Mega Thread 2014 Drafts complete

I know GC wouldn't do this as they are still trying to build depth, but i keep imaging a dream scenario where we trade pick 3 for 8 and 15. The Saints take Petracca at 1, we get Brayshaw at 2 and a trade for a player for 3 doesn't come up. We don't want to take a KPF at 3 so we trade it for the picks and somehow end up getting another a grade midfielder and a KPF as well.

Or Saints don't take Petracca and we get both.

Proven good players are nice and all, but this time of year is all about visualising players winning Brownlows and Norm Smiths in Red and Blue, whilst not actually knowing what they look or play like :)

I'd love this trade. Means we could probably get Laverde and de Goey; two good sized mids one goes forward the other goes back. Still means we could be a KPF in McKenzie or Keitel with our 2nd rounder.

But I agree, I doubt it would happen

What is this in reference to?
Some Adelaide Crows knob, said Geelong will pay Frawley enough to get us band 1 compo only if we trade that pick to them so they can target Danferfield

Don't know what i would say if we drafted Caleb Marchbank, actually went to the school with the guy, i've seen him play in the GVFL

We're more competitive than we were last year but Roos has hardly set us up for the future. Still plenty of work to be done there. Tyson, Salem and JKH all look like good pick ups, but Riley, Michie, Harmes and King haven't done anything of note yet.

The purpose of drafting players for the future has nothing to do with saying after one season "look at these guys, they've done nothing of note yet". It's for the future and if they're being developed properly there isn't going to be pressure put on them to impress impatient supporters.

The whole succession plan is about leaving the club in a better position than when Roos got the job and leaving the coaching successor both the best possible list for the present and the future. It's not about ego for Roos and Jackson, it's about making a difference.

Some Adelaide Crows knob, said Geelong will pay Frawley enough to get us band 1 compo only if we trade that pick to them so they can target Danferfield

I can just imagine that going down.

Geelong: So you guys are cool with trading the pick back after you get the compo

Melbourne: Of course, bring it on!

Geelong: Ok done, you guys should get pick 3 now

Melbourne: ...

Geelong: Now give it back.

Melbourne: Give what back?

The purpose of drafting players for the future has nothing to do with saying after one season "look at these guys, they've done nothing of note yet". It's for the future and if they're being developed properly there isn't going to be pressure put on them to impress impatient supporters.

The whole succession plan is about leaving the club in a better position than when Roos got the job and leaving the coaching successor both the best possible list for the present and the future. It's not about ego for Roos and Jackson, it's about making a difference.

I'm not saying bin them, they've done nothing after one year. I'm saying we don't know whether they'll make it or not yet so you can hardly say the future is secure. As for the succession plan, Roos has got Goodwin in place. How about some good kids to go with it?

Leaving the club in a better place than when he got the job is about as low a bar as you can set in football. I'd like to see a healthy future where we have a nucleus of good players to look forward to watching in more than a few years. Trading in 28 year old spadgers is propping up a shit team instead of building a quality one.

I'm not saying bin them, they've done nothing after one year. I'm saying we don't know whether they'll make it or not yet so you can hardly say the future is secure. As for the succession plan, Roos has got Goodwin in place. How about some good kids to go with it?

Leaving the club in a better place than when he got the job is about as low a bar as you can set in football. I'd like to see a healthy future where we have a nucleus of good players to look forward to watching in more than a few years. Trading in 28 year old spadgers is propping up a shit team instead of building a quality one.
He's a spadger who played 199 games for a footy club that's missed the finals about 2 years in 8, won a flag and came second the next year and spent most of those years in the top 4.

He may be good, he may not be. The important thing to note is that our footy club is on life support right now. More Lumumba's and Garlett's and less Terlich's and Blease's are important to us.

I think there's a balance. The point I was making is that they weren't going all out for making the team as good as possible right now with total abandon for the future (otherwise the big deal with the 2 first round draft picks would've been made without getting back pick 9 to get Salem).

It's a huge task being taken on and it's extremely difficult to tick every box for what you're doing and what you're trying to achieve. As far as I can tell they are trying as much as they can to set up for the future as they are for today. It's a ridiculous task given where the club was at and where it wants to be while trying to bridge the gap as quickly as possible.

Sort of but not quite

Frawley had agreed to terms with Geelong

Geelong held ALL THE CARDS

They were then going to strong arm us, saying they'd offer him a large enough contract to ensure we get band 1 compo IF we gave them pick 2 for Blicavs and Hunt (hello draft tampering), so they could target Dangerfield

All this came from his close contacts of his who were player managers.....

I reckon a Dees player must've rooted his mrs

Hasnt reappeared on that thread either

He's a spadger who played 199 games for a footy club that's missed the finals about 2 years in 8, won a flag and came second the next year and spent most of those years in the top 4.

He may be good, he may not be. The important thing to note is that our footy club is on life support right now. More Lumumba's and Garlett's and less Terlich's and Blease's are important to us.

Yes and Chris Dawes has won a Premiership and Shannen Byrnes was this close to winning a Norm Smith, etc and have been absolutely fantastic for us. If we're in the market for a mediocre defender, Gwilt is available for nothing. I sincerely hope we're not going to sign a flakey small forward who goes missing most of the time in Garlett as well.

It's not an either / or. We don't have to have any of Lumumba, Garlett, Terlich or Blease (well Terlich is contracted, but what's done is done)... accumulating more ****wits, rejects and *******s isn't going to get us far.

Yes and Chris Dawes has won a Premiership and Shannen Byrnes was this close to winning a Norm Smith, etc and have been absolutely fantastic for us. If we're in the market for a mediocre defender, Gwilt is available for nothing. I sincerely hope we're not going to sign a flakey small forward who goes missing most of the time in Garlett as well.

It's not an either / or. We don't have to have any of Lumumba, Garlett, Terlich or Blease (well Terlich is contracted, but what's done is done)... accumulating more *******s, rejects and *******s isn't going to get us far.

So what's your alternative?

It's very easy to shoot down the players the club appear to rate and are trying to secure and that actually want to come here but not so easy to offer solutions to the recruiting hurdles that are still in front of us.

I think there's a balance. The point I was making is that they weren't going all out for making the team as good as possible right now with total abandon for the future (otherwise the big deal with the 2 first round draft picks would've been made without getting back pick 9 to get Salem).

It's a huge task being taken on and it's extremely difficult to tick every box for what you're doing and what you're trying to achieve. As far as I can tell they are trying as much as they can to set up for the future as they are for today. It's a ridiculous task given where the club was at and where it wants to be while trying to bridge the gap as quickly as possible.

This year was the easy year. Take a mismanaged team with no tactics and players who obviously had no love for the previous coach and improve them. We picked up Tyson, Cross and Vince and won 4 games with an improved percentage. We still finished two wins behind Brisbane who had a truckload of injuries, no forwards and a team half full of kids.

I don't have a problem going all out for the future. If you're going to do something, go the whole hog. Hedging your bets over building for the future and putting a side together for the now is a great way to do neither. Let's say we get Lumumba and Garlett and they both play well, Cross, Vince, Jamar etc stave off the ravages of time for another year and Hogan plays a full season. We'd still be lucky to finish 12th.

We're a bad enough team that good kids can come straight in and at least be worth their spot. I'd rather we went that route instead of prolonging the career of Jeff Garlett or allowing Harry O more time on his soapbox. Given we seem to have proper development staff in place, now is the best time to do it (before someone jumps in with the yarn about us doing nothing with draft picks for the last 8 years).

So what's your alternative?

It's very easy to shoot down the players the club appear to rate and are trying to secure and that actually want to come here but not so easy to offer solutions to the recruiting hurdles that are still in front of us.

Draft picks. Use them at the draft. Do your homework, bring good kids in and develop them. Might just be crazy enough to work.

This year was the easy year. Take a mismanaged team with no tactics and players who obviously had no love for the previous coach and improve them. We picked up Tyson, Cross and Vince and won 4 games with an improved percentage. We still finished two wins behind Brisbane who had a truckload of injuries, no forwards and a team half full of kids.

I don't have a problem going all out for the future. If you're going to do something, go the whole hog. Hedging your bets over building for the future and putting a side together for the now is a great way to do neither. Let's say we get Lumumba and Garlett and they both play well, Cross, Vince, Jamar etc stave off the ravages of time for another year and Hogan plays a full season. We'd still be lucky to finish 12th.

We're a bad enough team that good kids can come straight in and at least be worth their spot. I'd rather we went that route instead of prolonging the career of Jeff Garlett or allowing Harry O more time on his soapbox. Given we seem to have proper development staff in place, now is the best time to do it (before someone jumps in with the yarn about us doing nothing with draft picks for the last 8 years).

Going all out for the future doesn't work. That's the strategy GWS unabashedly went for with full backing and resources of the AFL behind them, it's just ended up in a mess with trying to develop too many kids at the same time. There needs to be balance.

And wasn't this tried previously? When the captain prematurely got the axe (with a lack of leadership on the list) for the sake of kids getting more game time?

Going all out for the future doesn't work. That's the strategy GWS unabashedly went for with full backing and resources of the AFL behind them, it's just ended up in a mess with trying to develop too many kids at the same time. There needs to be balance.

And wasn't this tried previously? When the captain prematurely got the axe (with a lack of leadership on the list) for the sake of kids getting more game time?

Bit early to call GWS a failure, I would have thought. They went all out for kids and of course it was going to take longer - weren't you preaching to me about patience a few posts ago?

Yes it was tried previously, and the previous regimes ****ed it up. That's why with what seems to be a good setup at the moment it's important to give it a crack and get it right this time.

Bit early to call GWS a failure, I would have thought. They went all out for kids and of course it was going to take longer - weren't you preaching to me about patience a few posts ago?

Yes it was tried previously, and the previous regimes ****** it up. That's why with what seems to be a good setup at the moment it's important to give it a crack and get it right this time.

If the right talent can be identified lower down, take them

Otherwise trade in

We need to start winning otherwise we die

It's not an either / or. We don't have to have any of Lumumba, Garlett, Terlich or Blease (well Terlich is contracted, but what's done is done)... accumulating more *******s, rejects and *******s isn't going to get us far.
199 games isn't something that just happens, especially for a side as consistently as brilliant as Collingwood. I know you have no time for Dawes because of what we paid for him, but he plays his role well and is infinitely better than any of Maric, Blease, Strauss, Tapscott and Cook who we have drafted in that 12-19 range in recent years. Byrnes was crap, as was Rodan - but at least they were essentially bought for nothing.

I'd probably rather Gwilt as well, but it is undeniable that we need to get a core of experienced and accomplished players into the club. We are still hurting, 4, 5, 6 seasons later, from the abrupt delistings of White, Yze, Robertson, Whelan, Wheatley, Brown and Junior because we never had that transition. We had a very solid list for a number of years, and then we let them all go and replaced them with players who were always cursed to have no direction on top of the fact that our recruiting manager at the time was terrible at his job.

Jones, Vince, Dawes, Cross and Dunn are great and all, but we've just lost Frawley and Clark and AFAIC we really need more proven experience at the club.

It'll probably be Lumumba for pick 33. Don't start romanticising draft picks again because our recruiter actually knows what he's doing.

If the right talent can be identified lower down, take them

Otherwise trade in

We need to start winning otherwise we die

I look at it the other way. If we're constantly on a quest to finish 12th, we die (slowly). We're not going to become a good side picking off dropkick halfbacks and rejects in their late 20s / early 30s. We need to build a squad capable of finishing in the top 4 and actually threatening to win something. You can handle a bit of pain as long as we see progress. Under Bailey it was a mixed bag, we went backwards under Neeld, now we've got Roos. Promising signs thus far, but what he does in the next two years is critical. If the legacy he leaves behind is picking up council collection trash like Harry O and Garlett, then he hasn't done much for us.

Nothing wrong in bringing in some experienced players, providing they don't cost too much. To develop the players properly you do need to bring in some experience. Also even if the team makes a small rise up the ladder then it would increase the club to be able to attract good players or free agents to come to the club.