Mega Thread 2014 Drafts complete

This talk of him being the potential lovechild of Watts and Terlich is making me a little scared.
If it's Watts' skill and Terlich's hardness and endeavour he'll be one of the greats. If it's the opposite, we're ****ed.

I've seen him play, and his kicking looks fine to me?

He's a very outside type though, and his defensive acts leave a bit to be desired.

I can see Roos playing him at Casey until he fixes those aspects up.

His kicking looks okay off the boot, he often over or under hits his kicks by 5+ metres (mainly over) and doesn't hit them too quickly - doesn't have great penetration.

Only my opinion, but average is what I'd call it.

His kicking looks okay off the boot, he often over or under hits his kicks by 5+ metres (mainly over) and doesn't hit them too quickly - doesn't have great penetration.

Only my opinion, but average is what I'd call it.

Sounds like he'd still be one of the best kicks on our list, and if he under-hits a pass by 5 metres it could work in our favour if we get him to hit up Dawes as often as possible.

I'm pretty sure I've seen you say that players who are soft and can't win the contested ball as juniors are going to struggle at AFL level, you've used this example on Toumpas in the past. Stretch has heaps of talent but his softness means picking him up in the second round is a big risk to us, he is a development player and I would rather go for a more ready made ball winner with our second round pick.

Absolutely. If they're soft they are completely useless at AFL level. There's no coming back.

I haven't seen enough of the boy to have an opinion worth valuing.

Let's not pretend you're the king of reason when it comes to judging players.

Stretch can run, he runs all day and is quick - that's what he does well.

I've watched him play 5-6 times and at the moment a third/fourth round pick is where I expect we'll get him.

I'm definitely the king of reason, but that doesn't absolve me from making mistakes.

Absolutely. If they're soft they are completely useless at AFL level. There's no coming back.

I wouldn't say completely useless myself, I think they can make it but it's a much bigger risk and a lot more develop needs to be put in, which is why I would over look him in the second round.

He wont go in the second round, It would need one of Sydney Geelong or the Hawks to nominate him with their first pick, or the Saints with their second
We will get him for a 3rd

I agree, if you cant win your own footy at underage level its really a mental thing, a mental thing that no amount of training will fix

So who thinks that the Saints actually trade pick 1?

No chance, there is nothing on the market worth it
GWS may have let Patton or Boyd go had there been no injury

They will take Wright or McCartin

If they take Petracca they are dumber than I thought

He wont go in the second round, It would need one of Sydney Geelong or the Hawks to nominate him with their first pick, or the Saints with their second
We will get him for a 3rd
Yeah I thinks it's likely we'll get him in the 3rd, but I'm just saying if we had to use our 2nd I would be happy to pass on him.

I dont know much about him so I cant comment but I hope we would learn from taking projects with our 2nd rounder

Was flirting around the phantom drafts on the main board for no particularly good reason...

Pick 2 - Melbourne: Christian Petracca (Vic Metro, Balanced MID/General FWD)
186cm, 92kg, 4/1/96
Range: Top 5
Comparison: Colin Sylvia

Do not want.

Was flirting around the phantom drafts on the main board for no particularly good reason...

186cm, 92kg, 4/1/96

Do not want.

186cm, 92kg, 4/1/96

Do not want.
If Sylvia had actually applied himself he's exactly the kind of midfielder any club would want. Explosive, kicks goals, great disposal, etc. I don't think the comparison is on the basis of work ethic so much as player type.

186cm, 92kg, 4/1/96

Do not want.

Pick 2: Melbourne – Christian Petracca Position: Medium forward/midfielder
Height: 186 cm, Weight: 92 kg, DOB: 04/01/1996
Club: Eastern Ranges
Projected draft range: 1-5
Player comparison: Dustin Martin/Josh P Kennedy

Do Want.

If Sylvia had actually applied himself he's exactly the kind of midfielder any club would want. Explosive, kicks goals, great disposal, etc. I don't think the comparison is on the basis of work ethic so much as player type.

I don't really care, I find the whole player comparison / style thing a fair old wank.

Petracca will go inside the top 3, guaranteed.

and at 186cm he has the potential to still grow, he might even end up at 190cm that is a good upside.

I would think we should get the two best young mids .. Petracca and Brayshaw and then also get ROK and Sewell to teach the young kids how to train and pre (like Cross) .. if we got 22 games out of those two for the next year or so it would help drive standards.

186cm, 92kg, 4/1/96

Do not want.

Read the rest of it, he compares him to what Colin Sylvia would have been had he had a work ethic and a brain.

Tongue in cheek mate, I'm not concerned.

No great fan of reading the draft blurbs anyway - everyone sounds like the next Ablett / Carey / Silvagni. Just curious to see what names are floating around about our picks.

Tongue in cheek mate, I'm not concerned.

No great fan of reading the draft blurbs anyway - everyone sounds like the next Ablett / Carey / Silvagni. Just curious to see what names are floating around about our picks.

I know it was but someone is going to look at and IGHOSGOIUHSNTUOBHSN!

Chris25 and Knightmare are two guys over that really do know their stuff though, I'd recommend reading some of it.

I know it was but someone is going to look at and IGHOSGOIUHSNTUOBHSN!

Chris25 and Knightmare are two guys over that really do know their stuff though, I'd recommend reading some of it.

That's part of the fun.

Hard to take Knightmare seriously with his Nathan Buckley smirk avatar. Might have a twizzle through it closer to draft date - would like to see who we're delisting at the moment.