Cutler
Tsitas
Conlon
Harvey
Cripps
Lang
Impey
McStay

Still fluctuating a fair bit. Looking forward to spitting some detailed write ups people's way.
Okay if we get Sheed or Kelly with the WCE pick as im certain Conca will go. Then Garlett with our pick ill be a very very happy man.

I think we need another quality KPD especially given Grimes' injury worries. We have Chaplin, Rance and the constantly injured Grimes. Absolutely zero depth in this area. Darcy Gardiner is rated the best KPD in the draft and at 192cm and 18 years old could still grow a cm or two. I'd snap him up with our first rounder if available. Our midfield is young and relatively deep, we can put off taking a mid with our first rounder for a year or so. We need to now sure up the key positions.
A Giles or McStay in 2nd round would be better value IMO.

Giles is a bit taller than Gardiner as well I think. A bigger key defender is what we need

A Giles or McStay in 2nd round would be better value IMO.

I do agree we need a big key defender. I just think that recent history shows if you want quality talls, you need to use relatively good picks. Not as many gun talls coming through in the lower rounds these days imo.

As long as we somehow get both Garlett & and Adams/top young mid, another KPD or two and improve our ruck depth, I'll be happy.

Great picks so far mate. Look forward to your write up on Eli

Thanks mate - here it is:

Pick 31 - Richmond - Eli Templeton - Burnie Dockers/Tasmania

Eli seems to have been a little bit forgotten with all the Kade Kolodjashnij love - but I think the kid is a ripper. Eli's got a fairly skinny frame at 182 cm and 67 kg but doesn't have many problems mixing it with the bigger bodies playing senior footy for the Dockers in Tasmania. He's quick without being blindingly so, and always seems to have that extra second or two to think and assess that all great footballers have. He plays primarily as an outside midfielder or flanker at this stage of his career and has no problem racking up the touches - but I think that as his body matures that he's got enough of an inside game and enough upside to be a permanent member of the midfield rotation at an AFL club.

Eli's exceptionally clean with his hands - possesses nice agility, reads the play well and makes really smart choices when he's got the ball. He can hit the scoreboard, possesses clean and crisp disposal both by hand and foot and is a nice kick at goal. To me, he's got lots of class and if there's one flaw it's maybe that he's just lacking that one outstanding attribute that rockets him up the draft order.

To me it's his versatility (he can play on both a forward or back flank and through the midfield) and his clean hands (he's jawdroppingly clean) that just screams class. He's up there with Salem and a few others I'll no doubt be picking later as one of the kids who I really rate and have been rocketing up my draft order at a rate of knots. I've seen a Heppell comparison be bandied around and it's not too far off - he'll probably progress positionally in a similar way to what Heppell has at the Bombers (starting on a flank/wing before becoming a permanent midfielder who is still learning the tricks of the trade on the inside) and he racks up high numbers despite not being physically developed.

Thanks mate - here it is:

Pick 31 - Richmond - Eli Templeton - Burnie Dockers/Tasmania

Eli seems to have been a little bit forgotten with all the Kade Kolodjashnij love - but I think the kid is a ripper. Eli's got a fairly skinny frame at 182 cm and 67 kg but doesn't have many problems mixing it with the bigger bodies playing senior footy for the Dockers in Tasmania. He's quick without being blindingly so, and always seems to have that extra second or two to think and assess that all great footballers have. He plays primarily as an outside midfielder or flanker at this stage of his career and has no problem racking up the touches - but I think that as his body matures that he's got enough of an inside game and enough upside to be a permanent member of the midfield rotation at an AFL club.

Eli's exceptionally clean with his hands - possesses nice agility, reads the play well and makes really smart choices when he's got the ball. He can hit the scoreboard, possesses clean and crisp disposal both by hand and foot and is a nice kick at goal. To me, he's got lots of class and if there's one flaw it's maybe that he's just lacking that one outstanding attribute that rockets him up the draft order.

To me it's his versatility (he can play on both a forward or back flank and through the midfield) and his clean hands (he's jawdroppingly clean) that just screams class. He's up there with Salem and a few others I'll no doubt be picking later as one of the kids who I really rate and have been rocketing up my draft order at a rate of knots. I've seen a Heppell comparison be bandied around and it's not too far off - he'll probably progress positionally in a similar way to what Heppell has at the Bombers (starting on a flank/wing before becoming a permanent midfielder who is still learning the tricks of the trade on the inside) and he racks up high numbers despite not being physically developed.

I'm most confident this kid will be a sure thing at the next level.

Complete midfielder he will be.

I very much agree with you. I wouldn't be surprised if a club takes him much earlier.
I think he's comfortably the best Tassie prospect this year. I'd have him first round and with my job on the line id take him over Garlett.

You're killin this draft for Richmond. I'm liking it a lot if it happens in real life.

I think he's comfortably the best Tassie prospect this year. I'd have him first round and with my job on the line id take him over Garlett.

You're killin this draft for Richmond. I'm liking it a lot if it happens in real life.

Are these picks obvious ones that most clubs would take or "cute, outside the box, look how clever we are at drafting" types - because I think we all know what FJ prefers after round one. (though at this early stage he seems to have at least nailed it last year):rolleyes:

Also can't believe it's already August and the entire footy world still doesn't know who our first pick will be.:oops:

Are these picks obvious ones that most clubs would take or "cute, outside the box, look how clever we are at drafting" types - because I think we all know what FJ prefers after round one. (though at this early stage he seems to have at least nailed it last year):rolleyes:

Also can't believe it's already August and the entire footy world still doesn't know who our first pick will be.:oops:
Normally we would be planning our summer holidays by now. Damn finals are throwing everything out.

Obvious IMO. So obvious neither of his picks should be there haha

Probably going to trade 1st pick hence we don't have a target for it.
I have him at 12 on my list.
you're a big fan. I have him right at the end of the first round and would be higher if I had seen more of him I think.

Yeah he is my favorite in the draft. Followed him for a few years now and he has the cleanest hands I have seen. Just crisp.

Inside and outside midfielder, can go forward and be a threat, go back and play that quarterback role, but he is a gun midfielder. If he didn't have some injury concerns and wasn't 67kg he would be talked about a lot more. The negatives can all be improved on easily, his strengths are hard to teach. The types I love. He's a footballer.

I'm enjoying your draft for the saints (well i've only looked at the first two picks). Garlett and Sheed... i think thats what i said i wanted for Richmond in a few earlier posts to you ;)

Yeah he is my favorite in the draft. Followed him for a few years now and he has the cleanest hands I have seen. Just crisp.

Inside and outside midfielder, can go forward and be a threat, go back and play that quarterback role, but he is a gun midfielder. If he didn't have some injury concerns and wasn't 67kg he would be talked about a lot more. The negatives can all be improved on easily, his strengths are hard to teach. The types I love. He's a footballer.

No need whisper bob this aint a library

I'm enjoying your draft for the saints (well i've only looked at the first two picks). Garlett and Sheed... i think thats what i said i wanted for Richmond in a few earlier posts to you ;)

Just got Battersby. Wanted McStay as a tall. But he got stolen. As did Giles and I didn't really rate any others. I got what I'd consider 3 first round talents :p

I need a ****ing tall though.

TFLUA-Tiger Our 3rd pick was/is in a really tough spot with Miller and Impey being my next preferences it seemed to really drop off just before our pick.
Like Tigs I thought you'd go for Jones who you are a big wrap for but small forward/mid is a position of need is that the main reason Zac was overlooked?