List Mgmt. 2014 Draft Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter GrandBlue

Who would you like us to select with our first round pick right now? (Wright & Durdin excluded)

Do you mean KPP or Rucks or both?

If it is both then probably this:

1. Patrick McCartin
2. Peter Wright
3. Hugh Goddard
4. Reece McKenzie
5. Mark Kovacevic ( Ruck/Foward later pick, big unit could come on very quickly)
6. Sam Durdin

The first five all are big bodied however MK might not get a go that early unless the club has bad ruck depth but has been dominant over the last few months. Jake Lever and Marchbank both both have injuries and no team in their right mind would throw them to the lions early on. Durdin is a bit too light atm needs to put on some kgs.
Would people be upset if we took Goddard with our first pick. I know he seems to have slipped down the order a bit, but seems to be a pretty dependable defender.
Slightly different question to the others on the talls in this draft. Would someone like to have a go at rating the top 5 or so talls in how ready they will be to playing round 1 next season.

Do you mean KPP or Rucks or both?

If it is both then probably this:

1. Patrick McCartin
2. Peter Wright
3. Hugh Goddard
4. Reece McKenzie
5. Mark Kovacevic ( Ruck/Foward later pick, big unit could come on very quickly)
6. Sam Durdin

The first five all are big bodied however MK might not get a go that early unless the club has bad ruck depth but has been dominant over the last few months. Jake Lever and Marchbank both both have injuries and no team in their right mind would throw them to the lions early on. Durdin is a bit too light atm needs to put on some kgs.

exactly what i was asking for mate. Thanks for that.

DURDIN

Pros

-Ability to mark the ball at its highest point
-Overhead marking
-Good field kick
-Strong leap and athletic ability

Cons

-Inconsistent
-Will need a few pre-seasons before we see his body fill out
-Looks much more suited to defense then attack

MARCHBANK

Pros

-A Strong mark, both contested and uncontested
-Good skills around, good not great
-Very Athletic
-Late Birthday (?)
-Solid build

Cons

-Injury history
-Lacks height of other KPPs

GODDARD

Pros

-Very solid at nullifying his direct opponent
-Big Strong Frame
-Good mark
-Fair skills (currently)

Cons

-Very Inconsistent
-Looks more comfortable as a defender

LEVER

Pros

-Can provide some rebound
-Strong intercept marker/spoiler
-Decent skills with the ball in hand
-Reads the play real strongly

Cons

-Very light frame
-Lacks a little height to play on the taller KPFs
-Coming off a serious injury

any help? Lever reminds me of Mackie/Maxwell, Durdin a bit like Henderson/Carlilse, Marchbank like Brian Lake or Fevola (with his marking), can't think of one for Goddard, maybe Brown from Collingwood?

where does oscar macdonald fit in here dav1d?
from reading fantasy draft posts it seems as though he's a likely 2nd round talent, with sound 'defensive stopper' attributes and a good frame.
gave wright a towelling last week.
thoughts?

where does oscar macdonald fit in here dav1d?
from reading fantasy draft posts it seems as though he's a likely 2nd round talent, with sound 'defensive stopper' attributes and a good frame.
gave wright a towelling last week.
thoughts?
I haven't seen him live yet, so I won't make any calls as I think that would be unfair

I just wonder if we would go for him in the 2nd round, assuming we take Cordy in the 3rd

Lever, McDonald and Cordy would seem very overkill for defense :p

I haven't seen him live yet, so I won't make any calls as I think that would be unfair

I just wonder if we would go for him in the 2nd round, assuming we take Cordy in the 3rd

Lever, McDonald and Cordy would seem very overkill for defense :p

thanks...i didn't include in the question that i was pondering 2nd round KPDs in the scenario we'd somehow drafted wright first round (by luck, or by trading up).

any other solid CHBs or FBs around our second pick you fancy? i don't think that the guy needs to add heaps as a rebounder or offer the ability to swing forward and rip apart a quarter - a tom lonergan / heath grundy / darren glass would do just fine!

thanks...i didn't include in the question that i was pondering 2nd round KPDs in the scenario we'd somehow drafted wright first round (by luck, or by trading up).

any other solid CHBs or FBs around our second pick you fancy? i don't think that the guy needs to add heaps as a rebounder or offer the ability to swing forward and rip apart a quarter - a tom lonergan / heath grundy / darren glass would do just fine!
at our second round
not sure, would need lots of luck for a player like Marchbank to be there

there is Neilson, who probably goes later in the draft who is another honest defender and is more filled out then a lot of the other players mentioned

I'm hoping we go best KPP, best mid or KPP, Cordy and if not best mid/traded :p

i think you're right.

R1 - KPP. lever / durdin (if we trade up, we've obviously got out eyes on peter wright)
R2 - midfielder / HBF. we can afford to be a bot more 'needs based' with our midfield selections due to our great midfield depth. seems a lot of likely types mentioned in the 15-30 bracket. menadue seemed a likely target with x factor, pace and skills, but is flavour of the month right now. would love weller to slide. i still like garlett for our needs.
R3 - zaine cordy. i like defenders who can defend, make good decisions with the ball.

it's most likely another key post/s to be brought in via trade, FA

i think you're right.

R1 - KPP. lever / durdin (if we trade up, we've obviously got out eyes on peter wright)
R2 - midfielder / HBF. we can afford to be a bot more 'needs based' with our midfield selections due to our great midfield depth. seems a lot of likely types mentioned in the 15-30 bracket. menadue seemed a likely target with x factor, pace and skills, but is flavour of the month right now. would love weller to slide. i still like garlett for our needs.
R3 - zaine cordy. i like defenders who can defend, make good decisions with the ball.

it's most likely another key post/s to be brought in via trade, FA
I saw Garlett have a very decent game for WA against Metro (mistook him for Pickett :oops:)
Skippos took him I think in one of his early PDs for us in the 2nd round, so he might have a good write up/highlights

if we do any trades, I hope it is to get pick upgrades and not just necessarily our very first pick
but all of them, strengthen our position in the draft; get some trades
hopefully trade in 2-3 players and draft 3 at the ND then onto the rookie draft where there
is even more excitement because lots of open spots :D

Someone Moved it all.... #GatherTheJaksch you'll see what it is on Twitter

Ahh wasnt me. Can you link me to the post and I'll tweet it out?

I have the keys to the Bigfooynews one as well ;)

edit : found it nevermind

What are you guys thoughts on Jack Lonie, know someone who knows him and interested in where he sits in the pecking order
probably around the same order where Honeychurch went

I like him a lot though, very creative player as well as decent foot skills

These kids play so much footy now that especially with the talls you should look for there best games rather than consistancy over the season.

Eg: Wight's best games are dominate, that why I believe he is the best option. Yet he has games were he doesn't get involved and this is more because he has switched to a rep so etc and/or a new position.

Stringer was similiar when drafting, rather than being consistant they went for the fact that his best was better than others.

I saw Garlett have a very decent game for WA against Metro (mistook him for Pickett :oops:)
Skippos took him I think in one of his early PDs for us in the 2nd round, so he might have a good write up/highlights

...so i asked the man himself

with my mob's deep young midfield, i feel we can be a bit more 'needs' based when selecting midfield talent. 'outside' is such a dirty word on BF forums, but we've got bob murphy nearing the end who's hardly a contested ball magnet (why would you waste his trickery and pizzazz inside), yet still a star AFL player.

your write of of this young fella sounds like hand-in-glove selection if dalrymple is thinking midfield in the second round. we've got a fringe player in tutt who steps in and does ok despite his short comings (not a great decision maker, an 'improving' two-way runner, 'learning' that he is allowed to tackle) because his fitness, pace and goal kicking complients our midfield balance so well.

how do this lad's talent and physical traits compare to tutt's? if drafted, do you think he's capable of playing 'his game' in the seniors next year, feeding off wallis / libba et al?

...and kindly received a reply

I agree. I had Garlett as a lock to WB earlier in the season when I had them taking a KPF in R1. It's still certainly a possibility depending on how things pan out. He's a good list fit - good pace, dual sided, genuine receiver, alright by foot. Reminds me more of Danyle Pearce than anyone really reminds me of their comparison in this draft. As pure footballers I'd favour Tutt - he's a better kick and has a better eye for the goals. However in general and as players I'd favour Garlett - better work rate, not fantastic but still better defensive game, perhaps breaks the lines a little more. He's certainly an option to provide competition in that role early and hopefully develop into someone who can make it his own. At AFL level Garlett's definitely going to play that game - running down the wings or off a flank as a real wide of the contest receiver, no doubt.

I'm honestly not sure if Tutt will be there next year, so I'd love if we got a player who could break lines
as well as be creative with the ball

surely either write ups are being too hard on pickett's defensive capabilities or too generous to his spot in the pecking order.

if he's as one-way as all the write-ups say (some say in large part to his attitude, rather than ability) then there's no way known a club in this age of defense-first football will draft him top 10 - has to fall to later in the draft.

It's gone pretty quiet on Pickett, I'd be surprised if some club didn't bite the bullet earlier but is there any chance whatsoever he gets to our 2nd? Geez he would be nice to add to our team.

Although wouldn't be surprised if Menadue ends up just as good, really love Menadue he is pretty much perfect for what we need.

It's gone pretty quiet on Pickett, I'd be surprised if some club didn't bite the bullet earlier but is there any chance whatsoever he gets to our 2nd? Geez he would be nice to add to our team.

Although wouldn't be surprised if Menadue ends up just as good, really love Menadue he is pretty much perfect for what we need.
to be really honest

I don't think the players in the draft will change a hell of a lot, maybe a couple
just the order that changes, same as the past few years
young players that have been followed for a while

also some GWS posters even seem to believe Lever might go to them if they can't get Petracca

surely either write ups are being too hard on pickett's defensive capabilities or too generous to his spot in the pecking order.

if he's as one-way as all the write-ups say (some say in large part to his attitude, rather than ability) then there's no way known a club in this age of defense-first football will draft him top 10 - has to fall to later in the draft.

There's no way I'd be drafting him in the top 10 either, I have a lot of question marks over his game. His defensive side as mentioned above, his size, consistency and I'm not even sure what his position would be at AFL level.

I have it on good authority that we are keen on Abiana Davis from NSW. We have had 3 interviews with him and have been ringing references apparently (not sure what that means or involves). I am good mates with a friend of his. If Swans dont pick him up from their Academy then we will 100% pounce in the draft. 193cm, 90kg KPF/KPD. Anyone know anything about him?

334633.jpg

www.youtube.com/watch?v=u3NYjFNNdfs

I have it on good authority that we are keen on Abiana Davis from NSW. We have had 3 interviews with him and have been ringing references apparently (not sure what that means or involves). I am good mates with a friend of his. If Swans dont pick him up from their Academy then we will 100% pounce in the draft. 193cm, 90kg KPF/KPD. Anyone know anything about him?

334633.jpg

www.youtube.com/watch?v=u3NYjFNNdfs
Dont know anything about him. What pick would he likely cost us mrx?