Mega Thread 2013 Official Draft Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter MR

You know us. Not wanting to take risks. Will probably be gone by our 2nd or 3rd pick.
I think he'll be there personally after last years debacle. But, I'm not confident we will take a risk.

Also find it strange that "character' apparently bothers us less when it comes to a bloke like A.Edwards, more likely to beyond redemption at his age than a young kid who still has time and a fair chance to get it together.

I mean a hack 29 year-old serial dickhead or a gun 18 year-old who just acts like thousands of other 18 year-olds in Australia?
Goes back to what I said about mature agers not having to pass the kicking or winning your own ball criteria either. Different rules for different types. No wonder we are in strife.

I reckon a key forward is an absolute must this draft with our first pick, if elton and vick both grow a leg i may change my mind

naaa, Bo, another couple of mids is what we need big time dude..one more in R1 for sure...seems to be automatic good get nowadays. McBean is doing some good stuff in the 2s, Elton looks like he is moved onto the next phase of development and learning defensive skills and accountability in defence and well, we countdown to the ETA for vickery..which seems to be set at 25/26...So lets just keep building the engine IMO. But if we go the key forward route, can we at least pick someone that is good and might hit the super heights please. ie. just once in the last 30 years, outside Richo, lets pick up a KPP, that plays footy from day 1, doesnt need develppment, goes out and kicks butt from game one and dont have to debate about how long we need to wait and all that shit...something along the lines of a Buddy or Roughhead would suffice Now get to work FJ and find us one to light the ****ing fuse FFS. ;)

naaa, Bo, another couple of mids is what we need big time dude..one more in R1 for sure...seems to be automatic good get nowadays. McBean is doing some good stuff in the 2s, Elton looks like he is moved onto the next phase of development and learning defensive skills and accountability in defence and well, we countdown to the ETA for vickery..which seems to be set at 25/26...So lets just keep building the engine IMO.
Yeah maybe coggs i suppose depends on what presents at draft day, if a darling type was available , would be a strong case to go with i reckon.

Yep, updated my post after you replied dude....if we do, we need to get one that hits the ground running, natural ability and footballer that belongs from day one...we cant afford 2 r 3 years of development, because then our guns start getting on..

I wouldn't mind getting Garlett in this year's draft but we may be in an awkward position draft wise at the end of the year. Drafting him first round would probably be a stretch but with the way he is going in the WAFL, he may not be there in the second round.

I've said it before but I hope we get Willie Rioli. Very exciting small forward.

There are certain board members that are avoiding this thread i see , In particular the ones that were having a go at me for asking to throw this kid a lifeline in the rookie pick.

(Noone has an issue with your opinion, it was the manner in which you pushed it I think you will find.

I found your knocking of the RFC for not taking him to be bloody insulting, and now you still try to take the high ground on this matter. Just admit it mate, you got it wrong, no harm in that. We have all been there.)

The highlighted part was particularly disappointing, How can you clearly come out and state that another person 'GOT IT WRONG' just because the club didnt select the kid - What makes the club/clubs right in this matter

Dayle Garlett was a kid that made mistakes and due to talent alone was worth a shot , And with guidance could/would of outgrown these problems as most kids do ---- He deserved a shot

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/the-dayle-garlett-discussion-thread.982599/page-14

Interesting read if anybody has a free 30 minutes

mmmmmmmmmmm tasty. Dominic Sheed. Classy player who get the ball through good positioning. HUGE UPGRADE ON GRIGG.
What are the chances of upgrading our first rounder? Bulldogs. They need KPFs. Griffiths + 1st rounder for their 1st rounder.

mmmmmmmmmmm tasty. Dominic Sheed. Classy player who get the ball through good positioning. HUGE UPGRADE ON GRIGG.
What are the chances of upgrading our first rounder? Bulldogs. They need KPFs. Griffiths + 1st rounder for their 1st rounder.

I can't comprehend a trade package without Nahas in it :confused:

Also I would be so pissed to see the bulldogs turn Griffiths into a gun forward :mad:

Probably needed the kick up the arse he got from going undrafted though. I'd definitely take a punt on him this time round but I fear by year's end he may cost a 1st rounder. Surely an expansion club would take him with their 2nd pick before we got the chance.

Say he keeps up his performances this year, would people be keen for us to still use our first pick on him?

Cant believe that we could possibly be prepared to give up on a player like Ben Griffiths KPF at 21 yo

last night i watched the Coburg v Port game on ABC , Ben did some really good things playing foward crunching packs shepherding chasing etc in a shit team like Coburg
Elton , Griffiths , Astbury , McBean are all players that we require at Tigerland its the
White , McGuane , Jackson , Newman , Tuck , A.Edwards, Lonergan , Stephenson type players that we should be looking to upgrade

I can't comprehend a trade package without Nahas in it :confused:

Also I would be so pissed to see the bulldogs turn Griffiths into a gun forward :mad:

They don't need Nahas.
Cant believe that we could possibly be prepared to give up on a player like Ben Griffiths KPF at 21 yo

last night i watched the Coburg v Port game on ABC , Ben did some really good things playing foward crunching packs shepherding chasing etc in a shit team like Coburg
Elton , Griffiths , Astbury , McBean are all players that we require at Tigerland its the
White , McGuane , Jackson , Newman , Tuck , A.Edwards, Lonergan , Stephenson type players that we should be looking to upgrade

Would be good if he was in the forward line permanently...

I reckon we'd be able to squeeze a 3rd rounder out of Nahas but not sure the club will bother given they apparently don't rate this draft.

Where'd you hear that?

From what I've heard this really is the super draft that last year was expected to be.

I believe UpTheGuts mentioned it earlier in this thread, said there's a chance we'll look to trade some picks out because we don't rate the talent this year.

Hmm, interesting, not sure I like the sound of that. Worringly reminicient of past drafting strategies under previous coaches in the desperate dying years of their tenures.