Mega Thread 2014 Drafts complete

So De Goey is now De Go, ey?

I'll show myself out...

I think the pundits like the fact that pick 4-20 are extremely hard to pick even at this late in the lead up. The problem with these rumours is that everyone likes to talks up what their cousins friends barbers mothers vet said about whats happening with pick 1-3.

IMO, 1-3 are set in stone in terms of who. But there are only two options. Petracca - Brayshaw - McCartin or McCartin - Petracca - Brayshaw.

At this stage I'm happy with 2 of those 3. It's picks 40 and 53 that I'm interested in now.

I do agree. But is this on footballing ability or knee injury?
Well, he's missed the entirety of the most important year of his junior football with an ACL - which itself is a huge risk.

And when he did play, he was an undersized CHB who people now think could play midfield despite the fact that he hasn't played at all in over a year.

Well, he's missed the entirety of the most important year of his junior football with an ACL - which itself is a huge risk.

And when he did play, he was an undersized CHB who people now think could play midfield despite the fact that he hasn't played at all in over a year.

Yeah, that's fair. And with our history of drafting in the last few years, the smaller risk the better.

But in terms of missing the last year as a junior. Selwood and Stringer both missed large chunks if not the whole year of footy in similar circumstances. Having said that, I go back to my other point, minimize risk at the draft table please!!!

Probably the wrong thread but does anyone know how Jake Lovett has been progressing?? I believe his draft class will be 2015.
Wasn't selected for Vic Country U18s this year as an underage player AFAIK. Played U16s for them last year and wasn't that notable I think.

If and when we draft someone that's not McCartin or Lever and they turn out crap, we're really going to deserve it this time.

Who knows - all I know is that there are plenty of talented players in the top ten - don't buy into this weak draft talk, it looks a pretty good one.

It's worth posting good ol' Whispering's post on Land:

"I went to the club's draft information night on Thursday evening which featured Jason Taylor and Todd Viney. They discussed the club's 2014 trade and draft strategies and the development of the club's list.

The main thing I came away with was that the only imperative when making selections 2 & 3 was to take the best player available. Of course, there's still a subjective element there because the "best" would have to comply with the style of game the head coach and football department are striving to achieve.

Jason Taylor gave his brief impressions of the four leading candidates for picks 2 & 3, stressing that they were not in any particular order - Christian Petracca, Patrick McCartin, Angus Brayshaw and Jake Lever. He gave brief pen pictures of all four and I won't go into exact details but they were generally in accord with what the better draft watchers in the media have been saying.

The impression I gained was that the expectation is that Petracca is likely to be picked by the Saints and that we're more likely to take McCartin and Brayshaw ahead of Lever. I gathered this mainly from his body language and voice when describing the players. I could be wrong but he sounded quite enthusiastic about McCartin and unless he's a very good actor, it seems to me that he'll be taken ahead of Lever if it comes to that.

Taylor and Viney's best 4 differs from that referred to by Josh Mahoney in a recent interview (he had Peter Wright in there and not Lever).

Taylor also said that he was not fazed by McCartin's diabetes issues (he was in receipt of updated medical reports) or the fact that some consider him a similar type to Jesse Hogan and he believed that if we took McCartin they would complement each other.

I wouldn't worry about any other player as a candidate for 2 & 3. The choices will come from those four names.

I also attended a charity lunch for Les Twentyman's foundation for homeless and troubled youth and Paul Roos was keynote speaker.

While he didn't cover any specific ground relating to who we would pick here or anywhere else he did stress the importance of character and commitment of young recruits, something about which both Taylor and Viney were both strong in their presentations and which their best four definitely fit very well
."

And to top that off another poster who was there added:

"Taylor did say that it would be a brave club, that would recruit a player who has not played this whole year, after an ACL, with an early pick".

It will be out of Petracca, Brayshaw and McCartin. Perfect result in my eyes.

Who knows - all I know is that there are plenty of talented players in the top ten - don't buy into this weak draft talk, it looks a pretty good one.
Yeah I've never cared much for the 'weak draft' claim - seems to be wheeled out every year. It's definitely a power packed top 10 or even 20, but I'm not so interested in that so much as the top 3. McCartin is a fair way ahead of anyone else, so hopefully we just pick him.

Not one for us, but Jarrod Garlett looks like a great player. Really hope he comes on, could be a ripper. Always a worry with outside types, although he looks like he has some clearance ability (not the size though).

My limited understanding is that if the draft was today, he would be around the same level as Billy Stretch.
Stretch improved A LOT in the last 12 months so hopefully Lovett does the same.

With P53 in play now, what are people's thoughts on Caleb Daniels ??

Whist height is obviously an issue, anyone with 90% disposal efficiency across +60 possessions and 3 games is worth look. Based on champion data statistics he's rated in the top 20 of the draft (16th). He's an outside player that can win his own ball, needs to work on his explosiveness but reports are that he is and that he has. In fact he has had to work incredibly hard to get to where he is today.

So the question is really just his height... Doesn't seen to have held boomer back, granted he is lightening quick. But is Caleb was half as good as boomer he's worth a look at 53 IMO.

Whist height is obviously an issue, anyone with 90% disposal efficiency across +60 possessions and 3 games is worth look. Based on champion data statistics he's rated in the top 20 of the draft (16th). He's an outside player that can win his own ball, needs to work on his explosiveness but reports are that he is and that he has. In fact he has had to work incredibly hard to get to where he is today.

So the question is really just his height... Doesn't seen to have held boomer back, granted he is lightening quick. But is Caleb was half as good as boomer he's worth a look at 53 IMO.

Height needs to be ignored, I know nothing about him but the height argument is ****ing stupid
Unless he tries to play like Bartel then it wont matter if he cant mark it in a pack, so if he is any good then take him

Most draft experts don't expect him to be picked up in the ND. With that in mind we have the 2nd rookie pick & perhaps that is our best option.

Personally, I reckon we use picks 2 and 3 on best available(most likely Brayshaw and McCartin) and picks 40 and 53 based on our needs. I feel a tall defender and an outside running player would be great options.