2013 SEQAFL Division 3

Common sense would say the GF would be a Saturday, however AFLQ have stressed it could be a Sunday. I'm happy with a neutral GF on a good ground for footy!

Ironically, the new ground at Caboolture would be great ha ha. Make for an almighty bus trip for the victorious team!

As long as they play both 1's & 2's on the same day I wouldn't care - not like win/lose or draw ur going to work on monday anyway regardless of gf is sat or sun hahaha

Aflq stating it could b a Sunday - have they ruled out a Monday, tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday or Friday grand final tho? Haha

As long as they play both 1's & 2's on the same day I wouldn't care - not like win/lose or draw ur going to work on monday anyway regardless of gf is sat or sun hahaha

Aflq stating it could b a Sunday - have they ruled out a Monday, tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday or Friday grand final tho? Haha
Ha ha well who knows?! Agree re: work on Monday. I'm hoping Dr. Hugh G Rection is signing alot of certificates late in August ha ha

A big thank you to the Buffs from everyone at UQ for hosting us yesterday - great day of footy.
Apologies we couldnt put on a better show in the one's. We had one of our better teams on the park for this season but you were way too good.
Best of luck for the remaining 4 games.

A big thank you to the Buffs from everyone at UQ for hosting us yesterday - great day of footy.
Apologies we couldnt put on a better show in the one's. We had one of our better teams on the park for this season but you were way too good.
Best of luck for the remaining 4 games.
I'd say this year is closer than any other in my time in Div 3 (previously Div 2). Would you agree? I'd be interested to know how it weighs up. So many teams deserved of top spots in both grades. Plenty of surprises to come I'd say!

Agree BOC - the mentality that comes out of AFLQ occasionally that ppl from other divisions really, really care about what goes on in all the divisions is ridiculous. In recent years where the AP Cup / PHC has had the 18's, 2's and 1's all playing at the same ground on the same day has made for a ripper day of footy, especially when one club has more than one side competing. Can't imagine it is any different in Div 2 or 3 or even NEAFL for that matter.

I agree. Those full days are amazing for players and supporters alike. Hopefully finals offers what it's shaping up to and there are no changes that take away from that.

So any GF predictions from anyone?!

I'll stay optimistic say Coomera v Pine Rivers in both!

S
I'd say this year is closer than any other in my time in Div 3 (previously Div 2). Would you agree? I'd be interested to know how it weighs up. So many teams deserved of top spots in both grades. Plenty of surprises to come I'd say!
Surely last season was closer, Swoop.
Based on current results,Coomera look the pick. And I reckon they are 5 goals better than the Buff$.
The Buffs to me are 5 goals better than the Cobs. Pine Rivers are the dark horse and I won't be suprised if they bowl over the Cobs and Buffs to push Coomera all the way. Griffith are not a threat - unless Bruce Workman is umpiring the game. They are 5 goals better when Brucey has control. :) He might even pick up an award on Griffiths trophy night.

S

Based on current results,Coomera look the pick. And I reckon they are 5 goals better than the Buff$.
The Buffs to me are 5 goals better than the Cobs. Pine Rivers are the dark horse and I won't be suprised if they bowl over the Cobs and Buffs to push Coomera all the way. Griffith are not a threat - unless Bruce Workman is umpiring the game. They are 5 goals better when Brucey has control. :) He might even pick up an award on Griffiths trophy night.

Coomera would be $1.40 for the flag.

S

I still believe any team at full strength on any day could take it out. I also see Pine Rivers as the "dark horse" but after watching them play us last time, I must say they look like deserved finalists and may surprise a few on the return fixture.

I'm not sure if any team has been at 100% full strength during the year which is why finals is always so interesting. Blokes make themselves available! ha ha

Ressies is very congested and I think that rained out Rd 2 fixture is going to play a big part on final standings. Unfortunate but that's Queensland football I guess ;)

I reckon the league may be up for a huge cost with several guys in contention for the league medal. It may be split between about 5-6 blokes. I guess you just never know how an umpire will vote though ha ha

I agree. Those full days are amazing for players and supporters alike. Hopefully finals offers what it's shaping up to and there are no changes that take away from that.

So any GF predictions from anyone?!

I'll stay optimistic say Coomera v Pine Rivers in both!

I would say on their day any of the top 5 currently could beat anyone. Hardest season to pick a standout IMO with Coomera seemingly the obvious choice.

I wouldnt discount Logan making their trademark run home either, they amaze me how they continue to find a way late in seasons. Shows you cant place a value on true will to win and compete.

Pine Rivers on their day are the best team I have seen all year, but their day appears to be hit and miss based on their results thus far. I also heard a rumour they are losing a few players to an overseas trip some time soon. Maybe someone in the know there can clarify?

Agree. Logan are remarkable and winning when they need to. I'm not sure if its a player availability thing.

In regards to Pine Rivers they are a very well structured team and I believe they could implement a plan to push any team which is what we found out! We were far from our best that day but that could have been a correlation to their efforts!

I've just got my fingers crossed we'll have our full complement of players in both grades come finals! Then at our best I'd be confident we'd be a red hot chance!

The point is, we played 1 player who's played a handful of games (5-6 i think mainly reserves) and is no superstar but a nice bloke.

Problem was when we got to the selections our Ruckman said if the game was in Caboolture, he was out. As did 2 other regular seniors. Had he been a small bloke we could've filled his spot with ANOTHER Ressies player. Our reserves ruckman had to leave at 2pm to make it to his girlfriends 21st in Surfers Paradise by 4pm (to which he was late).

So one of the boys suggested his mate could use the run (again not a superstar, just tall and needing a run).

Why should we have to play short in the reserves because Moorooka pulled the Caboolture bull shit? Why should we force a double up and be disadvantaged? If the game was in Brisbane we were fine for numbers. In the end, we played 2 Ressies in the Seniors and every Ressies player got a run.

We had no sheep stations on the line, just weren't going to let Moorooka's sneaky little plan disadvantage us! Which I believe is fair enough.

Hearty debate, and I believe there could be loopholes in the system that could be abused. Perhaps a cap on how many permits a team can use in one day/year? Is there a maximum? Would hate to see a club full of Div 1 players running around in Div 3.

Swooper, the inference here is that there are only two blokes on Coomera’s list that could possibly take on the ruck position in the ones. Surely this isn’t true.

The only other option was me and my contract requires me to stand in the forward 50 and be handsome. Therefore we used what we had available to us. I believe GM did the same with a few ring ins. I was actually shocked as I had always believed that permits were not allowed after June 30. When dealing with AFLQ now I'm just going to have to shrug my shoulders and say "OK Whatever", nothing they can do from here will surprise me.

Then you sir are in breach of your contract. :cool:

Joe, anyone could ruck if you look at it. However, the quality of ruck work would be effected. As I've stated, we did not wish to be disadvantaged by the decision. Why should a forward be out at risk of injury by carrying the rucking duties of the entire ground all day? We shouldn't have to is the answer. We needed someone anyway or we were playing short (pardon the pun).

This debate is like my pace- long gone.

Swooper - can see your point and dont have a problem with it - hoping for you that you dont have ur big man go down early in a final and are left with no one with match day experience of rucking cause you wont have any options but to throw in a forward in that situation!!

Morro - hows the arm coming along? done for the year or a chance at reappearing around late august / early september?

Seniors
Coomera V Pine Rivers or Logan
Will depend on the travel factor as Pine Rivers don't seem to travel real well.
Reserves
Coomera V Ipswich

I would say on their day any of the top 5 currently could beat anyone. Hardest season to pick a standout IMO with Coomera seemingly the obvious choice.

I wouldnt discount Logan making their trademark run home either, they amaze me how they continue to find a way late in seasons. Shows you cant place a value on true will to win and compete.

Pine Rivers on their day are the best team I have seen all year, but their day appears to be hit and miss based on their results thus far. I also heard a rumour they are losing a few players to an overseas trip some time soon. Maybe someone in the know there can clarify?

Bloody Ashes...;)

2013 SEQAFL Division 3