Mega Thread 2014 Drafts complete

"Recently, another club ruled a player out because his room was too messy".

Can just imagine how this went down..

Todd Viney: "ok team, I'd like to introduce another member to our recruiting team who will be providing us with a fresh perspective on our potential draft selections. Please make Carson from the hit show 'Queer eye for the straight guy' welcome!"

*polite applause

Carson: "heeeey everyone, before I start I'd like to give an extra special thank you to Todd who may I just say, has me wishing I could be reborn as a headband in the early 90's grrrr!"

Todd Viney: "oh stop it Carson!"

Simon Goodwin: "haha! I don't know what that means!"

Carson: "anyhoo, back to on planet earth, I'd like to begin my report with young patrick mcartin, who might be able to take a good catch and kick a good lay up, but God forbid would it kill him to have a little item called a clothes basket? Iv seen cleaner grounds in New York alleyways at 3.00am... And don't get me started on the drapes,cause honey I just don't have the strength and Todd I may need you to pick me up"

Todd Viney: "stop it Carson, I'm blushing!"

How i wish that Morton, Gysberts, Strauss, Cook, Toumpas, Trengove, Tapscott, Blease and Watts all smeared their own shit on their bedroom walls.

You won't be wishing that by the end of next year.

Also Trengove is a bit stiff, his problems are injury related nothing else.

I've heard of recruiters even looking out for kids who's rooms are too tidy! I'm being 100% serious here.

They get concerned that either the parents still do too much for the kid, or just that they may become too stressed when things aren't in order - or their life takes a big change.

Very, very strange.

I've heard of recruiters even looking out for kids who's rooms are too tidy! I'm being 100% serious here.

They get concerned that either the parents still do too much for the kid, or just that they may become too stressed when things aren't in order - or their life takes a big change.

Very, very strange.

Far too much Psychology involved, they should just see if the kid can play relative to his size and age then work out if he has a weekend ice habit

You won't be wishing that by the end of next year.

Also Trengove is a bit stiff, his problems are injury related nothing else.

coolstorybro.jpg

yea yea heard it all before, a break out year coming up for another top ten dud who has shown absolutely nothing.

ill believe it when i see it

coolstorybro.jpg

yea yea heard it all before, a break out year coming up for another top ten dud who has shown absolutely nothing.

ill believe it when i see it

Something wrong with you if you are writing off a kid 2 years into his career that hasn't had a pre-season and gone through double hip surgery and appendicitis.

mate, he has the stench of dud or bust written all over him, try as you might to believe in him i cant see it happening. He will be another first rounder headed for the scrap heap, can see it already.

You've gone a little early on this one I reckon Rude.

I think it's in his favour that there is room for a classy outside mid in our side if he can make that role his own.

I'm a little nervous about the defensive and physical side though - which has been a feature of our other duds (Tapscott excluded).

If I see some gut running, pace and head over the ball stuff from him this year, then I'll be very happy.

You've gone a little early on this one I reckon Rude.

I think it's in his favour that there is room for a classy outside mid in our side if he can make that role his own.

I'm a little nervous about the defensive and physical side though - which has been a feature of our other duds (Tapscott excluded).

If I see some gut running, pace and head over the ball stuff from him this year, then I'll be very happy.

There was room for an outside runner ( blease )
A classy kick ( Strauss )
A hard Flanker ( tapscott )
A midfielder who could go back an forward ( Morton )
A full forward ( Watts )

I agree completely with rude , it's only blind faith that could have you thinking toumpas will break out
Nothing about his play has shown me he can be a high quality afl player

I can only see toumpas improving if the whole team does and he gets easy footy

There was room for an outside runner ( blease )
A classy kick ( Strauss )
A hard Flanker ( tapscott )
A midfielder who could go back an forward ( Morton )
A full forward ( Watts )

I agree completely with rude , it's only blind faith that could have you thinking toumpas will break out
Nothing about his play has shown me he can be a high quality afl player

I can only see toumpas improving if the whole team does and he gets easy footy

Or if you've actually see him play before Melbourne, it's not blind faith.

Based on what?

Hes incrediably soft, slow and ineffective with the footy. Not in the sense that he turns it over a heap but because he isnt damaging with it. Im yet to see anything at all skill wise from him that resemebles or looks like a first rounder let alone top 5 worthy.

Or if you've actually see him play before Melbourne, it's not blind faith.

He has no upside, what you saw then is what you see now. Doubtful he has it in him to raise his game to the next level

Hes incrediably soft, slow and ineffective with the footy. Not in the sense that he turns it over a heap but because he isnt damaging with it. Im yet to see anything at all skill wise from him that resemebles or looks like a first rounder let alone top 5 worthy.

He has no upside, what you saw then is what you see now. Doubtful he has it in him to raise his game to the next level

Why exactly aren't you a recruiter if you are so well informed and apparently can see the future so clearly? I'll just say I believe you'll be surprised at just how good Jimmy Toumpas is, I'm extremely confident that he will turn into a very good player for Melbourne.

Why exactly aren't you a recruiter if you are so wyell informed and apparently can see the future so clearly? I'll just say I believe you'll be surprised at just how good Jimmy Toumpas is, I'm extremely confident that he will turn into a very good player for Melbourne.
Everyone told me the same thing about each dud i predicted before Toumpas, i often ask myself the same thing, if a nobody like myself can see these kids are duds why cant the blokes paid to do the job?

The only one i have got semi wrong has been Howe. If you recall how happy i was to get Tyson last year when we traded for him and others were unsure. I think Salem looks like a very good player in the making, im not all doom and gloom, i just call it how i see it and more often than not my instincts from very early on are proven correct.

I hope im wrong re Toumpas but history suggests im on the mark, again, unfortunate as it is for us :(

Irrespective of the duds we've picked (and we've picked many) our development has been utter shithouse.

The reality is that Toumpas was always a first rounder no matter who picked him. At the very least he should be serviceable if injury free and developed properly. Big pre-season for him personally coming up.

Worthiness of pick2 is highly debatable though.

Irrespective of the duds we've picked (and we've picked many) our development has been utter shithouse.

The reality is that Toumpas was always a first rounder no matter who picked him. At the very least he should be serviceable if injury free and developed properly. Big pre-season for him personally coming up.

Worthiness of pick2 is highly debatable though.

Pick 4, but your point still stands.

If you go down that draft year, you can already see some pretty solid talent. I'm not sure that his injuries have held him back as much as we might hope, but he certainly still has time to show use hat he is capable of more.

Pick 4, but your point still stands.

If you go down that draft year, you can already see some pretty solid talent. I'm not sure that his injuries have held him back as much as we might hope, but he certainly still has time to show use hat he is capable of more.

You don't think double hip surgery would have held him back much? Kicking, running, etc get significantly affected by this.

Quite a few if you go back and look at the thread when we traded away Josh Kelly for him.
I'll have to take your word for it. I mostly remember Tyson and pick 9 for pick 2 being widely held on the board as prudent to the point we continually called out flog Barrett for taking the trade out of context.

Irrespective, preferring Josh Kelly (a player we wouldn't have even drafted at pick2) is not the same as being uncertain about Tyson. A good 2nd year mid was what most posters realised we needed.

But at the end of the day the thing that matters i guess is that Tyson has performed very well and hopefully we get him some good company this year.

I'll have to take your word for it. I mostly remember Tyson and pick 9 for pick 2 being widely held on the board as prudent to the point we continually called out flog Barrett for taking the trade out of context.

Irrespective, preferring Josh Kelly (a player we wouldn't have even drafted at pick2) is not the same as being uncertain about Tyson. A good 2nd year mid was what most posters realised we needed.

But at the end of the day the thing that matters i guess is that Tyson has performed very well and hopefully we get him some good company this year.

Believe it or not i dont want to be right, give me the day one of these kids sticks it up me and makes me look like complete moron.

The conjecture re Tyson was that Kelly was going to be a star, iirc, I had no doubts Tyson was a star in his own right after seeing him in the U18 championships. Thats what i meant by unsure on Tyson.

FWIW, this year I hope we get the two mids, think they are both sure fire stars, not convinced on McC, wouldn't mind if we reached for another mid at 3 instead of him if Pet doesn't slide.

De Goey the one I like.