List Mgmt. 2014 Draft Watch Thread

I suspect he's been selected to pressure and cover Gorringe more than Day.
Sam wants to be a Sun
102kg at 18.Is Zac Smith even that now?
Gorringe is under pressure anyway. Nicholls and Smith way ahead of him.

I think Wright is a forward first, wasted in the ruck a bit. Kind of like Kurt Tippett.

Sam may want to be a Sun, but he's got work to do to stay in the best 22 IMO. Bluey said a that Day would've been dropped a couple of times last year if there was someone to replace him with. Now there is. The 3rd tall forward has always been a problem for GC, Day just not the man for that position, I suspect that's the role Wright has been recruited for.

You guys surely have the most enviable contingent of KPP's in the league now. Now that you have 3 potentially elite monster forwards (Lynch, Dixon & Wright) does this open the door for Day to be switched into defence seeing as he has showed the smallest aptitude out of the aforementioned 4 as a forward?

I think he could emulate what Chris Tarrant was able to do later in his career when he switched into defence after largely underperforming as a forward. They are both terrific athletes, and I feel with Day that he just lacks the necessary footy nous that is needed to become an A-grade forward and now with competition for spots heating up he might find that his best bet is to head into the backlines.

I think he would be very hard to shake off from an opposition key forwards perspective with that elite speed off the mark; and I think playing as a negating defender would be a lot more simplistic for a player like him where all he's required to do is keep up with his opponent and get a spoil in.

I think that is a very real possibility, however Day, May and Thompson in the backline, Lynch, 2MPeter and Dicko in the forward line seems too top heavy especially if you play a ruckman.

I wonder if this could be the evolution of the game where 2MPeter rucks in the forward line and Day in the backline with no specialist ruck

I must say that watching his highlights reel 2MP looks like a natural forward

I suspect he's been selected to pressure and cover Gorringe more than Day.
Sam wants to be a Sun
102kg at 18.Is Zac Smith even that now?
And even Charlie who's unfortunately struggling to put 3 games together. The club acknowledged a lack of development too and I wouldn't be surprised to see either Sam or Dan improve greatly under a new regime with Eade at the helm.

I think that is a very real possibility, however Day, May and Thompson in the backline, Lynch, 2MPeter and Dicko in the forward line seems too top heavy especially if you play a ruckman.

I wonder if this could be the evolution of the game where 2MPeter rucks in the forward line and Day in the backline with no specialist ruck

I must say that watching his highlights reel 2MP looks like a natural forward

I do agree that 2MP looks like a natural forward, but in this modern game - players won't get by playing a single position.
If we need 2MP to play ruck, than he is more than capable - and has all the attributes to be a more than capable ruckman.
I wouldn't pigeon-hole 2MP in the one position, because he is probably going to be our best forward and ruckman in a couple years.
I really do rate 2MP VERY highly, and I think it bodes well with Charlie D - and his ability to also play as a swingman.
2MP sures us up and takes some pressure off Day and Lynch, I don't think Day is tracking as well as I'd liked to this point.
As a junior, I really thought we'd of gotten more out of Sam Day by now. I do have question marks over his aggression.

Seems every other club fans are shocked we took 2MP.
Surely when a guy who was rated a number 1 pick earlier this year gets through to 8 you take him no matter his size or position!
Especially a Power forward.
A little competition is always good!! Half of hawthorns 2nds could be in best 22 in any other AFL club..
Unfortunetly we probably only have 4-6 guys in our seconds which would hold any currency and would not be delisted!!
Im sure in 2-3 years time 2MP and big Lynch will be each kicking 50 goals a season :)

And im first to admit i wasnt to keen on 2MP at the start..i was all over Duggan, I was thinking more the now.. Then in 2-3 years time!!
Glad im not a recruiter !!

I think opposition fans don't understand the selection because they look at our list and all they see is names. Lynch, Dixon, Day, Gorringe, Hall, Nicholls, Smith. When you break that down however to the roles they player and the fact that they get injured a lot it actually makes a lot of sense.

Very happy with this draft. Jury is out on Garlett but he is certainly talented. His saving grace is that he has a good tank and thats why I am hopeful of him. Otherwise I would be very sceptical as he is purely outside at this stage.

I'm getting excited by Garlett. I hadn't taken much notice of him due to his height/weight and about 3 clangers with his first few possessions in a highlights reel but what I've seen since he looks like that extra gear we need. Kid sure is dedicated to get up at 5:30am every morning to run 6km with his Grandad. What a cool Grandad :thumbsu:
Also love the connection between 2MP and Touk- that is a lot of playing experience between them. 2MP :D That's a classic.
Our Backline is looking good

B: T. McKenzie / S. Day / S. May
HB: K. Kolodjashnij / R. Thompson / N. Malceski

Maysie third tall :p

Big, fast, long kicking, meterage gaining backline.

I'm getting excited by Garlett. I hadn't taken much notice of him due to his height/weight and about 3 clangers with his first few possessions in a highlights reel but what I've seen since he looks like that extra gear we need. Kid sure is dedicated to get up at 5:30am every morning to run 6km with his Grandad. What a cool Grandad :thumbsu:
Also love the connection between 2MP and Touk- that is a lot of playing experience between them. 2MP :D That's a classic.
Our Backline is looking good

Big, fast, long kicking, meterage gaining backline.
Not wrong, he was spraying his kicks everywhere in that highlight reel early.
Looks really dangerous around goals though.

I think opposition fans don't understand the selection because they look at our list and all they see is names. Lynch, Dixon, Day, Gorringe, Hall, Nicholls, Smith. When you break that down however to the roles they player and the fact that they get injured a lot it actually makes a lot of sense.

Very happy with this draft. Jury is out on Garlett but he is certainly talented. His saving grace is that he has a good tank and thats why I am hopeful of him. Otherwise I would be very sceptical as he is purely outside at this stage.
The most encouraging aspect of his saving grace is how hard he had to work for his endurance, unlike his natural speed.

Its unfair to make comparisons to his cousin but the fact that he knew what he needed to work on, then went to town on it is really exciting. Some people reckon he is better on field then pickett so i cant wait to see what he can do.

3 power forwards with garlett, matera and a rotating mid, yeah boy!

You guys surely have the most enviable contingent of KPP's in the league now. Now that you have 3 potentially elite monster forwards (Lynch, Dixon & Wright) does this open the door for Day to be switched into defence seeing as he has showed the smallest aptitude out of the aforementioned 4 as a forward?

I think he could emulate what Chris Tarrant was able to do later in his career when he switched into defence after largely underperforming as a forward. They are both terrific athletes, and I feel with Day that he just lacks the necessary footy nous that is needed to become an A-grade forward and now with competition for spots heating up he might find that his best bet is to head into the backlines.

I think he would be very hard to shake off from an opposition key forwards perspective with that elite speed off the mark; and I think playing as a negating defender would be a lot more simplistic for a player like him where all he's required to do is keep up with his opponent and get a spoil in.

The issue here for Day is to have ( as you said) , the necessary footy nous.Regardless of his size and athletic ability, the truth is one must have the footy nous to succeed and at this stage of Days career, he hasn't shown he has this required nuos, thus that wont help him playing in any position. At the moment , trying him in a key defence possy , coming up say against a Tom Hawkins, well... Hawkins would crucify him.
To much emphasis is placed on the athletism of players these days. yes this is required, but at the end of the day a players most important ability is to have footy nous, be it quick decision making, reading the play , ability to dispose of the pill etc etc.
,For example, look at Watts at Melbourne.... a gun draft recruit some 3 or 4 years ago, and has battled big time, another is the Kangaroos player , Daws, same thing, great athletic ability, but simply lacks the footy nous on the field.

I think
FB: KK, May, McKenzie
HB: Harbrow, Thompson, Malceski

is our best. Much rather have Harbrow in the lineup than Day. Looks like a hell of a defense for once.

I think
FB: KK, May, McKenzie
HB: Harbrow, Thompson, Malceski

is our best. Much rather have Harbrow in the lineup than Day. Looks like a hell of a defense for once.
We'll rotate smaller defenders like Harbs, Seany Lemmens, even Dion can go back at times, through the backline depending on the opposition. Gives us great flexibility. Other clubs won't be able to play three defensive forwards so at least one of Mal, Cannon or KK will get off the chain more often than not.

I'm honestly wondering what will happen to Day if he doesn't improve tenfold. I'd much rather see Wright take Day's spot on the forward line, but I know that Wright will take a couple of years to develop by which time Day's contract will be up. I quite honestly can't see Day keeping his spot like he did this year because we finally have some options to swap in and out.

I'm starting to feel that this draft has given us a lot of depth that we didn't have before. I was talking to SUNS at the draft on Thursday and we were discussing the fact that the Giants have a ****tonne of depth, whereas we have a better 'best 22' with not much depth. After next year, I see our side as a mix between the Lions three-peat side and the Hawthorn side of the past few years.

I'm honestly wondering what will happen to Day if he doesn't improve tenfold. I'd much rather see Wright take Day's spot on the forward line, but I know that Wright will take a couple of years to develop by which time Day's contract will be up. I quite honestly can't see Day keeping his spot like he did this year because we finally have some options to swap in and out.

I'm starting to feel that this draft has given us a lot of depth that we didn't have before. I was talking to SUNS at the draft on Thursday and we were discussing the fact that the Giants have a ****tonne of depth, whereas we have a better 'best 22' with not much depth. After next year, I see our side as a mix between the Lions three-peat side and the Hawthorn side of the past few years.
Why does he have to improve tenfold? Sam's numbers have improved each year unlike some. He's thrown around to cover weaknesses in the ruck and down back at times. Give the guy a break. If that draft was held again, Lynch would go in the top 3 and Day around 20-30. That doesn't lessen his importance to the team.

Why does he have to improve tenfold? Sam's numbers have improved each year unlike some.
Why? Because he holds a key position and rarely performs. He's completely mediocre the majority of the time. It's all well and good to say he has potential, because he obviously does, but if you don't perform regularly, you need to be dropped - and that goes with everybody. Hall, Shaw, Smith and Nicholls are all in the same position.

There are obviously reasons for his mediocrity as he's been switched around various positions pretty frequently, but it's about time people stop defending players based on their name and perceived skill and start critiquing them on their on-field ability each week. Yes, I understand some players and positions take longer than others to develop, but there needs to be a line drawn somewhere. I hope that Rocket pulls Day into line and plays him in one position to allow him to grow, develop, and perform, but if he doesn't, how long do you plan on defending him for?

Why? Because he holds a key position and rarely performs. He's completely mediocre the majority of the time. It's all well and good to say he has potential, because he obviously does, but if you don't perform regularly, you need to be dropped - and that goes with everybody. Hall, Shaw, Smith and Nicholls are all in the same position.

There are obviously reasons for his mediocrity as he's been switched around various positions pretty frequently, but it's about time people stop defending players based on their name and perceived skill and start critiquing them on their on-field ability each week. Yes, I understand some players and positions take longer than others to develop, but there needs to be a line drawn somewhere. I hope that Rocket pulls Day into line and plays him in one position to allow him to grow, develop, and perform, but if he doesn't, how long do you plan on defending him for?
Unless 2MP comes in and shines like Paul Salmon did for Essendon many years ago then I think Sam's position is relatively safe for 2015. He will need to improve his output and consistency over his 2014 performances to stay in the side. I'm loving the fact that we now have genuine quality (if inexperienced) competition for our KPF / Ruck stocks. Was originally hopeful we'd prefer Pickett or Laverde for Pick #8 but am wrapped Clayton chose 2MP. In Clayton we trust!! Garlett could possible be better than Pickett. We already have Harley and Jacky Martin to play the Laverde role on the HF line and both are better players. Will be interested to see where Sam plays pre-season - will Rocket trial him down back?

This is literally 100% my thoughts also.

Like I said, 2MP will take 2 years to develop by which time Day's contract will be up, but if Day moves to defence and shines down there then obviously there won't be an issue either way.

Despite being completely mediocre the majority of the time - he still kicked 19 goals, 11 direct goal assists (top 6 at club) & was in the top 3 for 1%ers yet again. Hit outs went from averaging 1 a game to over 6 just this year.
He plays a decoy role at times to stop a 3rd man up against Charlie and Lynchy. He averaged 10.5 disposals a game (50% were contested) which is only 4 disposals less than a midfielder Matt Shaw (who you rate highly).
His numbers have jumped significantly every year. He'll never be a 50 goal CHF and to say he's been mediocre is baffling.

Despite being completely mediocre the majority of the time - he still kicked 19 goals, 11 direct goal assists (top 6 at club) & was in the top 3 for 1%ers yet again. Hit outs went from averaging 1 a game to over 6 just this year.
He plays a decoy role at times to stop a 3rd man up against Charlie and Lynchy. He averaged 10.5 disposals a game (50% were contested) which is only 4 disposals less than a midfielder Matt Shaw (who you rate highly).
His numbers have jumped significantly every year. He'll never be a 50 goal CHF and to say he's been mediocre is baffling.
What you've just written backs my point in saying that there's potential. Perhaps if he's played in one position instead of all over the field then maybe he'll be worth his spot, but at the moment he's not best 22. Rocket may very well do that. Same goes with Matt Shaw - potential is there, but it's about some he starting showing consistency.

Having read over various posts on Bigfooty over the past few years regarding Bluey McKenna's coaching, I reckon he's done no benefit to Day which is why we're likely to see an improvement next year with Eade. But in saying that, if Rocket can't get the best out of Day I very much doubt anyone else can either and it'd be better to cut our losses.

I don't dislike Day in the slightest. I think he's a very humble bloke and I know for a fact he loves living and playing on the Gold Coast and it saddens me when I see harsh critisism of a player. Similar to players getting delisted. But if we want to win a premiership (hell, or even just making it to finals) we need to get serious about who we play on field each week. If Day underperforms again, I can't see a reason why he should remain in the AFL side each week. NEAFL might do him some good.

What you've just written backs my point in saying that there's potential. Perhaps if he's played in one position instead of all over the field then maybe he'll be worth his spot, but at the moment he's not best 22. Rocket may very well do that. Same goes with Matt Shaw - potential is there, but it's about some he starting showing consistency.

Having read over various posts on Bigfooty over the past few years regarding Bluey McKenna's coaching, I reckon he's done no benefit to Day which is why we're likely to see an improvement next year with Eade. But in saying that, if Rocket can't get the best out of Day I very much doubt anyone else can either and it'd be better to cut our losses.

I don't dislike Day in the slightest. I think he's a very humble bloke and I know for a fact he loves living and playing on the Gold Coast and it saddens me when I see harsh critisism of a player. Similar to players getting delisted. But if we want to win a premiership (hell, or even just making it to finals) we need to get serious about who we play on field each week. If Day underperforms again, I can't see a reason why he should remain in the AFL side each week. NEAFL might do him some good.
I do agree with a lot of what you just wrote then. I guess he's always going to be a player that is under the microscope due to his #3 pick.
I watched him closely at Etihad twice this year and at times he stood near the boundary line away from the play - to open up the forward line and take away key defenders. He sacrificed his own game for the team and we burnt both Nth and St Kilda away early with that open fwd line. I know a lot of AFL players that would sulk if they played that role.
Fingers crossed he has a ripper year.

If he is playing as a decoy.. Id rather use Garlett .. Stay out wide.. Then hit the NOS and be front and centre if the ball hits the ground..
Garlett can do everything well..
Run attack defend find the goals..
Day gets all his touches leading at the ball.. If he marks it were safe.. If not.. It rebounds into there 50