Competitions 2013 Supercoach/DreamTeam Discussion

Hey guys, I am in the Ultimate Footy draft league and am looking at Clinton Jones as a free agent. He doesn't seem to be tagging as much this year so would you think he is a reasonable shout to pick up as he can find the pill?

Hey just wondering what's the deal with Nicky Dal Santo?

NDS at $477K(SC) is very cheap especially before last year was probably a SuperCoach Hall of Famer.

Probably fool's gold but geez anyone thinking he can bounce back to yester-years. I know the answer is probably No, but his price is so enticing.

Even Clinton Jones is averaging 99 v NDS 86....something is up.

Impromptu, we are all hoping the NDS snaps out of his poor form but is is struggling v the hard tag as he has in the past. Some are even calling for a demotion. In the saints v pies thread lots are talking him up this week as the pies do not typically tag. He might bounce back this week and continue on with good form, or he might have a secret one and fall back away.

What is his break even? I would let that decide and if you have trades to burn maybe flip him.

Hey just wondering what's the deal with Nicky Dal Santo?

NDS at $477K(SC) is very cheap especially before last year was probably a SuperCoach Hall of Famer.

Probably fool's gold but geez anyone thinking he can bounce back to yester-years. I know the answer is probably No, but his price is so enticing.

Even Clinton Jones is averaging 99 v NDS 86....something is up.

Hey mate! I traded him out in last week or two if that gives you idea on my thoughts!!!

Impromptu, we are all hoping the NDS snaps out of his poor form but is is struggling v the hard tag as he has in the past. Some are even calling for a demotion. In the saints v pies thread lots are talking him up this week as the pies do not typically tag. He might bounce back this week and continue on with good form, or he might have a secret one and fall back away.

What is his break even? I would let that decide and if you have trades to burn maybe flip him.
Hey mate! I traded him out in last week or two if that gives you idea on my thoughts!!!

Thanks Guys, I have a soft spot for NDS.

Okay, may err on the side of caution and stay cleay of Nicky Dal.

From my perspective, it's hard to tell. He clearly has some talent in particular areas, but being dafted in the 40s suggests that there are a few somewhat-prominent deficiencies in his game. Will they be overcome, or will they prevent him from getting many games? I can't say.

To give you some insight, no one expected much from Newnes last year; as you'd expect, most of our attention was on our first pick, Seb Ross. Yet, Seb didn't debut until round 22, whilst Newnes came in at round 2 and really impressed. Conversely, someone like Ledger looked to be an absolute lock for some decent game time after what he showed in the NAB cup last year, yet was hardly seen.

Saunders could be in either of those situations this year, or somewhere in between. The point I'm trying to make is that we really have no idea what to expect. All we know is that he didn't set the world on fire in the NAB cup, but that he has some decent talent to be worked with. Whether that translates into a few games this year is anyone's guess, but if you want a safe option, I probably wouldn't go with him.
Hello Strahany:)
Regarding Saunders, now he has got a game under his belt, what are your thoughts now?
cheers

Hey guys,

any info on Saunders? With the carnage this week looking at possible trade ins for this week and also with an eye to who are likely good gets in the next week or 2 to help decide on what to do this week.

Scored well when on but was obviously the sub. I know nothing about him (position, role in the side, etc) or where he fits in your best 21.

Heard somewhere he will get a full game this week.

How do you see his JS and likelihood of avoiding the vest going forward?

Probably not going to present as a great option on the surface but just looking for some info one way or another.

Thanks!

It's very hard to judge Saunders on half a game, but I'd have to say his biggest strengths would be his attack on the ball, so therefore he should be getting a handful of contested possessions every game.

He didnt do anything that stood out and suggested he'll have a big year, but he certainly didnt play a poor game. I'd expect him to get another 2 or 3 games before coming out for a rest, but whether he gets any more later on in the year will be dependant on his performances.

gday sainters
i drafted in Sean Dempster 2 weeks ago into my Supercoach draft team but has returned 2 very low scores. Should i put that down to him just finding his feet after and injury or is he playing a more defensive role? i could easily trade him now for a player that will average high 70s, but Dempster proved last year he is capable of averaging in the mid 80s.
thanks

Even Steven - break out game v the blues or one off? He has the look of a rising fantasy star to me. I Want to trade him into my DT for Ollie Wines.
Or should I play safe and go with someone like Lids or Mitchell?

Even Steven - break out game v the blues or one off? He has the look of a rising fantasy star to me. I Want to trade him into my DT for Ollie Wines.
Or should I play safe and go with someone like Lids or Mitchell?

If, by taking a punt in Steven, you'll be able to bring in a player that you really want and would be otherwise unaffordable, then I'd say you should go for it.

If not, then I personally wouldn't be massively keen on taking the risk, but it depends on your situation. He would make for a good point of difference, though.

Tell me about Webster Guys

Does Wright out give him any sort of JS, seemed ok when he came on.

Wouldnt be trading him in this week but trying to get a guage on upcoming trade down targets to help with planning this weeks trades

Tell me about Webster Guys

Does Wright out give him any sort of JS, seemed ok when he came on.

Wouldnt be trading him in this week but trying to get a guage on upcoming trade down targets to help with planning this weeks trades
Wright coming out should mean that Webster is good chance to start on the ground as opposed to being the sub, but there's no guarantee there.

Considering we're playing you guys this week, you should keep a close eye on him. He's reasonably pacey, tough for his slender build, and an excellent kick, so if you see him use these things to his advantage, then it could be worth bringing him in.

Can anyone explain to me how Saad and Webster scores the following stats

_____________K H D M HO FF FA T G B DT
Jimmy Webster 7 7 14 4 0 1 0 2 0 0 56
Ahmed Saad 7 5 12 3 0 1 2 1 2 1 52

yet Webster comes out with 85 supercoach points and Saad gets 24?

Seems completely skewed to me.

Cos Webster went at like 90% efficiency and Saad probably at like 10%. It's not based on pure stats, it's how you use ball and so many other things. DreamTeam is used on pure stats, u can go at 0% effiexny with 30 disposals and sore 120 whereas in Supercoach u get punished for it.

58% vs 90% Disposal Efficency. Im not going to compare every stat but seems like a pretty arbitrary huge discrepancy which makes me question a lot of other scores Supercoach comes out with.

Thoughts on Jimmy Webster, what is his job security looking like? Is he in the Saints best team?

58% vs 90% Disposal Efficency. Im not going to compare every stat but seems like a pretty arbitrary huge discrepancy which makes me question a lot of other scores Supercoach comes out with.

No it's not, you get rewarded for impact on the game. Jimmy had lots impact and Saad didn't.

Thoughts on Jimmy Webster, what is his job security looking like? Is he in the Saints best team?
Hard to say. All players being fit, he's probably not best 22. However Scotty has been good at playing the youngsters and Jimmy's emerged just as Nathan Wright's injury caused a spot to open up.

He'll probably get a few more games, he could be subbed on or off though

Supercoach he may be worthwhile as his disposal is excellent, wouldn't take a punt on Dreamteam

No it's not, you get rewarded for impact on the game. Jimmy had lots impact and Saad didn't.
Sorry what? Kicking 2 goals 1 isnt impacting the game?

Im not stating he was as good as Webster across the ground, as he certainly isnt, but thats a very wide difference.