Mega Thread 2014 Drafts complete

No need to argue. I doubt anyone wants Toumpas to bust.

Now lets hug it out like our next two stars :p

352414.jpg

Believe it or not i dont want to be right, give me the day one of these kids sticks it up me and makes me look like complete moron.

The conjecture re Tyson was that Kelly was going to be a star, iirc, I had no doubts Tyson was a star in his own right after seeing him in the U18 championships. That was I meant by unsure on Tyson.

FWIW, this year I hope we get the two mids, think they are both sure fire stars, not convinced on McC, wouldn't mind if we reached for another mid at 3 instead of him if Pet doesn't slide.

I realise you aren't taking satisfaction out of how many duds we've had Rude. It's too sad to think about. Morton, Cook, Gysberts particularly.

I just think that we've all been scarred over the years by Cameron and Barry P that it can be easy to forget how bad our development has been - and, I might add, injuries.

Watts shits me but he was grossly mismanaged early on. Trengove - we make him co-captain and he ****s his foot. Blease couldn't gain endurance but Geelong willing to query that. Port were willing to trade picks 8+9 iirc for Toump.

I've unloaded on Barry P too over the years - he has set us back years but not enough of our draftees have been given the best chance of succeeding.

Roos has said time and time again our whole approach to playing and developing the kids has been flawed over the years. It's why I don't take any notice of those 2 bit articles about the players we could have drafted instead because most of those players wouldn't have been the same player at Melbourne anyway, sad but true. Not to say you aren't good at picking duds just that there's more to it for many of them - apart from the obvious Barry P rabbits that were never coming out of that hat.

Re: the draft I have NFI. Won't argue with 2 mids if Roos goes that way.

Todd Viney, iirc was responsible for the Toumpas pick.

I agree with your post in most parts. Development is important but i also think the player has to have an inner willingness to want to get better himself. im not saying all our busts have been like this and maybe we could have developed them better, but I also think the majority of our busts havent /don't have the desire to be the best they can be. That's the attribute I link with a lot of them, you can see heart and desire in a player even from a very early age.

Its like they seem happy to have made it to the AFL, happy to collect a pay cheque, happy to pick up footy slappers on the weekend and that will do them. I don't know, maybe its just me who sees it like this but that's how I look at a lot of them.

Its little wonder I love Jones, Viney, Tyson, and Cross. They break the mould of in my view, your typical Melbourne player of the past 7 years.

I realise you aren't taking satisfaction out of how many duds we've had Rude. It's too sad to think about. Morton, Cook, Gysberts particularly.

I just think that we've all been scarred over the years by Cameron and Barry P that it can be easy to forget how bad our development has been - and, I might add, injuries.

Watts shits me but he was grossly mismanaged early on. Trengove - we make him co-captain and he ****s his foot. Blease couldn't gain endurance but Geelong willing to query that. Port were willing to trade picks 8+9 iirc for Toump.

I've unloaded on Barry P too over the years - he has set us back years but not enough of our draftees have been given the best chance of succeeding.

Roos has said time and time again our whole approach to playing and developing the kids has been flawed over the years. It's why I don't take any notice of those 2 bit articles about the players we could have drafted instead because most of those players wouldn't have been the same player at Melbourne anyway, sad but true. Not to say you aren't good at picking duds just that there's more to it for many of them - apart from the obvious Barry P rabbits that were never coming out of that hat.

Re: the draft I have NFI. Won't argue with 2 mids if Roos goes that way.

I agree with your post in most parts. Development is important but i also think the player has to have an inner willingness to want to get better himself. im not saying all our busts have been like this and maybe we could have developed them better, but I also think the majority of our busts havent /don't have the desire to be the best they can be. That's the attribute I link with a lot of them, you can see heart and desire in a player even from a very early age.

Its like they seem happy to have made it to the AFL, happy to collect a pay cheque, happy to pick up footy slappers on the weekend and that will do them. I don't know, maybe its just me who sees it like this but that's how I look at a lot of them.

Its little wonder I love Jones, Viney, Tyson, and Cross. They break the mould of in my view, your typical Melbourne player of the past 7 years.

Exactly right mate
Where has the magical development of cook, gysberts, Morton , Sylvia , scully etc after they left our club

I'm not worried about toumpass skill set I'm worried about the lack of composure , ability to win the footy on his own or half contests

I completely with rude, it's not something easily described but having watched kids come through the juniors to afl there is a certain something that top players have that I don't see in toumpas

I called blease a spud early and I was on the kent train so early that people were still saying he would never make it and was shit

For instance I saw more from Salem in his first few games than I have ever seen in toumpas and I comfortably think he's a better player

There junior records mean nothing to me , plenty of kids dominate people there size then can't handle it when they face the best of the best

Exactly right mate
Where has the magical development of cook, gysberts, Morton , Sylvia , scully etc after they left our club

Hardly anyone has argued Cook, Gysberts or Morton weren't dud picks. You could throw in Strauss too. Heaps of posters lamented getting Cook at the time and most of us never liked Morton since day one. It's also commonly accepted we reached for Gysberts (BP being clever).

Sylvia has gone to shit yet was still one of our better players when he actually put in (go figure). At 28 he was always in for a shock at Freo.

The only one you could genuinely question is Scully who competes with a much better midfield group. He's probably too busy thinking about his money.

We've picked poorly and developed poorly it's that simple.

Toumpas' injuries are only an excuse if he comes good next year. I'm happy to give draftees four years, but no more excuses. If you're good enough, you're good enough.

I hope you blokes are wrong - but you do have a very solid record A11dAtP0w3R .

I need to see a little more myself, so I'm shamefully sitting on the fence at this point - but I'll have a view for you midway through this year.

A11dAtP0w3R has really lucked out though, everything at the club has turned to shit - it'll be harder to predict doom with good people in the club.

Funnily enough partly at the advice of his son Jack, who said that Jimmy was the player who he would most want to play with at AFL level.

Toumpas' injuries are only an excuse if he comes good next year. I'm happy to give draftees four years, but no more excuses. If you're good enough, you're good enough.
Just shooting from the hip here so don't fry me if wrong, but it's toumpas' 3rd year next year isn't it?

Sam Landsberg has declared in his phantom draft in todays HUN that Melbourne have decided against Lever and will be taking the residual of McCartin or Petracca with pick 3, but almost certainly McCartin. :thumbsu:

I hope you blokes are wrong - but you do have a very solid record A11dAtP0w3R .

I need to see a little more myself, so I'm shamefully sitting on the fence at this point - but I'll have a view for you midway through this year.

I think Roos and the coaching panel will push Toumpas to get to where he needs to be in terms of effort and professionalism. Perhaps like a lot of people he can't do this on his own / doesn't know how to, so under our previous regimes he'd have been completely stuffed. As you say by midseason 2015 we should have a better idea.

Im not aware of any concerns regarding effort or professionalism though.

In fact he's very hard on himself and they've had to help him relax a little, and make sure he's happy and enjoying it.

http://www.saints.com.au/news/2014-11-24/st-kilda-settles-on-first-pick

Sounds like they MIGHT take McCartin..

“We believed the choice at pick one came down to Paddy McCartin or Christian Petracca but that Angus Brayshaw would also have been a worthy selection.

“It is not as black and white as some people believe. While Petracca is a very exciting forward/midfielder I think McCartin’s claims on being the top selection have been undersold as he’s a quality key forward and they don’t grow on trees.

Say they do take McCartin, are we happy about that? Or do we prefer McCartin over Petracca?
We've all been convincing ourselves (for very good reasons) that McCartin would be great. But the midfield is a pressing need.

It's funny reading the Saints board. Clearly they've gotten use to the idea of Petracca going to them at #1. Now that it might not be a formality, some are calling it 'astoundingly stupid' and 'the biggest mistake since choosing Ball over Judd'.

This just proves what Alan Richardson was saying this morning. McCartin is very much fit to be a #1 possibility, the guy is bloody good. Furthermore, we won't know which of the duo will be better for at least a couple of years. Weren't we doing cartwheels 24 months ago when news filtered through Toumpas was going to slide?

FWIW I'd prefer Petracca.

I reckon that is why Riewoltd got a two year extension for him to mentor McCartain the next two years. I was looking forward to Brayshaw and McCartain to, oh well I guess I could cope seeing Patracca and Brayshaw lining up in the red and blue. But guess will just have to wait 3 more sleepless nights thinking about it to see what happens.