2014 Home Crowd Numbers

Our supporters are a joke if we can't crack 40k this week. Can't remember the last time we cracked the 40k barrier for a non-Derby, H&A game but there's no excuses not to do so on Saturday.

We have only done it 3 times:
41,624 - Fremantle v Collingwood (Round 8, 2010)
41,121 - Fremantle v Port Adelaide (Round 22, 2006)
40,901 - Fremantle v Collingwood (Round 19, 2004)

http://afltables.com/afl/crowds/fremantle.html

Anything below 40,000 this weekend will be extremely disappointing, if you can't make it give tickets to family/friends (Given they are Freo supporters!)

I remember Pav's 250th against the Gold Coast back in 2011.

It was cold, wet and windy and that kept the numbers down.

Hey guys, serious question here, not on here to troll. I was actually wanting know what your crowd numbers had been like in the last few years, and this thread answered my questions:D

As an Eagles memeber I am always dissapointed with the numbers at our games, we like you guys, can't seem to crack the 40k mark unless it's a derby, and TBH, I don't even know if we get 40 at an Eagles home derby the last few years (Fair weather jerks not showing up because they think we probably won't win) Finals aside, most weeks we sit around 35-38, which isn't great considering we have 57000 members, 42 or 43 seated and the majority of the rest in the wings waiting for seats. You guys must have close to full capacity as far as seated members go, so why are WA footy fans in general not showing up??

Anyway good luck for the weekend, Pav deserves a good win!

Our supporters are a joke if we can't crack 40k this week. Can't remember the last time we cracked the 40k barrier for a non-Derby, H&A game but there's no excuses not to do so on Saturday.
A mate I usually go to the footy with says he's not going this week because he just got out of hospital yesterday after having both knees replaced.

I'm so embarrassed.

A real mate would stick him in a wheelchair.

Lift your game Reggie.
I did think about contacting the club about that. Would they let you sit in that wheelchair section if you have a seat somewhere else?

I'll be overseas unfortunately, but have given my seats to some deserving Dockers supporters. Hope to see more than 40k there.

You guys must have close to full capacity as far as seated members go

Actually, reserved seat membership allocation is exhausted. I believe this year is the first time we've reached membership capacity. #GOFREO

so why are WA footy fans in general not showing up??

About 85% of members are showing up. Which means on average, our members attend (or have someone use their ticket) 9.35 games out of a possible 11. I doubt it's ever going to get much better than that. There's a lot of reasons why people might not make it to the game on any particular day: work, family commitments, illness, etc. The issue is getting them to onsell their tickets. This process have improved significantly with members now able to put up tickets for resale as late as 4 hours before the game, but I think a lot of people just don't care enough to bother and some may not have access to a computer.

It will be interesting to see what happens at the new stadium with a capacity of 60K. Your mob with theoretically be able to sell reserved seat memberships to all 57,000 members (some will give up their memberships, but you'll obviously get new members too). In which case, I'd expect that on average, 48,450 members would attend, with only 3,000 tickets being available for general admission. It will be interesting to see if your average attendance goes up as far as 50K.

Freo attendances, I guess will increase, but not by as much.

The WAFC really need to create a new ticketing system for AFL memberships in WA. Members of the general public are unable to attend games even when there are seats not being used.

I would recommend that members should confirm by mid-week (via a simple webside link or a simple call to a preprogramed booking service for those with out internet) before a game that they will able to attend. If they do not confirm then the ticket is to become freely available purchase by non-members and the general public. Those members who do not confirm thier attendance will recieve the amount they would if they sold thier tickets back to the club under the current system. It is human nature to be proactive when ensuring you do not lose something of high value, rather than be proactive gaining something of nominal value, or in otherwords, "selling my seats back to the club is not worth the effort".

Unforetunately, some Freo & WCE members are not doing the right thing so there needs to be a new system that drives disciplined behaviours from members.

Under the proposed system a higher number of non-members/general public will be able to attend, this should drive up attendances at matches and drive up revenues. There are lot of pasionate supportors who can not afford memberships but can afford to go to a few games a year. Any setup costs and ongoing operating costs would be negligible. The biggest cost would be communicating the change to all members.

Got Weagles supporters who live in the big house on top of the hill. Claim proudly they've been premium seat members for years but refuse to go to the game on account of their hatred of Subi Oval. Also claim they rarely give their seats away as most of their rich mates are in the same boat.

I love it when stereotypes come true.

A mate I usually go to the footy with says he's not going this week because he just got out of hospital yesterday after having both knees replaced.

I'm so embarrassed.

I feel for you Reg, now you're going to have to boo for two people whenever we chip backwards for the switch.

Oh har de har har. It's much more of a straight across kick now anyway, as I called for years ago.

If you reckon, just quietly when I said "no excuses" I should perhaps have clarified that those in hospital/terminally ill/stricken with avian bird flu etc are the ones exempt from my wrath, the rest however don't have an excuse ;)

Have I mentioned that I'm a ginger?