2014 Draft Discussion

If melbourne do get the extra pick, there's every chance they could get Wright ontop of Brayshaw or even one of the key backs with frawley seemingly on his way out. How bad was Gawns knee injury? Can't see Gws drafting another forward so am still holding out hope mccartin can slip through.

With absolutely no insight into the selections other than GWS's penchant for drafting for needs, I'm holding out on hope for them taking Durdin or a midfielder over McCartin (or Wright) as well.

Early in the year I think we would have been happy to get Wright, so either way with Melbourne getting a compensation pick it still leaves us Wright or McCartain surely? Won't GWS take Lever?

Hopefully that comes to fruition but would have thought out of anyone GWS would take it was Durdin

With absolutely no insight into the selections other than GWS's penchant for drafting for needs, I'm holding out on hope for them taking Durdin or a midfielder over McCartin (or Wright) as well.
I'm hoping one of Brayshaw/Wright/McCartin(unlikely) is available at our pick even if Melbourne get pick 3.
Could be a difficult decision otherwise. Lever might be the best player available, but he doesn't really fit our list at all.

Specifics aside I don't think we can complain about compromised drafts while the academy is running really
True but 3rd/4th round picks dont seem so bad. I guess I was just thinking of a normal 1st round. Just a little sick of getting bumped so far down the order and just missing the player I really like.

Same here, always seems we are just short of the player who fills an exact need.

think the point he was trying to make was a bontempelli type (similar to macrae who shooots up the draft boards late so a highly rated junior slides to our pick ie aish and mayes)
Yes I knew that but just giving a little subtle high five again to squizzy who won it. I agree it was maybe a little too subtle.:p
McCartin seems to be trying to slip to us as Lever's star is on the rise it seems. If we still have pick 5, would be a bonus to say the least.

my mate Kade Pitchford from Tassie would be worth a look he is just under six foot has amazing skills and is deceptively quick and made it into the TSL team of the year for devonport and has been rated against Hayden ballintyne because he can get under the opposition players skin and he has told me brisbane was impressed with him at the tassie combine i reckon he will go late to rookie but could go higher

Theres a fair chance some off you havent heard of him but Kade Pitchford from Tassie would be worth a look he is just under six foot has amazing skills and is deceptively quick and made it into the TSL team of the year for devonport and has been rated against Hayden ballintyne mostly for his persona and he has told me brisbane was impressed with him at the tassie combine i reckon he will go late to rookie but could go higher
Hi kade's mum I hope your son gets drafted.

2014 Draft Discussion