List Mgmt. 2014 Draft Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter GrandBlue

Who would you like us to select with our first round pick right now? (Wright & Durdin excluded)

So. Dalrymple is out from under Bmacs thumb for this draft... probably the most picks he will get to play with with.

BMAc wants bookends and big mids.

Dalrymple wants 'best available'.

09 and 10 drafts -- without bmacs -- were pretty bad except for the mandatory father sons.

Yeah but you can only hope he has learnt? He now has a blueprint to go by, as does Jason McCartney, he has a big say in things, as well as the coach. I doubt we'd worry to much, he wont allow Simon to abandon a plan that works. Plus it will come down to the new coach more, he might be the type who gets a boner over a flashy play and want that small skinny bloke straight away, and he turns out to be crap, whilst ignoring KKP

If we get 19, I hope Duggan is there

but more likely Ellis/Lamb or someone would be there
Marcbank perhaps because of his injury

If we have 19 I'm hoping for Liam Duggan

Though if it is 4 & 7 I'm with Dannnnnnnnnn we should find some way of getting two picks mid first round somehow. If that happens then if we get Wright, Lever, Duggan and one of Marchbank or Goddard I'd be salivating.

There is still a small chance we could get both McCartin and Wright with Picks 4 + 6.

1 Saints: Petracca
2 Demons: Brayshaw
3 Demons: Lever/Durdin
4 Bulldogs: McCartin
5 Magpies/Lions: Laverde/Lever/Durdin/Wright
6 Bulldogs: Wright

I would jump at that one. You can never have to many tall forwards. Stringer and McCartin can man the goal square, whilst Crameri and Wright can lead up to the top of the 50. With our little nuggets picking up the crumbs around the edges. Plus one could flop, so its always good to have insurance.

So if we do end up with 4 and 6, and McCartin and Wright are both available at 4, which one do yous prefer? Which one is more likely to overlooked by Lions or Pies at 5?

I reckon that we'd take Wright. No chance either of them would slide past the Lions and I could see the Pies grabbing one if they're really unimpressed by White. Otherwise I reckon they'd jump on Laverde since he seems like a bit of a Bontempelli clone and they were keen on Bonts last year.

Agree. Wright is a unique beast and super hard to match up on. If both are there, only way to get them is to take Wright first. We should take his best mate Lever too and pick 7 is McCartin/Laverde/Weller.

There is still a small chance we could get both McCartin and Wright with Picks 4 + 6.

1 Saints: Petracca
2 Demons: Brayshaw
3 Demons: Lever/Durdin
4 Bulldogs: McCartin
5 Magpies/Lions: Laverde/Lever/Durdin/Wright
6 Bulldogs: Wright

I would jump at that one. You can never have to many tall forwards. Stringer and McCartin can man the goal square, whilst Crameri and Wright can lead up to the top of the 50. With our little nuggets picking up the crumbs around the edges. Plus one could flop, so its always good to have insurance.
I would be staggered if McCartin falls out of the top three. With Clark moving clubs, Melbourne aren't as stocked for KPFs as people seem to think they are. Dawes and Pederson are average, Hogan may never play footy to an elite level again and who else is there? Gawn? If McCartin fell out of top three it would be an enormous shock, even if the Dees do keep that pick.

I think Wright has the higher ceiling, and as much as I love him, I think we'd have to take Paddy. There are doubts on how much McCartin will develop but there aren't many doubts over his floor. It's a pretty safe bet that he ends up a second tier sort of key forward - and as Skippos says, if you look at the current B-graders: Tex, Petrie, etc; we could sure use one. There are still doubts over whether Wright becomes a forward or a ruckman and imo he's an average ruckman that will struggle to make it to any sort of extremely high level there.

If McCartin is around, we can't go past him.

I would be staggered if McCartin falls out of the top three. With Clark moving clubs, Melbourne aren't as stocked for KPFs as people seem to think they are. Dawes and Pederson are average, Hogan may never play footy to an elite level again and who else is there? Gawn? If McCartin fell out of top three it would be an enormous shock, even if the Dees do keep that pick.

I think Wright has the higher ceiling, and as much as I love him, I think we'd have to take Paddy. There are doubts on how much McCartin will develop but there aren't many doubts over his floor. It's a pretty safe bet that he ends up a second tier sort of key forward - and as Skippos says, if you look at the current B-graders: Tex, Petrie, etc; we could sure use one. There are still doubts over whether Wright becomes a forward or a ruckman and imo he's an average ruckman that will struggle to make it to any sort of extremely high level there.

If McCartin is around, we can't go past him.
Yup agree, I cant see McCartin getting to us at 4. Its been stated everywhere that there are a clear top 4 prospects and of that 4 McCartin is rated 1 or 2, he wont last to 4 and he definitely wont last to 6.

Lever going at 3 is the only chance we have of getting McCartin who I would take at 4 if still available. Pretty similar to Tex except I think he's a better contested mark, tex is better at ground level. Our club could never have enough key forwards and if by some miracle they were both available, McCartin at 4 and Wright at 6 would be a dream come true. A three pronged tall forward line of Wright, McCartin and Stringer could be GWS or GC imposing. Thats some serious marking and goal kicking power. Wright can spend a little bit of time at 2nd ruck and Stringer could push up the ground to CHF when needed. But McCartin and Jake would be the deep forward combo that would provide the headaches to make us a force.
Any chance we can grab the cats first pick with 26 and Minson. Gives us Duggan or Goddard if we get a midfielder at 7.

Lever going at 3 is the only chance we have of getting McCartin who I would take at 4 if still available. Pretty similar to Tex except I think he's a better contested mark, tex is better at ground level. Our club could never have enough key forwards and if by some miracle they were both available, McCartin at 4 and Wright at 6 would be a dream come true. A three pronged tall forward line of Wright, McCartin and Stringer could be GWS or GC imposing. Thats some serious marking and goal kicking power. Wright can spend a little bit of time at 2nd ruck and Stringer could push up the ground to CHF when needed. But McCartin and Jake would be the deep forward combo that would provide the headaches to make us a force.
Any chance we can grab the cats first pick with 26 and Minson. Gives us Duggan or Goddard if we get a midfielder at 7.
I can See Bonts as the Hird like Mid/CHF as well, we could have the forward line we have all been dreaming off if we get this right.

I'd say Wright's floor is still quite good. If he was to fail as a KPF, he has shown he has the tap work on top of the agility and field kicking to make it as an amazing ruck. His endurance and work rate around the ground is second to non for anyone in his height category.

Personally, who we get is secondary. We must make sure that with Bmac gone, our development system remain intact and gets stronger. Melbourne at one end and Sydney at the other have proven that development is more important than the player selected.

If we could secure pick 14 from Geelong, I'd hit McKenzie in the same scenario. McKenzie and Stringer deep with Wright at CHF. Godmode.

I'd say Wright's floor is still quite good. If he was to fail as a KPF, he has shown he has the tap work on top of the agility and field kicking to make it as an amazing ruck. His endurance and work rate around the ground is second to non for anyone in his height category.
You could be right, and don't get me wrong - I really like him - but if we're selecting between Wright and McCartin I just think Paddy is almost an automatic choice. I don't really rate Wright as a ruckman and think he's middle-of-the-road so that's probably where we differ.

Wright > Trading up.

McCartin > Wright.

To be honest, I'll be pretty happy to have either.

You could be right, and don't get me wrong - I really like him - but if we're selecting between Wright and McCartin I just think Paddy is almost an automatic choice. I don't really rate Wright as a ruckman and think he's middle-of-the-road so that's probably where we differ.
Yeah I get ya. I think Wright's endurance and forward patterns as well as being a solid lead up target with excellent vision and field disposal up the ground (something which we desperately need coming out of defence) is what makes me rate Wright a little more. That and the mug on him, with Cooney and Young going, need token ranga.

In terms of a direct comparison to Stringer what is McCartin's cardio like and can he push up the ground to play CHF on occasions.
He hasn't been able to so far, would have to lose a bit of the baby fat to get there I think.

In terms of a direct comparison to Stringer what is McCartin's cardio like and can he push up the ground to play CHF on occasions.
I don't have the combine results so somebody with better contacts might have a better idea. From what I know, though, it's not bad, but it's not at AFL standard yet. Has the skill set to push up to CHF but probably spends most of his time inside 50 for a year or two.

I thought Sydney mostly traded well for their team to be honest

still can't see Aliir Aliir making it

It doesn't seem too great
but for a KPP around the ground he uses the ball pretty well

If McCartin was at pick 4, there would be a good reason behind it

Yeah I get ya. I think Wright's endurance and forward patterns as well as being a solid lead up target with excellent vision and field disposal up the ground (something which we desperately need coming out of defence) is what makes me rate Wright a little more. That and the mug on him, with Cooney and Young going, need token ranga.
Is Durdin a red head?

I'd love to keep a token red head to :D

I don't have the combine results so somebody with better contacts might have a better idea. From what I know, though, it's not bad, but it's not at AFL standard yet. Has the skill set to push up to CHF but probably spends most of his time inside 50 for a year or two.

More than happy to see him play in the goalsquare for a year or two and let him and stringer go to town. Hopefully we get him. I'm sure Crameri will become happy when during the twilight of his career he gets the third or fourth best defender. BIG FORWARDS PLEASE!