List Mgmt. 2014 Draft Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter GrandBlue

Who would you like us to select with our first round pick right now? (Wright & Durdin excluded)

Best available is a KPF (McKenzie) if not then take one that falls through a bit to the fourth round/take Foster on the main list. If Durdin is at our pick then we MUST select him if not I'm going to be part of the mob that goes to Whitten Oval if he is not there then any of Pickett, Duggan, Petracca or (to get back at the expansion clubs) Weller would suite us. Underexposure makes Tassie kids like Hislop become very underrated IMO probably the best non KPP likely to be there that would fit into our game plan quite well.

Seems a bit silly to be honest, should have more faith in our recruiters
If our recruiters rated Durdin the best available then thats who we should take, should never settle for a player
based on needs.....thought we'd have learned that lesson ;)

agree re: durdin.

there's many, many worse ways to spend your first pick than drafting a 15 year CHB! athletic, good ball use, big frame - i'd be all over him like a rash. not likely to be around when we've got our pick though.

agree re: durdin.

there's many, many worse ways to spend your first pick than drafting a 15 year CHB! athletic, good ball use, big frame - i'd be all over him like a rash. not likely to be around when we've got our pick though.
if he isn't we win, if he is we win

but if there is something we like better and we do not think he is the best available...then I'm fine with that
but I won't be part of a 'mob' that marches down to Whitten Oval because I'm not happy with a draft pick :eek:

St.Kilda have Longer and Hickey though so an argument could be made that McCartin is a far better fit.
I guess they would just go for who they thought was going to be the best key forward out of the lot.
Just because he is tall doesn't mean Wright needs to ruck.

for those without foxtel or that didn't catch it

Cavka, Payne and Allan were three that haven't been talked about as much that I really liked from Metro, Petracca to obviously. I was a bit dubious about us talking about a big bodied inside-mid for our first pick but he is all class.

Payne has been talked about an awful amount :p everyone is talking about his last game
you're only as good as your last game on BF ;) Cavka I liked, haven't seen enough of Allan; but understand Allan has some fans :eek:

It is too bad that Daniel is such a midget from that the kid looks like a complete freak half those goals seemed to be set up by him and he had three himself o_O. Durdin is one that I hope falls to us more than ever looked really good, strong overhead and when the ball hit the ground he didn't look like he was completely out of the contest. McCartin's marking was good but he had absolutely no supply by the looks of things.

for those who haven't watched the video he's talking about Caleb Daniel, small mid for SA, halfway through the last quarter he has 25 touches 8 tackles and 3 goals, set up so much play, good burst of pace too. Haven't heard much about him, could be this years Hrovat/Lewis Taylor - sliding because of his height?

Payne has been talked about an awful amount :p everyone is talking about his last game
you're only as good as your last game on BF ;) Cavka I liked, haven't seen enough of Allan; but understand Allan has some fans :eek:

haha that is so true, Duggan who?

if he isn't we win, if he is we win

but if there is something we like better and we do not think he is the best available...then I'm fine with that
but I won't be part of a 'mob' that marches down to Whitten Oval because I'm not happy with a draft pick :eek:
Release your inner Anarchy Dav1d :P I was just joking BTW just think if he was there then it would be a obvious pick given that we are lacking in true CHB's and have mostly third talls playing that role :eek:

for those who haven't watched the video he's talking about Caleb Daniel, small mid for SA, halfway through the last quarter he has 25 touches 8 tackles and 3 goals, set up so much play, good burst of pace too. Haven't heard much about him, could be this years Hrovat/Lewis Taylor - sliding because of his height?
Daniel's really tiny and might not get drafted at all because of it. But there is absolutely no doubt that he is a very talented footballer just sets up his team really well and was in the right places at the right time.

If we had pick 6 this would be my preference (in order)
1. McCartin (Pretty obvious decision for me, rate him the best of the "big 3" and he is a pure KPF which we are in dire need of).
2. Wright (Have a few question marks over Wright but 200+cm monster KPFs are rare as hens teeth)
3. Durdin (I really like Durdin but i think he will be more of a key back than a key forward, Carlisle comparison seems pretty accurate for me. Is a fantastic user of the footy as well and would be a steal if we snagged him).
4. Petracca (Love this kid. Personally would drop a top 2 pick on him, reckon he will be one of, if not the best from the draft but due to needs dropped him to 4).
5. Brayshaw (doesn't fit a need as such but reckon the top 5 are all very, very close as opposed to previous years when the number 1 draft pick was obvious. Can't have to many A grade mids, probably a bit 1 dimensional in our recruiters eyes but dam a Libba, Macrae, Bonts, Brayshaw and Smith midfield with Stringer, Dahl, Hrovrat and Hunter rotating through would be a scary thought).
6. Pickett (instantly injects pace into our side a bit of a Lewis Jetta clone, needs to work on his defensive side though).

Next picks would probably be Goddard, De Goey and Duggan (in that order).

We have Drafted exceptionally well and i have been a critic over the years (didn't want Bonts at #4, I wanted Aish and didn't Stringer at #5 i wanted Mayes) but dam Bonts and Stringer both have the potential to be the best of their drafts respectively, i honestly see this draft as a make or break for us, we need to nail it especially since our window will be with GWS and GC. If we can add a couple more quality kids our team is going to be unreal and could go all the way.

2010: Libba, Wallis and Dahl
2011: Smith and Talia
2012: Stringer, Macrae, Hrovrat and Hunter (wow what a draft)
2013: Bonti, Crameri (i know not through draft) and Honeychurch
2014: ???????????????????????? (Hopefully something like Petracca, Mckenzie and Cordy)

Could get 15 or 16 best 22 players from 5 drafts. Should have Griff running around for another 5 or 6 years as well. Reckon we will be a scary outfit in 2016.

If we had pick 6 this would be my preference (in order)
1. McCartin (Pretty obvious decision for me, rate him the best of the "big 3" and he is a pure KPF which we are in dire need of).
2. Wright (Have a few question marks over Wright but 200+cm monster KPFs are rare as hens teeth)
3. Durdin (I really like Durdin but i think he will be more of a key back than a key forward, Carlisle comparison seems pretty accurate for me. Is a fantastic user of the footy as well and would be a steal if we snagged him).
4. Petracca (Love this kid. Personally would drop a top 2 pick on him, reckon he will be one of, if not the best from the draft but due to needs dropped him to 4).
5. Brayshaw (doesn't fit a need as such but reckon the top 5 are all very, very close as opposed to previous years when the number 1 draft pick was obvious. Can't have to many A grade mids, probably a bit 1 dimensional in our recruiters eyes but dam a Libba, Macrae, Bonts, Brayshaw and Smith midfield with Stringer, Dahl, Hrovrat and Hunter rotating through would be a scary thought).
6. Pickett (instantly injects pace into our side a bit of a Lewis Jetta clone, needs to work on his defensive side though).

Next picks would probably be Goddard, De Goey and Duggan (in that order).

We have Drafted exceptionally well and i have been a critic over the years (didn't want Bonts at #4, I wanted Aish and didn't Stringer at #5 i wanted Mayes) but dam Bonts and Stringer both have the potential to be the best of their drafts respectively, i honestly see this draft as a make or break for us, we need to nail it especially since our window will be with GWS and GC. If we can add a couple more quality kids our team is going to be unreal and could go all the way.

2010: Libba, Wallis and Dahl
2011: Smith and Talia
2012: Stringer, Macrae, Hrovrat and Hunter (wow what a draft)
2013: Bonti, Crameri (i know not through draft) and Honeychurch
2014: ???????????????????????? (Hopefully something like Petracca, Mckenzie and Cordy)

Could get 15 or 16 best 22 players from 5 drafts. Should have Griff running around for another 5 or 6 years as well. Reckon we will be a scary outfit in 2016.

One positive to come out of us missing out on McCartin and Wright is that competition for out of contract forwards next season (eg. Patton) will be lessened if St.Kilda and Brisbane get the two big KPFs in this years draft.
Will still have to compete with Carlton for a big signature though you would think.

One positive to come out of us missing out on McCartin and Wright is that competition for out of contract forwards next season (eg. Patton) will be lessened if St.Kilda and Brisbane get the two big KPFs in this years draft.
Will still have to compete with Carlton for a big signature though you would think.

You would also assume we are a much more attractive destination than Carlton as well, Judd is almost 31 and done soon. There drafting has been very bad as well over the past 3 years, only gun they have drafted is Menzel (too early on Cripps, granted).

Cordy has 2 kicked on him in the first 5 minutes

Cripps who he is playing on just missed his 3 rd

You would also assume we are a much more attractive destination than Carlton as well, Judd is almost 31 and done soon. There drafting has been very bad as well over the past 3 years, only gun they have drafted is Menzel (too early on Cripps, granted).

I think Carlton and Richmond topped up too early, hopefully we don't make the same mistake.

That is true, but you can always do with another one. Two big forwards is better than one in my opinion, so both teams would still very much be in any discussions involving one of GWS's picks

I'll always be willing to take him up, but people write him off after one game
say, lets get Pickett and Pickett had like 1 good quarter of footy in him :(
Mate where is this Cook guy likely to go. You know I nothing about the kids but he looks silk

Cordy no thanks ?
Cordy, yes please. I think he'll be a terrific player.

Those goals were just part of a conspiracy so he'd cost us nothing ;)