List Mgmt. 2014 Draft Prospects

Who do you want with our first selection in the National draft?

• Peter Wright

Votes: 47 41.6%
  • Patrick McCartin

Votes: 33 29.2%
  • Sam Durdin

Votes: 14 12.4%
  • Other

Votes: 19 16.8%

Does anyone have Petraccas height/weight? i'd assume 185-188cm/88-90kg?

You seem a changed man today Brian! :D:p
It's a fluid thing watching boys develop at this age. He has dropped his puppy fat and is now a beast with plenty of speed to match, superstar potential, I want him.

Petracca reminds me a touch of a young Darren Jarman; a touch less polished perhaps, but similarly-sized strong body (both 186/92), evasiveness and 'step' and superb ability up forward (...sadly...)

Huge fan, big blokes be damned?

898358-01e5ebf8-e6cc-11e3-b985-256b2eaf908f.jpg

2014 UNDER-18 ALL AUSTRALIAN TEAM

DEFENDERS: Harrison Wigg (South Australia), Ed Vickers-Willis (Vic Metro), Josh McGuinness (Tasmania), Darcy Tucker (Vic Country), Caleb Marchbank (Vic Country), Angus Brayshaw (Vic Metro)

MIDFIELDERS: Paul Ahern (Vic Metro), Christian Petracca (Vic Metro), Billy Stretch (South Australia), Peter Wright (Vic Metro), Isaac Heeney (NSW/ACT), Jake Johansen (South Australia)

FORWARDS: Callum Mills (NSW/ACT), Darcy Moore (Vic Metro), Rhys Mathieson (Vic Country), Jayden Laverde (Vic Metro), Patrick McCartin (Vic Country), Caleb Daniel (South Australia)

INTERCHANGE: Jack Steele (NSW/ACT), Darcy Parish (Vic Country), Ben Keays (Queensland), Connor Blakely (Western Australia)

COACH: Jason Saddington (NSW/ACT)

ASSISTANT COACH: Brenton Phillips (South Australia)

no pickett, are they effing high?

Acadamies are just wrong IMO, who is going to go to a GF with GWS and Gold Coast? The AFL have destroyed the game IMO, should have added a team to Tassie where people bleed footy and given clubs a bye each week, the demands on AFL players these days are just ridiculous.

If anybody thinks 130 kilo Samoans in Parramatta are going to transition into AFL players they are kidding them selves plus we have been propping up the Swans since 1981 and they are still getting free hits with the COLA and now academy.

Meanwhile, the Saints are still the Aints and in $6-8 million debt.....

because we want to be a truly national comp, this isnt the VFL anymore

no pickett, are they effing high?
Didn't think he was that effective personally... Think Hone and Gore (SA) entitled to be much more dissatisfied with the squad.

And Wright getting a gong is a shocker.

So the chances of this happening are very slim..

But say we don't rate McCartin or Wright so we draft Petracca for example, if Mitch Clark is in the right head space and ready to return to the AFL we could potentially get him while also getting an out of contract Griffiths get him for biscuits.

Head into 2015 with Riewoldt, Clark, White, Stanley, Griffiths and at the end of 2015 draft the best tall (we'll be bottom again IMO) assuming he is better then this years or even draft the best tall while flogging an out of contract Boyd, Cameron or Patton. I'm not convinced GWS will trade one of them this year.

yeh i think you are onto something, you can debate who we pick up but the approach is right

go the best player in the draft and the one we think has the best chance of making it. if thats not a tall then so be it

the reality is our focus needs to be on the midfield anyway. without a midfield we wont be successful. if we get the midfield right and look to be onto something special we'll probably attract the fwds and backs anyway!!!

Didn't think he was that effective personally... Think Hone and Gore (SA) entitled to be much more dissatisfied with the squad.

he was in a shockingly poor side and was easily the best forward pocket player from what i saw. if you had him in the SA or Vic Country side, you'd see more often what he can do

And what has Billy Longer done for us this year? How many marks has he taken around the ground in 9 matches.....3? Please don't overrate players because they wear our jumper.

I think his ruck work has been good. Certainly I do Longer for 25 every time. Doesn't mean he is going to be a superstar but I think he has shown enough to indicate there is a future there.

better than paying 28 for hampson

If Wright doesn't get in the side, who would you pick as a ruckman? He was the best ruck available, which says a lot about development of ruckmen. As for Pickett, I'm back to what I thought of him pre-Champs, a special player but far too inconsistent to be drafted in the top 5 for St Kilda. The last thing we need is an inconsistent small forward (well actually 2nd last, a back flanker probably last).

Pickett didn't impress me much either..

Did a flashy thing or two but besides that hardly noticed him.

If Wright doesn't get in the side, who would you pick as a ruckman? He was the best ruck available, which says a lot about development of ruckmen.
I reckon WA's Frampton was better actually; ruck work was good, hands were solid and his second and third efforts were much better than Wright's.

I think we take Petracca at 1, we will have another pick before 20 thanks to the Pelican wheeling and dealing take the best tall available and let Lachie Weller have 2 years at the Suns before we reunite him with his Bro.

If Wright doesn't get in the side, who would you pick as a ruckman? He was the best ruck available, which says a lot about development of ruckmen. As for Pickett, I'm back to what I thought of him pre-Champs, a special player but far too inconsistent to be drafted in the top 5 for St Kilda. The last thing we need is an inconsistent small forward (well actually 2nd last, a back flanker probably last).

I thought wright was a forward who "could" ruck.