Mega Thread 2013 Official Draft Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter MR

superstar tigs.

Obviously if Sheed was there you'd take him in a second but I think he will go top 5. Lennon still remains my favourite, from what you said would probably be my second pick from that lot as well

For mine I'm on Jack Billings and Billy Hartung for our first 2 picks as I believe it would go a fair way towards addressing our need to add some smart outside ball users who can finish off when given the chance as well.

To give an idea of the type of players they play like Knightmare describes Billings as a Bartel type of player while Hartung is described as Sidebottom like. If we could somehow add those 2 to the list in the draft I'd be a very happy chappy on draft night.

I am definitely a Billings fan but if we finish when where we think we will he will be long gone. Hartung I am still getting my head around. He seems to have a few qualities that interest me but I'm yet to be wowed.

Good review tigs2010 really enjoyed your write up. I think Sheed will be the most respected draft pick this year, a bloke you'd love on your team. The Jimmy Bartel, Lenny Hayes, Simon Black respect. He is a beaut, long gone before our pick.

There will be some good quality at our pick.

Dominic Sheed - I'd happily take him top 3 but Shifter apparently said he's a teens pick :confused: so I'll include him. Not a great athlete but is just a real footballer. Absolute gun. Can play inside/outside. Wins clearances, uses the ball well and kicks goals. Really smart player. If he's there (which he won't IMO) he's a must have.

Too god damn high for us. We're gonna make the Granny.

I am definitely a Billings fan but if we finish when where we think we will he will be long gone. Hartung I am still getting my head around. He seems to have a few qualities that interest me but I'm yet to be wowed.

Possible that Billings in particular might not be available, but going by the early phantoms on the D&T board he is going to be available around our pick. Regardless the first 2 picks for me need to be line breaking outside types with great skills in particular foot skills.

Be a plus if they could find the footy.

When was the last time we will have such a low draft pick? 2001? And then we traded it to Sydney for Stafford. Could history repeat and could we trade our pick for Mumford?

Be a plus if they could find the footy.

From what I've read both are quite good at finding their own footy, either in a pack or on the outside. Perfect for us

Get Ben Cavarra from the Eastern Ranges. He's their captain in a team that has Tom Boyd, and won their best and fairest as an under ager; the only other player to ever do that was Sam Mitchell.
Elite skills and hardness, ball of muscle. You could pick him up 2nd 3rd round easy.

When was the last time we will have such a low draft pick? 2001? And then we traded it to Sydney for Stafford. Could history repeat and could we trade our pick for Mumford?

pick 15-Brandon Ellis

Toby Nankervis had 22 possessions and kicked 5 goals for Tassie today, and was listed as their best player. :thumbsu:

Eli Templeton had 27 possessions and a goal.

However, I would like us to look at Kade Kolodjashnij. 34 possessions, 10 marks and kicked 2 goals.

Nope, 10 years later and people can't even get Deledio's name right. This kid has no chance

superstar tigs.

Obviously if Sheed was there you'd take him in a second but I think he will go top 5. Lennon still remains my favourite, from what you said would probably be my second pick from that lot as well

Apparently it was Rama not Shifter who said it. Rama is a moron. :D I think Lennon will go top 10 but who knows so i chucked him in.

We have to work out a deal with melbourne /Gws / St Kilda would be willing to let Axel get a super fund from GWS for

Thomas Boyd or James Aish

Foley may get us their 2nd round pick at best. Injury prone older midfielder.

Eli is fast becoming the one I want the most.

Templeton is very good. Will be a beast when he's not built like a 12yo version of Rory Sloane. :D
And as I wrote above I stuffed up with it being Shifter saying Sheed was a teens pick. I scoffed when I read that. Lol-worthy from Ramanauskas.

Get Ben Cavarra from the Eastern Ranges. He's their captain in a team that has Tom Boyd, and won their best and fairest as an under ager; the only other player to ever do that was Sam Mitchell.
Elite skills and hardness, ball of muscle. You could pick him up 2nd 3rd round easy.

Same could be said of Hrovat. I'm already concerned with his lack of size and pace. Hrovat was also a fair bit better than Cavarra too.

For mine I'm on Jack Billings and Billy Hartung for our first 2 picks as I believe it would go a fair way towards addressing our need to add some smart outside ball users who can finish off when given the chance as well.

To give an idea of the type of players they play like Knightmare describes Billings as a Bartel type of player while Hartung is described as Sidebottom like. If we could somehow add those 2 to the list in the draft I'd be a very happy chappy on draft night.
Doubt Hartung gets to our second rounder. Would have to go at our first. I can see why we're interested in him with his speed and skill but my question is whether there will be better prospects. We'd be laughing if Billings was there.

To add to my list on the previous page:

1st Round: Eli Templeton would be around our pick you'd imagine.

2nd Round: Dayle Garlett (if he was still there you'd have to think about it) and Nathan Freeman intrigues me with his pace.

Rookie: Jacob Chisari - would prefer him to Cavarra. Could be a good Foley type pick.

Hey tigs2010 good responses.

Yeah Eli Templeton should be around our pick. He's really skinny, 67kg or thereabouts going on 50kg. But he has the body that could get him up to size quickly.

What he does possess is an ability to keep finding the football in any situation, outside, inside, handball received or winning it himself. He also has some of the best, cleanest hands out of any junior going around. His game sense is exceptional, very smart player.

One of those guys that Geelong would pick. I like that strategy. He's a good kid too. Other than his slight frame which I don't think is a big deal now with our improved facilities and development, I can't find too many weaknesses.

As we keep rising that ladder he is more and more becoming the one I want.

Jealousy probably.

I don't know Vlas personally but every other account I've heard of his character has been glowing. Maybe the other bloke is the prick? ;)
Haha nah this bloke did go to school with him, he's a tigers supporter aswell. He played junior footy with him and said people shit themselves playing against him, he was a monster on the field.

To add to my list on the previous page:

1st Round: Eli Templeton would be around our pick you'd imagine.

2nd Round: Dayle Garlett (if he was still there you'd have to think about it) and Nathan Freeman intrigues me with his pace.

Rookie: Jacob Chisari - would prefer him to Cavarra. Could be a good Foley type pick.

I reckon he's definitely worth a punt if he's around at the rookie draft.