronising to people like us, stop and consider the bigger picture.

The club has done well to put out a fairly detail statement about what it likes and dislikes about our draw and detailing what we asked for and did and didn't get as well as the probably reasons behind it. I know Fitzroy fans are passionate, get the chip off you shoulder and engage your brain. I'm sick of my club being under siege by disgruntled 'fans' putting the boot in about every little thing. If you have a problem with the draw, take it to the AFL. There is plenty the club can do better for our Melb based fans, but don't take things overboard.
At last a rational voice, thank God.

The 4 games things in Melbourne is harder to swallow on account of the fact we are being sent to both Tassie and Darwin.

Either/or would have been fine. Sending us to both is a total pisstake by the AFL.

Pretty happy with the scheduled opposition. My first reaction was to choke at that horror run from rounds 6-14 but then I realised that if we want to consider ourselves a finals capable team, we need to start giving some of those clubs a run for their money. Could be a real good test of how we have progressed from 2012-2013.

Expecting to do well for weeks 1-5 but weeks 6-14 would be one of the hardest stretches of games in the league, although we do play the larger Vic clubs at the Gabba so could grab a few unexpected wins and a larger crowd. Extremely happy overall that could well push us 6-8th realistically, would be very disappointed if we didn't make top 8 this year.

I apologise for my previous post, but you did hurt a raw nerve.

So what horse are you riding next Tuesday ?
Understood. Apology accepted. My horse will still be running on Wednesday.

Putting aside the lack of Melbourne games (not saying those fans don't have a reason to gripe, they do) but we only have back to back travel weeks once (twice if you count metricon). From that point of view I'd say we've done exceptionally well. Throw in playing Melbourne, the dogs and the suns twice it's far from the worst draw we've been handed.

Don't get me wrong I totally see your point but I'm more thinking of a game like this year against Hawks at the g on a Sunday. Was a pretty good timeslot and there wasn't a great crowd. I know people have other stuff on but I am just trying to say the best thing to do is turn up as much as possible with as many as possible and then the home club won't want to move the game cause they get a good gate in melbourne

Yep was at the Hawks game...Can see the Club really suffering getting Victorian family memberships...As I mentioned first 2 games will struggle being Easter and a Twilight game.....Geelong - is yet to be decided venue most likely at Geelong..Leaving 2 games and one of those is the Essendon game and at Ethiad which will be subjected to being a ticketed event....

Putting aside the lack of Melbourne games (not saying those fans don't have a reason to gripe, they do) but we only have back to back travel weeks once (twice if you count metricon). From that point of view I'd say we've done exceptionally well. Throw in playing Melbourne, the dogs and the suns twice it's far from the worst draw we've been handed.

I reckon it is an outstanding draw but, as you say, it has one glaring problem.

If we weren't a two-town club, I'd be ecstatic about our draw.

“Our Victorian members need to be aware the Club requested six games in Melbourne, however, with the introduction of Gold Coast and GWS, as well as the commercial deals of a number of Melbourne clubs to host games interstate - in our case, Melbourne (Darwin - Rd 17) and Hawthorn (Launceston - Rd 14) - the AFL was unable to accommodate this request in this year’s fixture,” Holmes said.

I requested 12 Friday night games, the Anzac day blockbuster at the MCG, and that Michael Voss ride into the ground for every match on a Unicorn. But the AFL knocked back all my requests.

As much as I know nothing can be done about it, this response is really a "blah blah" response.

Scheduling problem. The Bulls may need the Gabba that Day. That one is genuinely out of our hands.

Thats fair enough, I mean we only have another 2 years to run anyway, it amazes me how much the AFL have to keep the ground clear for cricket games early in the season when all states have arena's that would be able to house the expected crowd at the Sheffield shield final very easily.

“Our Victorian members need to be aware the Club requested six games in Melbourne, however, with the introduction of Gold Coast and GWS, as well as the commercial deals of a number of Melbourne clubs to host games interstate - in our case, Melbourne (Darwin - Rd 17) and Hawthorn (Launceston - Rd 14) - the AFL was unable to accommodate this request in this year’s fixture,” Holmes said.

As much as I know nothing can be done about it, this response is really a "blah blah" response.
Not to mention inaccurate.

"Unable"? Give me a break. Try "unwilling".

Most of the arguments that are being posted here in response to the fixturing of our Victorian games are valid - and have already been raised by the Club in their discussions with the AFL.

But it's the AFL that makes the final decision - not the Club.

If the Club was able to dictate terms, I assure you the Lions would be playing both Melbourne and Hawthorn in Victoria rather than interstate (with no disrespect to our fans in the Northern Territory and Tasmania).

Legal action against the AFL is also not possible, as they don't consider the Club's merger agreement to be a binding document in terms of the annual fixture.

Supporters have every right to vent their concerns about the scheduling of Lions Victorian matches in 2013 - as we have to the AFL. We can only hope that the final outcome doesn't impact too heavily on our Victorian membership numbers (even though I suspect it might).

While I'm posting, I might as well advise that a potential Victoria Family Day has been pencilled in for Sunday 10 March - the morning after our NAB Cup match against Collingwood. Other details will no doubt be confirmed early in the New Year.

Thanks LI, it's good to hear about all this from the clubs side

Legal action against the AFL is also not possible, as they don't consider the Club's merger agreement to be a binding document in terms of the annual fixture.

I find this pretty interesting. Proves what we all think, AFL doesn't care and the agreement isn't worth the paper it's written on. Also maybe a hint that the club has looked down this path of fighting them about it before.

I can only hope the club is truly lobbying the AFL for 6+ games in MELBOURNE next season. I can't believe the AFL have done this to us after admitting we needed a little bit more help.

Yes, help kill off the Melbourne roots of the club.

On a personal note, I'm really disappointed at the lack of Saturday night games in Melbourne. I can understand why the club would want afternoon games but my Dad and I have never been able to make them together due to work commitments so it's sad after 22 years of support and membership to be limited to seeing just one the game against North Melbourne next year together. You can't make everybody happy but an extra game in Melbourne may have just helped the cause.

2013 Fixture Discussion