Mega Thread 2013 Official Draft Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter MR

He's still going!

I heard he did his collarbone etc.. why might explain a few things with injuries but I am not close enough to know.

Anyways, I thought tank can be built to a degree. Left footer who can also play forward and crumb apparently as well as mark. Don't think he has the genes to not be able to develop a tank does he.

Hawthorn, apparently may pick Garlett at 24, I wouldn't be against Sheed at 12 for sure!!

If we get Z Jones at 12 I will cry:( thats for sure!!

Why?Why? you got me, typo error, mean't to be wouldn't be against Sheed at 12.

Why?
As far as Z Jones, simply doesn't have the runs on the board to warrant pick 12. For him to be picked at 12 he has to be a real diamond for his size. I haven't even seen him but I read Tigs view who has him ranked at 9, a guy 181cm with strong contested aggression , hard worker etc.. simply is not enough to rate a pick 12 against the basket. Once the guys hit the AFL the serious guys will all be high competitive if they make it at all. Remember Vlastuin being talked about as high aggression, great but what stands out for V, along with aggression is the full package- he is 187cm, composed, makes solid decisions reasonably solid with his disposal,plus he has the leadership, not to mention solid mark..and but wait there's more... the best thing for V he makes the right decisions more often than not. V has a healthy IQ for someone his size and goes both ways forward and back. So all of that made V a absolute steal in last years draft!

So if you say Z jones brings aggression to the contest etc.. he simply does not bring enough to command pick 12. Not saying he may not be a solid player but you can't pick guys at 12 with just those vanilla credentials without any more scope!!

afl.com had the final order for Thursday's draft yesterday and has us with:
93 (to be used for rookie elevation)

Are either clueless or we have it all wrong. I suspect the former.

Wasn't 78 supposed to be to elevate Petterd? Here's how I hope we go:

12: Sheed/Scharenberg/Lennon/Salem/Freeman
50: Wilson/Sokol/Knight/Lang/Holman
66: Matt Thomas??? If not, Shane Nelson, Chris Cain or Nathan Drummond
78: Petterd (Rookie Elevation)

As far as Z Jones, simply doesn't have the runs on the board to warrant pick 12. For him to be picked at 12 he has to be a real diamond for his size. I haven't even seen him but I read Tigs view who has him ranked at 9, a guy 181cm with strong contested aggression , hard worker etc.. simply is not enough to rate a pick 12 against the basket. Once the guys hit the AFL the serious guys will all be high competitive if they make it at all. Remember Vlastuin being talked about as high aggression, great but what stands out for V, along with aggression is the full package- he is 187cm, composed, makes solid decisions reasonably solid with his disposal,plus he has the leadership, not to mention solid mark..and but wait there's more... the best thing for V he makes the right decisions more often than not. V has a healthy IQ for someone his size and goes both ways forward and back. So all of that made V a absolute steal in last years draft!

So if you say Z jones brings aggression to the contest etc.. he simply does not bring enough to command pick 12. Not saying he may not be a solid player but you can't pick guys at 12 with just those vanilla credentials without any more scope!!

So your happy to run with others' opinions on players and yet call it the way you 'don't' see it? Why don't you just say I have no idea, like I don't, and defer to others. I might be a bit harsh here but I just don't get how the hell you can bag a player when you don't know anything about them?

But but but he hasn't been in the top 20 of any Phantom Drafts. :cool:

So I did my rankings the other day.

Now for my predictions

Pick #12 - Nathan Freeman (Sandringham Dragons - 182cm/85kg - Midfielder - 18yo)
Pick #50 - Nicholas Bourke (Geelong Falcons - 188cm/80kg - Half Back Flank/Winger - 18yo)
Pick #68 - Sam Lloyd (Frankston Dolphins - 180cm/83kg) - 23 year old Small Forward

Round 1 Rookie - Nathan Gordon (North Adelaide - 188cm/88kg) - 23 year old HFF/Midfielder
Round 2 Rookie - Matt Thomas (Port Adelaide Power - 186cm/87kg) - 26yo Midfielder
Round 3 Rookie - Clayton McCartney (Dandenong Stingrays - 178cm/74kg) - Small Forward

Wanted to predict a tall but not hearing much that is a chance to be available which is shit.

So I did my rankings the other day.

Now for my predictions

Pick #12 - Nathan Freeman (Sandringham Dragons - 182cm/85kg - Midfielder - 18yo)
Pick #50 - Nicholas Bourke (Geelong Falcons - 188cm/80kg - Half Back Flank/Winger - 18yo)
Pick #68 - Sam Lloyd (Frankston Dolphins - 180cm/83kg) - 23 year old Small Forward

Round 1 Rookie - Jake Best (Casey Scorpions - 186cm/84kg) - 23 year old Midfielder
Round 2 Rookie - Matt Thomas (Port Adelaide Power - 186cm/87kg) - 26yo Midfielder
Round 3 Rookie - Clayton McCartney (Dandenong Stingrays - 178cm/74kg) - Small Forward

Wanted to predict a tall but not hearing much that is a chance to be available which is shit.

Freeman, really? :( I mean, he has pace and can play and we need pace, but there'd be better suited at our pick I'd have thought.
Bourke and Lloyd would be good gets though.

Matt Thomas would be a lock I'd think. Don't think we could go wrong if Batsanis/Bathie went Rookie/VFL.

Freeman, really? :( I mean, he has pace and can play and we need pace, but there'd be better suited at our pick I'd have thought.
Bourke and Lloyd would be good gets though.

Matt Thomas would be a lock I'd think. Don't think we could go wrong if Batsanis/Bathie went Rookie/VFL.

I love the idea of what Freeman can be, but geez he better go boom and not bust lol.

Bourke and Lloyd I think are massive chances on Thursday. Twomey has Lang as a chance but doubt he's there. Lloyd and Best are perfect age and size to contribute immediately.

I love the idea of what Freeman can be, but geez he better go boom and not bust lol.

Bourke and Lloyd I think are massive chances on Thursday. Twomey has Lang as a chance but doubt he's there. Lloyd and Best are perfect age and size to contribute immediately.

Couldn't agree more on Freeman (actually voted for him in the other thread), has the athletic qualities to be that something special, here's hoping he can play the game.
Re: Lloyd, good pick-up because we need a small fwd and we need it now.

Couldn't agree more on Freeman (actually voted for him in the other thread), has the athletic qualities to be that something special, here's hoping he can play the game.
Re: Lloyd, good pick-up because we need a small fwd and we need it now.

I voted Lennon :(

Ideally overall:
Freeman becomes a Shuey type goal kicking midfielder.
Bourke is an upgrade on Batchelor.
Lloyd gives us immediate cover at small forward.
Best gives us a project with some enormous upside in a professional environment and has a ready made body and will smash it at VFL level.
Thomas improves our VFL team and gives us a ready to go mid/tagger that we can call upon.
McCartney covers us for future small forward.

Because IMO players in a certain pick range need to display certain attributes to get picked between 1-14 give or take. Put it this way , lets say Zac Jones is actually worth pick 9 or 12. If that is the case Tigs2010 didn't do a good job selling him to me to win me over. Put it this way the commentary on Dunstan is a mile ahead than how Jones reads.

Lets say Jones is a worthy pick 9-12 at 181cm. If that were the case he would need to be lightning fast like a freeman, or great mark like Haselby for his size who can play forward, or plays like Selwood, great footy IQ, great poise, solky skills hand and foot, total clearance machine with contested positions like Sheed and unstan with reasoning why he can replicate it at AFL level.

But I read this :

9. Zak Jones - 181cm/76kg - Mid - Dandenong Stingrays
It was really a coin flip between he and Aish and whilst Aish is currently the better player, Jones' competitiveness and crazy attack on the ball and man gave him the edge. Looking like the back-up plan for when the bigger names are gone, Jones is an excellent inside midfield prospect. Attacks the ball like a man possessed and has a real drive to succeed in the big time and prove people wrong. Has worked extremely hard to improve his kicking and it is now at a solid level and with the improvement he's shown this year, there is no reason why it won't get better in a full-time environment.

and I think it reads like a pick in the 20's at best, not in terms of his opinion, but in terms of the description!!

Let me elaborate, firstly the is a reference to Aish who according to many is more outside and Jones is being labelled as inside. It makes the comparison pointless as supposedly they are slightly different types.
The other problem there is a lot of subjective opinion without any tangible back-up. First of all backup plan is no good for pick 12, if we want prospects they need to have high reward for any risk and Jones doesn't fit the profile of high risk high reward like a Bontempeli. Tigs2010 said he has already worked hard, so circumstances have been favourable against others with injuries etc,,why will he outperform them gong forward if they have a better run at it?? Words, like drive to suceed, attack on the ball, works hard, man possessed are subject to ridicule unless backed up by factual data like high possessions , clearance rates, combine stats etc... Then it reads he has worked hard to just have solid disposal. To me that just reads like a guy who is not a natural but has got the most out of himself in and advantageous position and as a result unlikely to have a lot more upside. I might be wrong, but that is how I interpret the description!

But know I will see the highlights and form my own opinion based on the vision.

Before I look at the vision to me he reads a bit like Ellis except Ellis likely tougher and better kick and probably pacer and possibly a better mark. The other thing is if we already have Ellis why would we need another potentially inferior version and if he is more inside, why, apart from endeavour would he succeed against the best at AFL in a final, if all he has is great attack on the ball, given in finals scenario everybody should have great attack on the ball otherwise they do not get picked particularly inside mids??

Wow, just looked at the draft hub, not even categorised as a mid, not sure what to say, small defender?

Interesting, looks like a good small right footed backman from the vision. Smaller than Toovey. We have a few of of those, what gives??? We have Morris:confused:

To be fair I might pick Jones ahead of Freeman,then again after seeing Freeman again I would take the chance with him

But really, Tigs2010 description doesn't do Jones justice. Look at afl.com.au. where it says Jones vastly improved, that is a relevant fact that should be able to be verified with stats, it says he is good overhead, another relevant point, but looking the vision I would say good under pressure, good awareness, nice feel for the ball below the news, seems to have reasonable balance. Finally, afl.com.au added 2 cm to 183cm, that is relevant if accurate, being a MVP is relevant to and having no fear is a bit different and more footy astute than crazy attack!!

Honestly, if RFC picked him he would have to improve his disposal particularly left side!!

Top be fair I could rate him top 20 , but for me Lennon, Salem, Acres, Freeman and Dunstan have more appeal atm

But but but he hasn't been in the top 20 of any Phantom Drafts. :cool:

maybe there is a reason for such consistent widespread opinion. Let me look at the vision:rolleyes:

Seen the vision, and am a little lost for words, apart from being a backman which we have a few, he is a good player by the looks of it but pick 12?? not for me!! I simply think Acres and Dunstan have more scope atm apart from others

I voted Lennon :(

Ideally overall:
Freeman becomes a Shuey type goal kicking midfielder.
Bourke is an upgrade on Batchelor.
Lloyd gives us immediate cover at small forward.
Best gives us a project with some enormous upside in a professional environment and has a ready made body and will smash it at VFL level.
Thomas improves our VFL team and gives us a ready to go mid/tagger that we can call upon.
McCartney covers us for future small forward.

I sense a lot of not wanting to get your hopes up mate. Understand the pick 50 and 68 are awfully hard to predict, but the Freeman prediction, while maybe making the most sense to you, doesn't seem the overall obvious choice. Freeman has been so heavily linked to the Dees from the get go, and with Bontempelli probably going 4, to me Collingwood are all but ruled out of the Salem race. Freeman has been as heavily linked to them and Floss was to us last year, it can't be ignored. We are genuinely a reasonable chance to get our man.

Melbourne will definitely take Salem. Personally I'd prefer Jones or Sheed with whose available but I think Freeman will be the guy we get. Best case will be Pies go Aish then Lions Scharenberg so Pies take Freeman at 10.

That would require WCE to take Lennon, how sure are you of that?

You seem quite deflated tigs, but I reckon there's still a good chance either Lennon or Salem sneak through to us. So many scenarios, anchored by what the Pies, Lions and Demons do. Our guys will be on their toes tomorrow night

That would require WCE to take Lennon, how sure are you of that?

You seem quite deflated tigs, but I reckon there's still a good chance either Lennon or Salem sneak through to us. So many scenarios, anchored by what the Pies, Lions and Demons do. Our guys will be on their toes tomorrow night

Heard the Lennon thing from 3 different people. Tbh last time we missed our guy and I wasn't overly excited was Ellis. :p Freeman is an excellent fit at the club if we develop him well. He at least has star potential. He was the hardest to place for my rankings. I had him top 5 for potential but about 20th for output so I slapped him in the middle at 13.

Fair enough, I wouldn't be hugely disappointed with Freeman either, just think we could do better. Especially if we're picking him over Sheed, which baffles me. I can't understand why we wouldn't be considering him? He'd be a great fit

I want Sheed....pure footballer.

I can never understand when Larke medalists are taken so late. Has runs on the board is a good size...Jimmy Bartel isn't quick either.

Probably because Cale Morton is one. :p

Could it be we haven't been linked to Sheed much because we've been sure he'll go to the Eagles? Now he'll likely be available we'll surely look at him

Heard the Lennon thing from 3 different people. Tbh last time we missed our guy and I wasn't overly excited was Ellis. :p Freeman is an excellent fit at the club if we develop him well. He at least has star potential. He was the hardest to place for my rankings. I had him top 5 for potential but about 20th for output so I slapped him in the middle at 13.

Freeman reminds of Matty White more than anyone except I assume a better tank. The thing is can he be a better footaller? Can he be more like G Ablett?:eek: look out:D I don't no.

One thing in his favour is he is stocky and he is not that short. He is a bit like B Harvey so as a package I am not totally against picking him up