Topkent
Confirmed ITK Drafting King
Breaking news: Petracca and McCartin arrested in Bali for smuggling.
Breaking Breaking news:
Melbourne list manager Nickgrant69 seen flying Jack Watts and Dean Terlich to bali with new haircuts

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Breaking news: Petracca and McCartin arrested in Bali for smuggling.
I hear we are bigger on Wright than McCartin.
That said, I would be shocked if we used both picks. Reckon well trade at least 1 of them.
Pick 7 to GWS for O'Rouke and pick 21
So you don't want him to get Motlop for us?I will mail you my testicles if we get Motlop
If we aren't keen on the talls and there are no other mids that are obvious top 5 talent, it puts us in a good position to do anothe Tyson/pick downgrade deal and end up potentially with 3 x top 15 ish mids in the one whack from our two top 5 picks.Not really a clear one I think.
Weller, Laverde and Pickett are all very talented - #3 might seem a bit of a reach for them, but if we aren't keen on any of the talls I'd go for one of them.
That is extremely optimistic! But I like it.Pick 3 to the Dogs for Hrovat and pick 7
Pick 7 to GWS for O'Rouke and pick 21
pick 3 turns into Hrovat, O'Rouke and another youngster at pick 21
At that pie function Roosy specifically said it was impossible to judge top end talls in the TAC Cup due to rules not allowing double teams, etc (like the AFL) - seems to indicate we won't be going with either of those at our first pick.
Pick #3 would be an epic reach for Weller. Laverde maybe, but you'd still pick McCartin or Wright or possibly even Durdin before him.Not really a clear one I think.
Weller, Laverde and Pickett are all very talented - #3 might seem a bit of a reach for them, but if we aren't keen on any of the talls I'd go for one of them.
Round 1, 2015 - WB v Melbourne. Patrick McCartin kicks 10 goals...for Footscray.Now just wait for them to come into the league and absolutely dominate for other teams, when for years we've thought we have had kids scouted to within an inch of their life and they've turned out to be shite.
Pick #3 would be an epic reach for Weller. Laverde maybe, but you'd still pick McCartin or Wright or possibly even Durdin before him.
At that pie function Roosy specifically said it was impossible to judge top end talls in the TAC Cup due to rules not allowing double teams, etc (like the AFL) - seems to indicate we won't be going with either of those at our first pick.
Yeah I agree on Wright for that exact reason. Despite his size I don't think he'll be as physically imposing as shorter players like Riewoldt(s), Darling, Cloke, Franklin and McCartin can be.Nah, Weller is a jet - it would seem a reach but I think it would be justified, he's the best kick in the draft by a long way, has good pace, wins his own ball, is good overhead for a medium mid and already has trained with the GC academy so his body shape is promising (he's still slight, but a lot of lean muscle as opposed to guys the same weight as him who are rakes).
Laverde has that x-factor and athleticism, is producing good footy and has a good frame on him too.
I'd pick Durdin over these two and Wright btw (who to me doesn't play with physicality, it only appears so because no one is big enough to get near him).
Yeah I agree on Wright for that exact reason. Despite his size I don't think he'll be as physically imposing as shorter players like Riewoldt(s), Darling, Cloke, Franklin and McCartin can be.
Agree, when I watch Wright play he just kind of runs at the ball and jumps at it without needing to use his body or if he's standing in a pack all he does is raise his arms and pluck the mark because nobody can move him - he doesn't need to use his body and hasn't learned to it seems.
Not that these problems can't be taught, especially because he's a big kid - but someone like McCartin who is strong but also naturally uses his body well would be much higher on my wish list if I was a club.
Jack Watts and Nic Natanui have been in the system for a long time and still haven't learnt how to use there body properly to mark the footy because they used there athleticism as a kid
Its why I would I prefer McCartin,
Teach a footballer to run
Dont teach a runner to football
We're talking late picks here though, where the level of talent is pretty even. What really makes those guys stand out is elite traits otherwise i.e. Tom McDonald who is extremely fit and mobile was later taught to defend.Jack Watts and Nic Natanui have been in the system for a long time and still haven't learnt how to use there body properly to mark the footy because they used there athleticism as a kid
Its why I would I prefer McCartin,
Teach a footballer to run
Dont teach a runner to football
We're talking late picks here though, where the level of talent is pretty even. What really makes those guys stand out is elite traits otherwise i.e. Tom McDonald who is extremely fit and mobile was later taught to defend.
Yeah agreed mate, which is why I'd only do it after the third or possibly even just the fourth round.Yeah and everyone wants him booted off the list for being a terrible disposer of the footy
I don't mind taking a risk with pick 60 or whatever because most of the good stuff is gone
For me the athletic results should be ignored almost in the first round or 2
You need to first see how good they are at playing footy, then work out if they have the a driving personality I.E a desire to improve
If they are missing one of those 2 qualities then its far too much of a risk to spend a high pick on them
It's certainly a lot of talent to add to the midfield to go with Tyson, Salem, Viney and Jones, even allowing for Trengove, Toumpas and Watts to never amount to anything haha. Yet it's still likely that with our development habits they'll all turn out to be useless. It's especially dangerous with Stretch as an outside mid. Petracca and Brayshaw should develop pretty much like Viney has from day 1 but I wouldn't count on Billy making much of an impact for a couple of years.My wish is for Frawley to go and that we're fortunate enough to be gifted pick 3 and that Petracca is overlooked by the Saints.
Enter Petracca and Brayshaw. Others may not be as enamoured, but I reckon they'll be be very good mids and with Stretch provide great stimulus to the midfield.
It's certainly a lot of talent to add to the midfield to go with Tyson, Salem, Viney and Jones, even allowing for Trengove, Toumpas and Watts to never amount to anything haha. Yet it's still likely that with our development habits they'll all turn out to be useless. It's especially dangerous with Stretch as an outside mid. Petracca and Brayshaw should develop pretty much like Viney has from day 1 but I wouldn't count on Billy making much of an impact for a couple of years.
I know everyone wants to trade P3 but honestly I don't see where it's going to go. No club is going to let a player who is worth pick 3 go, and GWS and GC seem to have most of their elite talent pretty much signed up. The best chance is probably Dangerfield; if the Crows do think he's a genuine chance to leave at the end of next year they might be willing to cut their losses early.
It's certainly a lot of talent to add to the midfield to go with Tyson, Salem, Viney and Jones, even allowing for Trengove, Toumpas and Watts to never amount to anything haha. Yet it's still likely that with our development habits they'll all turn out to be useless. It's especially dangerous with Stretch as an outside mid. Petracca and Brayshaw should develop pretty much like Viney has from day 1 but I wouldn't count on Billy making much of an impact for a couple of years.
I know everyone wants to trade P3 but honestly I don't see where it's going to go. No club is going to let a player who is worth pick 3 go, and GWS and GC seem to have most of their elite talent pretty much signed up. The best chance is probably Dangerfield; if the Crows do think he's a genuine chance to leave at the end of next year they might be willing to cut their losses early.
My tip is to the Bulldogs. P3 + 2nd rounder (which should be at 21 or so) to the Dogs for Hrovat and 7.
The Dogs are screaming out for a monster. P3 should get them Wright. Park him next to Cramieri with the midfield they already have and I have them in the 8. Need to be bold.