Mega Thread 2013 Official Draft Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter MR

If Wilson was still available at our second pick I would take him every time. His upside far outweighs his downside which is fixable. As for Billings unless we do Griffiths or something+First round pick for St.Kildas first round I highly doubt we'll get Billings.

Billings would be a great get, unfortunately he is gonna be a top 5 pick. Taylor is my favourite player from the draft, there's a bit of a Nathan foley type resemblance. Would love to get him, but seems now that he might just be out of reach.

Having been to both div 1 champs days now - there's a little bit of moving and shaking to do in my order.

Some positional placings of players made them harder to gauge too. Wanted to see Salem and billings playing a bit in the centre square, miller higher up the ground, etc.

Am I the only one who has been progressively more impressed by Zak Jones? Hard as a cats head. Rarely loses.

Really like Taylor. Terrier. Could use his type. Reminds me of Foley a bit.

Bontempelli intrigues me also. Huge frame for a midfielder and great skills. A genuine utility prospect
Bontempelli is a young also, only just makes it into the draft pool so as a 17 and a half year old 191cm mid /HB/HF/Wing with neat skills and good awareness I like him a lot

I liken him to a Harry Taylor type with flex to play back or forward and due to his size could play shorter or taller.

Really like Taylor. Terrier. Could use his type. Reminds me of Foley a bit.

Bontempelli intrigues me also. Huge frame for a midfielder and great skills. A genuine utility prospect
Taylor can play it's just he's so small. Likely goes first round. If he's there 2nd round or we somehow nab an earlier 2nd round pick then like Hartung snap one of them up.

Really like the idea that Hartung isn't getting mentioned in many first rounds. May just be the footy Gods trying to pay us back for the last 30 years of pain.

Would love him in the 2nd round. He's a bit outside for my liking to use a 1st rounder on. But I can definitely see a team snapping him up first round. His speed and willingness to take the game on will be highly sought after.

I don't understand the calls to pick up Wilson. Gets a bit lost and does not get a lot of the ball. Is lazy defensively, but he is a great kick and uses his pace well, but only when he actually has the ball.

I am a tiggie supporter but a mate hacked it and haven't yet changed it back.

Much prefer going for a hartung early!

Wilson disappointed me. I don't even think he used his pace when he got the ball. Would love to have seen him take the game on a bit more when he got it. Like Hartung/Taylor were doing. Take blokes on and if you get caught so be it. Odds are with his speed he'll get away.
Charlie Cameron***** not McCarthy

Charlie Cameron was one that impressed me yesterday. Was ok at Skilled much better yesterday when he went on ball. Really good kick for goal too. He is that year older than the others. Really like him as a later pick.

Would love him in the 2nd round. He's a bit outside for my liking to use a 1st rounder on. But I can definitely see a team snapping him up first round. His speed and willingness to take the game on will be highly sought after.

If our pick is in the 12-14 range then I wouldn't be so disappointed with us using a first round pick for him. He gives us that outside run that we need and has shown that he can win enough of his own footy by using his hard running to get to contests. I've seen him described as a Sidebottom type of player and I reckon that is something we are really lacking.

Having watched the four televised games I really dont rate this draft (admittedly not a lot to judge off), anyone else feel the same or am I being too harsh? Thats not say to say there isn't any quality players but im starting to think that we would be better off trading our first round pick as I think we are more likely to receive a better player from a trade than trying our luck in the draft or we could find a trade which gives us a higher pick so we could land Sheed or Dunstan. I rate those two the highest and think that Billings, Salem and Bontempelli are quality players only we could and most likely would get a better player than them if we traded our pick.

think we need a ready made or well developed player with our first pick, like we have gone with in recent years. Having said that Bontempelli looks like a great talent, much like an Andrew Embley in his glory days. I have a suspicion we will offer our pick for a homesick interstater at years end, such as Adams

also like Impey from SA, he looks very assured and skilled, reminds me of Daniel Wells

Having watched the four televised games I really dont rate this draft (admittedly not a lot to judge off), anyone else feel the same or am I being too harsh? Thats not say to say there isn't any quality players but im starting to think that we would be better off trading our first round pick as I think we are more likely to receive a better player from a trade than trying our luck in the draft or we could find a trade which gives us a higher pick so we could land Sheed or Dunstan. I rate those two the highest and think that Billings, Salem and Bontempelli are quality players only we could and most likely would get a better player than them if we traded our pick.

Got the very same feeling TT, was decidedly underwhelmed by the championships this year. Only a few standouts really.

Taylor, Salem, Bontempelli, Dunstan and Sheed are pretty much the ones I'd be happy to take with our 1st. Freeman is a butcher, Hartung too slight, Billings defensively very poor, Lennon didn't do a lot... Only limited viewing admittedly but I've not seen as much potential in this group as I have in previous years.

Starting to think maybe Garlett would be worth a crack afterall...

Do we still want an outside receiver with our first pick? Wouldn't have got a touch yesterday. :D

Freeman, Freeman, Freeman! Can win the hard ball and has some speed to burn teams with.

Need to draft some KPDs so that we can develop them as KPF seeing as we're currently playing all our recruited KPF as KPDs

Do we still want an outside receiver with our first pick? Wouldn't have got a touch yesterday. :D

Freeman, Freeman, Freeman! Can win the hard ball and has some speed to burn teams with.

Is kill for a Motlop, Christensen, Rioli, Hill type that I witnessed last night.

We need that in my opinion. Outside and forward class.

What does everyone think about Cameron Giles? He's a 195cm/93kg key defender from SA. He has a strong defensive game and rebounds well.

I think drafting someone like Giles would work well for us because it would allow us to play our developing KPFs in the forward line.

Example for next year's reserves lineup:

B: Darrou Astbury
HB: Giles

HF: Elton
F: McBean Griffiths

I posted this before

Dayle Garlett & Chris Yarran would be fantastic with the current mix we have

Overrated soft downhillers who can't play midfield. Rather take a punt on the other Garlett.

It is a weak draft year, there's no doubt about it.

I dunno if it's the super duper draft that's been predicted, but I'd be shocked if wasn't at least better than last year's draft. It's uncompromised for a start and that has to make a difference.

I posted this before

Dayle Garlett & Chris Yarran would be fantastic with the current mix we have

Garlett seems to be working pretty hard this year and has improved from the few games I've seen. With the clouds over him I think he's still a second round possibility and we should look at grabbing him.

Chris Yarran is going the opposite way and seems to be putting in less and less. No thanks. Asking price would be huge too.

Overrated soft downhillers who can't play midfield. Rather take a punt on the other Garlett.

That's the Garlett he's talking about.

Is kill for a Motlop, Christensen, Rioli, Hill type that I witnessed last night.

We need that in my opinion. Outside and forward class.

Outside Rioli all were taken after pick 30 unless I'm mistaken. I'm not a big Brad Hill fan tbh. Motlop and Christensen on the other hand...yes please.

What does everyone think about Cameron Giles? He's a 195cm/93kg key defender from SA. He has a strong defensive game and rebounds well.

I think drafting someone like Giles would work well for us because it would allow us to play our developing KPFs in the forward line.

Example for next year's reserves lineup:

B: Darrou Astbury
HB: Giles

HF: Elton
F: McBean Griffiths

Him or McStay. Depends where they go. A later pick would be fantastic. We definitely need a proper KPD. We've done well at drafting them but problem is we've only taken 2. (Rance/Grimes)

tigers2010

I watched Dayle Garlett in 2 games this year and boy does he look good in the foward line, Reminded me alot of Neon Leon Davis in some of the things he done & Can see the fear in the opposition when he was near the ball - He is the exact type that we are missing in our team Nahas,King are not the answer and Garlett will be able to rotate through the midfield when he develops (Should of had him last year insted of Lonergan)

Chris Yarran - He is the cream, The type of player that tears teams apart provided he is in a good team and doesnt have to be the 'Main Man' thats looked at by the opposition coaches . And i believe with our current midfield he will get off the leash and run amuck through HF

HF: Yarran - Vickery - S.Edwards
FF: Martin - Riewoldt - Garlett

With a foward line like i listed above we have 4 players that can go through the midfield during rotations
With Conca,Deledio,Cotchin,Grigg,Jackson,ellis - Its pretty difficult to keep matchups on players that are constantly moving foward/midfield

Another thing that both Yarran/Garlett add to our team which we are so desperate for is Speed, It suddenly makes us 1 of the fastest teams to play against.

Im a Astbury/Griffiths supporter but would be extremely happy to part ways with them in return for an upgrade of our 2nd that would secure Dayle Garlett & would happily trade our 1st pick for Yarran