List Mgmt. 2014 Draft Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter GrandBlue

Who would you like us to select with our first round pick right now? (Wright & Durdin excluded)

GWS have 1st rounders in every position essentially. They'll just go best available for the foreseeable future. They don't have any gaping holes in their list that time can't iron out.
Their key defenders are still their obvious weakness though. Jaksch and Frost are gone, you'd want better than Mohr long term, Phil Davis is alright don't think he will ever be anything special though, Corrs pretty shit, Plowmans not a key defender (and not that great), McCarthy might come alright down back but wouldn't be betting on it.

Durdin just makes perfect sense for them and would be there only genuinely tall KPD. Also seems like a pick that they would like. They will take Wright or McCartin though :(

EDIT: Agree with Dav1d they need some small/medium forwards too. Anyone fit the bill that they could surprise and take, Ahern? Also think Pickett or Laverde would be what theyd want to add to their midfield too, especially considering a couple of outside types they picked like Sumner and O'Rourke want out.

Just makes no sense to waste another KPF in the 2s until he wants out.

Their key defenders are still their obvious weakness though. Jaksch and Frost are gone, you'd want better than Mohr long term, Phil Davis is alright don't think he will ever be anything special though, Corrs pretty shit, Plowmans not a key defender (and not that great), McCarthy might come alright down back but wouldn't be betting on it.

Durdin just makes perfect sense for them and would be there only genuinely tall KPD. Also seems like a pick that they would like. They will take Wright or McCartin though :(

EDIT: Agree with Dav1d they need some small/medium forwards too. Anyone fit the bill that they could surprise and take, Ahern? Also think Pickett or Laverde would be what theyd want to add to their midfield too, especially considering a couple of outside types they picked like Sumner and O'Rourke want out.

yeah, fair pick up
KPDs, I rate Davis but he is always getting injured
Think Plowman is more a 3rd tall defender, Corr I agree and McCarthy, goodness knows why they picked him
and then signed him up until 2017 before he even played a game

you're probably right, they'll select a quality tall with their first
the talls have been weird this year, interrupted with injuries/out of form
lets hope we just pick the right tall and everyone elses is crap ;)

yeah, fair pick up
KPDs, I rate Davis but he is always getting injured
Think Plowman is more a 3rd tall defender, Corr I agree and McCarthy, goodness knows why they picked him
and then signed him up until 2017 before he even played a game

you're probably right, they'll select a quality tall with their first
the talls have been weird this year, interrupted with injuries/out of form
lets hope we just pick the right tall and everyone elses is crap ;)

I am strongly presuming they will draft a bolter all of Lever/Pickett/Laverde are options. Laverde might be an upgrade on say O'Rourke that they could use.

I suppose it all depends who stays and who leaves

I hope that a lot of them leave to be honest

they'll also be getting Finlayson in the draft, who can play up forward and down back
who I hope we really nominate

Just makes no sense to waste another KPF in the 2s until he wants out.
Petracca is perfect for them.

I'm so torn about this draft. Convinced Lever is a star but a risky one; any 6'9" forward who kicks beautifully and runs a 15 beep has too much upside not to be a gun, so Wright looks a star given time and the two I suspect are overrated are McCartin and Petracca. I don't really have an opinion on Brayshaw. Durdin seems a project but could be a very good player. I like the way Laverde attacks the ball. Not sure if this is a good draft or a poor one; the evenness suggests good and if it is good, it's going to be really really good because the range of player is so vast. I think my preference is Wright because if he turns out good you can structure a team around him, but happy with Lever, Durdin or Laverde. Even Marchbank looks ok to my eye for a mid teens pick.

Had a good look a number at times at highlights of the main draft hopes.
I don't want us to do anything to up grade pick 5.
Not convinced with McCartin , Wright ok if he slips maybe but he looks like another ruckman type.
My preference is Durdin , like the look of him a lot. Looks like a young Justin Westhoff .How good is he going these days ?
Not far behind him I would take Lever , only the knee reco puts me off.
Hope then Laverde slips to our second round . Could that happen ?

Had a good look a number at times at highlights of the main draft hopes.
I don't want us to do anything to up grade pick 5.
Not convinced with McCartin , Wright ok if he slips maybe but he looks like another ruckman type.
My preference is Durdin , like the look of him a lot. Looks like a young Justin Westhoff .How good is he going these days ?
Not far behind him I would take Lever , only the knee reco puts me off.
Hope then Laverde slips to our second round . Could that happen ?
Wow great minds etc.....

I won't trouble our fair mods with having to dish out stern warnings and move posts, so I'll continue the discussion here.

We were talking about Zaine Cordy on the Brendan McCartney thread, Bulldogsnm1. You seem somewhat uncomfortable with the idea of spending a third rounder or higher on him - what have you taken away from watching him play?

Personally I'd be quite happy to spend a second rounder, not that we'll have to. His disposal has looked good, he's been able to lock down on opponents of a greater height/weight, he's provided run, and he appears quite intelligent as a footballer - usually, he makes the right decisions rather than the first possible decisions, and he's been an on-field leader in defense.

I'm really excited to get him to the club, but I'd love to hear your thoughts.

I won't trouble our fair mods with having to dish out stern warnings and move posts, so I'll continue the discussion here.

We were talking about Zaine Cordy on the Brendan McCartney thread, Bulldogsnm1. You seem somewhat uncomfortable with the idea of spending a third rounder or higher on him - what have you taken away from watching him play?

Personally I'd be quite happy to spend a second rounder, not that we'll have to. His disposal has looked good, he's been able to lock down on opponents of a greater height/weight, he's provided run, and he appears quite intelligent as a footballer - usually, he makes the right decisions rather than the first possible decisions, and he's been an on-field leader in defense.

I have seen Zaine at the Championships this year and during the TAC cup, he is a handy Backman with nice poise and a good defensive mindset. He is a good mark and a reasonable kick.

However this year I believe there will be a number of good options certainly 2nd rounder and probably 3rd round. Lonie, Goodyear, Cavka, Cunica all could be around come 3rd round. I firmly believe that father son picks need to earn their spot on an AFL list not just get a spot because their dad played at the club.

Having said that I would use a 4th round on him.

I have seen Zaine at the Championships this year and during the TAC cup, he is a handy Backman with nice poise and a good defensive mindset. He is a good mark and a reasonable kick.

However this year I believe there will be a number of good options certainly 2nd rounder and probably 3rd round. Lonie, Goodyear, Cavka, Cunica all could be around come 3rd round. I firmly believe that father son picks need to earn their spot on an AFL list not just get a spot because their dad played at the club.

Having said that I would use a 4th round on him.
The vast majority of afl players descendants never get close to their father's talent. You don't have to worry, players don't get drafted unless they can play.

And one more thing, boys all over Australia are having clubs come to their homes to talk with them, the clubs leave and never commit, but with Zaine you say the club has already committed to him, irrespective of how he tests at the combine, where is the fairness in that.

Father sons add romance no doubt about that, however they are only value when you pay unders not overs.

And one more thing, boys all over Australia are having clubs come to their homes to talk with them, the clubs leave and never commit, but with Zaine you say the club has already committed to him, irrespective of how he tests at the combine, where is the fairness in that.

Father sons add romance no doubt about that, however they are only value when you pay unders not overs.

We are a big chance to not nominate Foster, so I don't think we are prepared to pay overs for a father/son selection. Who have we clearly paid overs for at the time of their selection?

I'm happy to admit I don't know a lot about the kids coming teu the draft this year but isn't Foster this year also?

And what pick do people think Cordy and Foster Will cost us ?

I'm happy to admit I don't know a lot about the kids coming teu the draft this year but isn't Foster this year also?

And what pick do people think Cordy and Foster Will cost us ?
Cordy is a late second- 3rd round
Foster is 4th-rookie.

Cordy is a late second- 3rd round
Foster is 4th-rookie.

Well let's hope we don't pay overs for them again as we did with Ayce(although that's hindsight I know he was very highly rated)

In fact Turner said the Cordy was the best young talent he has seen go thru the Falcons at that stage, how wrong he was.

Well let's hope we don't pay overs for them again as we did with Ayce(although that's hindsight I know he was very highly rated)

In fact Turner said the Cordy was the best young talent he has seen go thru the Falcons at that stage, how wrong he was.
Hes talking about Zaine.

No mate he wasn't, I personally haven't heard a single thing about Zaibe in the media so very interested to get a look at him.

This was when we drafted Ayce he made the comment, I got very excited

Not really. Despite all his failings, Cordy was a very good underage footballer. Young talent doesn't always translate into adulthood as we have seen. But you can't deny he was a gun young talent.

He was really what Tippett is now.

Talent isn't Ayce's problem.

Not really. Despite all his failings, Cordy was a very good underage footballer. Young talent doesn't always translate into adulthood as we have seen. But you can't deny he was a gun young talent.

He was really what Tippett is now.

Very true and the only info I have on him as a youngster is what I'm told by others.

I still hold hope for Ayce, he gets his hands to so many marks he just can't hold them. If he can start to clunk them I think he will be better than good but times running out

Very true and the only info I have on him as a youngster is what I'm told by others.

I still hold hope for Ayce, he gets his hands to so many marks he just can't hold them. If he can start to clunk them I think he will be better than good but times running out
Reckon now that he's injury free all year the pre-season will be the key to taking those marks.
Finally his body can handle footy.