Mega Thread 2013 Official Draft Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter MR

Freeman sounds very much like the type of player we have taken in the drafts over the last few years. Martin, Conca and Vlastuin. I think we are right for inside ball winners, and need to go an outside midfielder, or a speedy flanker.

Dwayne Wilson with our second rounder (hopefully) would be a great get, and I wouldn't complain if the club took a risk and selected Garlett with our first pick. We need someone with genuine pace and linebreaking ability as Lids doesn't use it often enough, and White is just a bit player now.

Freeman sounds very much like the type of player we have taken in the drafts over the last few years. Martin, Conca and Vlastuin. I think we are right for inside ball winners, and need to go an outside midfielder, or a speedy flanker.

Dwayne Wilson with our second rounder (hopefully) would be a great get, and I wouldn't complain if the club took a risk and selected Garlett with our first pick. We need someone with genuine pace and linebreaking ability as Lids doesn't use it often enough, and White is just a bit player now.

Freeman is quick though. He just happens to be able to play inside.

Inside, outside... They're outdated labels these days. If they can win their own ball and deliver in space, like Vlastuin or Cotchin, then it's not really a factor in team balance.

Spot on. If they have some pace as well then that's something we need. Hence, I'm keen to see Freeman today.

Freeman is quick though. He just happens to be able to play inside.

I know we will most likely go Freeman, and he would be the safe choice, but what we lack is a player with agility, speed, and X Factor like Cyril or Lewis Jetta. If we get a player like that, I think it would compliment our midfield nicely.

Personally I reckon Freeman has his own x-factor. That ability to win a hard ball and just burst from a pack and kick a goal isn't a common attribute at AFL level. Depends if you classify Dangerfield/Shuey as having x-factor or not.

To me, there isn't really anyone worth taking with a 1st rounder that fit a Cyril/Jetta type. 2nd round you might get a Wilson/Garlett then by all means go for it. Maybe even wait and take a Christensen/Motlop type in Impey/McCartney later in the draft.

But he's got explosiveness..

Was sitting at home on Friday thinking he's the exact type that would slide and make people look stupid. Would be sensational.

Thoughts on Nathan Freeman who Brett Anderson has us taking? I think he's a pretty good fit. Would probably prefer to Hartung.

The type we would take. Has plenty of tools, I like him. Will discuss more after watching the games in full. Sorry for late reply.

Brett Anderson mock draft (1st round)

A few interesting ones not in there. Hartung, Dumont, Hourigan, Templeton, Wilson.

Really like the idea that Hartung isn't getting mentioned in many first rounds. May just be the footy Gods trying to pay us back for the last 30 years of pain.

What do you mean? I only caught the 2nd half but thought Hourigan looked good. Reminds me of Darling

Yer and it's pissing me off because he'll be gone by our second pick. :D

The type we would take. Has plenty of tools, I like him. Will discuss more after watching the games in full. Sorry for late reply.

Missed one pass so far. I'm watching delayed but he's looking really good so far. 1 missed pass early that just cleared his teammate but everything else hits blokes on the tit in stride.

Really like Taylor. Terrier. Could use his type. Reminds me of Foley a bit.

Bontempelli intrigues me also. Huge frame for a midfielder and great skills. A genuine utility prospect

I don't understand the calls to pick up Wilson. Gets a bit lost and does not get a lot of the ball. Is lazy defensively, but he is a great kick and uses his pace well, but only when he actually has the ball.

I am a tiggie supporter but a mate hacked it and haven't yet changed it back.

Much prefer going for a hartung early!

Cameron McCarthy and Dwayne Wilson were manned up for large portions of the game, and though McCarthy was a lot more damaging and was very lively.