2013 Predictions

• Thread starter Thread starter ghostdog

But you predicted they will.. who do you think will then? srs
Looks like I did. It was quite a bold prediction though, after thinking about it I wouldn't have WC in the Grand Final. I should have checked what I had before saying I don't think WC will make the Grand Final, my mistake. I honestly don't know who will make the Grand Final but if I was to put a large amount of money on it, it would be Hawthorn and Sydney.

Yeah I dunno.. Kennedy and LeCras haven't played a lot of footy lately. Pretty sure Nicoski is a spud. Gaff should improve yes. Darling and Selwood.. not so sure. NicNat is everything Norf supporters hope Majak will be (but isn't). Freak. Cox should be fine. Glass.. meh.

Yeah nah. Doubt they'll even make the GF much less win it.

How much of that sounds like bias? :p

You are a clown if you're not so sure about scott selwood

And to everyone saying Hawthorn, if they couldn't close this year why will next year be different? How will they improve?

One more thing, WCE may have the best up and coming midfield: nick nat, selwood, gaff, shuey, masten, wellingham? add priddis/kerr/embley and thats a very solid midfield

Hawthorn will be sliders IMO. Mitchell, Guerra, Lewis Hodge are passed their best. Shit rucks, Buddy can only do what he is doing as can guys like Roughead their upside is limited. Birchall, Stratton, Gibson, Suckling had excellent years along with Cyril (AA) and they couldnt seal it.

I see very limited upside.

Maybe Lake can save them and be everything they needed, but i question his durability and ability at his age. I think they need Rioli to become an A grade elite midfielder to go to the level of grandfinalst next year and also I.Smith becoming a consistent high ball winning wingman and i dont see those happening.

They are highly over rated IMO, slow and too many past their prime, they have missed out. Can Lake and Rioli save them? maybe.

I certainly like WCE and Sydney. Sydney basically add Mcglyn, Rohan, Parker and Tippett to the side along with a fit Goodes, Richards and Mumford who were all underdone in the GF. They are massive improvements. Eagles basically add Lecras, Nicoski (when was the last time a don kicked mid 40's in a year?), fit Kennedy + Wellingham plus as said i think Shuey, Gaff, NN, Selwood all have improvement on last year + fit Embley.

Hawthorn will be sliders IMO. Mitchell, Guerra, Lewis Hodge are passed their best. Shit rucks, Buddy can only do what he is doing as can guys like Roughead their upside is limited. Birchall, Stratton, Gibson, Suckling had excellent years along with Cyril (AA) and they couldnt seal it.

I see very limited upside.

Maybe Lake can save them and be everything they needed, but i question his durability and ability at his age. I think they need Rioli to become an A grade elite midfielder to go to the level of grandfinalst next year and also I.Smith becoming a consistent high ball winning wingman and i dont see those happening.

They are highly over rated IMO, slow and too many past their prime, they have missed out. Can Lake and Rioli save them? maybe.

I certainly like WCE and Sydney. Sydney basically add Mcglyn, Rohan, Parker and Tippett to the side along with a fit Goodes, Richards and Mumford who were all underdone in the GF. They are massive improvements. Eagles basically add Lecras, Nicoski (when was the last time a don kicked mid 40's in a year?), fit Kennedy + Wellingham plus as said i think Shuey, Gaff, NN, Selwood all have improvement on last year + fit Embley.

I reckon your being a touch harsh on the Hawks here - cant see them sliding just yet. They only went down to the Swans by 10 points in the gfinal and had a bad day, and you could argue many of the Sydney veterans like Goodes, Bolton, LRT, Richards and McVeigh are past their best. Hale is not a shit ruckman, Gibson & Lake more than serviceable down back, young guys like Breust, Smith & Savage coming through, oh - and they have a couple of guys called Rioli & Franklin who are 23 and 25 respectively and tend to win 6 or so games between them off their own boots each year.....

Well i rate them 3rd but wouldnt surprise me to see another team like Freo or someone suprise and finish ahead so id have them sitting 3rd or 4th.

Breust, Savage and Smith (maybe you could add in WhiteX) are hardly world beaters and a large group. Yes Rioli and Buddy can do that and they do but im not sure relying on 2 players is a good idea.

Hales no, Maric, Cox, Sandi, Jolly, Bellchambers, Mumford, Jacobs, Kreuzer, Leunenberger - so hes well under par.

Yeh you could say the same thing but Goodes unlike Mitchell has the ability to go forward and kick goals (riccuto esque after his prime), ROK is playing his best footy onball. Richards just go AA so not sure howd you argue hes past his best. LRT meh, Mcveighs still playing the footy at a level he has ever reached during his career and Bolton agreed is one along with LRT that are past it. But than you probably look and see that Parker/Mcglynn take Bolton out quite comfortably and Tippett replaces LRT. Hawks dont have that for me, and thats a worry for them IMO.

Premiers: Hawks
Norm Smith: Buddy
Runner Up: Pies
Coleman: Buddy
Crichton: Watson from Goddard
Brownlow: Pendlebury
Rising Star:
Top 8 (in order): Hawks, Collingwood, West Coast, Sydney, Fremantle, Carlton, Geelong, Essendon
Bottom 10 (in order): Richmond, Adelaide, North, St Kilda, Brisbane, Port, Melbourne, Gold Coast, Western Bulldogs, GWS
Woodenspoon: GWS
Most improved team: Carltank
Biggest slide: Adelaide
Retirements: Fletch...nobody else matters.
First coach sacked: Guy McKenna
Surprise of the season: Essendon beat Melbourne and Richmond beat Gold Coast
Disappointment of the season: Continued injuries

EFC win/loss ratio: 12/10
EFC most improved player: Hurley
EFC most consistent: Watson
EFC Most likely to be delisted at season's end: Steinberg
EFC scapegoat: Hardingham and Hooker

You are a clown if you're not so sure about scott selwood

And to everyone saying Hawthorn, if they couldn't close this year why will next year be different? How will they improve?

One more thing, WCE may have the best up and coming midfield: nick nat, selwood, gaff, shuey, masten, wellingham? add priddis/kerr/embley and thats a very solid midfield

I agree this year is the year that got away, one could argue that the Hawks should have won both 2011/2012.

The only improvement that I think they need is scoring accuracy. If they can improve then they can more than challenge but then again the case can be made that there are half a dozen contenders and one or two others that may improve enough to be in contention.

Hawthorn won't be as good this year IMO. Leon Cameron to GWS is a big, big loss in their coaching department. Who did they get to replace him? To add to that Sewell, Hale and Mitchell are another year older, I'm not convinced about Lake as the big defender, IIRC his best was when he was playing 3rd man up ala Fletch, Hodge may not be over his injuries yet and I wasn't as sure of them as I was last year.

West Coast are the team to beat for me. They have a fantastic forward line- Kennedy, Darling, Cox, LeCras, Hill and Nicoski, a midfield of Selwood, Priddis, Gaff, Kerr, Rosa and Masten holds its own, and their defence is serially underrated, Glass is an unheralded champion of the game, MacKenzie if he plays a full season is every bit as good as McPharlin, Schofield is one of the better 3rd tall defenders going around, more than capable of taking a key forward too, Butler solid and then there's Hurn with his massive right boot and Waters who is hard and smart.

I'm firmly on the West Coast bandwagon for 2013

Hawthorn won't be as good this year IMO. Leon Cameron to GWS is a big, big loss in their coaching department. Who did they get to replace him? To add to that Sewell, Hale and Mitchell are another year older, I'm not convinced about Lake as the big defender, IIRC his best was when he was playing 3rd man up ala Fletch, Hodge may not be over his injuries yet and I wasn't as sure of them as I was last year.

West Coast are the team to beat for me. They have a fantastic forward line- Kennedy, Darling, Cox, LeCras, Hill and Nicoski, a midfield of Selwood, Priddis, Gaff, Kerr, Rosa and Masten holds its own, and their defence is serially underrated, Glass is an unheralded champion of the game, MacKenzie if he plays a full season is every bit as good as McPharlin, Schofield is one of the better 3rd tall defenders going around, more than capable of taking a key forward too, Butler solid and then there's Hurn with his massive right boot and Waters who is hard and smart.

Brett Ratten. LOL

as much as I agree that he's a shit head coach (have been saying it since his first year) he was a decent assistant beforehand

Premiers: Fremantle
Norm Smith: Chris Mang
Runner Up: Collingwood
Coleman: Walker
Crichton: Jobe
Brownlow: Pendles
Rising Star: Luke Shuey
Top 8 (in order): Collingwood, Fremantle, West Coast, Sydney, Essendon, Carlton, Geelong, Adelaide
Woodenspoon: GWS
Most improved team: Freo-reo
Biggest slide: Adelaide

EFC win/loss ratio: 15/7
EFC most improved player: Melk
EFC most consistent: Watson

could not have said it better

Luke Shuey is ineligible for the RS mate, has been for a year...
I think he was joking.

Anyway, time for a serious prediction

Premiers: Essendon
Norm Smith: Daniher
Coleman: Daniher
Crichton: Daniher
Brownlow: Daniher
Rising Star: Daniher
Most improved team: Essendon
Surprise of the season: Essendon win the premiership
EFC win/loss ratio: 25-0
EFC most improved player: Daniher
EFC most consistent: Daniher

Rising Star: Between Joe Daniher, Jack Viney and Jaeger O'Meara (I think he counts)
Please stop with the Daniher hype, it's over the top.

I think he was joking.

Anyway, time for a serious prediction

Premiers: Essendon
Norm Smith: Daniher
Coleman: Daniher
Crichton: Daniher
Brownlow: Daniher
Rising Star: Daniher
Surprise of the season: Essendon win the premiership
EFC win/loss ratio: 25-0
EFC most improved player: Daniher
EFC most consistent: Daniher

Please stop with the Daniher hype, it's over the top.

the-rock-clapping-gif-i12.gif

Premiers: West Coast
Norm Smith: Scott Selwood
Runner Up: Sydney
Coleman: Lance Franklin
Crichton: Jobe Watson
Brownlow: Gary Ablett
Top 8 (in order): West Coast, Sydney, Adelaide, Hawthorn, Collingwood, Essendon, Geelong, Carlton
Bottom 10 (in order): Fremantle, Richmond, Brisbane, North Melbourne, St Kilda, Melbourne, Port Adelaide, Bulldogs, GWS, Gold Coast
Woodenspoon: Gold Coast
Biggest slide: North Melbourne
Retirements: David Hille, Dustin Fletcher
First coach sacked: Guy Mckenna
Surprise of the season: Collingwood and Hawthorn to both be outsiders for the flag come September
Disappointment of the season: Richmond; failures again
EFC win/loss ratio: 15-7EFC most improved player: Jake Melksham
EFC most consistent: Jobe WatsonEFC Most likely to be delisted at season's end: Ariel Steinberg

His best was during the Bulldogs' top four run of 2008-2010, when he was clearly in the top handful of key defenders in the league.

Premiers: Sydney
Norm Smith: Kennedy
Runner Up: Hawthorn
Coleman: Cloke
Crichton: Watson
Brownlow: Cotchin
Rising Star: Joe Danniher
Top 8 (in order): Sydney, West Coast, Hawthorn, Adelaide, Essendon, Fremantle, Colingwood, North Melbourne
Bottom 10 (in order): Richmond, Carlton, Geelong, Brisbane, St Kilda, Port Adelaide, Greater Western Sydney, Western Bulldogs, Gold Coast, Melbourne
Woodenspoon: Melbourne
Most improved team: Fremantle
Biggest slide: Geelong
Retirements: Dustin Fletcher, Simon Black, Darren Jolly, David Hille, Aaron Sandilands, Paul Chapman, Joel Corey, Corey Enright, Tom Lonergan, Mark Jamar, Brent Harvey, Kane Cornes, Chris Newman, Jason Blake, Lewis Roberts-Thompson, Darren Glass, Jason Winderlich
First coach sacked: Voss
Surprise of the season: Gumbleton plays 20, kicking 65. JD plays 15 kicking 75. *wishfull*
Disappointment of the season: Nicki Reiwold tears ovarian muscles in "training" mishap...caught on camera. (reports emerge later the culprit was either a large rat-like creature or Stephen Milne)
Ashby fails to earn a senior debut, Gleeson has his 13th birthday at Maccas (gains 1kg), Kavanagh plays 12 consistent skill-filled games.

EFC win/loss ratio: 14-1-7
EFC most improved player: O'Brien
EFC most consistent: Stanton
EFC Most likely to be delisted at season's end: Davey
EFC scapegoat: Goddard. Such a highly paid recruit, one mistake or one average game were all going to come down on him. Talk about first year pressure...