2014 QAFL

• Thread starter Thread starter Sir G

Another issue, why do clubs/coaches at this level and lower levels attempt to implement game plans that are a carbon copy of the way the big league( AFL) is played these days.... I mean, the skill level is just not there to do this,,, eg, the spread, the press, kicking backwards, sideways and heading to the boundary lines all the time. Enough said, whatever happened to the quickest way home, and that's straight up the guts.!!!

It starts at junior level in QLD. I'm not a coach but have been involved with QLD and VIC juniors. The VICS focus on skills. Lots of old-fashioned drills getting the boys to kick and hand-pass left and right and also marking technique to prevent spoiling etc. I was surprised at how much QLD junior coaches over-emphasized complex set plays and game plans. Trouble is, the set plays and game plans fall over immediately because the boys can't execute. Looks like this carries through to senior level.

Sadly Sandgate are still rebuilding after experiencing tough times a few years back and heading into debt to get their club house open again. We are slowly working through this debt but it is a tough gig and something that I'm sure a few other clubs can relate to at different times of their history. But in the meantime, this places a huge workload on volunteers who seem to be harder and harder to find, so those that do put their hand up to help seem to be lugged with massive workloads and by this stage of the season are at a point of not caring anymore and just looking towards a break in September. Others see these volunteers getting burnt out due to lack of help and are reluctant to get involved themselves, its a vicious circle. Getting people to volunteer and then keeping them involved is a hard task and also something I'm sure many other clubs can relate to.

The canteen is supposed to be run by the junior club with monies going back to junior footy, but once again hands to help are definitely short within this current parent group who only want to watch their own kids play, pack up and go home with no further thought given to helping the club move forward. It is a culture that we are working hard to turn around, but it will take time.

As a Sandgate member, junior player parent, junior coach, ex junior committee member and player of different levels over the years, I find it embarrassing to read statements like this in these pages. The worst part is I know how true it is.....

There are some good people getting involved at all levels of the club now, and hopefully we can look to build on what has been a tough couple of years and an even tougher season.

Never ever let junior money leak through to senior club in my experience Left feet - recipe for disaster. If the senior club can't sustain itself on its own then it needs to re evaluate where it is standing.

It starts at junior level in QLD. I'm not a coach but have been involved with QLD and VIC juniors. The VICS focus on skills. Lots of old-fashioned drills getting the boys to kick and hand-pass left and right and also marking technique to prevent spoiling etc. I was surprised at how much QLD junior coaches over-emphasized complex set plays and game plans. Trouble is, the set plays and game plans fall over immediately because the boys can't execute. Looks like this carries through to senior level.

Yeah it is an interesting one I reckon Brereton - certainly if coaches are emphasising set plys etc at U14 level or below then they are striking the wrong chord imo too. At U16 level think it is justified but to a point only. The focus nearly every time should be on skill development and minimise how much fitness work is being done without footys. This needs to be done with the footy in hand. I still see U12's occasionally doing laps of the oval indian file, watch kids go and do a lap for a wup, do fitness work at the end for 20min instead of skills. Just bizarre and needs to be emphasised at coaching courses that it is all totally unnecessary. When was the last time anyone heard of a 12yr old for instance pulling a hamstring bc he/she didn't do a warm up at 5pm in the afternoon after a full day at school???

Has definitely signed. Spotted the Wodonga Raiders President at the Pies/Suns game and put in touch via the ex Raiders player on the Palmy list whose name escapes me.

Creswell apparently wanting to setup a landscaping business, and Raiders president is mates with a big developer/builder who has agreed to use his services in Melbourne. Strange though, as Wodonga is a solid 3 hours north!

(or so tea leaves tell me!)

Has definitely signed. Spotted the Wodonga Raiders President at the Pies/Suns game and put in touch via the ex Raiders player on the Palmy list whose name escapes me.

Creswell apparently wanting to setup a landscaping business, and Raiders president is mates with a big developer/builder who has agreed to use his services in Melbourne. Strange though, as Wodonga is a solid 3 hours north!

(or so tea leaves tell me!)
Palmy player is Todd Bryant.( has been a gun in the QAFL this season) Came up here from Wodonga Raiders where his father was a good player for them . The Raiders are one of those many clubs that over the past 3 or 4 seasons spent big bucks on players, especially from the VFL, and still did not achieve success and that expenditure has left them in a tight financial situation, hence their demise to close to the bottom of the ladder.
Cresswell will have a huge job in front of him. Hopefully the club has some dollars behind them now to recruit some decent players, for if they don't, it will be a uphill battle to rise up the ladder.
As for the big developer/builder based in Melbourne, I think you will find that Cresswell will set up his landscaping business in Wodonga , as this so called developer has most likely purchased parcels of prime land suitable for residential development, that will feed Cresswells new business venture.Wodonga/ Albury is a major provincial centre and growing residential development is a major economic factor in these twin cities.

should be a good rivalry with his great mate Aker over the river coaching North Albury Hoppers!

;)
Aker has done a great job in his coaching role at a club with so many issues it wasn't funny. In pre season, all the word was they wouldn't win a game in 2014. Well, they have in fact won 6 games and may end up with 8 wins by season end. Have a current percentage of 98%, thus goes to show they have been no easybeats and haven't been belted by the powerhouses like Albury, Yarrawonga and Lavington.Aker has got them very fit, implemented good game plans and has developed many young players. North Albury will make the finals next season with this progress.

YOU ARE SPOT ON HERE.

Sadly Sandgate are still rebuilding after experiencing tough times a few years back and heading into debt to get their club house open again. We are slowly working through this debt but it is a tough gig and something that I'm sure a few other clubs can relate to at different times of their history. But in the meantime, this places a huge workload on volunteers who seem to be harder and harder to find, so those that do put their hand up to help seem to be lugged with massive workloads and by this stage of the season are at a point of not caring anymore and just looking towards a break in September. Others see these volunteers getting burnt out due to lack of help and are reluctant to get involved themselves, its a vicious circle. Getting people to volunteer and then keeping them involved is a hard task and also something I'm sure many other clubs can relate to.

The canteen is supposed to be run by the junior club with monies going back to junior footy, but once again hands to help are definitely short within this current parent group who only want to watch their own kids play, pack up and go home with no further thought given to helping the club move forward. It is a culture that we are working hard to turn around, but it will take time.

As a Sandgate member, junior player parent, junior coach, ex junior committee member and player of different levels over the years, I find it embarrassing to read statements like this in these pages. The worst part is I know how true it is.....

There are some good people getting involved at all levels of the club now, and hopefully we can look to build on what has been a tough couple of years and an even tougher season.

Very much hear what your saying,,,,,,,,,, all the best to your club getting up and running to high standards,

well there you go, your tea leaves a bit more accurate than mine.

I played in the O&M back in the day (70's!) so take a keen interest, in fact i was a Hopper for one season :)

Raiders officially announced Creswell as coach yesterday on a 3 year deal.

Interestingly, this announcement coincides with the fact that VCFL are considering a points cap system to stop cashed up clubs buying flags and this would apply to the O&M. Salary caps in these country leagues are impossible to enforce, so its a good move.

Not sure how it will effect the Albury Tigers who have 13 players with who have previously been AFL listed on their books!

Tigers and Pigeons have shared the last 5 flags between them and have splashed plenty of cash on their playing lists in the process...

Good for Creswell and the Raiders though, they have a bit of coin - but not enough to compete with Tigers and Pigeons - the point system could even this out if applied correctly.

On another note, 3 NSW/ACT clubs have chosen to pull out of the NEAFL - wonder if any clubs up here are considering following suit?

QAFL... Your man Guise got back into palmys 1's last week and played very well, could be a little gem in the last 2 months of the year

Watched Broady scrape over the line against the Magpies today. Maggies came out and kicked 9 goals to one in the first quarter.A huge effort for Broady to get back, considering they had 5 of their better/ good players missing today. The game had some great passages of footy by both sides,but also had some very ordinary passages of play, with numerous mistakes, poor disposal, by both foot and hand and marks that should of been taken, that were dropped. Anyway the closeness of the contest/ scores in the last quarter made up for that.
Great games by both full forwards in Bain and Taylor whom bagged 8 each.

Watched Broady scrape over the line against the Magpies today. Maggies came out and kicked 9 goals to one in the first quarter.A huge effort for Broady to get back, considering they had 5 of their better/ good players missing today. The game had some great passages of footy by both sides,but also had some very ordinary passages of play, with numerous mistakes, poor disposal, by both foot and hand and marks that should of been taken, that were dropped. Anyway the closeness of the contest/ scores in the last quarter made up for that.

Maggies didn't give up till the the very end. Could have stolen it after Broady controlled the 2nd and 3rd terms.

Full credit to the Cats though, the composed themselves after the early blitz and worked hard to earn the win. Best victories are the ones you fight for and the Broadbeach Cats certainly had the fight today for it!

Great effort by Surfers Paradise against Morningside yesterday. Being beaten by 22 points by the hot Premiership favourites is a mighty effort (only Palm Beach has got closer earlier in the year being beaten by 20 points). I think a lot of clubs underestimated the Demons this year and, whilst they have lacked consistency, they have produced some quality football

Very good effort by the Magpies who were missing Pope and Davis plus a few others this league is getting tighter and will be even tighter next year,great performance by Demons.

QAFL... Your man Guise got back into palmys 1's last week and played very well, could be a little gem in the last 2 months of the year

Good to see. Cressa obviously couldn't ignore his form any longer!

Went down to Robina to watch Yeronga take on the Roos on Saturday, as I saw the Broady/Maggies score unfolding via the live scoring feature I was tempted to jump in the car and head up the road. Yeronga very slick in the QFA South league, and I found myself thinking they would be competitive in Div 1, and so would Robina - then I remember how much Springwood/Mayne dominate this comp and realise how big the gap really is.

Good effort from the Vultures to essentially put 5th place to bed.

Opinions on pbc vs broady tomorow? Should be a rip snorter !

Hopefully there will be a few down there to watch, old school rivalry which may determine who finishes second

Will be extremely wet, so who plays well in the wet!

smy,
the last thing Broady want is the wet, but by the weather forecast, it looks that way. When we played PBC earlier this year, it pissed down all day and PBC belted us and a lot of that was because the PBC players were bigger bodied and stronger then our young guys. We were simply outmuscled for the pill and I don't think this will change tomorrow if its going to be heavy wet conditions.

smy,
the last thing Broady want is the wet, but by the weather forecast, it looks that way. When we played PBC earlier this year, it pissed down all day and PBC belted us and a lot of that was because the PBC players were bigger bodied and stronger then our young guys. We were simply outmuscled for the pill and I don't think this will change tomorrow if its going to be heavy wet conditions.
Huge games for Broady whom are in 2nd place on the ladder. If they loose to PBC tomorrow and then face Labrador in the final round and loose, they may well drop to 4th on the ladder.