2014 Draft Discussion

completely off topic (but in reference to above) why did Clint Jones play 16 games for the saints this year?

thats only 1 less than Moloney, Raines, Polkinghorne and McGrath combined! The saints are rebuilding without rebuilding and they still finished last! maybe next year they'll commit more to it as we have this year and start to at least have some hope for the future.

btw. anyone have a link or explanation of this GWS - Saints trade? I must have missed it being discussed while flicking between the various footy shows last night.

You can guarantee Roos and son Tyler have discussed Brayshaw at some length. Clearly the best mid after Petracca. Reckon he will be one of two Melb will take.

Depends if Melb end up trading their pick again or not. It is in their best interest if they can snag an established player rather than another 18 year old. But whilst I think Wright is the better fit, I can see them taking Brayshaw.

They do have vince, cross and Jones who they really need to replace by the time they are finals relevant, so mids wont go astray. Just think if they can pull another Tyson out it will help fast track them a bit. Dont think it is Healthy for Melb to be looking at 5 years of rebuilding.

Might be a silly suggestion, but would we consider trying to upgrade to Dees pick 2? Say our pick 4 or 5 plus an emerging type like crisp or Harwood, if they were open to it. The Draft seems pretty open on the lower end so how much difference it would make for melbourne, especially if they get 2 picks together. We on the other hand could nab mccartin( think saints will take petracca) or use it for beams? Wishful thinking?

Melbourne essentially downgraded their Pick 2 to Pick 9 and got Dom Tyson in return. We'd need to be offering a decent player to do something similar.

Yeah had that in the back of my mind. However that's a 7 pick gap compared to a 2 or 3. But hear what you're saying nonetheless.

what happens if we get ryder and keep pick 4, wright is the one left from the top 4 surely we cant take wright aswell
im thinking durdin as we may need a big key defender when merret and goose retire

what happens if we get ryder and keep pick 4, wright is the one left from the top 4 surely we cant take wright aswell
im thinking durdin as we may need a big key defender when merret and goose retire

I'm a fan of Durdin as well. If we lock down these KP posts for the future (we know the bigger blokes take a bit longer) then that's a lot of holes filled and we can really focus on building a midfield..hopefully with a couple of really good recruits

Not a silly idea at all mate, We have Crisp that hasn't re signed yet and would not count out that at all ... Although I would rather unload Harwood as Crisp was sensational for us when he came in to the seniors

neither have nearly enough trade value/currency for a deal like that, would say it would be a silly idea :p

Let's assume we get Ryder..and have Leuy, Ryder, West and Martin as rucks.

Let's also assume Melbourne are granted a priority pick.

What happens if the top 4 turns out like this

1.McCartin - St Kilda
2. Petracca - Melbourne
3. Brayshaw - Melbourne
4. Lever - GWS

Roos has been known to always draft midfielders with high picks. The midfield is an area they still need to improve on and have a few talls coming along nicely already...

Do we take Durdin, Marchbank, Pickett?

I can't see us taking Wright if he falls to us especially if we've picked up Ryder. Pickett might be a reach but he is a quick, small defender that we really lack since Golby has dropped off. He could he our next Chris Johnson! Durdin is probably our best bet though. 197cm KPD replacement for Goose, Patful, Merret. Thoughts?

Ryder is 27 at the start of next season. Arguably, his recruitment and Wright being drafted would dovetail perfectly. As Ryder's career drew to a close, Wright would be hitting his peak.

Gotta get away from this idea that drafting is a short term business. We're effectively drafting for a window of 2-12 years away, not for the gap in our best 22 for round 1 next year.

Ryder is 27 at the start of next season. Arguably, his recruitment and Wright being drafted would dovetail perfectly. As Ryder's career drew to a close, Wright would be hitting his peak.

Gotta get away from this idea that drafting is a short term business. We're effectively drafting for a window of 2-12 years away, not for the gap in our best 22 for round 1 next year.

For the duration that Ryder is playing (if we got him) I can't see how Wright would be playing any football at all unless we had a lot of injuries. Martin and Leuy will play every week if fit, West was in our best 22 when he was playing as well. We need to draft to fill our positional needs and if we get Ryder, we don't need Wright

We will need someone like Wright in his Prime in 4 years time.

I don't think you took in what I posted.

For clarity, I always assume a young key forward is not ready to play regular senior football for at least two years and is not ready for the role of the #1 key forward for at least four.

If Wright dominates and demands a senior spot next year, then I'd consider it a pleasant problem to have.

From the person I have spoken to, St Kilda are leaning towards Petracca. I know I'll cop grief for this and people will respond with my sisters boyfriends uncle's goldfishes brother in law's step brother... I heard this from someone who knew about McEvoy several weeks before anyone else. Albeit he said McEvoy was up for trade he didn't say Hawthorn. This person has close ties to a St Kilda board member who said that to him. Of course, however things change.

Jayden Laverde, saw some footage of him on the weekend and he looks like he can play. Has anyone followed him this year and if so how do you rate him?

Let's assume we get Ryder..and have Leuy, Ryder, West and Martin as rucks.

Let's also assume Melbourne are granted a priority pick.

What happens if the top 4 turns out like this

1.McCartin - St Kilda
2. Petracca - Melbourne
3. Brayshaw - Melbourne
4. Lever - GWS

Roos has been known to always draft midfielders with high picks. The midfield is an area they still need to improve on and have a few talls coming along nicely already...

Do we take Durdin, Marchbank, Pickett?

I can't see us taking Wright if he falls to us especially if we've picked up Ryder. Pickett might be a reach but he is a quick, small defender that we really lack since Golby has dropped off. He could he our next Chris Johnson! Durdin is probably our best bet though. 197cm KPD replacement for Goose, Patful, Merret. Thoughts?
You would be stupid not to take Wright. My motto is if you need a gun key forward, then flood the joint with key forwards.

Also put yourself in Melbournes position. They lost Clark, Frawley, Rivers and their current forwards can't play a full season (Dawes, Hogan) or duds (Watts, Peterson, Dunn). If I were Melbourne I would take Wright and Petracca in this situation.

You would be stupid not to take Wright. My motto is if you need a gun key forward, then flood the joint with key forwards.

Also put yourself in Melbournes position. They lost Clark, Frawley, Rivers and their current forwards can't play a full season (Dawes, Hogan) or duds (Watts, Peterson, Dunn). If I were Melbourne I would take Wright and Petracca in this situation.
Great motto to have but may be a bit tricky when there is a squad limit ;)

Jayden Laverde, saw some footage of him on the weekend and he looks like he can play. Has anyone followed him this year and if so how do you rate him?
With Petracca most likely gone before pick 4, I have been red hot on Durdin, Lever and Levarde. All 3 will be great players in the right circumstances. Hopefully we get Durdin.

I've not seen a great deal of Laverde - care to extend with your reasons for enthusiasm rer him SizeMatters

If we get Ryder, then our priority changes back to a midfielder with that first rd pick. If Ryder comes to our club it must be under the guise of a key forward and throw in a young midfielder who can impact straight away. Add the return of Rich and Redden, then things are looking much better come 2015.

I've not seen a great deal of Laverde - care to extend with your reasons for enthusiasm rer him SizeMatters

Possesses the genuine outside line breaking athleticism and foot skills that we sorely require. Combine this with his marking ability for his size (189-190) and he becomes a very enticing prospect. Would imagine that he would be right around the mark at 5 or 6.

Sounds as though he ticks all the modern prototype requirements then, and if he was to be ranked around that mark it looks as though I will need to do some following up - thanks cc :thumbsu:

Whilst we might have Ryder/Martin/Bergs/west, they are all in that 26-29 age bracket. By the time we are a flag chance these guys are near 30. Besides that I give 0% chance of all 4 being fit at once. Wright would still be a good fit. Very Brown/Lynch like hand over actually.

If Brayshaw was there I would be tempted, but I think you take Wright if he is there.

2014 Draft Discussion