Mega Thread 2013 Official Draft Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter MR

I got KILLED here when i was talking about taking Garlett in last years draft period , I really thought he was the exact type of player that we were missing.

But to all the people who were sick of me barking on about this & You all know who you are - Do you still feel that we were correct in not selecting this kid

Little risk with Massive upside if it comes off !!

Garlett is a thousand times the outside player to what we have save for Deledio, and he along eith Wilson would provide the X factor our team craves.

It is really our biggest concern now. We have good depth in almost every department other than the outside midfielder. We need to inject serious pace into our team. I'm under the current mindset at the moment that Wilson would benefit Richmond more than Garlett at the moment. I think he just runs a lot more and uses his pace to his advantage much more than Garlett does.

That said, bring both to the club and we'll be laughing.

It is really our biggest concern now. We have good depth in almost every department other than the outside midfielder. We need to inject serious pace into our team. I'm under the current mindset at the moment that Wilson would benefit Richmond more than Garlett at the moment. I think he just runs a lot more and uses his pace to his advantage much more than Garlett does.

That said, bring both to the club and we'll be laughing.

You are probably right in regards to Wilson. I just want that type.

In all seriousness I am embarrassed that we take part in the Dreamtime game and our record with aboriginals players is very poor. We have just one on the list in Shane Edwards and he is not a full blooded aboriginal player and just recently discovered his heritage.

Not saying just for that reason we should draft aboriginal players but they provide so much and we have to get better at drafting the right players and developing them also.

Garlett and Wilson would improve our weaknesses so much.

You are probably right in regards to Wilson. I just want that type.

In all seriousness I am embarrassed that we take part in the Dreamtime game and our record with aboriginals players is very poor. We have just one on the list in Shane Edwards and he is not a full blooded aboriginal player and just recently discovered his heritage.

Not saying just for that reason we should draft aboriginal players but they provide so much and we have to get better at drafting the right players and developing them also.

Garlett and Wilson would improve our weaknesses so much.

You're speaking a lot of sense, why do we invest so much into the indigenous centre and take part in the centrepiece of indigenous round as well as hire Choco to work with the younger players if we're not even willing to take a chance on talented indigenous players due to risk?

Maybe but its a mistake made by ALL clubs.

I don't give a damn shit about every other club. Just the Richmond Football Club. I don't want a safe haven that every other club looked over him so that excludes us from a mistake.

We are chasing to be the best. Don't rest on others mistakes.

We have to take risks if we want to catch the likes of Geelong, Hawthorn, Sydney.
Yet for all his talent, all three of those clubs wouldn't even risk him with a rookie spot. There just HAS to be something to that.

Serious question: do you think he'll make a fist of it medium > long term, or go off the rails? Let's face it, kids with personal issues can, and do, get drafted. Yet one of the most talented kids in the draft pool gets completely overlooked by every single club. Extraordinary. Something has spooked the clubs, big time.

For the record, I'm not against the idea of having a look if he applies himself this year in the WAFL.

Yet for all his talent, all three of those clubs wouldn't even risk him with a rookie spot. There just HAS to be something to that.

Serious question: do you think he'll make a fist of it medium > long term, or go off the rails? Let's face it, kids with personal issues can, and do, get drafted. Yet one of the most talented kids in the draft pool gets completely overlooked by every single club. Extraordinary. Something has spooked the clubs, big time.

For the record, I'm not against the idea of having a look if he applies himself this year in the WAFL.

As I said I don't care what other clubs do or not do. We decided not to take him and the way he has responded and worked so far you have to say it was an error. This talent could be lighting up our weaknesses on the G. At some point we have to take risks. Not saying he should of been a first round choice but surely a rookie would have been an avenue persued.

From what I am hearing now, he will be taken in the actual draft this year, impressed a lot of scouts. We missed the boat.

Not saying he should of been a first round choice but surely a rookie would have been an avenue persued.

From what I am hearing now, he will be taken in the actual draft this year, impressed a lot of scouts. We missed the boat.
Yeah, I was quite shocked at the time. But, perhaps a year in the wilderness (or in his case, the WAFL) was the wake-up call he needed. You never know how it might've turned out had he not got that kick up the bum. Plus, add the move to the other side of the country, fitting in to a new environment etc. A lot of un-knowns, but you would've thought that a club would've taken that gamble, even if not us...

People will say well everyone turned him down. So bloody what. Back yourself in. He is too talented to not be on our list. He'd be in our top ten skilled footballers at the club. Already.

He'd be only one of very few to have that blitz pace and one of very few with that magic factor.

We have to take risks if we want to catch the likes of Geelong, Hawthorn, Sydney. These are the bench marks.

Exactly, some are good and some are bad. Selwood for instance, injury concerns, turns out to be a gun. Heppell rumors, although in this instance I think it's an even match up in who won that drafting process.
Now i'm all for not drafting a kid because he's got discipline issues but that's what a rookie draft is for. I can understand where clubs are going by not drafting him, which is to teach him that it is not professional to miss training sessions or go binge drinking.

I don't give a damn shit about every other club. Just the Richmond Football Club. I don't want a safe haven that every other club looked over him so that excludes us from a mistake.

We are chasing to be the best. Don't rest on others mistakes.

Thats not the point. If every other club, even those with 'culture' who could turn him around, supposedly, didnt like him why should we be any different? How was it only our mistake? I get what your saying but we did this thing before with 'bad boys' and have been burnt. This is not to say done back yourself in but he was seen as poison from all afl clubs and thats damning. The boy can turn it all around but i guess until he does he will have to grow up first.

As I said I don't care what other clubs do or not do. We decided not to take him and the way he has responded and worked so far you have to say it was an error. This talent could be lighting up our weaknesses on the G. At some point we have to take risks. Not saying he should of been a first round choice but surely a rookie would have been an avenue persued.

sure but you cant compare playing and living in his home state to being away from everyone and here in victoria. 2 very different situations. hopefully the kid has learned a lot. I get you wanted to jump the curve but surely you can see that all 18 clubs including his own state( to minimise homesickness) wouldnt even gamble with him.

He trained with Essendon before the rookie draft last year. Hoping they don't rig the draft again. *cough* kavanagh's parents only wanting their son to play for Essendon *cough*

Garlett had a shocking pre-season and began the season in the ressies. So it's taken 2 wake up calls to get him to where he is now. He needed these wake up calls of (1) not getting drafted and (2) getting his arse kicked into gear playing thirds footy. From what I've heard these wake up calls have changed his life. Interesting to see if it lasts the season. If it does he becomes draftable again and I still reckon you'd get him in the 2nd/3rd round because there'll still be some doubts. No one will risk a 1st rounder on him IMO.

Clayton McCartney with 6 goals to start NAB Champs. Indigenous small forward/mid from Dandenong.

Garlett had a shocking pre-season and began the season in the ressies. So it's taken 2 wake up calls to get him to where he is now. He needed these wake up calls of (1) not getting drafted and (2) getting his arse kicked into gear playing thirds footy. From what I've heard these wake up calls have changed his life. Interesting to see if it lasts the season. If it does he becomes draftable again and I still reckon you'd get him in the 2nd/3rd round because there'll still be some doubts. No one will risk a 1st rounder on him IMO.

Clayton McCartney with 6 goals to start NAB Champs. Indigenous small forward/mid from Dandenong.

The bloke in your Avatar would never have been drafted if the same criteria was applied to him as is with Dayle Garlett !!

2nd Rounder I would jump at it without blinking - The Nahas,White,McGuane at the club will never take us to the next level - We need class,speed,skill Dayle Garlett has all these in his kit

The bloke in your Avatar would never have been drafted if the same criteria was applied to him as is with Dayle Garlett !!

2nd Rounder I would jump at it without blinking - The Nahas,White,McGuane at the club will never take us to the next level - We need class,speed,skill Dayle Garlett has all these in his kit
Different era. I reckon Garlett might be on a couple of strikes by now if he had of been drafted. He was a distraction that wasn't required and needed to be dealt with before getting picked. Let's be honest us using a rookie pick last year or a 2nd rounder this year is much of a muchness anyway seems we often burn those picks either way.

Concern if we do use a 2nd rounder on him is that Hardwick probably won't play him because he's not a 1st rounder. :p

Thats not the point. If every other club, even those with 'culture' who could turn him around, supposedly, didnt like him why should we be any different? How was it only our mistake? I get what your saying but we did this thing before with 'bad boys' and have been burnt. This is not to say done back yourself in but he was seen as poison from all afl clubs and thats damning. The boy can turn it all around but i guess until he does he will have to grow up first.

I get what your saying. I honestly do. But when a talent like that is there for the taking a rookie spot in terms of risk/reward surely is favourable. In a club that houses an indiginous centre, has a Development coach in Chocco Williams and is trying to gain on the better teams in the league.

I said last year that Dayle was just influenced by his people around him. He would flourish if guided away from his family and friends. I know he did some stupid things but didn't assault or rape anyone. Nothing that some of our players are doing now.

Now if we want him, I think we'd need to take a bigger risk. A pick in the actual draft. Probably second round from industry sources. I'd still take it cause in this draft he's a top 3 pick on talent. Last year was top 5. Seen him do things on a football field that tells me even at his worst he's better than se we have.

He is exactly what we need this year. Shame we didn't take a risk.

And what would we have risked/lost if we took him with a rookie pick ???
The embarrassment of being the first club losing a player to the three strike drug system?

And possibly him dragging some of our other impressionable youngsters down with him (you'd hope not, but refer to Connors/Dusty example).

Other than that....

If Garlett's going to go for a 2nd rounder surely an expansion club would take him before we even get the chance.

A draft haul with Wilson and Garlett in it would be superb though.

I'm about as well organised to answer questions on victorian players as I'm going to be - shoot if you've got any.

Will not be much chop on interstate players until after the champs.

I'm about as well organised to answer questions on victorian players as I'm going to be - shoot if you've got any.

Okay with our main problems at the moment being, Inside mids and a classy half forward with pace. What players could you see going around our pick with those qualities? So proberly around pick 9-12.

Hi mate. Can you rank your top 5 inside mids we would have a chance at and also top 5 guys who can play that outside role we wanted last year. Assume we are drafting around 10-12.

Tell me what you like about each and how they would suit us.

Cheers mate.

Okay with our main problems at the moment being, Inside mids and a classy half forward with pace. What players could you see going around our pick with those qualities? So proberly around pick 9-12.

Hi mate. Can you rank your top 5 inside mids we would have a chance at and also top 5 guys who can play that outside role we wanted last year. Assume we are drafting around 10-12.

Tell me what you like about each and how they would suit us.

Cheers mate.

These two questions are pretty related.

I've said for years that it's not enough to just target mids with our first round picks and then top up through trades and PSD. It leads to situations where we have very few true, young midfielders at Coburg. I can only name Arnott and Helbig when there should be at least one coming through every year. Even as a speculative rookie pick.

As such - we're lift with this dilemma where we need mids of all types:

Here's some midfielders I like - where I think they'll go and how suitable they are. I figure we'll be picking somewhere in the 9-12 range so here's my lot of youngsters...

NOTE - some of these won't fall in our range. But I'm getting names out there. No point doing anything else at this time.

Matt Crouch:

Solidly built but short inside midfielder with excellent hands in close, an innate ball winning ability, good footskills and a tremendous ability to read the play. Crouch will think his way through situations, see his way through traffic and deliver the ball to an option that maybe even the bloke watching from up high in a grandstand 15 m away hasn't seen. He's SMART, tough and his skills aren't anything to sneeze at.

If he's at our first pick you'd have to seriously think about him. I'd be doing more than that.

He's more than a purely inside midfielder, but he has an ability to get his own ball that Martin and Deledio simply don't have. He'd almost singlehandedly solve any inside midfield weaknesses we have.

What are the chances of him being there at our first pick? Maybe higher than you'd think. It's pretty hard to split that first 8 or so at the moment and I know that for some Crouch is the first to slip out.

Dwayne Wilson:

Quick, line-breaking outside midfielder with pace to burn and good skills. Haven't seen enough yet to go into the same level of detail that I have with Crouch but if you want X-Factor - Dwayne's your man.

I'd suggest he'd land somewhere in the 6-30 mark.

Billy Hartung:

If I was to describe Billy in one word it'd be competitive. He's a tough nut who can both win his own ball and hurt you on the outside with his pace, good to very good footskills and elite stamina. People have described Lewis Taylor as the energiser bunny, but I'd say that Billy Hartung is as much that same type as Taylor. Whack some batteries in him and watch him whizz around and gather the ball with reckless abandon. Hates losing and can sometimes border on losing his cool on the field, but he's very much the general of that Stingrays line-up, and a footballer after Graham Yeats' own heart.

I'd imagine that he's more a late teens-early twenties selection at this stage, but Champs will tell us a lot about him.

He fits because he wins his own ball and then provides dash and will compete to the very end. He's very much one who you could put on a wing or in the congestion of the middle and be very confident he'll contribute.

I'll add to this over the next day or so - but a few more in my sights at the moment are:

Blake Acres, Lewis Taylor, Nathan Freeman, Luke Dunstan, Trent Dumont, Jason Cooke, Marcus Bontempelli, Ben Lennon, Matt Scharenberg.

I'll do write-ups for all of them..