List Mgmt. 2014 Draft

I think a fair bit Hinges if Mundy stays or Leaves. If mundy stays, freo will get a KPP with the 1st pick. if Mundy Leaves freo, Freo will get a mid with their 1st pick.

I got this feeling who might be gone at the end of the season...

Gumby, Duffy and Simpson.
Simpson deserves another year. He has proven to us hes got what it takes to play AFL

I think a fair bit Hinges if Mundy stays or Leaves. If mundy stays, freo will get a KPP with the 1st pick. if Mundy Leaves freo, Freo will get a mid with their 1st pick.

I got this feeling who might be gone at the end of the season...

Gumby, Duffy and Simpson.

Would have thought we would show faith in both Gumby and Simpson at this stage. Kepler, Menegola and Duffy would likely have to make room for draftees.

GWS would still like a genuine tall defender, and would probably take Durdin if available. Richmond and North Melbourne are just as likely to go tall too. And it wouldn't be out of the question for Geelong to pick up a tall defender.

Brisbane and Adelaide would look for quality talls if available wouldn't they? Even Port.

Simpson deserves another year. He has proven to us hes got what it takes to play AFL

He has the talent. Its his commitment is the question.

Would have thought we would show faith in both Gumby and Simpson at this stage. Kepler, Menegola and Duffy would likely have to make room for draftees.

I chose Gumby over Kepler to get the cut because the crap involving Essendon in the last 2 years. Maybe both kepler and gumby need to go i dont know.

Regardless of who else at this stage - I think Gumby will be gawn. He signed a 1 year deal, presumably on the proviso that he has no major setbacks and provides support in the main 22 and straightens us up, if he can stay on the park. With the Show Clauses hanging over his head and half a season lost to his hammy, and (me being pessimistic here) him unlikely to get a call up anytime soon - I think he's done his dash.

Yeah I agree with you.

I reckon we'll keep Hannath, maybe pick up another young key forward and Apeness and Taberner will be a year older. Plus Zac Clarke is looking a lot more potent this year albeit in patches.

I think Clarke permanent number 2 ruck, Griff number 3, a few young big fellas coming through the ranks.
So Keps a long was back, possible delisting. But you never know, he does have superpowers.
Gumbie will be gone, injuries & asada could both come into play, too risky.
Simpson will be gone by the end of the year, (another top draft pick that didn't pan out)
Menegola & Duffy will both be down the road.
Have to keep the list ticking over, clogging the list will stop us from picking our next Barlow or Mzungu.

Wouldn't mind us grabbing Jake Lever if he is available at our first pick. A KPB who has missed this year after having a knee recon. Before that he was touted as a possible top 5 pick in the early parts of this year. He has exceptional leadership qualities about him as well apparently and seems to really fit the kind of person/player that we would like at our footy club. On top of that I think we should probably grab one more KPB as we seem to have a less options down back going in to the future.

On top of that I think we should probably grab one more KPB as we seem to have a less options down back going in to the future.

Lever sounds good doesn't he.

regarding KPD and KPF options outside our current best 22;

KPD; Silvagni, Smith, Pearce, Vandeleur (realistically Vandeleur is a rookie and as such unlikely to progress)

KPF; Apeness, Taberner, Gumbleton, Bradley (realistically the last two are marginal options)

I think the reason we seem to have more forward options is that we often play a ruck up there and have Hannath, Clarke, Moeller as some kind of option. Personally I am still keen for a KPF but depends who is best available at our selection. I like Chris's thinking of going for a more normal size KPP (around 192cm) who is mobile and a decent mark to compliment the ultra-talls we have developing.

Wouldn't mind us grabbing Jake Lever if he is available at our first pick. A KPB who has missed this year after having a knee recon. Before that he was touted as a possible top 5 pick in the early parts of this year. He has exceptional leadership qualities about him as well apparently and seems to really fit the kind of person/player that we would like at our footy club. On top of that I think we should probably grab one more KPB as we seem to have a less options down back going in to the future.
On paper we look fine for key position players, but I have some doubts for next year. Apeness is the only Tall player we have used a first round pick on
for years, and from all the information he is a solid pick. Smith has played one AFL game, and has had recurring injuries, Tabs 3-5 AFL games?
Pearce, Vandeleur, are long term prospects. Kepler, Gumby have question marks on their future. we will have four Tall superstars over thirty, if Elvis
goes again.
I think we should go hard at free agency, just like Sydney, Frawley should be on the short list, if we are successful then go best available in the draft.

Personally I'd love to land Frawley. If we can sure up Mundy and Fyfe I honestly think Frawley is worth throwing the book at as I think Macca will be gone next year. He's only 25 so you would think his best footy is ahead of him. THese type of players are bloody hard to get. I reckon go for it. I'd be stoked to get him

On paper we look fine for key position players, but I have some doubts for next year. Apeness is the only Tall player we have used a first round pick on
for years, and from all the information he is a solid pick. Smith has played one AFL game, and has had recurring injuries, Tabs 3-5 AFL games?
Pearce, Vandeleur, are long term prospects. Kepler, Gumby have question marks on their future. we will have four Tall superstars over thirty, if Elvis
goes again.
I think we should go hard at free agency, just like Sydney, Frawley should be on the short list, if we are successful then go best available in the draft.
Can't help but think we have a slight gap in key position players tbh. Silvagni is 27 this year, the next oldest would be Taberner at 21. (Unless you count Mayne) I'm not as confident as others in the ability of Silvagni to step up tbh. It's all about cash though. If we have enough we should go hard for Frawley. If not then Alex Rance is available next year. Having said that more than likely either Pav or Sandi (or McPharlin if still on our list in 2015) won't be there in 2016 meaning Rance may still be an option even if we somehow get Frawley.

It must be remembered though Fyfe, Mundy and either Pav or McPharlin must stay on our list for next season for us to have a chance of winning the flag. I'd see Frawley as a great asset as we aren't sure which of our young KPPs will make it and how long it will take them to make it. In Frawley we'd have a player capable of playing at both ends meaning it puts less pressure on our young KPPs to make it. I think Frawley has suffered from being in the team with the worst midfield in the league. He was a gun prior to Melbournes years in the bottom 3 and has been semi-impressive again this year even if it was as a forward.

. In Frawley we'd have a player capable of playing at both ends meaning it puts less pressure on our young KPPs to make it. I think Frawley has suffered from being in the team with the worst midfield in the league. He was a gun prior to Melbournes years in the bottom 3 and has been semi-impressive again this year even if it was as a forward.

Frawley played at west coast? :p

Wouldn't mind us grabbing Jake Lever if he is available at our first pick. A KPB who has missed this year after having a knee recon. Before that he was touted as a possible top 5 pick in the early parts of this year. He has exceptional leadership qualities about him as well apparently and seems to really fit the kind of person/player that we would like at our footy club. On top of that I think we should probably grab one more KPB as we seem to have a less options down back going in to the future.[/QUOTE] this was quoted by George2. sorry for messing up the quote mate.

I reckon that this could well be on the cards.
In the past couple of years we have picked up players who had previously missed out being selected in their draft year.
Perhaps, we look to see how the young fellas deal with the disappointment of being overlooked & then snaffle the good ones.
Ballard is a case in point, as is Duffy.
Maybe I'm just reading something into a coincidence.

Oh, I'm never particularly accurate. :p

My drafts are more heavily weighted towards my personal rankings of players. And I tend to value flair and potential a little higher than proven performances, whereas when your job is on the line you tend to draft a little differently to that. It's easier to take risks from the comfort of your own home. Some of the others on BigFooty try to predict things a tad more than me (and will do a final update on the eve of the draft which makes things look a lot better than it otherwise might) but just copying what the media says seems a little boring to me.

I love your work too. What do you think the chances of Clem Smith falling to us? He woulnt be the first smallish defender to fall in the draft on draft day. I watched him a bit last year I think he could be the long-term player we need to play the quarterback role. I think he fills a need in the team once Duff retires.

Kepler and Gumby are in strife I reckon. It's pretty apparent that Ross Lyon only considers 1 tall forward + a resting ruckman necessary to execute his game plan. We've only played a 2nd tall forward twice this year.

Having Kepler, Gumby, Taberner and Apeness basically all competing for Pav's position when he retires means that at least 1 is going to get cut, and maybe 2. Kepler might get a reprieve if he goes well in the back line.

Kepler and Gumby are in strife I reckon. It's pretty apparent that Ross Lyon only considers 1 tall forward + a resting ruckman necessary to execute his game plan. We've only played a 2nd tall forward twice this year.

Having Kepler, Gumby, Taberner and Apeness basically all competing for Pav's position when he retires means that at least 1 is going to get cut, and maybe 2. Kepler might get a reprieve if he goes well in the back line.

If we had a red hot second key forward available I'm sure the gameplay would fit him in.

It never fit the game plan at St Kilda, despite having both Reiwoldt and Kozitschke. I'm not so sure.

2010 GF teams St Kilda: Reiwoldt, Kozitschke, 1 ruckman. (Gardiner in the first, McEvoy in the replay)
Collingwood: Jolly, Leigh Brown, Cloke, Dawes

2011 elimination final team also featured just McEvoy, Kositchke and Reiwoldt. Sydney played Mumford, Jesse White, Spangher, Sam Reid and Adam Goodes.

Besides which, we might have a red hot second key forward available, but we won't ever find that out if we never give them a game. Taberner has been tearing it up in the WAFL all year. But no other team seems to have a problem with playing inexperienced 2nd talls, even ones called Matthew Spangher.

It never fit the game plan at St Kilda, despite having both Reiwoldt and Kozitschke. I'm not so sure.

2010 GF teams St Kilda: Reiwoldt, Kozitschke, 1 ruckman. (Gardiner in the first, McEvoy in the replay)
Collingwood: Jolly, Leigh Brown, Cloke, Dawes

Besides which, we might have a red hot second key forward available, but we won't ever find that out if we never give them a game. Taberner has been tearing it up in the WAFL all year.

No he hasn't.

Besides which, we might have a red hot second key forward available, but we won't ever find that out if we never give them a game. Taberner has been tearing it up in the WAFL all year.

He has been decent. At that level. If that is your definition of tearing it up, then I hate to see what 'doing ok' would be.

He's been consistently named in Peel's best players and has been named emergency for Fremantle a number of times as a result. But there's never a spot for him because we only play 1 key forward.

List Mgmt. 2014 Draft