2014 Non Eagles Discussions Thread

It was nice to see a team dish it up physically to the Dockers. I wish we could do that.

It's a bit disappointing because they are still a chance at top 2 and another week of GF hell for us.

"But they won't with how they are playing right now!" I agree but a week is a long time in footy and they could theoretically play their best football next week and beyond after a 2 week form slump. Plus they are playing their bunnies after all.

It's a bit disappointing because they are still a chance at top 2 and another week of GF hell for us.

"But they won't with how they are playing right now!" I agree but a week is a long time in footy and they could theoretically play their best football next week and beyond after a 2 week form slump. Plus they are playing their bunnies after all.

Their form has been down all year. I don't think there would be many Freo fans that happy with how they have played this season.

Na I've got freo only winning 2 more games for the year, hawks to win 4 maybe 5, cats the same, swans too. Their brain fart against the saints has cost them top 2, possibly even top 4 with port likely finishing on the same wins as freo so it may come down to percentage.
The way Carlton walked the ball out if freos 50 was pretty alarming for them. A good side will make them pay.

Watched the game ... first time ever i have rooted for carlton. Shit i hate freo - damn shame Woods chucked it away in the last minute. Carlton showed how to play against the dorkers. I hope we took something out of that for next season ... don't wanna lose to them again.

Me and a mate were sitting with the Freo members, second tier, with a friend who is a Dockers member. Copped a fair bit but gave it right back, and that was the only time I'll ever go for Carlton. It was great to see Judd again, for what might be the last time.

Nah, you need to stop overrating Freo. They're a long way off the best.

Fremantles game plan looks to be quite taxing on the players and it is starting to show. Also think a few teams have worked out Fremantle a little.

Yeah the last few weeks the Saints, and lastnight Carlton, made it look pretty easy to get past freo's "press" and just run through heaps of space. Fitness has to have something to do with it. Both weeks Pav has gone down early, giving them nothing to kick to except Mayne, who these days is easily accounted for.

Quietly hoping Lyon's time at Fremantle mirrors his time at St Kilda and he bails once Pav, Sandi and McPharlin retire exposing their crap recruiting since he came on board, after stalling on signing a contract extension and signs with an interstate team that's highly rated but with a coach no one believes in and who has a year to run on his contract. North would be ideal for the Brad Scott meltdown, but I don't think they can afford Lyon so it'll probably be Richmond. Dawson follows by trade a month later because he has pics of Lyon being a naughty boy.

Haven't worked out who Freo's Luke Ball will be yet.

Quietly hoping Lyon's time at Fremantle mirrors his time at St Kilda and he bails once Pav, Sandi and McPharlin retire exposing their crap recruiting since he came on board, after stalling on signing a contract extension and signs with an interstate team that's highly rated but with a coach no one believes in and who has a year to run on his contract. North would be ideal for the Brad Scott meltdown, but I don't think they can afford Lyon so it'll probably be Richmond. Dawson follows by trade a month later because he has pics of Lyon being a naughty boy.

Haven't worked out who Freo's Luke Ball will be yet.
Lyon only left the Saints because he blew a million dollar investment and they were playing hardball with his contract. Cant see him being another coach of another club.

Gutted about the result and that's despite not liking Carlton. They were about 60 seconds away from ending any relaistic chance of a flag for the Purpleshite. THe encouraging thing is that right now they're not even in the same ballpark as Hawks-Sydney but that could change. Lyon might be foxing a bit with training loads etc. If they knock off the Cats @ Skilled next week I'll start getting worried again. I don't want another GF week like last year.

I Agree with the above that they might be playing at a lesser level to conserve energy till finals so they are not burnt out but that is a massive risk for the fact they could end up losing top 4 all together.

With the team they had had last night they will be an aging squad quite quickly.

Next years ages for last nights squad:

Neale: 22
Sutcliffe: 23
Fyfe: 24
Suban: 25
Hill: 25
Clarke: 25
Deboer: 25
Spur: 27
Mayne: 27
Ibbotson: 27
Barlow: 28
Ballantyne: 28
D Pearce: 29
Dawson: 29
Mzungu: 29
Mundy: 30
Duffield: 30
Johnson 31
Crowely: 31
Sandilands: 33
Mcpharlin: 34
Pavlich: 34

Others that are around there best 22 or close to it: Walters (24) ,C Pearce ( 25) , Silvagni (28) Giffin (29) & Morrobito (24)

Those 30+ players can easily all go down hill very quickly like it happened with us recently in players like Cox, Embley, Glass & Kerr. Or injuries or form with players like Waters, A Selwood & Nicoski.

They would want to win it this year or i think their window will be shut next year.

Mcpharlin and to a lesser extent pavlich haven't been as consistent as previous. Walters being injured has robbed them of that X factor in their forward line and mayne has fallen away quite badly. Ballantyne has been good though

When you line them up against hawthorn and Sydney the dockers just look outgunned and will have to be at their very best defensively to win