Mega Thread 2014 Drafts complete

Sad about Tappy. That first game he played against Sydney was terrific... was expecting big things. :(

That's why they've been my off and on second favourite team over the years. They are pathetic - I feel pity for them. Almost as much pity as I feel for the MFC...

But second teams can change like the weather - there's no need for loyalty. You just go with your heart in that moment.

Same. The only thing I really hate about the Saints is like quite a few other teams they always beat us.

Surprised we went with two more mids, only rookie draft though so doesn't mean much. Club made right call on tapscott, when you haven't shown anything for three years you aren't hanging around.

Pick 20: Mitchell White

Luke Tapscott finished, wanted Brock McLean :(

I know a small portion of the White family and Mitch played for the same junior club as I. With good knowledge I can confirm that for his size he is a competitive kid, was a big goal kicking CHF as a junior but turned to a defender when he got selected to sting rays and Vic country, he won the FDJFL (league) best and fairest in under 15's and was a multiple best and fairest winner in a side that won 3 premierships in a row in the top division. Mitch played in the same side as Jack Lonie and Rourke Fischer, a massive kick of the footy and very athletic. Mitch was also involved in a cricket squad which went to England to tour. Multi-talented and is up for the challenge, good get for the dee's, a versitile player who can play both ends.

Edit: Due to his physical strength and abilities it wouldn't surprise me if he was recruited as a big bodied midfielder. He was always an athletic foward in juniors and a versatile defender in Sting-Rays. Has the capability to become a damaging midfielder.
He had a game at Fullback for Vic Country against WA in which he gathered 20 odd disposals and was damaging, one of the best on the field.

Pedersen and Fitzpatrick are the extent of our KPF depth. This makes me nervous.

Since we've gone with another mid I really hope Vandenberg is better than Bampton.

Pedersen and Fitzpatrick are the extent of our KPF depth. This makes me nervous.

Since we've gone with another mid I really hope Vandenberg is better than Bampton.
It makes the LTI promoted rookie issue interesting.

Like for like, either Harmes or Vandenberg would fill the Trengove void with Harmes possibly in front although an entire pre-season ahead of us for players to develop and Vandenberg 22.

I'll be keeping tabs on King from the training reports though.

Assuming Hunt (senior list) is still a mile away, could be wrong.

It's a definite concern. And tall defenders aren't full of depth either considering Oscar McDonald is probably a fair way from a game, although we do have more flexibility with Dunn and Garland.

I guess though the mature talls available aren't any better than Pedersen and Fitzpatrick. McKernan just got redrafted after all!

The hope is another preseason and some confidence sees Pedersen and Fitzpatrick improve and Gawn as well if playing as the 2nd ruck. Plus I'm hoping we have more goal kicking options across the forward line this year.

Could also signal we want to play one of or both Howe/TMac up forward.
If anything I thought OMac had potential up forward down the track going from his highlights.

I'd be surprised if Howe doesn't play predominantly forward in 2015 though.

Yeah guys because drafting an 18 yr old rookie KF will provide us with depth .....

Pedo , Fitzy, Garland , Dunn, Howe could all go forward if needed
I like that we have gone mids again
It's not enough to have 6 good mids, if you look at the talent GWS and GC have going through there's your gonna need serious midfield depth to compete against these guys

Barring significant injury concerns, looks like Casey will be a lot more competitive this coming year too.
They will be very interesting to watch.

Poor Trengove at the end of 2015 will have a mountain of work in front of him for a 2016 mid spot at MFC. I'm almost resigned to thinking his only hope is HBF but even then there's competition coming through.

They will be very interesting to watch.

Poor Trengove at the end of 2014 will have a mountain of work in front of him for a 2015 mid spot at MFC. I'm almost resigned to thinking his only hope is HBF but even then there's competition coming through.
Could be strong of a HFF?

Yeah guys because drafting an 18 yr old rookie KF will provide us with depth .....
A mature ruck or forward never hurts (particularly ruck) but unfortunately none stood out this year to Roos and co.

Could be strong of a HFF?
Plenty of options open for Jack. I reckon he'd make a great tagger as well, if he can get over the foot issues. Not to play on the guys with super pace, but the Sam Mitchell/Jobe Watson types. Trengove has the tank to go with them, the hardness in the tackle and can be damaging going the other way. A bit like how Lingy used to play the same role.

Do you really expect us to sit back and praise another clubs player? Of course we are going to find reasons why the club didn't pick Petracca.it actually makes a lot more sense now the club has told us.
As for people having a problem with our board, fair duece to you all, express your feelings over here. Don't come on our board then come back and gloat about it. It's rather pathetic.

Ok kid, you've had your fun, but coming over here and telling us that we're pathetic is not on

Thanks Tulip. Aaron Vandenberg is known as Vanders to his mates. He eats, lives and breathes footy. As said previously he has a big tank and continually racks up big numbers. I agree though that it’s a very big step up from NEAFL to VFL or AFL. If anyone is going to embrace development its Vanders. I wish him all the best and hope he gets an opportunity at some stage this year.

Can't find your original post to quote mate, but well done on the Vandenburg call :thumbsu: