Stan_Darsh72
Hall of Famer
- Jun 18, 2011
- AFL Club
- St Kilda
Rumors going around that Dangerfield could walk.
Lets open up that free agency checkbook

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Throw the house at him. Crows are vulnerable. Make it soRumors going around that Dangerfield could walk.
I wouldn't be totally against taking him as a rookie. But that'd depend on what we do in the National Draft.
We're not a side blessed with players that have break away speed. In saying that, I'd say he'll probably be completely over looked if he can't hold down a spot in a team crying out for blokes who can impact the game offensively.
Rumors going around that Dangerfield could walk.
Rivers, & Jamie Bennell, are a couple of players playing consistent AFL footy since departing the Dees..
He's got some talent & some tools that we're sorely lacking in, & that's pace..
Going to cost zip, & if he's proven he can play at senior level..
We've got Richo, Huddo, & soon Bevo etc taking care of the development of our young contracted stars coming through..
If Blease is fair dinkum & Richo can work his magic, Blease's run alter's the dynamics of our current side significantly..
If we could just find another Aussie Jones clone..
Sanderson sacked
Did you catch a look at Steven last year? He's an A grader, held back by injury this year.The thing is, a trade like that really benefits neither side. It's like for like. It's common knowledge you're in need of KPPs, and Vickery is a much better player than he gets credit for. He's not rated well in large part because he's a big flog with a stupid haircut. Also common knowledge is we lack midfield depth, in particular speed, which Steven is perfect for. I rate him pretty highly btw but he's not a bonafide A grade player or anything (yet).
Like I said on the Richmond board I'm probably quite clearly biased, but a trade involving Vickery, Steven and draft picks (in your favour) would be win-win IMO
So yes I'm serious!
No no no.... We need Waite to go to Fremantle, cos if you listen to Freo supporters, apparently Ross has learnt his lesson on recruiting recycled blokes....![]()
Wouldn't say our rucks are up themselves. In fact they seem pretty team-oriented and down to earth......We already have a figjam in the rucks, with Hickey + Longer, with Holmes and Pierce both being very highly rated in their performances in the VFL......
Would you have said the same about McEvoy last year? Obviously Steven is a more important and better player but with that would come a better deal. I'm quite happy to keep him, but if a fantastic offer came our way we'd be stupid to not consider it.OK I hardly ever post here... I pretty much come here hoping to see an actual trade rumour or story. Clearly I waste alot of time reading as there is 100s of pages of hypotheticals (mostly shocking ones) but I still normally enjoy some of the stuff I see. Anyways let me get to my point... Im amazed that my StKilda comrads would actually entertain/ embrace a Jack Steven trade. He's been a shinning light in a poorly performing rebuilding side and im amazed that you guys cannot see how much he will excell in a good side. We are ment to be stock piling young talent not trading it for another gamble at the draft (before you jump on me I know we need all the picks we can get) but why would we trade a proven gun with crazy potential for another risk? Luckily Pelican isnt stupid enough to do this and im going to safely assume that other clubs wouldnt even think to offer as they could not believe we are that stupid. Just to clear it up obviously there is a handful of players you would trade Steven for but other clubs wont offer those players in a trade for him. Remember our club moto guys... good day
I think the difference is that we could cover the McEvoy loss with Hickey and Pierce, and then Longer and Holmes as it turned out. I don't see any other top notch mids that can run clear through packs in our ranks. We looked slow this season without any real pacy mids.Would you have said the same about McEvoy last year? Obviously Steven is a more important and better player but with that would come a better deal. I'm quite happy to keep him, but if a fantastic offer came our way we'd be stupid to not consider it.
I don't think anyone's saying we should be actively looking for a trade, but that, if one came up which was well worth our while, we would be stupid not to consider it. The club can't afford to label anyone 'un-tradeable', and we would be negligent to do so. No matter how talented they are.OK I hardly ever post here... I pretty much come here hoping to see an actual trade rumour or story. Clearly I waste alot of time reading as there is 100s of pages of hypotheticals (mostly shocking ones) but I still normally enjoy some of the stuff I see. Anyways let me get to my point... Im amazed that my StKilda comrads would actually entertain/ embrace a Jack Steven trade. He's been a shinning light in a poorly performing rebuilding side and im amazed that you guys cannot see how much he will excell in a good side. We are ment to be stock piling young talent not trading it for another gamble at the draft (before you jump on me I know we need all the picks we can get) but why would we trade a proven gun with crazy potential for another risk? Luckily Pelican isnt stupid enough to do this and im going to safely assume that other clubs wouldnt even think to offer as they could not believe we are that stupid. Just to clear it up obviously there is a handful of players you would trade Steven for but other clubs wont offer those players in a trade for him. Remember our club moto guys... good day
The whole FA thing really complicates it. If he's happy to come here via trade then you'd have to assume he'd be happy to come here via FA right? I guess the only thing is if a bidding war is sparked, then we'd have no choice but to pony up pick 1.Danger for #1? What if they throw in their first rounder? second rounder?
Don't care do whatever it takesDanger for #1? What if they throw in their first rounder? second rounder?
Indeed. And a lot can happen in a year. What if by the time he's available via FA, he's suddenly fallen in love with their new coach, etc?The whole FA thing really complicates it. If he's happy to come here via trade then you'd have to assume he'd be happy to come here via FA right? I guess the only thing is if a bidding war is sparked, then we'd have no choice but to pony up pick 1.
Adelaide have pick 9. Knightmare has them taking Pickett with that. BUT Lachie Weller would still be available probably by then. That'd mean that for pick #1, we could get Dangerfield AND Weller.
I could be happy with that.