List Mgmt. 2014 Draft Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter GrandBlue

Who would you like us to select with our first round pick right now? (Wright & Durdin excluded)

If we go to the draft and we feel theres better players at our pick i'm fine with that but I just want us to go hard and trade for one, and I reckon we just might.
I have strong doubts we will

might end up with one of Durdin/Wright though at our first pick
especially if Petracca/Brayshaw/Pickett get picked off before

I think we'll likely look for a KPF in the draft at some stage in the draft, but not over best available

I have strong doubts we will

might end up with one of Durdin/Wright though at our first pick
especially if Petracca/Brayshaw/Pickett get picked off before

I think we'll likely look for a KPF in the draft at some stage in the draft, but not over best available
We'd be mad to not be looking to trade our first for a forward imo. Of course it might not get done because the asking price could be too high but its just so obviously our one main hole in the list, it just needs to be filled asap.

Well, today's loss will make it even harder to draft a tall forward because Melbourne will get two picks ahead of us if Frawley walks. Would have been nicer if they finished above us.

We'd be mad to not be looking to trade our first for a forward imo. Of course it might not get done because the asking price could be too high but its just so obviously our one main hole in the list, it just needs to be filled asap.
like I said

I don't think that is happening this year, just be patient
I'm sure it'll be addressed but we aren't going to be bent over backwards to trade for one
and I think that is a good thing

Not sure about that. We don't have a lot of winnable games remaining and Melbourne seem to be improving all the time. I would be more worried about Carltons miserable form and Richmond who won't get to play StK again.

Why would Frawley want to walk anyway? This year is Hawthorns last chance and the GWS GCS domination is only 2 years away.

I think if Frawley leaves, its more likely they'd end up with a mid first round pick...I'm not too worried about that, but would prefer he doesn't leave though

It has been reported quite often that if Frawley leaves, Melbourne will receive the next draft pick after their First round selection. Therefore, if they finish 16th, they would get 3&4.

Reckon the top 4 would will be McCartin, Wright, Durdin and Petracca. Think we will have pick 6 and wouldn't mind taking Pickett. Reckon the win has made us lose any hope of on of the big 3 kpp/Petracca unless we drop a game to the saints or gws. Glad we won today for the morale and to instil confidence in the young brigade but dam.. Petracca is gonna be a gun would of been nice to have him! ****ing Melbourne again if Frawley goes will probably get Petracca and Brayshaw.

It has been reported quite often that if Frawley leaves, Melbourne will receive the next draft pick after their First round selection. Therefore, if they finish 16th, they would get 3&4.
If Scully was worth 2 high picks Frawley would be worth 3 or 4. Let's not even talk about Callander Ward though. After watching Stringer, McCrae and Bonti today Melbourne supporters must be thinking WTF??? We passed on all of those guys.

like I said

I don't think that is happening this year, just be patient
I'm sure it'll be addressed but we aren't going to be bent over backwards to trade for one
and I think that is a good thing
It really needs to happen as soon as possible though, if we want them to be in their prime with the rest of our team. I just don't think it makes any sense to hold out, of course you don't want to get bent over but i dont see why thats any more likely to happen this year than next.

If Scully was worth 2 high picks Frawley would be worth 3 or 4. Let's not even talk about Callander Ward though. After watching Stringer, McCrae and Bonti today Melbourne supporters must be thinking WTF??? We passed on all of those guys.

No no no. That is absolutely wrong if Scully worth two picks, then Frawley is at least worth two picks.........

Reckon the top 4 would will be McCartin, Wright, Durdin and Petracca. Think we will have pick 6 and wouldn't mind taking Pickett. Reckon the win has made us lose any hope of on of the big 3 kpp/Petracca unless we drop a game to the saints or gws. Glad we won today for the morale and to instil confidence in the young brigade but dam.. Petracca is gonna be a gun would of been nice to have him! ******* Melbourne again if Frawley goes will probably get Petracca and Brayshaw.
Still a chance, not all recruiters rate players the same :)
whichever player we take, I'll personally think is the best player in the draft though ;)

It really needs to happen as soon as possible though, if we want them to be in their prime with the rest of our team. I just don't think it makes any sense to hold out, of course you don't want to get bent over but i dont see why thats any more likely to happen this year than next.

I've told you in a PM before
but anyhow, if we want a key forward in the draft and key forwards peak at 25 y.o onwards or so
then its going to be quite a wait... if we trade our first and a player, it'll just create another hole on our list anyway
and whenever players names get thrown up on here, people create reasons why we can't get rid of him!

can't ever win, even when we're winning :rolleyes:

Just to come at things a slightly different way.

Something I like about our drafting at the moment is that we are drafting footy players with our top picks first (Bonts, Stringer, Macrae), and even guys like Hunter, Hrovat and Honey.

So, for the watchers, can someone identify and rank say the top 7 most natural, accomplished footy players in the draft (who can win their own ball -not by height or athleticism)??? Because I kind of get the feeling that is how we will draft again.

Given today's win, I am going to assume we are Pick 5 or worse, and that Durdin, McCartin and Wright are gone by our pick.

Just to come at things a slightly different way.

Something I like about our drafting at the moment is that we are drafting footy players with our top picks first (Bonts, Stringer, Macrae), and even guys like Hunter, Hrovat and Honey.

So, for the watchers, can someone identify and rank say the top 7 most natural, accomplished footy players in the draft (who can win their own ball -not by height or athleticism)??? Because I kind of get the feeling that is how we will draft again.

Given today's win, I am going to assume we are Pick 5 or worse, and that Durdin, McCartin and Wright are gone by our pick.

I'll get back onto you with that
and I would say some off the top of my head are
Petracca, Johannsen, Brayshaw, Weller

we need to draft a first round KPF. No half assed guesses in the second and third rounds. We have a few of them. If we don't get a quality KPF then its not worth drafting one.

Agree we need a KPF, just not sure from the discussion that there is a quality one available at our pick.

If we do go best footy player available, odds are strong it won't be a KPF if I am reading the draft watchers correctly.

Just means we are going to have to horsetrade, bribe, and cajole a KPF to come to us by hook or crook, as I think next year (and almost this year if truth be told) are going to be too late to draft a KPF who will be ready to play at his peak when our list peaks.

any KPF at our first round pick would be a huge reach

unless they start to play like crap, but then they wouldn't be quality..
we probably won't even draft one in the second round, to be honest

We still don't have CHB, CHF or FF sorted. Some possibles is all at this stage.
I guess what I'm getting at is we at least have players who look promising in those positions. Roberts hasn't missed a beat in the AFL and looks like he has all the tools to be a very good CHB. Talia waiting in the wings.

I'm sort of leaning towards Jones being CHF. He's just not very good in contested situations but when he has space to lead and jump into up on the wing he's pretty hard to stop. He really just needs that one other tall alongside him to take some of the heat off him.

I'm not saying everyone is going to make it but looking at the list I just feel that key forward who can stand up and take marks inside 50 consistently is the one major thing that were missing.

I guess what I'm getting at is we at least have players who look promising in those positions. Roberts hasn't missed a beat in the AFL and looks like he has all the tools to be a very good CHB. Talia waiting in the wings.

I'm sort of leaning towards Jones being CHF. He's just not very good in contested situations but when he has space to lead and jump into up on the wing he's pretty hard to stop. He really just needs that one other tall alongside him to take some of the heat off him.

I'm not saying everyone is going to make it but looking at the list I just feel that key forward who can stand up and take marks inside 50 consistently is the one major thing that were missing.

no well that is my point. There are no locks as yet. Roughead is the only lock KP we have. I don't agree on Jones that the reason he's not performing is because he needs another player to take the heat. He has shown what he can do when his effort is there. He didn't fire a shot yesterday and I am not talking marks and goals....how about presenting, tackling, chasing....gee he was even in the ruck and he couldn't get a stat.

I think it's just confidence and attitude with him. The marks and goals will come with the effort and intensity. Btw I have said it for a long time but I think his best position will be CHB.

no well that is my point. There are no locks as yet. Roughead is the only lock KP we have. I don't agree on Jones that the reason he's not performing is because he needs another player to take the heat. He has shown what he can do when his effort is there. He didn't fire a shot yesterday and I am not talking marks and goals....how about presenting, tackling, chasing....gee he was even in the ruck and he couldn't get a stat.

I think it's just confidence and attitude with him. The marks and goals will come with the effort and intensity. Btw I have said it for a long time but I think his best position will be CHB.
Yeah there's no locks but there's at least players who look capable of it, up front we've got Jones, a couple of ruck men, an injury prone 29 year old and a rookie.

at the game yesterday I genuinely thought the effort was there, he kept presenting and at least tried to make his weight felt and I really do think he tries every week. Agree that he can drop his confidence pretty quickly when things don't go his way.

Can't agree that he can play CHB though. He just makes too many mistakes which up forward we can hide as long as he's doing some other good things but down back they can just absolutely kill ya. Forward or bust IMO.

I really do reckon if you had someone taking the attention off him he'd thrive

There is no point using a relatively high draft pick to select a kid who will likely be an average key forward and will take five or more years to get there.

Select Foster, keep developing the young players we have, try to trade for under-valued talls, try to lure a free agent, draft some project players with low draft picks or the rookie draft (eg. Campbell and Redpath) but above all - don't waste pick 6 or 7 on a kid who is unlikely to ever become an A-grade footballer.

There is no point using a relatively high draft pick to select a kid who will likely be an average key forward and will take five or more years to get there.

Select Foster, keep developing the young players we have, try to trade for under-valued talls, try to lure a free agent, draft some project players with low draft picks or the rookie draft (eg. Campbell and Redpath) but above all - don't waste pick 6 or 7 on a kid who is unlikely to ever become an A-grade footballer.

amen.

first pick goes to the best player left on the scouting report, with quality talls and ball users winning tie-breakers over general forwards and midfielders. sneak a money-ball free agent, pull a swifty in trade week (pull a koby stevens / tom young trade for an undervalued tall) and continue down the dvelopment path. it would be gut wrenching to reach for a tall and then when he busts, wish we had drafted the wingard / gaff type that was obviously best available...