2015 Division 2

• Thread starter Thread starter workhorse

I have it on good understanding that he lost the playing group. Spoke s#@t behind players back and it came back to bite. In hindsight a senior member at club said he was too young to coach and had no respect from players.
Hrmmm this may of happened but was not the reason why the coach walked.
Like I said ill let the main people comment it they want.
Always three sides of a story.
The twos sides and the truth.

And to be honest in these situation we'll never know.

I have it on good understanding that he lost the playing group. Spoke s#@t behind players back and it came back to bite. In hindsight a senior member at club said he was too young to coach and had no respect from players.

Hey mate,
Is the ex coach now coaching Northern Saints in EDFL premier league. If so they currently 0-5.

Life bans should only occur when something happens like what happened up in cairns 11 years ago

G'day mate,
Yep that incident wasn't good and what I hear is it took almost 10 years for the league to recover.
You do know that coach who initiated that had his life ban suspension lifted and coached in div1 wrfl in 2013.. Now that's crazy!!

It's difficult to say if the number of 16 weeks is fair but if people are going around whacking blokes late or off the ball then get rid of them. Put yourselves in the players shoes that is being hit.. Football is cleaner these days and leagues must show strength to become reconized

G'day mate,
Yep that incident wasn't good and what I hear is it took almost 10 years for the league to recover.
You do know that coach who initiated that had his life ban suspension lifted and coached in div1 wrfl in 2013.. Now that's crazy!!

It's difficult to say if the number of 16 weeks is fair but if people are going around whacking blokes late or off the ball then get rid of them. Put yourselves in the players shoes that is being hit.. Football is cleaner these days and leagues must show strength to become reconized

Sent to early (fat fingers)

Uphold rules to Become known as one of the top metro leagues, as per there standing in the rankings..

Hey mate,
Is the ex coach now coaching Northern Saints in EDFL premier league. If so they currently 0-5.
Correct. How the hell he got that job is beyond comprehension. Rumor is he accepted job for no money but for them to use that cash on player's. Looking at their list, they have recruited from a kebab shop in Broady only. Wont last the year there.

Hrmmm this may of happened but was not the reason why the coach walked.
Like I said ill let the main people comment it they want.
Always three sides of a story.
The twos sides and the truth.

And to be honest in these situation we'll never know.
Oh he also insisted on his rather large mate (also his chauffeur as he has never had a drivers license) be the 2nds coach. Not sure who you know at tfc j of js but this is accurate

I wonder how close HBridge are close to getting Shep services.?
Yes pete shep from lalor/west preston/epping.

Correct. How the hell he got that job is beyond comprehension. Rumor is he accepted job for no money but for them to use that cash on player's. Looking at their list, they have recruited from a kebab shop in Broady only. Wont last the year there.

Hey mate,
I'm not involved at the Nth Saints but they do work to a minimal budget so it could be true his coaching for next to nothing. They have to pay some players but looking at their list they would be on a smaller budget than 2014 and the majority of there players wouldn't be getting paid and those that do are on minimal wage I guess.
They are a club run by good people but are very multicultural down there. They are struggling as some early games had some players suspended which wasn't good but are now playing youngsters to give them exposure which after last weeks game was seen as a "big" positive.
I don't know this coach or his background but it would be disappointing if a coach pulled the pin into a season as that would spell the end of his coaching career. I'm sure if he sticks it out it will get better, however there is a possibility they could get relegated, but they always seem to go well in the next div down so he will have success if he stays. I'm sure the club explained the challenges they were facing at Nth Saints after losing some good players and the huge budgets some clubs are working to in premier league which they (and others) struggle to compete with. They rely on the passion of there players and community..

I know this is the NFL so I want add anything further, but it's an interesting topic regarding this coach..

Few people on here like to stick knives into peoples back.
I will now add my two cents worth.
Yes I think he did lose respect from players.
Not sure if he spoke shit about them.
But he also had problems with comitee. He wanted too make a few decisions and was told that wasn't his choice.
Things went pear shaped from there.
And both sides decided that it was best for him not to take the club further.
Thomo won a flag and he is coaching another team. So I guess both parties are right.
That is my mail.

As for northern saints, and how it dumbfounds you how he got the job.
A friend of mine was down there two weeks ago and when they lost Paul Chapman was there, and after the game listened to the coach and then in the rooms praised him for how well he spoke after the game.
I'm not a thomo supporter nor am I a northern supporter.
Just love local footy. And for these people to put hard yards in just for us too bag them isn't nice.

Yes mate it is Peter shep at Bacchus marsh.
Only a rumor mate but I'm hearing they may not have the $$$$ to be paying him. Not sure how much truth in it.

But he also had problems with comitee. He wanted too make a few decisions and was told that wasn't his choice.
Thomo won a flag and he is coaching another team. So I guess both parties are right.
That is my mail.

A friend of mine was down there two weeks ago and when they lost Paul Chapman was there, and after the game listened to the coach and then in the rooms praised him for how well he spoke after the game.
Just love local footy. And for these people to put hard yards in just for us too bag them isn't nice.

Only a rumor mate but I'm hearing they may not have the $$$$ to be paying him. Not sure how much truth in it.
Having spent most of last year watching Watsonia and having a family member play there, they couldn't wait to see the back of him. In terms of speaking after or during games, he speaks ok but plays the angry guy too much. Would make a good assistant if trusted. Im on the Watsy wagon again in 2015. Corey has got them playing a selfless brand of footy and my close mate A. Bennett tearing 3rd div a new one. Committee club and coach all on same page. Sainters to give the big spending morang a lesson at A.K Lines on Saturday

Massive week in football and we are here talking about thomastowns old coach ?

Just for you sonny.
Just because you love thomastown so much lol.
Your right.
Bridge and bears massive game. Will Blair play? or not yet?
Stars and creek. Can creek upset again?
Whittlesea lalor. Lalor struggling with outs is my mail. See how they respond this week.
And phill and mernda which could be the fight to stay out of relegation.

My tips.
Creek
Bridges
Whittlesea
Hil

Good luck too all involved

Just for you sonny.
Just because you love thomastown so much lol.
Your right.
Bridge and bears massive game. Will Blair play? or not yet?
Stars and creek. Can creek upset again?
Whittlesea lalor. Lalor struggling with outs is my mail. See how they respond this week.
And phill and mernda which could be the fight to stay out of relegation.

My tips.
Creek
Bridges
Whittlesea
Hil

Good luck too all involved

My tips for this week

Bloods vs Whittlesea

Whittlesea in a close one, there better players should get them over the line.

Bridges vs bears

Bridges will be too big and strong!
Hurstbridge by plenty.

Stars vs creek

Stars will make a statement this week.

Mernda vs phill

Who cares lol

Whittlesea v Lalor - Whittlesea by about 4 goals
Thomastown v Hurstbridge - have heard a few injuries at hurstbridge, so going with thomastown
Creek v Stars - Diamo in an upset
Panton Hill v Mernda - Panton hill love their twilight home games, should win 5 goals

Lalor vs Whittlesea
This will be an entertaining game, should be a very fierce contest, but think Lalor might just have a bit more firepower. Lalor by 15pts

Hurstbridge vs Thomastown
Thomo has been awesome so far and taken all before them. Hurstbridge had a disappointing loss last week and will be aiming to bounce back. I think they might inflict Thomo's first loss for the year in what should be match of the round. Hurstbridge by 5pts

Mernda vs Panton Hill
Mernda have been disappointing this year and expect that to continue with the loss of their best player and leader in Smith. Will be a long year for Mernda and I feel that relegation is inevitable. Panton Hill by 30pts

Fitzroy Stars vs Diamond Creek
Diamo are up and about and will be looking to consolidate a top 4 spot with a win. They'll be confident, especially at home on their big ground, but the Stars will be ready for them in what should be a tight battle for most of the day. Stars have been inaccurate the past fortnight and will need to correct that or could let another game slip and make it a tougher year than hoped. Almost an 8point game with the games that are on this week. Stars by 20pts

Again, good luck to all teams and supporters.

Another round with some very tough games to call:

Diamond Creek vs Fitzroy Stars. The Demons are on fire at the moment while the Stars have been a bit hot and cold.
Thomastown vs Hurstbridge. A stern test for the flying Bears here as the Bridges will be very keen to atone for dropping last week's game.
Whittlesea vs Lalor. Another tight game and if it was a Bloods home game would probably select them, but at home it's the Eagles just.
Panton Hill vs Mernda. Expect the Demons to be all fired up and take it right up to the Redbacks who should just get across the line.

Thought it might be a bit of fun to put up a tipping leaderboard. (For the guys that have put tips on for most of the rounds.) I've just given a 0 for weeks where there weren't tips put in..

Ringadingding 17
Chet_Wynd 13
BomberARMY 13
John of all Johns 6
Albert You Star 6

Let me know if you have any disputes.. :)

That is my mail.

Another round with some very tough games to call:

Diamond Creek vs Fitzroy Stars. The Demons are on fire at the moment while the Stars have been a bit hot and cold.
Thomastown vs Hurstbridge. A stern test for the flying Bears here as the Bridges will be very keen to atone for dropping last week's game.
Whittlesea vs Lalor. Another tight game and if it was a Bloods home game would probably select them, but at home it's the Eagles just.
Panton Hill vs Mernda. Expect the Demons to be all fired up and take it right up to the Redbacks who should just get across the line.
Even tough im a Watsy man ill give my div 2 tips.
Whitt by 8 goals
Diamo by 2 goals
Thomo by 6 goals
Phill by mile

As we hosting Morang tomrw a congratulations to Morang stalwart Lukey Manning on game 250. My shout after the game Toady. Wats by 13 points

Creek vs stars
Stars need to work out their best 22 quick smart, to many changes every week. Trial and error i guess,
Stars will keep it a low scoring affair
Stars by 6pts

Hbridge vs thomo
Game of the round, thomo bring in 2 key ins their VFL player Totino and mid week bundoora pick up Eray.
Hbridge look to have a stack of injuries.
Thomo by 29pts

Whit vs lalor
Lalor played creek on a big ground and drew a game they should of won, i think whit will be to tall and strong for lalor, saying that lalor are no where near full strength
Whit by 21pts

Phill vs mernda
Phill have been brave this year, they havent been blown away to the likes of thoo, lalor etc.
They will be to good for mernda
Phill by 21pts.

Team in focus -
Stars last years Runners

Creek vs stars
Stars need to work out their best 22 quick smart, to many changes every week. Trial and error i guess

It's a valid point you make Ringadingding, however I think it's more the fact the Stars have been hit with a lot of injuries over the past few weeks, so the changes have been forced rather than trial and error. The depth is definitely being tested.

Whit vs lalor
Lalor played creek on a big ground and drew a game they should of won, i think whit will be to tall and strong for lalor, saying that lalor are no where near full strength
Whit by 21pts

Not sure how you can say that. Creek kicked 5.15 and Lalor only drew level in last 30 sec

Creek vs stars
Stars need to work out their best 22 quick smart, to many changes every week. Trial and error i guess,
Stars will keep it a low scoring affair
Stars by 6pts

Not sure if you have seen the stars play the last 5 years but keeping it a low scoring affair is exactly what they dont do.