Mega Thread 2013 Official Draft Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter MR

Just taking a look through this thread and other draft boards around here. Holy crap. My rankings are totally different. Guys like Crouch, Taylor are Hartung are ranked so highly.

I'm releasing my top 50 power rankings over the next two weeks. Might get ugly.....

Some of the guys in even in my top 20 haven't even rated a mention. Starting to get worried.

Should be interesting.

This draft is horrendous so there'll be varying opinions. I was speaking to one recruiter today, and I quote, "I am finding a lot of kids I wouldn't mind rookie listing. Pity the rookie draft doesn't start at pick 23."

Seems to be a general consensus among other recruiters I've spoken to.

Where's this Matt Crouch top 20 talk coming from? The Herald Sun? I mean there are 18 clubs and someone might like him but don't be surprised if he doesn't even get drafted. I've only included him in my draft (pick 50) because I want to write about him.

Very interesting!

You are right, this draft will differentiate between recruiters, between clubs and between observers. More than most. Interesting indeed.

Scharenberg dropping isn't because he is not rated, it's just a simple equation of clubs rating others higher, if you believe the goss coming from clubs that is. For instance - Would I rate Scharenberg higher than Bontempelli? You betcha! Every day of the week. Collingwood will take Bontempelli before Scharenberg. Strange but true.

I have spoken to guys like tigs and Toadvine etc from the start of the year about prospects and believe me, there is guys not mentioned on the forum that we all rate highly. Some like you say, are spoken about highly that I wouldn't touch with our Pick 50.

On Crouch, very interesting point of view. I can guarantee he will be drafted. Seen recruiters out at St.Pats a lot of times watching him. Over and over again. Adelaide, Sydney, Collingwood and Hawthorn ones mainly. I seen him play a lot of school footy where besides Luke Ball, I don't think I have seen a more dominant kid at that level. I don't think he will be taken top 20, gutfeel is Adelaide at 23. I rate him higher. Sometimes people get to clever when recruiting kids. I remember Jobe Watson who was very similar to Brad Crouch playing School Boy football and had some recruiters saying Essendon getting a beauty to others saying he is slow, cant kick, fat but boy he can get it. These types generally succeed despite the attributes recruiters look for first. Put it this way, if he is there at 50 and we don't bite, sack the team.

Your rankings for the kids who are of interest to us is very similar. I rate Salem 8th, Acres 13th, Scharenberg 4th and Lennon 14th. I have Templeton at 12 in my rankings now. Dunstan at 11.

This is a fascinating draft, but we shouldn't despair, this is when you find out just how good your recruiting staff are. As I have told a scout who has a heap of picks this draft "I don't envy you, but back your judgement".

I tell you one thing for certain, supporters of all clubs will be shouting successes of bargains the day of the draft. Guys the mugs in the paper rate high could slip hugely.

You are right, this draft will differentiate between recruiters, between clubs and between observers. More than most. Interesting indeed.

Scharenberg dropping isn't because he is not rated, it's just a simple equation of clubs rating others higher, if you believe the goss coming from clubs that is. For instance - Would I rate Scharenberg higher than Bontempelli? You betcha! Every day of the week. Collingwood will take Bontempelli before Scharenberg. Strange but true.

I have spoken to guys like tigs and Toadvine etc from the start of the year about prospects and believe me, there is guys not mentioned on the forum that we all rate highly. Some like you say, are spoken about highly that I wouldn't touch with our Pick 50.

On Crouch, very interesting point of view. I can guarantee he will be drafted. Seen recruiters out at St.Pats a lot of times watching him. Over and over again. Adelaide, Sydney, Collingwood and Hawthorn ones mainly. I seen him play a lot of school footy where besides Luke Ball, I don't think I have seen a more dominant kid at that level. I don't think he will be taken top 20, gutfeel is Adelaide at 23. I rate him higher. Sometimes people get to clever when recruiting kids. I remember Jobe Watson who was very similar to Brad Crouch playing School Boy football and had some recruiters saying Essendon getting a beauty to others saying he is slow, cant kick, fat but boy he can get it. These types generally succeed despite the attributes recruiters look for first. Put it this way, if he is there at 50 and we don't bite, sack the team.

Your rankings for the kids who are of interest to us is very similar. I rate Salem 8th, Acres 13th, Scharenberg 4th and Lennon 14th. I have Templeton at 12 in my rankings now. Dunstan at 11.

This is a fascinating draft, but we shouldn't despair, this is when you find out just how good your recruiting staff are. As I have told a scout who has a heap of picks this draft "I don't envy you, but back your judgement".

I tell you one thing for certain, supporters of all clubs will be shouting successes of bargains the day of the draft. Guys the mugs in the paper rate high could slip hugely.

Are you going to do a mock or a put out your rankings before the draft??

Most probably the week of the draft mate, when I finalise all the tapes and edits of kids. Won't be a Phantom draft as knowing what clubs want is not my concern, but will do a rankings. This stage struggle to find more than 34 names I would draft. Have a few more to review though.

Talent wise? Top 5. But certainly not in my rankings this year.

I was a huge fan last year, but since then, right before last years draft and this year, have been let down with reports of him. I think in a draft when the talent drops off so quickly, you wouldn't touch him with a top 25 pick. But a strong club, with great resources should take him after that, cause risk would be great reward with not many after that a chance to burn you.

If I was to place him in my rankings, besides Boyd, I can't see a more talented player.

EDIT: Sorry mate it's late thought you quoted me. My thoughts nonetheless.

Talent wise? Top 5. But certainly not in my rankings this year.

I was a huge fan last year, but since then, right before last years draft and this year, have been let down with reports of him. I think in a draft when the talent drops off so quickly, you wouldn't touch him with a top 25 pick. But a strong club, with great resources should take him after that, cause risk would be great reward with not many after that a chance to burn you.

If I was to place him in my rankings, besides Boyd, I can't see a more talented player.

Have you got two accounts, or answering on behalf of _kp_?

Thanks though... if you're last coment is true, then to not draft him is just pure stupidity. If he ****s up, you boot him out. If he doesnt, you've got a superstar.

Have you got two accounts, or answering on behalf of _kp_?

Thanks though... if you're last coment is true, then to not draft him is just pure stupidity. If he ****s up, you boot him out. If he doesnt, you've got a superstar.

Check my edit to that post. Definitely only have one account and have done since 2001. ;)

I would take the risk at Pick 50, not at Pick 12. That is my take. I think we now are strong enough to handle him. With Chocco, Luke Murray at the club and NLM looking like joining our VFL team, we have the support for him.

He is pure silk. One of the most exciting juniors I can remember.

I have a hidden one that I haven't seen his name even mentioned on any area of BF. I'm gunna take him in PRE Phantom Draft. Would take him in the BF one but I have Saints so will be done at 19. :p

Hmmmmmmmmmmmm You can tell me , I wont tell anybody

Just went and had a look at that draft and you've killed it for Sydney. Dunstan, Templeton, McStay, Lobb and Conlon :rainbow:

Kicking is his issue. Everything else I like. He's not too bad.

Think he would be perfect as a tagger.
Btw, regarding the Petterd upgrade, do we know if it is with pick 68 or the next pick meaning we will take 3 new kids at this year's draft?

Think he would be perfect as a tagger.
Btw, regarding the Petterd upgrade, do we know if it is with pick 68 or the next pick meaning we will take 3 new kids at this year's draft?

At this stage it's the pick after. I guess we could sign a delisted player though and then it would be 68 as it would take away a list spot.

Just went and had a look at that draft and you've killed it for Sydney. Dunstan, Templeton, McStay, Lobb and Conlon :rainbow:

Hehehe I got in just in time on a few I think. Now for my hidden gems that no one will take. :D

Hmmmmmmmmmmmm You can tell me , I wont tell anybody

:rolleyes: No chance. I reckon this kid will go as well.

I have Templeton at 14 and Dumont at 9.

On talent pretty high but won't be in my rankings as I'm sure he won't be drafted again. You can definitely count us out. Not touching him. And that's through a big amount of homework on our behalf, not a lack of.

Take the puff-pieces this year about him with a grain of salt.

One guy who is in my top 20 and I think would really suit us as he reminds me of a young Rob Murphy is Darcy Byrne-Jones. Not much chat about him.

What are the watcher's thoughts on Tom Vandeleur? Could be handy back up for Grimes as a late pick

I reckon Darrou could/should be back up for Grimes... but maybe a back up for the back up :)

Hey Damo80 has something got your back up ?!……………sorry my left hand just couldn't fight my right hand off the keyboard….;)

Kids a gun. I mentioned him a little while ago. He's more a rookie prospect if he goes at all because he's so skinny. One of my favourites of the small forwards.

OMG I'M THE SAME WEIGHT AS HIM!!! however i'm like 15cm smaller than him.
He should be considered a McBean. I don't think weight would be an issue, because clubs usually have regimes and programs set in place. He would be a project but i think whoever picks him up and bulks him up good, while at the same time maintaining his athleticism he could be a good player. In a couple years.

OMG I'M THE SAME WEIGHT AS HIM!!! however i'm like 15cm smaller than him.
He should be considered a McBean. I don't think weight would be an issue, because clubs usually have regimes and programs set in place. He would be a project but i think whoever picks him up and bulks him up good, while at the same time maintaining his athleticism he could be a good player. In a couple years.

I got about 25kgs on him and I'm roughly the same height as him :eek: