Roast 2014 Comical commentary thread

I hate Harley commentating on Hawthorn games. I mean, I can take Bruce and Dennis - at least they're being 'fun' - and for all the comments about Bruce barracking, he tends to barrack whoever is playing well...when we hit the front in the third, he started talking us up too. And Dennis always calls the play, rather than being three steps behind like Basil.

But Harley is completely one-eyed. Buddy can collect Birchall with a huge knock to the head, and he barely says a word - but as soon as Roughy contests against McGlynn, "WHY IS THERE CONFUSION HE'S A GONER!" Every opportunity he has to dig at the Hawks, he takes it - such as his comment about only being tested every six weeks. He's ridiculous and really impacts my enjoyment of Friday night footy.

I don't mind people being critical of the Hawks - but he's so false in his praise, and sticks his boots in so far with his criticism, it really sticks in my craw.

I love how Jake Niall made mention in his article in the Age to " a Hawthorn-hater like Tom Harley" Good article, great reference.

Stephen Quartermain tweeted early in the Syd game about Franklin having a big influence early, 3 cheap shots, 6 behinds, xx FA but I reckon he has since deleted the tweet. It would be good to have him commentate our games!

tbh we, as Hawthorn supporters, should take pleasure in the bitterness he still endures from when we kicked a higher score than they did some 6 years ago

Oh, I'm pretty sure we do! IIRC, Harley HATES being Hawthorn supporters coming up to him and reminding him of the result of that game.
I suggest we KEEP DOING IT, every single time we see the flog.

Nobody deserves it more!

Towards the end of the Geelong v North game Bruce informed me that Harvey was over thirty again tonight.

A bit obvious (and random) even for Bruce, I thought, until it finally dawned on me what he was talking about.

Recently, I have noticed Bruce often calls; "They are both going for the same ball!" That's a Faux pas Bruce. Isn't it?

When I read that Reiwoldt has had to jump a fence to escape the press I feel sick.

Bastard flogs seeking a scoop. Why do we tolerate this as a society?

Alter the jolly laws already and stop our players getting followed and harassed by paid professionals who are seeking an outburst.

It reflects on us that this isn't stopped.

BT consistently gets players names wrong. Forget the other crap he goes on with, get the names right.
Not only the players, but the umpiring decisions. In the last quarter, when Jay Schultz knocked the ball over the line, the umpire clearly indicated a boundary throw in, but BT called deliberate OOB. What a clown!

Those clowns tonight (BT and Darcy) had me at breaking point a couple of times tonight, the crap about the crowd was just utterly embarrassing, I dont know whether its deliberate but they always seem to latch onto something during a game and then never let it go, no matter how trivial the crowd was the one tonight, understandable though I guess because there has never been a crowd of 52,000 at an AFL game before, really ground breaking stuff

Just cant listen to these clowns anymore, dunno who is the high paid genius at CH 7 who decided BT should come commentate saturday night football, but he needs to retire along with BT. They just talk so much utter bulls**t.

I am sure if I go off every game I've had to listen to BT commentate that he has a massive gambling problem.

There is no doubt in my mind with how bias he is in every single call no matter who is playing that he has money on it.

He'll favour one team and one team only (the one he has money on), and if they look like losing then all of a sudden the umps come into play for giving the "other mob" soft frees. If his "team" do lose he goes very quite at the end of the game and during the wrap up.

Anybody else notice this?

Oh, I'm pretty sure we do! IIRC, Harley HATES being Hawthorn supporters coming up to him and reminding him of the result of that game.
I suggest we KEEP DOING IT, every single time we see the flog.

Nobody deserves it more!

He created that problem...said something in the media about it not bothering him when he hears about 08. Pretty funny...so Hawks supporters started reminding him at every opportunity!

Seriously, I wish he'd stay away from Hawthorn games. He's too biased...

He created that problem...said something in the media about it not bothering him when he hears about 08. Pretty funny...so Hawks supporters started reminding him at every opportunity!

Seriously, I wish he'd stay away from Hawthorn games. He's too biased...
I can understand the "greatest captain ever", who got knocked out by Roughie in a losing GF be bias against that team.

If you get the chance always remind the flog not to put his ugly head in the road of Roughies knee so he can at least remember losing, and how he as "the greatest captain ever" lost the so called unlosable GF.

What I can stand are flogs like Dracy who just hate Hawthorn because he was in a shit club that never wins anything and was a below avg player. Tall poppy thing-a-me-bob with sour grapes thrown in from that that that lost............ for a word here...

Why do the Victorian papers not bother sending over a reporter to cover a game?
The age article today by Ashley Porter, an Adelaide based journo, was 100% aimed at the port crowd, and full of errors. I'm not expecting a paper to blow smoke up our arse, but as the Victorian team reading a Victorian paper I'd like some of the article to discuss our form, outs and good points and areas of concern. Not "rah rah port awesome, real flag threat, hawks tried but port awesome blah blah hawks know they have genuine contender in port, who were awesome blah"
Apparently Mitch Hllahan gave gave Mitchell a shirtfront, and our best player was Josh Lewis.

Not exactly commentary but does anyone else find all those questions and such across the bottom of the screen totally distracting? Unfortunately I am not one of those people who can filter things out very easily and I just find it hard to concentrate on the footy when I have all that stuff popping up on the screen all the time and BT babbling on in my ear about who you would prefer kicking for goal after the siren etc. I watched an old GF the other day and couldn't believe how 'clean' it was, just basically vision and commentary - it was bliss to watch!

Roast 2014 Comical commentary thread