Mega Thread 2013 Official Draft Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter MR

Just finished watching the Northern Territory vs Victoria Country game from last weekend.

Vic Country gave them a complete and utter touch up.

DRAFTABLE PLAYERS

NORTHERN TERRITORY

Errin Wasley-Black - 188cm 84kg - Defender
The best prospect from the NT this year. Would probably be considered around a second round pick but GWS can sign him as they have rights over NT kids. Good skills rebounding out of defence and is a very good athlete. Nice size and should make a good AFL player in the future.

Daniel Cox - 174cm 67kg - Midfielder/Forward
A little bit in the Jake Neade mould of small indigenous forward who plays with a tonne of energy. Uses the ball really well, lively and always looking to get involved. Also showed the capability of playing through the midfield winning 3 consecutive centre clearances. Probably shapes as a rookie at this stage but some consistent performances like he did in this game and could shape as a late pick.

Jordan Scanlon - 185cm 86kg - Forward
One of NT's overage (19yo) players. Very athletic medium forward who apparently kicked 8 goals in a game up in the NTFL recently. He looked a bit taller than 185cm and has a huge leap as witnessed by him spending some time taking ruck contests against Vic Country's 200cm+ ruckmen. Slotted a goal early and showed a bit of talent. Would only be an outside rookie chance IMO.

Jarrod Stokes - 173cm 74kg - Midfielder/Forward
Another quick small forward who can play up through the midfield. He is another of the overage players that the NT played with so was overlooked last year. Got a fair bit of the footy and showed good composure and reasonable foot skills in a team that got hammered. Again only really a late rookie chance.

VICTORIA COUNTRY

Alex Saunders - 177cm 68kg - Forward
Indigenous kid from Gippsland Power. Was probably BOG in the first half but disappeared a bit after that. First half he was absolutely everywhere chasing and harrassing the opposition as well as continually finding space in dangerous positions which led to 2 goals and should have been more. Didn't rotate in the midfield so shapes as a rookie pick or late pick if he's lucky.

Clayton McCartney - 176cm 70kg - Midfielder/Forward
One of my early favorites. Ended up with 6 goals (I think 5 after half time) for the game and was another who just kept finding space in dangerous positions. McCartney really reminds me of an Allen Christensen type. Really damaging wingman who can go forward and kick a bag. What impressed me the most with McCartney was his strength through the hips as he proved very difficult to tackle and would easily shrug off his opponent and slot the goal. Weights his kicks really well so would fit in well at the club. Shaping up as a 2nd/3rd round prospect and if he's there in the 3rd we should snap him up.

Zac Merrett - 178cm 73kg - Midfielder
Zac is the brother of Essendon's Jackson Merrett. Merrett really impressed me with his work through the midfield. Used the ball really well, can win his own footy and regularly pushed forward and hit the scoreboard. I think he ended up with 3 goals. Is probably an option from the middle rounds onwards. It's a shame he's not that little bit taller.

Jarman Impey - 176cm 78kg - Forward
Yet another small forward from up Shepparton way who stood out at times during this game. Wasn't as consistent as few of the others but to me looked more damaging when he did get it. Has a really strong, nuggety type body and tackles really hard. Not sure what his fitness levels are like but would like to see him push up through the midfield to increase his draft stocks. Ended up with 3 opportunist goals for the game. Mid draft onwards for mine.

Nick Holman - 186cm 79kg - Half Back/Midfield
Really want to see more of this kid. In the first half just stood out with his blonde hair and ability to just rack up the footy at will. Used the footy pretty well too. Capped off his fantastic first quarter by pushing forward and nailing a goal from 50m. Another Kyabram boy with the blonde locks not unlike our own Deledio. :D Interested to see how his year pans out and where he goes on draft day.

Jack Leslie - 198cm 93kg - Ruck/Forward
Last year at Champs looked completely lost. This year he was clunking big marks up forward. Has a bit to work with but also a lot to work on such as his kicking is pretty ordinary. Kicked 2 but missed an absolute sitter and possibly more that I may have missed. Was a lot bigger than anything NT had to put on him so will be interested to see if he can take those big grabs against a team with kids as big as him.

Overall, all the big guns sat out this game so most of the prospects are vying for late pick or rookie pick at best. Clayton McCartney and Nick Holman were the stand outs for mine while Wasley-Black and Cox were good for NT.

So many later picks talents that could make us better. We need those types. Desperately. I'd be upset we don't recruit one.

This is what worries me when I hear shit like apparently we don't rate the draft. It's 2nd of June FFS. It seems very close minded and the Champs just started so some players will break out over the next month. Not all those blokes I listed above will make it but you need to give them a chance. If we could get 1 or 2 of them even. We'll likely bow out in the 3rd round and not try a late pick.

Dont believe everything you hear especially in the context of which it was delivered.

I know I know. Same was said last year and we bowed out after pick 43. :p Traded next pick for a 29yo VFL player then picked up cast offs because te quality wasn't there in the rookie draft. That was the reason for the change in philosophy according to FJ on TAC Future Stars just then.

I would have preferred we taken the Pies approach and taken the best VFL prospects like Martin, Dwyer etc. to have that ready made depth. I was a massive fan of Martin prior to the draft. Tell me he wouldn't have done a better job at half back than Petterd.

He'll show a good a pick up he is in the next few weeks that's for sure.

I know I know. Same was said last year and we bowed out after pick 43. :p Traded next pick for a 29yo VFL player then picked up cast offs because te quality wasn't there in the rookie draft. That was the reason for the change in philosophy according to FJ on TAC Future Stars just then.

Have we seen any evidence to the contrary yet though tigs? I would say not.

You referring to quality in the rookie draft?

Kyle Martin was one I was super keen on last year and he kicked 2 goals and looked like he had an eternity at AFL level. Will be very good player.

Dwyer looks the goods in his early games.

Callum Sinclair has shown a bit for West Coast.

Jack Frost looks decent as a KPD as well.

For the 18 year olds it's too early in their development to tell. Some will be duds and some will produce the goods. We've given ourselves 1 chance to get a long term player IMO.

Kyle Martin was one I was super keen on last year and he kicked 2 goals and looked like he had an eternity at AFL level. Will be very good player.

For the 18 year olds it's too early in their development to tell. Some will be duds and some will produce the goods. We've given ourselves 1 chance to get a long term player IMO.

Yeah was referring to the rookie draft. I'll give you Martin and Dwyer, definitely missed the boat with those guys. And yeah it's probably too early to tell with the kids. But I think our policy was sound at the time and has provided some dividends so far. The only issue is that we seem to be playing these retreads in preference to our kids, in detriment to their development. I reckon it's more how we're using those guys that's the problem, rather than the fact we got them in the first place. If that makes sense?

Yep, that's been my issue with them. I think we went one too many but it's more been them getting games over young guys.

Which wouldn't be an issue if form warranted it. Which in Petterd and Stephenson's case it probably did. Petterd was great in the NAB and Stephenson, well he's our only other ruck option. But Lonergan... nah. Arnot or Helbig have been just as good and have heaps more upside. Don't get that one. And I still don't get picking up A Edwards. He would probably have been delisted anyway and we could have rookied him over Lonergan, and picked up someone like Hannath in the ND. But as they say, hindsight is 20/20

Yep on a 1 year deal. I saw this and it was interesting that we didnt like the quality for the rookie draft.

I would have preferred we taken the Pies approach and taken the best VFL prospects like Martin, Dwyer etc. to have that ready made depth. I was a massive fan of Martin prior to the draft. Tell me he wouldn't have done a better job at half back than Petterd.

He'll show a good a pick up he is in the next few weeks that's for sure.

Different player. Martin cant jump at the ball 3rd in against talls like petterd can. Unfair comparison imo.

Martin is a midfielder and we would use him as such not as a loose defender.

Imo martin do ok but i dont see him being a 'very good player'. I think you need to give it a few games before claiming that accolade.

It depends on where they were taken and if they were available too.

Yep on a 1 year deal. I saw this and it was interesting that we didnt like the quality for the rookie draft.

Yer was a bizarre comment. I can understand kids wise but not a young state leaguer.

Imo martin do ok but i dont see him being a 'very good player'. I think you need to give it a few games before claiming that accolade.

They were my thoughts when he was playing VFL last year that he'd make a very good level AFL player. Kicked 6 from 30 touches last week. His AFL debut didn't do anything to change my opinion. We didn't really need a back flanker IMO so Petterd was kind of pointless. Lonergan pick I was ok with as he's a midfielder and the Coburg side shows we need more of them. I just feel like a goal kicking midfielder would have been a good get. I don't think we spend enough time watching state leagues.

It depends on where they were taken and if they were available too.

Martin went after Petterd. Pick 13 I think.

Yer was a bizarre comment. I can understand kids wise but not a young state leaguer.

They were my thoughts when he was playing VFL last year that he'd make a very good level AFL player. Kicked 6 from 30 touches last week. His AFL debut didn't do anything to change my opinion. We didn't really need a back flanker IMO so Petterd was kind of pointless. Lonergan pick I was ok with as he's a midfielder and the Coburg side shows we need more of them. I just feel like a goal kicking midfielder would have been a good get. I don't think we spend enough time watching state leagues.

Martin went after Petterd. Pick 13 I think.

Yeah is it that we dont watch them or rate them differently? We have had state leaguers come in and who knows how a webberely wouldve gone in a pies side? I think a big error some make is they see a player do well in another side but doesnt necessarily mean they would be able to do the same in our team. I saw martin do exactly what webberley did and i think they can carry that sort of player. In the end we will never know. We have gone down this route and it hasnt been that great so maybe we are saying he better be a standout. Losses with webbs,roberts,dericxs,sylvester etc with morris a win, so maybe we are a little gun shy.

Really hope Wilson slips through to our second round pick, if not we need to draft an outside mid and a small forward, not too sure who there is though. Chris Cain would also be a good get. I highly doubt Richmond will go after Garlett.

Averaging 21 possesions
7 marks
2.5 goals this year against men in the wafl as a 18yo kid

Certainly would be a massive upgrade on Nahas

Averaging 21 possesions
7 marks
2.5 goals this year against men in the wafl as a 18yo kid

Certainly would be a massive upgrade on Nahas
He's certainly a gun but for 'cultural' reasons I doubt he'll come, plus he's an awkward selection, if you pass on him in the first round get taken before second.