List Mgmt. 2014 Draft Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter GrandBlue

Who would you like us to select with our first round pick right now? (Wright & Durdin excluded)

He probably even goes inside the first round
So I doubt we'd really get a look, should just be happy with Viojo-Rainbow or something :p although...could see a team like Geelong thinking about taking him, they like to be different then everyone else when it comes to drafting, but so often get it right :(

Jordan Cunico, Jackson Nelson, Jayden Laverde; got a couple of HBFs there that hopefully get through

watched a TAC video on the selections and as I thought, some of the players are missing to give other players some exposure :) not just because of injuries, though Nathan Drummond the over ager was injured

He's at serious risk of becoming a cult figure with a name like that!

After reading articles on the ex-US basketballer 211cm Mason Cox and his superhuman athletic qualities, it became, in this house, a game of predict which of at least 5 AFL clubs would get his signature. Unanimously the decision here was - Collingwood. Were we correct? -you betcha.
yep the international rookie chit needs to be turned into a draft, its not equitable for Collingwood to sign everyone.

I propose:
-Clubs can nominate international rookies they want to draft, those player then go to a draft where the teams that nominated have the right to draft based on ladder position.
-The fear with a conventional draft is poor clubs with little funding snagging the talent a rich club unearthed but dont have the resources to make the most of the prospect, this is easily dealt with by having pre-requisites before you can nomminate ie. minimum amount of money/staff to be dedicated to draftee etc. The AFL can decide on a reasonable cap for the prerequisites.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2014-05-30/u18-champs-div-1-round-1-stats

in case anyone was interested, also shows efficiency

my man Goodyear had a pretty low one, but thats why I think he'd make for a good rookie option
burst player with some good height that wins a lot of contested ball at the moment

Never really does have high efficiency, O know this is TAC Cup and a level below the Championships but look at the overager Taylor Grace and how effective he is when ball is in hand, also gets s**tloads of it. Can't understand why he wasn't picked up last year to be honest even as a rookie by someone.

The other one of the 19yo's that I like Taylor Grace had 31 disposals, 8 marks, 4 tackles and kicked a goal kicking with 81% efficiency by foot. Somehow didn't end up in Sandringhams best with that o_O.

That was his last game. As much an inside player as an outside one our recruiters love that :cool:
Reckon we could get the two of them?

Never really does have high efficiency, O know this is TAC Cup and a level below the Championships but look at the overager Taylor Grace and how effective he is when ball is in hand, also gets s**tloads of it. Can't understand why he wasn't picked up last year to be honest even as a rookie by someone.

See Nathan Drummonds tackling numbers? 10 tackles and is also bit of a burst player with lower kicking efficiency like Goodyear

Ellis got some pretty impressive numbers for U18s and TAC

See Nathan Drummonds tackling numbers? 10 tackles and is also bit of a burst player with lower kicking efficiency like Goodyear

Ellis got some pretty impressive numbers for U18s and TAC
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-10-20/taylor-grace
The inside word: Medium defender who provides excellent counter attack through his decision making and use of the ball, particularly by foot. Can also go into the midfield where his ball winning ability is very good, amassing large numbers all over the ground. Sandringham Dragons best and fairest in 2013.

This is his write up from last year's draft. BTW he is averaging even more disposals and kicking more goals this year. Seems to have moved permanently into the midfield rather than playing on half back.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-10-20/taylor-grace

This is his write up from last year's draft. BTW he is averaging even more disposals and kicking more goals this year. Seems to have moved permanently into the midfield rather than playing on half back.

yeah, the dragons/cannons/jets all have some midfielders/defenders that could be worth a shot, even if only on the rookie list
shame that Drummond got injured, but you'd have liked Viojo-Rainbow's 10 kicks 1 handpass 92 DE% :p

yeah, the dragons/cannons/jets all have some midfielders/defenders that could be worth a shot, even if only on the rookie list
shame that Drummond got injured, but you'd have liked Viojo-Rainbow's 10 kicks 1 handpass 92 DE% :p
yeah we need more players who can use it like that. Really like Grace hopefully he will fall through the main draft and be rookied by us. Though if he keeps up this form he has going for the Dragons then he will do a Langdon and be picked up in the main draft, although he'll be a late selection. Maybe we can take four selections into this draft and take one of these 19yo's late?

Maybe
Zaine will probably be nominated somewhere, so we might take the four selections
I'd like us to trade a player and a pick to upgrade some of our picks, but thats more for the other thread :)

that way we can hopefully draft a player that we'd of not got a couple of picks later

Something like McCartin, Viojo-Rainbow, Cordy

then rookie Drummond or Goodyear would be pretty sweet

:straining:

Maybe
Zaine will probably be nominated somewhere, so we might take the four selections
I'd like us to trade a player and a pick to upgrade some of our picks, but thats more for the other thread :)

that way we can hopefully draft a player that we'd of not got a couple of picks later

This is what I was thinking of if we had 4 selections in the draft and of course our rookie draft.

Main Draft: McCartin, Viojo-Rainbow, Cordy, Grace (I'd select him here because we need proper outside class that can come in straight away)
Rookies: Drummond/Goodyear, Foster, KPP (Josh Fox please), a Ruckman

This is what I was thinking of if we had 4 selections in the draft and of course our rookie draft.

Main Draft: McCartin, Viojo-Rainbow, Cordy, Grace (I'd select him here because we need proper outside class that can come in straight away)
Rookies: Drummond/Goodyear, Foster, KPP (Josh Fox please), a Ruckman
I'd probably like a second KPP/KPD in there ;) but anyway

I'd just like a KPF, HBF x 2, KPD x 2 :drunk:

Wouldn't mind Laverde at our second pick, Viojo-Rainbow is just such a good kick..hard to pass up, doesn't collect as many disposals as Laverde/Duggan but gets similar numbers with tackles and inside 50s and marks etc, so if he could learn to accumulate I think he'd be a special talent

Cooled down on Braden Ferrari? I'll be heading down to see the Champs when they have two matches back to back

Wouldn't mind Laverde at our second pick, Viojo-Rainbow is just such a good kick..hard to pass up, doesn't collect as many disposals as Laverde/Duggan but gets similar numbers with tackles and inside 50s and marks etc, so if he could learn to accumulate I think he'd be a special talent

Cooled down on Braden Ferrari? I'll be heading down to see the Champs when they have two matches back to back
Nah I think that he could easily be in the same catogory as Fox just depends who plays the best footy for the remander of the year. If Fox grows to around the 200cm mark (currently 197cm) then I'd take him in that position I said is for a Ruckman. I had him there because I think he is the sort of guy that Macca would absolutely love, He competes hard, tackles a lot for a big guy, kicks bags, takes big contested marks, leads to the right spots, can back up in the ruck, and moves very well.

Seriously though thats a lot of KPDs. If we did that we'd end up with Roughy, Talia, Roberts, Z Cordy, Young and another draftee, all capable of being long term key defenders. Up front we'd have - Jones, Williams (until he breaks down again) Cordy, Campbell (ruckman), Redpath (probably delisted) and a draftee, barely an AFL standard forward between them. I just really cannot see why people would want to target KPDs over KPFs.

I really like @Wizard17s draft there. Maybe a KPD over Josh Fox in the rookie draft though seeing as we'd already have McCartin and Foster there.

Seriously though thats a lot of KPDs. If we did that we'd end up with Roughy, Talia, Roberts, Z Cordy, Young and another draftee, all capable of being long term key defenders. Up front we'd have - Jones, Williams (until he breaks down again) Cordy, Campbell (ruckman), Redpath (probably delisted) and a draftee, barely an AFL standard forward between them. I just really cannot see why people would want to target KPDs over KPFs.

I really like @Wizard17s draft there. Maybe a KPD over Josh Fox in the rookie draft though seeing as we'd already have McCartin and Foster there.
Had the same though as you to put a KPD there thing is if Fox grow a few more cm's he could become a big forward capable of chopping out in the Ruck for periods of time and being a really big threat when he is forward. So he could end up in that Ruck spot and have someone like Braden Ferrari (swingman) in the KPP spot.

Yeah I suppose Foster could become a KPD also at his height, never really thought about it
Definitely need to look at a ruckman, possibly an athletic type

Nah I think that he could easily be in the same catogory as Fox just depends who plays the best footy for the remander of the year. If Fox grows to around the 200cm mark (currently 197cm) then I'd take him in that position I said is for a Ruckman. I had him there because I think he is the sort of guy that Macca would absolutely love, He competes hard, tackles a lot for a big guy, kicks bags, takes big contested marks, leads to the right spots, can back up in the ruck, and moves very well.

Hopefully the Metro vs WA will put up the stats as well, where is Fox playing at? Our recruiters probably even know what we'd want next draft as well to be honest, so I think if we don't fill a position then it might get looked at, next draft

like I said earlier, kinda hope we get the best KPF out of these next two drafts, because I am greedy :p and we should have a pretty good midfield up and running by then

Yeah I suppose Foster could become a KPD also at his height, never really thought about it

Hopefully the Metro vs WA will put up the stats as well, where is Fox playing at? Our recruiters probably even know what we'd want next draft as well to be honest, so I think if we don't fill a position then it might get looked at, next draft

like I said earlier, kinda hope we get the best KPF out of these next two drafts, because I am greedy :p and we should have a pretty good midfield up and running by then
Tasmania under 18's (as no one ruck :( play him forward please he can kick bags and you know it) and for Clarence in the TSL

Had the same though as you to put a KPD there thing is if Fox grow a few more cm's he could become a big forward capable of chopping out in the Ruck for periods of time and being a really big threat when he is forward. So he could end up in that Ruck spot and have someone like Braden Ferrari (swingman) in the KPP spot.
Yeah I do like the sound of that, we just need Cordy to remember how to take a mark! He has everything else to make it as that 2nd ruck/KPF. Can't rely on him making it though. From how you've described Fox I would love a player like that. If we ended up with something like McCartin/Foster/Cordy/Fox/Ferrari at least a couple of those guys would have to come on and we'd have really set up our KPP stocks. Only problem is, can we develop all these guys at once at Footscray? I guess with Moz/Williams not having long to go we'd need some guys to move up to the AFL team, and would probably have to make some hard calls on guys like Cordy/Redpath if they don't step up soon.

Yeah, I haven't seen much of Foster and he's obviously not churning out huge numbers yet but I really like what I've read about him. Just the way people have described him as an athletic, high flying pack marking forward he sounds perfect. Just sounds like he needs to find more of the ball but he's only young and would love to get him on the rookie list and let him develop at Footscray. Yeah an athletic ruckman would be perfect to add to the list seeing as we've already got Campbell as the big grunt type. I'm very confident Campbell will be a very good ruckman in a few years time when he can take over the number 1 spot though, only problem I see is keeping him on the list if he wants game time.

:confused: Tassies coach called Fox and overager and he is born in 1996 :confused:

explains it all buddy :rolleyes:

hopefully one of these HBFs happen to be at our second rounder, get em under Bobbys wing
he'll show them the way :eek:...hopefully :p

I can see a team like Hawthorn going for Viojo-Rainbow though, good kick, tall
the club will be privy to information regarding their combine results, we'll see which players make the top 5 or so

...was thinking, maybe Hunter develops as a wingmen in the future, so we don't want to overload on any players
at aren't versatile :)

explains it all buddy :rolleyes:

hopefully one of these HBFs happen to be at our second rounder, get em under Bobbys wing
he'll show them the way :eek:...hopefully :p

I can see a team like Hawthorn going for Viojo-Rainbow though, good kick, tall
the club will be privy to information regarding their combine results, we'll see which players make the top 5 or so

...was thinking, maybe Hunter develops as a wingmen in the future, so we don't want to overload on any players
at aren't versatile :)
had Fox down ads one three that AFL clubs will have a look at from Tassie ;) not sure who the other two are

Maybe

Pick up Mackay/Rosa as a FA and maybe trade for Jaksch and I'd be stoked with that offseason