BigFooty Official 2015 Big Footy Phantom Draft

It is funny you say that because it was certainly something I considered however Francis is primarily a defender and Curnow primarily a forward. I think our forward line with Daniher and perhaps one of tbc or McKernan is tall enough. I think the game is evolving towards the 6 foot 3 guys who can mark move and play almost anywhere. I am not of the belief that Oliver has shown more than Francis or Curnow at this stage. I love Weideman but I went with a guy with more versatility while we have Edwards who to some degree plays a flashy half forward role with speed and sizzle. If Essendon picked these two blokes it is not inconceivable to suggest both would play round one if they had good preseasons. Which talks about the quality of Francis and Curnow and the state of our side.

Interesting call.

I have Essendon taking Francis and Weideman, so thinking along the same lines but with more of a KPF pick rather than the mobile forward option.

Gold Coast take Harley Balic the smooth moving midfielder from Vic Metro.

Bio to come. I wanted to take the best midfielder available for Gold Coast and it was between Balic and Clayton Oliver.

Gold Coast take Harley Balic the smooth moving midfielder from Vic Metro.

Bio to come. I wanted to take the best midfielder available for Gold Coast and it was between Balic and Clayton Oliver.
Ballsy pick.
I like it.
I see pendlebury in the way he plays.
My projections are a bit over the shop now!

# 10 Melbourne - Sam Weideman (Eastern Ranges / 196cm / 91kg)

Terrific young prospect who we just didn't get to see enough of this year but the little we did was super impressive at times.He also showed us a fair bit last year as a bottom ager and suspect had Gary Pert trying to get grandsons included in the F/S rules. Presents as the best tall forward in this draft albeit Harry McKay pretty close for mine. Sam is a natural forward unlike guys like Boyd etc who have been drafted high in previous years. I think coaches really value key forwards that haven't got their success camped in the goal square clunking marks but rather kids who understand how, when and where to lead. He has real speed and many will find it hard to close space on him once he is ahead of them. Once he has the space ahead of him he will use his long arms and good hands to clunk them and his finishing is generally pretty good albeit has scope for some improvement. The knock I have on him is his consistency but that happens a lot with young talls and his kicking at times is a bit erratic. Loads of potential for mine.

Next best kid for mine is Clayton Oliver which would have taken if Melbourne needed another mid but they need a tall forward and hence only other consideration was Harry McKay who was bloody close.

# 10 Melbourne - Sam Weideman (Eastern Ranges / 196cm / 91kg)

Terrific young prospect who we just didn't get to see enough of this year but the little we did was super impressive at times.He also showed us a fair bit last year as a bottom ager and suspect had Gary Pert trying to get grandsons included in the F/S rules. Presents as the best tall forward in this draft albeit Harry McKay pretty close for mine. Sam is a natural forward unlike guys like Boyd etc who have been drafted high in previous years. I think coaches really value key forwards that haven't got their success camped in the goal square clunking marks but rather kids who understand how, when and where to lead. He has real speed and many will find it hard to close space on him once he is ahead of them. Once he has the space ahead of him he will use his long arms and good hands to clunk them and his finishing is generally pretty good albeit has scope for some improvement. The knock I have on him is his consistency but that happens a lot with young talls and his kicking at times is a bit erratic. Loads of potential for mine.

Next best kid for mine is Clayton Oliver which would have taken if Melbourne needed another mid but they need a tall forward and hence only other consideration was Harry McKay who was bloody close.

God damn it Snoop why did you have to take Weidman here !!!!!! I would LOVE him at Carlton next year but I unfortunately cannot see him lasting until our pick ...........

Pick 11 - Wayne Milera 14/09/1997 - 183.4 am 77.6kg

Medium forward/midfielder that would be one of the most skillful players in the draft. His decision making ability by hand or foot is top notch and he is deadly around goals. I watched him play against WA and was insanely dangerous around goals. Very strong overhead and strong at ground level, very hard match up for any small defender. Is not scared of a contest and provides nice forward line pressure.
Was questioned about his ability to move into the midfield and manage to show that at senior SANFL level which is a great sign. Helped carry his team into the finals and win a few games.
Always a good sign to finish the year strongly.

I have a few names ready for my next selection and amazing plans for my 4th pick in this draft.
I've managed to secure two players I wanted in this draft, bring on my next two picks.

Skippos

Pick 11 - Wayne Milera 14/09/1997 - 183.4 am 77.6kg

Medium forward/midfielder that would be one of the most skillful players in the draft. His decision making ability by hand or foot is top notch and he is deadly around goals. I watched him play against WA and was insanely dangerous around goals. Very strong overhead and strong at ground level, very hard match up for any small defender. Is not scared of a contest and provides nice forward line pressure.
Was questioned about his ability to move into the midfield and manage to show that at senior SANFL level which is a great sign. Helped carry his team into the finals and win a few games.
Always a good sign to finish the year strongly.

I have a few names ready for my next selection and amazing plans for my 4th pick in this draft.
I've managed to secure two players I wanted in this draft, bring on my next two picks.

Skippos
No complaints from me. Milera is a very solid pick with our second selection. There are about four or five players you could pick here and Milera is far from the worst of those.

Subbed. No surprises so far, I expect things to get a little funky soon enough though.

Also can anyone direct me to any combine results? Looking specifically for Curnow's wingspan but they're handy to have up your sleeve for write ups none the less.

Subbed. No surprises so far, I expect things to get a little funky soon enough though.

Also can anyone direct me to any combine results? Looking specifically for Curnow's wingspan but they're handy to have up your sleeve for write ups none the less.
Top 14% of the combine if that helps with your write ups.

I'll try to add more pictures of clowns next time. You like clowns right?

Everybody likes clowns.

Sure does.
clowns17n-2-web.jpg

Did you think about Schache at all?
(I would have taken Weitering as well).
I did a few months ago.
When I watched the under 18's I thought Schache was the best kick for goal I've seen in a long time. I think Carlton is about as far away from winning a flag as any football team can get and we just need to nail draft after draft. Weitering is just the least likely player to bust and also highly talented.
I would not be shocked if he decided to play forward that he may also equal Schache's output when playing forward.

Schache has some slight issues with separation from his defender but I still have a feeling he will be a solid forward in the coming years. Brisbane are certainly not complaining about Schache falling to them (even if Quigs may have wished he could have picked Francis). If Carlton was not doing a complete list rebuild, I may have considered switching my selection. I'm glad that we had a top two pick because the draft opens up after those two selections.

Pick 2 write up

Josh Schache

Ht – 199 Wt 96

Schache is a big powerful full forward who has developed really nicely this year and dominated regularly throughout the year. He kicked the most ever goals at the Champs this year and won the Larke Medal for the best Div 1 player but he is by no means a certainty to succeed at the next level.

The big issue for him is his pace and an inability to get separation on the lead even at junior level. When he is matched up on the bigger and quicker AFL level defenders chances are that he is going to struggle, at least early in his career, when he does not enjoy the physical advantages he had over his junior opponents. Schache is a 3.2+ 20m runner and is not an endurance machine. He has reasonable agility for a guy his size but he lacks the burst to get away from a defender. He is smart enough to get a step or two but that is going to get closed down quickly at AFL level. He is going to need to rely on his big body and strength to be effective. There is every chance he will be able to do so but he is by no means a certainty to be a dominating force.

The pace issue is obviously a major concern but apart from that there is a lot to like about Schache. He is a very tall, powerfully built, true full forward type. When he gets on the lead he is strong and is not easily moved off his line. He has very good hands above his head (probably not quite elite but close) and he takes a nice contested mark, watching the ball into the hands very well. Below his knees he is clean and shows reasonable awareness for a big guy when shovelling it out. At AFL level I expect a lot of the better defenders to play in front of him and back themselves to read the ball better coming in. Schache takes a little while to pick up the flight of a ball and a good defender is going to beat him to the spot pretty regularly. Francis showed how this could be done when they matched up at the Champs.

He might be the best KPF kick for goal to come through in recent years. He is a left footer with an easy, uncomplicated set shot style that goes through the big sticks much more often than not. I have also been very impressed with his field kicking especially delivering it into 50. He has good hurt factor on his field kicks and tends to take good options.

Defensively, Schache is a bit of a bludger and he is very prone to having his man run off him. He lets his man go too easily and does not really work to impact defensively. What he does do though is get to dangerous spots and if there is a turnover he is in a position to impact the scoreboard. There is going to be more expected of him at AFL level but the smarts he shows in these situations will also stand him in good stead if he can get onto a team who can generate turnovers out of its forwards and mids.

Schache rucked a fair bit at junior level but I suggest he needs to improve quite a bit to do that at AFL level. In the ruck contest itself he often looks like he has no idea what he is doing. He has the height and strength to compete but he does not really use it effectively in the ruck. When the ball hits the ground he is better and around the ground he can be an effective option.

Overall I like Schache but I think he is going to take 2 or 3 years to work things out and develop his game to be effective at AFL level. Supporters are going to be frustrated with him early but I think he gets there. I struggle to see him being a Coleman contender but he will be a dangerous target who will help a team’s structure a great deal. As far as player comparisons go he reminds me most of the Rocca boys and I could see him having a career like those two.

Pick 9 Write Up

9. Eric Hipwood

Ht – 202, Wt – 82

Hipwood is one of the most interesting prospects in this draft. I personally have no idea where he ends up playing. He has played mostly up forward and done pretty well, even in senior company, but he has not really dominated and kicked a big bag. He is a consistent 2-4 goal forward who will give a contest and clunk a few. Down back is where he has looked closest to dominating and is probably where he starts his career. The left field option, which is the one which might turn out the best, is in the ruck. I have not seen him ruck but his around the ground ability could make him a star at AFL level if he can actually compete decently in the ruck contest. He has the height for it. The question might be whether he can put on enough weight to compete body to body. At the moment he is very thin.

Hopwood measured in at 202cm at the Combine and is a player who plays to his height. On top of his height he has a good leap which he also showed at the combine. For most of his playing career to date he has been a medium tall type and he has retained the agility and playing style of a smaller player. For a ruck sized player he moves fantastically well. He is a fluid mover with good speed and the turning circle of a smaller player. Agility is what often gets the ruck sized defenders into trouble but that should not be a problem for Hipwood.

One of the big things I like about Hipwood and one of the reasons I see him succeeding is his aggressiveness. He is a big kid who loves to get in there and mix it up. He will attack the man and the ball whether it is on the ground or in the air. He loves a ruck contest in his area where he can play as a midfielder and he wins a surprisingly high percentage of clearances in such situations. He is not just making up numbers, he will hit the contest at speed and has nice clean hands. When he collects the ball his junior opponents often don’t really know how to handle him and he gets it away nicely. Hipwood likes to take the game on particularly when playing at the back and he will run on and present as an option going forward.

His kicking is often raised as a concern about Hipwood but for me I think he has the potential to be an elite kick. He has a very relaxed style in his kicking and he is capable of really drilling a pass. At the back he takes very aggressive options and has been prone to turning a few over. He regularly takes kick ins when he is at the back and that is a sign that his coaches trust his kicking ability. I am hoping he is just adjusting to having the ball need to fall further than it used to. Style wise, as mentioned, there is a lot to like but atm things go astray a bit too often. I like the aggressive options he takes even if he misses a few targets atm. He has a take-the-game-on attitude that appeals to me a lot. At the forward end he is an accurate shot for goal and will convert a good percentage of his chances.

Interestingly Hipwood appears to be a superior mark when playing down back but merely average when up forward. Down back he will play a read and react role and back himself to read the ball better and then outmark the forward. In the games I have seen he is very rarely beaten in the air when in defence. His ability to read the ball in the air is great and with his height and jumping ability he is justifiably very confident in his belief that he will be the one to come away with the ball. He often plays loose and this is a role that he does very well. Down back he likes a mark but makes good decisions about when to mark and when to spoil. Up forward he will clunk a few and competes hard but he is not the dominating presence he is down back. He goes up strongly for the ball and held his own strength-wise against junior opponents. In senior company he is going to struggle for a few years whilst he builds body strength. He needs to put on a lot of bulk to be truly effective at AFL level.

Hipwood likes to be involved going forward and is a good marking and running option coming out of defence. He runs hard to present and he genuinely seems to love that aspect of the game more than others. I have heard him compared to Fletcher in body shape and the way he plays and there is some merit in that. When I saw him play, the player I thought he reminded me of in defence was Josh Gibson. Up forward he reminded me of Joe Daniher with his size and his impact up forward. Daniher was certainly the better junior forward but in senior company he has looked dangerous without dominating and this is what I have seen from Hipwood this year. He contests and will pick up his 2 or 3 goals a game but he has not torn anyone apart with a big bag. He picked up 4 in a quarter against Tassie at the Champs but did not pick any in the second half (somewhat unluckily admittedly).

Hipwood is a real presence on the field and is someone who could be a crucial element of whichever unit he plays on. There is a fair bit of risk of him busting but on the other side of the equation he probably has as high a ceiling as anyone in this draft.