BigFooty Official 2015 Big Footy Phantom Draft

So LM given that it is going to be a quiet day can you please explain why you didn't pick Oliver? You went Milera and H. McKay. Mathieson went in the middle. Most people speculate that we will have the choice of these four players although some speculate that Oliver will go earlier. Why did you let him pass? I know we need a decent KPF, but we need quality players everywhere.

I guess it was a case of Rome was not built in a day. So we have needs all over the park.

Oliver was a consideration but here was my thoughts behind the selection of McKay.

McKay + Pick 23
Oliver + Pick 23

I have a feeling that a player similar to Oliver will be available with my pick 23 but all the talls that I rate will be off the board with pick 23.

Talls do take a long time to develop and McKay is 1 week away from being in next years draft, so I projected plenty of upside in his game.

Mathieson: I am very worried about his disposal and while I think he is a competitive beast, his kicking ability does worry me.

I rolled the dice on Adelaide not going tall, I almost selected H McKay and then I would have selected either Milera or Oliver with my next pick.

This is a quote from an ex recruiter friend of mine from SA.

Wayne Milera - Shaun Burgoyne eat your heart out. wow if only this kid racked up huge numbers, wow if only Shaun Burgoyne racked up big numbers. Looks like a skinny kid that would blow over in the wind but has toughness and physical presence of players a lot bigger than him. Can hit the ball with real speed and collect it cleanly, quick hands to dispose of the ball or a very accurate kick. The most skilful kid in this draft. Very good pace mixed with an incredible ability to stop and baulk makes him very hard to apply pressure on him. Even with all this he normally just takes the basic option rather than always trying to create. Have fun manning up on him because if you are not good in the air he will carve you up, at ground level he can swoop on a loose ball and get rid of it or be away before you really know what has happened. If you are after a high forward who can pinch hit in the middle this boy is your man. If he gets the ball 15 times in a game you know you are in trouble. No problems finding target inside 50, has that competitive instinct and agility and strength to get to the right position even when he is out positioned. One of the few in this draft who can truly become elite. The engine is the query and his ability to push himself hard to cover the big yards. The first non KPP or genuine mid to go in this draft. As high as 5 if that is what you need.

Geez Weitering milera and McKay is a nice bounty boys.
I probably would have grabbed a pure midfielder instead of McKay here but it is hard to argue against a 200cm talented athlete like McKay.
Harry would not have been around at 23 so had to strike now.

It was a strong consideration.
I will wait until pick 23 happens and see what combination would have worked better.

If I did not select McKay it would have been Oliver.

I guess it was a case of Rome was not built in a day. So we have needs all over the park.

Oliver was a consideration but here was my thoughts behind the selection of McKay.

McKay + Pick 23
Oliver + Pick 23

I have a feeling that a player similar to Oliver will be available with my pick 23 but all the talls that I rate will be off the board with pick 23.

Talls do take a long time to develop and McKay is 1 week away from being in next years draft, so I projected plenty of upside in his game.

Mathieson: I am very worried about his disposal and while I think he is a competitive beast, his kicking ability does worry me.

I rolled the dice on Adelaide not going tall, I almost selected H McKay and then I would have selected either Milera or Oliver with my next pick.

This is a quote from an ex recruiter friend of mine from SA.

Wayne Milera - Shaun Burgoyne eat your heart out. wow if only this kid racked up huge numbers, wow if only Shaun Burgoyne racked up big numbers. Looks like a skinny kid that would blow over in the wind but has toughness and physical presence of players a lot bigger than him. Can hit the ball with real speed and collect it cleanly, quick hands to dispose of the ball or a very accurate kick. The most skilful kid in this draft. Very good pace mixed with an incredible ability to stop and baulk makes him very hard to apply pressure on him. Even with all this he normally just takes the basic option rather than always trying to create. Have fun manning up on him because if you are not good in the air he will carve you up, at ground level he can swoop on a loose ball and get rid of it or be away before you really know what has happened. If you are after a high forward who can pinch hit in the middle this boy is your man. If he gets the ball 15 times in a game you know you are in trouble. No problems finding target inside 50, has that competitive instinct and agility and strength to get to the right position even when he is out positioned. One of the few in this draft who can truly become elite. The engine is the query and his ability to push himself hard to cover the big yards. The first non KPP or genuine mid to go in this draft. As high as 5 if that is what you need.
Thanks LM. Yes I like Milera for the reasons you outline. He could be exciting to see develop. My only query on H McKay is that he might take a little while to develop. But what does it matter? It is not as if we are going anywhere. Hopefully we can develop a nice little squad over the next couple of years and then start to push up.

Pick 13 - Rhys Mathieson (185 cm, 79 kg inside midfielder)

At some parts of the year, Mathieson has been considered an elite prospect. At others, he's slid. The public's perception of him is like a yo-yo. And I don't really know why, because there's nothing speculative about his game. Rhys is the same player he was a year ago. We knew what he was before the season even started; he's the definition of a known quantity. I rate him the fifth best player in the open draft, so for him to be there at nine, well, it was always happening. With twelve coming up later, I'd decided I was taking a key forward and a best available, unsure of the order. I could have taken McKay here, but I felt like Mathieson > McKay by more than the best available would > Burton at twelve.

As a player, Mathieson is reliable. He wins his own ball, cracks in hard, sees the angles inside, has good awareness, consolidates the won ball, finding an outside runner well. You know what you'll get - a contested beast. He's strong, he's fearless. He can find out outside but he's not lethal. His ball use is okay without being offensive or a liability. He's not athletic but not an absolute plodder. Needs to work on his fitness though. Really, I can see him being an excellent inside mid - Brad Sewell type would be a 'mid point' with a Selwood being his ceiling. Two years of TAC dominance - you know what you'll get.

Pick 16 - Ryan Burton (191 cm, 90 kg general forward)

Burton has a lot of risk - but that's all injury related. His game is safe. Having broken his leg mid last year, he hasn't played organised football for 15 months. Having broken his leg just below the knee, it's a devastating injury with a long rehabilitation and chances of never reaching the same athletic peak. But Burton is worth the punt. He ran 3.09 20 metre despite the lack of conditioning. Jake Lever ran one close to 3.30 in a similar situation. I suspect Burton's a bit nippier than that when he's fit. He's got a good leap, a very long leg and is a great user of the ball. Inside 50 his leading patterns are superb - he knows where to lead to and times it well. His hands are strong and he's usually a one grab player who takes it at the highest point. He's yet to develop a contested marking game but with the weight he's put on post-injury, it's possible he develops one. Long term I suspect he becomes a third tall who can play as a second tall, and a reliable 40-50 goal a season option. There are parts of Gunston and Darling in there. I don't buy the 'Fyfe-esque' midfield potential hype, however.

Hawthorn (via North) Mitchell Hibberd, 191cm Mid/HB, Tassie.

Think it's a pretty obvious Hawthorn selection, especially with how high I rate him so I'm not going to overthink it here. We've seen how good he is when he's allowed play off half back in that Tassie sweeper role that they love but if I'm drafting him I'm doing it with a mind for developing him more in the middle. Yeah it's obviously great for him to have that dual position string to the bow with the way the game is currently played but I think he's got all the attributes to become one of those bigger midfielders that everyone's in love with.

He's got that height and frame, a really strong endurance base and really good top end speed which he likes to use in games, and then obviously the very good footskills and vision to go with it. With tassie he hasn't really played a lot inside the contest because they like to have the ball in his hands with space to use it, but I'd take an educated punt on him being able to develop a more well rounded midfield game if he's developed that way. Injury issues could impact where he actually goes but without knowing how his medicals went this pick is all about ability, also not too concerned about him being over aged, he's only 2 months older than someone like Mathieson.

Reckon Hibberd is a pretty safe pick for anyone who gets him, at worst you get a really safe ball user who can hit you targets going forward and at best you potentially get a 190cm midfielder with a nice mix of outside/inside that still has that raking left foot kick.

The ball is coming out with SA. Francis moves up to be available. The ball turns over on the wing and comes back reasonably quickly and Francis scrambles to re-establish contact but is not able to get back when Schache makes a nice little lead out to the open side. Francis has closed the space but just can't quite get there.

What you don't see is the number of times Francis outmarked Schache by playing in front.
Fair enough.
Who cares. They will get it wrong anyway. The recruiters never disclose draft information why you see soo many bolters and sliders
I think you've kinda missed the point of this exercise.

No worries.

Pick 20: North Melbourne - Luke Partington
Height: 182cm,
Weight: 75kg,
DOB: 05/03/1997
Recruited from: Norwood
Brief Profile: I rate Partington, especially with his excellent display for SA at the Carnival. Any team would be very happy to boost their midfield with a guy of his class.
I went for Partington because North's midfield tend to be a bit one paced. They have a number of strong mids who can get a clearance of two, but not a lot of dash around the packs. Partington provides dash and he has played against men in the SANFL and more than held his won. His kicking is good and his decision making is excellent.
I was tempted to go for Daniel Rioli: that may have appeared to be a little overenthusiastic, but North need pace and he also has it is spades. But I decided they needed their run in the midfield more.

No worries.

Pick 20: North Melbourne - Luke Partington
Height: 182cm,
Weight: 75kg,
DOB: 05/03/1997
Recruited from: Norwood
Brief Profile: I rate Partington, especially with his excellent display for SA at the Carnival. Any team would be very happy to boost their midfield with a guy of his class.
I went for Partington because North's midfield tend to be a bit one paced. They have a number of strong mids who can get a clearance of two, but not a lot of dash around the packs. Partington provides dash and he has played against men in the SANFL and more than held his won. His kicking is good and his decision making is excellent.
I was tempted to go for Daniel Rioli: that may have appeared to be a little overenthusiastic, but North need pace and he also has it is spades. But I decided they needed their run in the midfield more.
Great pick

# 4 Swans - Callum Mills (Academy Selection Bid from Essendon)

# 5 Essendon - Aaron Francis- 191cm 86kg West Adelaide

# 6 GWS - Jacob Hopper (Academy Selection Bid from Essendon)

# 7 Essendon - Charlie Curnow- 191cm 96kg Geelong Falcons

Why wouldn't Essendon have bid on Hopper at 5?