Draft Review 2014 - Redo the 2014 AFL Draft

A generation earlier and the Saints would have taken Petracca to be their answer at full forward. I could barely contain my excitement when CP fell to us but I won't shit on Patty. Hate when the media picks on whoever the top 5 pick is that looks shit early next to the blokes that went after him. Tambling/Watts/whoever it's just lazy bullying of easy targets.

I feel like the "who your club missed in draft xxxx" stories should be the journalistic equivalent of a white flag. It essentially signals to your readers and peers that you have no analysis, no imagination and no idea about AFL. As soon as you write one, its a gold watch and off to the glue factory.

God I wish people would've done this for Watts. I actually really feel for him with the amount of crap he copped.

Not meaning to side track just wish people had this perspective for him back then!

Probably a fair call but the #1 pick inflames it. Has had a few body language/intensity issues also.

Each to their own mate.
And personally, I'd be dirty if we had McCartin instead of Petracca so spare me.
There hasn't been half the poop from us as St Kilda - what have we had to be arrogant about?
Cocky and giving a bit back are two different things. I made my point in response to the OP then received the wise arse answer in return so I stand by what I've said.
Wasnt there a thing going around that 16 of the 18 recruiters said they would have taken Petracca at 1.

I guess at least there is 1 other dumb recruiter to gl with the saints one [emoji106][emoji106][emoji106]

Sent from my SM-P555 using Tapatalk

Tom Hawkins copped a lot of flak and didn't really start delivering until he was 23. McCartin's not even 21 yet. People need to be a bit more patient before calling pass or fail on this type of player. Especially when he didn't even play yesterday.
This is a fair point. For the first few years of his career, the only bloke Hawkins could get a kick against was Nathan Carroll. He also had the luxury of playing in a winning team which removes most of the scrutiny.

A lot of key forwards take time. Kennedy of WCE is a classic example. Taylor Walker took a long time to get up & going. Tom Boyd has only played 2 decent games in his career so he's hardly there yet. Big Jono Patton in still more promise than delivered performance. They take time. Occasionally you get one like Jeremy Cameron who hit the ground running - Hogan to an extent but they are they exception rather than the rule.

To me, McCartin has shown glimpses that he'll be a very fine footballer. He looks like he understands the game as a key forward. The main things holding him back are physical and given time, he should overcome them and play consistent footy

As for the decision, no problems at the time. The Saints needed a Roo replacement urgently. Back then they'd have been hopeful rather than confident that Reiwoldt would even still be playing in 2017. Right call made and it has plenty of time to pay off for them

Hardly anywhere near as regularly.
That's because there aren't as many key-forwards on the field as their are midfielders.

You have 0 evidence to prove good key-forwards are harder to find.

West Coast had a ridiculously good trio of Judd, Cousins and Kerr.
Oh, so they won with their midfield, did they?

The Swans still had Barry Hall.
They won it in 2012 you know; no Barry Hall in sight.

The Bulldogs had Tom Boyd who played a match winning performance.
Lol, so because he played one good game in the finals, that must mean having a gun key-forward is absolutely essential to winning a flag, even if they're mostly awful prior to that. Where was he in the previous finals? Did he even score a single goal?

Match winning performance? Last I checked they won by a greater margin than the goals he kicked. You can't certifiably say they wouldn't have won without Boyd, and even then, it's still one match.

He was good in 2010 yes. Still peaked at Sydney, not even relevant anyway. The Bulldogs in the years prior got close in the finals and lost because of a lack of goals.
It's not relevant because it doesn't suit your argument. Barry Hall didn't help the Bulldogs win a flag; they lost the prelim just like they did the previous two years.

It's also evident you didn't watch the Bulldogs during those years. There was a bigger problem than lack of goals; Geelong and St. Kilda just had better all-round teams, especially in the midfield.

Not sure how Fevola is relevant. That team was seriously devoid of talent. Key forwards who can move around the ground and take marks are invaluable. The Hawks had it with Roughy, Gunston and Buddy, the Cats with Hawkins and Mooney before that and the Pies with Cloke. You can bring up Sydney and West Coast all you like but that was a different era of footy. The Swans in 2012 won and then went after Franklin. I wonder why? It's much easier to be a good football team when you can go forward and have a good target to kick to. Everyone knows this.
Hawkins and Mooney eh? Where was Mooney selected in the draft? Was he one of those invaluable key-forwards you need a top 5 pick to find?

Hawkins? Like Boyd, he was mostly mediocre up until the 2011 Grand Final, and was a literal passenger in 2009.

The Swans in 2012 won and then went after Franklin. I wonder why?
Lol. I wonder why they won the flag in 2012 in the first place? Shouldn't it be impossible without a key-forward? Or was Sam Reid recruited with pick #1?

Also if you did your research, they went after Tippett that year, Franklin came a year later. By the way, they must've paid some seriously hefty draft picks to get those two players, right?... oh wait.

It's much easier to be a good football team when you can go forward and have a good target to kick to. Everyone knows this.
Not when you're, as you say, "constantly" kicking the ball to them, as your team did with Fevola.

Did West Coast having arguably the best forward line in the comp help them in the 2014 Grand Final? Nope, because they got smashed in the middle.

You can win a flag with a mediocre forward line without any gun key-forwards, this is proven by the Bulldogs (2016), Sydney (2012) and West Coast (2006). You cannot win a flag with a mediocre midfield. It's as simple as that.

You could argue St.Kilda would have benefited more by recruiting a key-forward (McCartin) over a gun goalscoring mid (Petracca) in the 2014 draft, but looking at last weekend's game and how badly they got smashed through the middle, I highly doubt that.

Wasnt there a thing going around that 16 of the 18 recruiters said they would have taken Petracca at 1.

I guess at least there is 1 other dumb recruiter to gl with the saints one [emoji106][emoji106][emoji106]

Yeah I reckon you're right.
On another note, what is hamstring awareness?

Omitted

Dermie said a bit last night on SEN re how worried he was for McCartin due to the cumulative effect of the concussions he's suffered to date.
Wondered if it had anything to do with that if he suffered any knocks in the pre season or they decided 3 talls running around the forward line in circles was enough? (Riewoldt excluded obviously, beats up on us for fun).

cheers,

i got 8/9 right according to you... get back in line saints! 121 years of losing will do that you. you have no place in the league! You'd think fatty mcartin would of been a big mac kind of guy but i actually saw him eating a double mc chicken after the game....sainters footy always making the wrong decisions

Na you were also wrong about everything else you said. Hope this helps.

His health has to be a genuine concern. Other than that he looks alright.

cheers,

i got 8/9 right according to you... get back in line saints! 121 years of losing will do that you. you have no place in the league! You'd think fatty mcartin would of been a big mac kind of guy but i actually saw him eating a double mc chicken after the game....sainters footy always making the wrong decisions

New member, 3 posts dedicated to shitting on another team that gifted you a win for the first time in years. Grow up.

Yeah Fatty McCartin……as compared to the 1cm taller, but 5kg heavier Hogan?
The kid has diabetes ffs. Whats your excuse?

Did Saints think McCartin was best available or did they pick him up due to needs? Cos I felt like at the time general consensus was that Petracca was better. Petracca would likely be the better player too.. the big brute of a forward isn't as dominating as it used to be. Mobile forwards who can work the ground well are.

Saints probably made the right choice at the time with no other obvious KPF options, they didn't know they'd get bruce/membry who'd come on well. Hindsight sais otherwise now though, considering they need elite mids.

My understanding was the players were considered evenly matched as best in draft (by Saints recruiters), so went with McCartin for key forward reasons and attitude reasons (anyone remember the Petracca to Collingwood after his rookie contract story)

This was the information available at the time

Boyd had also just cost Dogs an arm and a leg to recruit (paid off now, but showed how costly it was to trade for key forwards)

Not saying Petracca wants to jump ship now

And not denying he looks like a gun player

Hindsight maybe they choose Petracca but smart decision at the time

Hate to disappoint, but not a slight on your mob; It was shaping up as a good contest until the Saints just completely fizzled out and made a Dee’s victory a sure thing.
You played a consistent 4 quarters of footy and won accordingly. Congrats.

But by all means, feel free to cherry-pick one slight exaggeration in response to that bucket of dribble.

cheers,

Bit rich for a Melbourne supporter to be throwing stones.

Hate to disappoint, but not a slight on your mob; It was shaping up as a good contest until the Saints just completely fizzled out and made a Dee’s victory a sure thing.
You played a consistent 4 quarters of footy and won accordingly. Congrats.

But by all means, feel free to cherry-pick one slight exaggeration in response to that bucket of dribble.
Haha am in no way standing side by side with that fella so I'm with you, absolute dribble.
You are right, the Saints did just stop but it's hard to quantify how much the change in our gameplan affected that because we lowered our eyes, hit targets and spread pretty hard.
Was an entertaining game to watch as a Dees supporter but I don't think it spells disaster for the Saints as many are suggesting

Haha am in no way standing side by side with that fella so I'm with you, absolute dribble.
You are right, the Saints did just stop but it's hard to quantify how much the change in our gameplan affected that because we lowered our eyes, hit targets and spread pretty hard.
Was an entertaining game to watch as a Dees supporter but I don't think it spells disaster for the Saints as many are suggesting

Good to know haha. There just appears to be a few comments that once would have been welcome in the banter thread, spreading beyond the appropriate boards/threads where one can only really take it as an attack.

You’re spot on with your assessment of the game. After that first quarter we just looked totally run off our feet and/or disinterested. With our game-plan so reliant on pressure and intensity which became non-existent, the Dee’s did a brilliant job of capitalising on that in every aspect.

Disappointing effort from our perspective, but in no way discrediting the Dee’s performance.
Cant wait for Round 21; will Saints bounce back or will Dee’s start a streak of their own?
Its bound to be a cracker!