List Mgmt. 2014 Draft Prospects

Who do you want with our first selection in the National draft?

• Peter Wright

Votes: 47 41.6%
  • Patrick McCartin

Votes: 33 29.2%
  • Sam Durdin

Votes: 14 12.4%
  • Other

Votes: 19 16.8%

If we're looking for a Rookie List-type mature tall forward - to replace Maister essentially - then Coburg's Lech Featherstone has snagged 26 goals in 11 games in a fairly ordinary side to lead the VFL goalkicking...

25yrs, 194cm, 96kgs... Great family (I know his sister)... So certainly not a dickhead...

No worse than any of our current options (bar Roo).

Personally i think you chuck Stanley and Lee into the Hawthorn line up and they'll look like guns, we make them look average because our midfield isn't really that good and sure we need a McCartin/Wright/someone they'll be made to took poor early days as well, but we also really need to start trying to get highly skilled very good ball using midfielders soon. Which i am sure the club will be onto.

Yep we need more of everything, well maybe not HBF

definitely question marks over the top key position propsects.. who do people think would be the "safest" pick at no.1, mid or one the KPP??

If we don't rate anyone for Pick 1 considering it seems an even draft why would any club with multiple picks inside 10? especially Melbourne who wouldn't give up two picks considering they can either get two midfielders or a midfielder + Goddard type as a Frawley replacement.

They already have Chris Dawes and Jesse Hogan as decent key forwards.

The #1 pick is pretty much on a hiding to nothing since Roo, Hodge & Goddard turned into absolute freaks.... The rest have not lived up to the same expectation at this stage IMO

Deledio - overrated
Murphy - very good, but not great
Gibbs - see Murphy
Kreuzer - average
Watts - average
Scully - average
Swallow - will be elite
Patton - hopefully another #1 pick that will find his way to StKilda... Has the tools to be a great power forward
Whitfield - looks like he'll be a ripper
Boyd - could be anything

So in recent times, it looks like clubs got it right except for maybe Carlton & Melbourne, but that could be more due to shit development...

Whoever we get should be an absolute gun. I'd be happy with Brayshaw, Wright or McCartin at this stage

Its all too hard, lets just teach Mr Holmes to mark and kick.

Dominating talls 2014 are:
Is Jay Schulz REALLY the best forward? (P12 2002) age 28 taken after Tim Walsh , most recently traded from richmond.
Hawkins (F/S) age 25
Franklin ( Free agent ) age 27 ( originally pick 5 after Tambling -lol richmond )
J Riewoldt (pick 13) age 25 taken after Gumbleton and Mitch Thorpe
Jarryd Roughead ( pick 2 ) age 27 ( still loling at richmond ).
Josh Kennedy - traded - (originally pick 4) age 26
Nick Riewoldt - pick 1 - age 31
Mathew Pavlich -age 32, overlooked, then pick 4 ( after Fiora, richmond are killing me here )
Jack Gunston -age 22, pick 29 then traded. Probably benefits from being a second tall but taken after Butcher, Griffiths
Tom Lynch (GC) age 21, pick 11, peninsula boy can we poach him please. taken after Day ( Oh yeah -after Reece conca- enough already )

Conlusions: 1. only a couple are spring chickens
2. most taken early but not necessarily really early.
3. others rated just as highly have washed out completely , its hard to draft these talls.
4. Richmond have had a chance with just about every decent tall ever, what the hell are thy doing stuffing around with Tyrone Vickery?

Jesus T**ty****ing Christ the Tigers are bad...

I mean... that's like... Almost impossible to not be deliberate right? How do you ruin the careers of so many KPF's??

So lets never draft another KPF then, so get 2 picks in the top 10 and pick 1 turns out to be better then Reiwoldt. Risk & Reward we are never going to get anywhere if we are scared of making a mistake
That's not at all what I said at all. First of all, it's unlikely that pick one is gonna be better than the best CHF since Carey. Secondly, my point was that if there was no KPF, or any player for that matter, who was good enough to be a standout number 1, and the top 10 are all relatively close on talent, which is the case at the moment, then it would be better to get 2 picks in the top 10 than just pick 1.

Three Questions:
1: Does Lachie weller being a suns academy player mean they have first option at him like Sydney do with Heeney?
2: In terms of this years midfielders who is most like fyfe in terms of height and power?
3: I would trade pick 1 for Patton everyday of the week in this draft and seeing as they are finding it hard to play all the fwds is this a realistic option?

Three Questions:
1: Does Lachie weller being a suns academy player mean they have first option at him like Sydney do with Heeney?
2: In terms of this years midfielders who is most like fyfe in terms of height and power?
3: I would trade pick 1 for Patton everyday of the week in this draft and seeing as they are finding it hard to play all the fwds is this a realistic option?
Nope, he's a Tassie lad and not held by anyone. Pick 2 its too early to answer and trading for Patton I would not do, keep the pick, despite what these journo types are saying, the top 5 are as talented as any in the last 15 drafts, then it evens out.

That's not at all what I said at all. First of all, it's unlikely that pick one is gonna be better than the best CHF since Carey. Secondly, my point was that if there was no KPF, or any player for that matter, who was good enough to be a standout number 1, and the top 10 are all relatively close on talent, which is the case at the moment, then it would be better to get 2 picks in the top 10 than just pick 1.
So if that's the case why would another club give us 2 picks for pick 1

Nope, he's a Tassie lad and not held by anyone. Pick 2 its too early to answer and trading for Patton I would not do, keep the pick, despite what these journo types are saying, the top 5 are as talented as any in the last 15 drafts, then it evens out.
Get Paddy, call him Little Plugger, make him our own, win flags, profit....

If petracca has leg speed and can take mark I would be taking him.
Christian Petracca (Eastern Ranges)
Height: 186 cm
Weight: 92 kg
Position: Midfielder/forward
Player Comparison: Chad Wingard/Josh Kennedy (Sydney)
Strengths: Contested marking, goal kicking, contested ball winning
Areas of Improvement: Disposal efficiency
Suitable Teams: Melbourne, Brisbane, North Melbourne, Richmond

In my mind, anywhere past pick seven or eight and Christian Petracca Petracca becomes a steal.

Talent wise, Petracca is worthy of a top five pick, and on output, he’s number one. He’s a strong bodied forward-cum-midfielder, but to pigeon hole him as one or the other is to misjudge him.

After kicking over 40 goals as an underager – keep in mind Tom Boyd, Michael Apeness and Dan McStay all played in that forward line at times – Petracca hired a running coach and dropped six kilograms over the summer. His dedication and professionalism is at the upper echelon.

Now he is the vice-captain of the Ranges and a full-time midfielder. He can do it all. His body is strong enough to dominate on the inside and his skills are good enough to damage on the outside. Don’t worry about his disposal efficiency, as many of his kicks come from contested situations.

He reminds me of Chad Wingard as every disposal he has changes the game. He often records five or more inside 50s per game and they are usually lace out. He is the best contested mark for his height and he could easily beat most key defenders in the air.

He is an absolute game changer and has the most x-factor in this draft class. He can rack up the ball consistently too, so he is an unquestionable prospect this year. You only have to look at his work for Vic Metro, where he has been in the top two ball winners in every game he has played.

His two Metro games so far have yielded him impressive stats:

- vs. Western Australia: 27 disposals at 85%, two goals, one behind, seven marks, four tackles, seven clearances, nine contested possessions and four inside 50s.
- vs. Vic Country: 31 disposals at 65%, seven marks, three tackles, four clearances, 11 contested possessions and six inside 50s.

In 2012, Petracca averaged 19.4 disposals as a half forward, with 2.4 goals per game and only two goalless games. In six of his 17 games, he had three goals of more, including hauls of six and five. His Preliminary Final performance against the Falcons had him score over 200 Champion Data points, as his five goals, five behinds, 11 marks – an incredible nine of those contested – and 23 possessions showed that he is indeed the most impressive player in this year’s crop.

In 2012, he displayed his ball-winning skills even more, with an average of 23.8 disposals in five games as well as 1.6 goals per game. He’s also averaged 4.2 tackles, and although he’s only averaged 4.6 marks per game this year, he highest total was 11 marks, and two of those marks per game have been contested.

The only ‘downside’ is that he is not a key forward, but any side which drafts him gets a strong forward and elite midfielder with the one pick. There is no player who can produce the numbers that he can. He is a once in a generation type of guy.
http://boundforglorynews.com/2014-draft-profile-christian-petracca/

I've now seen quite a bit of Petracca and IMO he's a power midfielder like Dangerfield/Judd. Not saying he will ever reach that level but they are the comparisons I would use. I can't wait to see his combine results cos I reckon he will surprise a few with his explosive speed. Shifter said his agility testing is top 1% as well.

we need mids more than FWDs right now. maybe we should go down this path?

Petracca was asked to transition from an undersized medium forward to a midfielder this year and he's subsequently dropped 8 kilos, averaging mid 20's touches in the Champs, become the dominant midfielder in the competition and odds-on to win the Larke Medal. I'm not sure he can do much more to announce himself. I reckon if he blitzes it at the combine in regards to beep tests, repeat sprints, agility, speed etc he will be a top 3 certainty. Right now I suspect clubs have him locked between pick 3-5. IMO Wright and/or McCartin need to finish the year off extremely strongly for me to favour them over Petracca. Happy to be proven wrong over time but I reckon he will be the best player from the draft and the player everyone (except the club that picks him) wish they chose. Will play immediately too.

Petracca is a flat out dominant player, he's the type of player that with good development at AFL level will score 160s in SuperCoach sides, he can take a mark, he's a long kick, very strong and very good athletically plus he's played as a forward for all of last year, which means he knows where the goals are. That said, he's still not a KPF. We badly need a KPF.

I hope we keep our options open and select best available. Sure we may see Wright or McCartin best available and select him, no issues there. But I don't want us to select either of those two just because we badly need a KPP when we badly need talent right across the park. Just pick best kid in the draft.

With Lachie Weller, I don't care if GC get him - if they do, they're idiots. The split second he's out of contract, he'll come straight to us to be with Maverick. As if he's going to want to stay that club that completely shafted his brother. Let them pay for his development over the first two years, and we can reap the rewards afterwards.

I hope we keep our options open and select best available. Sure we may see Wright or McCartin best available and select him, no issues there. But I don't want us to select either of those two just because we badly need a KPP when we badly need talent right across the park. Just pick best kid in the draft.
That would be petracca at the moment based on current output.

So if that's the case why would another club give us 2 picks for pick 1
Because they rate the draft differently. Or maybe we give them a player as well who is either a surplus to our needs, or they rate them much higher than we do